Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 259 261
great for low light i love the lens, for indoor every day shooting this lens give my enough ability to shoot the low lighting situations. April 16, 2011
Favorite DX Lens This is a Go To lens for me when shooting photos of people. