Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 263 265
Great lens. I bought this lens for my d5000, before i was just using the kit lens and i was okay with it. Then i decided to get the 35 1.8 and i don't think i will take it off the camera unless for some really good reason! That's how much i like it. It is quick, light and all around a pretty darn good lens. As they say a must have for a DX shooter. April 14, 2011
Great Lens I did some engagement pictures with this lens before even getting a real chance to play with it. After adjusting a few of the settings on my camera (a D60), the lens was fabulous. For a low price, I got the professional quality that I had been searching for. Now that I am better at recognizes lighting issues, this lens does not leave my camera. Thanks, Nikon, for another excellent product. April 14, 2011
Little Wonder I always carry this in my camera bag. It's multi-purpose lens for me, especially in low light condition. It's small light and it doesn't take much space in the bag. Sometimes, I just put in my pocket and use it if the occasion arise for it. I really do not miss the zoom function, just use my legs to get closer and it force me to take creative look to my picture and, I like that. The bokeh is fantastic for this little wonder. April 14, 2011
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G My first Nikon Prime lens for my D90. It's one of the best lens available for DX format. It's sharp, fast, small and handy, marries well with smaller DX format DSLRs like D90, great optics. April 14, 2011
Awesome Prime Lens This is the first prime lens I bought to use with my D5000. So far I have been thrilled with the performance. The images it produces are sharp, its low light ability is quite good as well. The lens does seem to have a few issues with Chromatic Aberration nearer to the edges of the picture, but it is not an overwhelming issue. So far I have been very happy with my purchase, and the price is unbeatable for what you get. April 14, 2011
excellent lens Good lens to use in many situations such as photographing flowers or travel scenes. Also, very good in low light situations April 14, 2011
Astounding Value This is a must-have lens. I almost can't believe the low price point. It's tack sharp, light weight and the images speak for themselves. You just can't miss by having this lens in your bag. It's my new favorite. April 14, 2011
Hard to find but worth it These lenses are hard to find, but worth waiting for. The Nikkor 50MM 1.8 has too narrow of an angle in my opinion. This lense is much better for all around work. April 14, 2011
Love it Love this lens for taking family portraits and of our kids in doors. my wife doesn't like it since she has to use her feet as a zoom but i love the f/1.8. April 14, 2011
Must Have Purchased the 35 1.8 about a month ago and have been very pleased with the lens. I shoot it on my D300 and am not hesitant to shoot it wide open. Sharp, contrasty, lightweight. I own several Nikon pro lens and this is a favorite. Cannot be beat for $200. Get one and enjoy. April 4, 2011
Good lens, unbelievable for the price You won't find a better price / performance lens. It's small, light, sharp, and bright. It lives on my D3100, only occasionally getting swapped for something wider or longer. The only negative I find is it's softer than I'd like at f/1.8, so I rarely shoot it that open. It typically lives at 2.8 and down to 4 if resolution is the priority over shallow DoF. Focus is quick and fairly accurate, although again wide open it seems to miss a little more with such a narrow window to work with. It's great for video too. Buy it, then ask Nikon to make one just like it in 24mm! April 1, 2011
Great Lens! I mostly do portraits for high school seniors. I recently purchased this lens and I haven't taken it off my camera since I've had it! The shots are so crisp and nice. Great in low light settings. Never had to use a flash of any kind! I would (and already have) recommend this lens to any photographer! I absolutely love it!! March 11, 2011
This product is great Being a newbie to photography, I really love the end result of the pictures. My wife likes it so much since she likes the crispiness and the clarity of the picture, the result is very professional like the ones you see on yahoo homepage. Wow, I really find this product amazing. The only drawback to this product is you really have to stand back a little bit so that you could take the whole body, if you're doing portraits. Otherwise, I highly recommend this. The attachment is my first photo I took when I bought this product at Best Buy. It looks very lively when I viewed it on my LCD TV monitor. I got so jealous before looking at my friend's facebook pictures on the outcome of their Canon pictures. Now, I feel they got jealous on mine. lol. February 27, 2011
Awesome Lens! The lens is a gem. It is sharp with good contrast even when wide open. I have ED glass but It is my first lens with AF-S and having the ability to manual focus without switching off the AF is more useful than I imagined. The manual focus also feels more natural than non af-s lenses. This lens is immensely better than the 24 2.8 I had been using before. It beats the 24 on almost every quality except that it would not be suitable for FX format cameras. The contrast is not as soft and pleasing as the 1.4 but its not as drastic as the 85 1.8 vs 85 1.4. As others have mentioned selective focus ability at the wide maymay not be suitable for certain types of photography (soft color/contrast, creamy focus wedding shots are better left to the 1.4). I hope to see a 24 1.8 soon too. February 20, 2011
Wow!!! Amazing Lens. Oh my... this lens is absolutely fabulous. I've been using it on a D40 and am blown away by the images. Have shot a few weddings using mostly this rig and am very happy. I compared the lens to a Nikkor 50 from the 70's and it turns out better results. Go get one and have fun!!! January 30, 2011
Great lens at a low price I purchased this lens to help take portraits. I did some indoor and outdoor test shots with my D300s. It does very well in low light. Set aperture priority and changing the depth of field, this lens focuses fast. January 29, 2011
Excellent for the Price This lens provides me with so much flexibility. Granted, it doesn't have the zoom feature, I think that's what makes it unique. You have to find the photo for yourself, and portraits are remarkable with this easy, inexpensive lens. Great job, Nikon. January 27, 2011
Best "bang for buck" in the DSLR biz I work in a popular camera store chain and recommend this lens daily to customers. It really seems to ramp up and unlock the true potential of DX format DSLRs. I personally shoot this lens 99% of the time on my D80. Good bokeh, near silent AF, incredibly fast AF, great low light performance. Nicely replicates an old school "nifty-fifty." My camera now shoots the mechanically rated 3fps more consistently with assists turned on. I really missed shooting my U.S. Army provided professional gear (zooms with f2.8), and this lens was a great option to get back to those low f-stops without breaking the bank. Sample photos taken at NC Museum of Life and Science with no flash and noise reduction turned off. The last one is a B/W from Taekwondo class later in the day, again no flash, just ISO boost. January 20, 2011
Best lens yet! This lens is worth its cost. I have a few other lens and use this one the most. It works brilliantly in low light scenery and produces professional quality pictures. Works great with D3000! January 6, 2011
great 1.8 i first rented this lens to try it out under low light and macro shots. the macro shots come out great on my D40 and so did the night shots. after renting it i immediately fell in love and bought it. the 35mm fixed length is a minor and i mean MINOR setback for what this lens is capable of. so what if i have to stand back a little further, point is i get to use more of the natural light and i love it! December 30, 2010
Great Lens I am using this 35mm lens is used on a D300s body. The lens is light, cost-effective and provides very sharp images. Can't say much more than this is a great lens. December 26, 2010
Great Prime Lens This lense is fantastic in low light and everyday situations as a prime lens. December 14, 2010
great image quality I bought this lens as a result of a hasty decision because I wanted to try out my D700 but didnt want to wait a week for the 24-120 F4 lens that I ordered for it to get here. so I went to best buy an looked unfortunatly this lens was the only prime lens that they had at the time, so I figured for 200 bucks I would just buy it an set the camera to autocrop mode. An I gotta say I was very supprised by the image quality it exceeded all my expectations for being a 200 dollar DX lens on a 2500 dollar full frame. December 3, 2010
Great lens at a GREAT PRICE!!! I use this lens for great portrait shots. You get great color and image quality. I wanted a prime lens with a good f-stop and this lens really does the job. If you don't want to spend the high dollar amount on the upper Nikon lenses this is the lens for you. November 16, 2010
I have been missing this lens I am mostly a portrait photographer shooting on a D3000 until I can save up for the D7000, and I was looking for a prime lens for the great sharpness they are known for. I found that in the 35mm 1.8, and I am in love with it. I bought the lens at the start of the week, and I have been shooting a few different things with to test the lens out, and two days ago I had my first portrait shoot and the photos look AMAZING. Great depth, amazing lighting, my friends, families and the client are in love with the photos. This lens is different then the normal zoom lenses as it makes you think about framing, location, and lighting, instead of just moving the lens and reframing. Great lens for the price, and also a great addition to the camera bag November 13, 2010
Razor blade primes are always a great item for the camera bag. You can use them in lower light than a zoom without raising the ISO and noise levels. This is one of the nicest lenses I have ever used. It is sharp and the focus is accurate. It presents the same angle of view as a 50mm lens on an FX body. You can't go wrong with this one and the price is very friendly also. November 10, 2010
Amazing affordable lens I have this lens for about a year now. The quality of the picture since it has no moving parts is great and extremely sharp especially at the center, and it is highly recommended for low lighting conditions. I think is the perfect portrait lens, and the best choice to move from a starter kit lens to a better more mature lens. The price is also very good making this lens ideal. November 10, 2010
One of my favorite lens At f/1.8G it will give you good pictures at low lights. Very nice for general photography. Very affordable. November 3, 2010
Affordable & Excellent lens For me this is an all around lens. I use it all the times and it gives tack sharp pictures. Must have for every Nikon shooters. November 2, 2010
Good prime lens I bought the D3000 with the kit lens a few months ago. While the lens is good, I missed having a simple, relatively fast, prime lens. I ordered the 50 1.8 and realized it wouldn't autofocus with my camera (my own fault for not checking first) but I kept it for a portrait lens. I wanted a non zoom lens because it forces the photographer to think more carefully about the image. Instead of zoom and shoot, you need to move in and out to compose forcing more thought into the process. I also wanted a lighter camera with less lens hanging out for travel and a closer focus. The next Lens I got was the 35 1.8. I am pleased with the lens, and the image quality. Wide open it has a nice shallow depth of field and is still quite sharp in the center. At 2.8 it is really sharp. The lens speed allows for better available light photography and the minimum focus of a foot is handy too, especially when I take pictures of food for my blog. Overall, I recommend this lens as a prime lens for the D3000. Note that the 35mm lens for the DX camera is about equal to the 50mm lens for film cameras. October 14, 2010
Page: 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10
<<prev | next>>
81 Questions | 139 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
81 Questions | 139 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
+20points
23out of 26found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful23unhelpful3
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
8out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+7points
10out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful3
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
3out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned, the difference that really matter here is aperture. In fact, a lens set to f/1.8 will let in 4 times the amount of light that the 18-55 zoom can at its widest aperture. This means greatly increased low-light performance as well as much more range in depth-of-field.

Prime (or fixed focal length) lenses also provide better sharpness and contrast in general over zooms.

Personally however, I love primes because a) they're smaller, lighter, with fewer moving parts and b) the focal range limitation encourages a more artistic process as you physically move around to find your shot, paying attention to your composition instead of your equipment and c) the results simply look better.
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
SunnKram
Aspen, CO, USA
Location : 
Aspen, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-10points
1out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful11
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-2points
6out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful8
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

+1point
5out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers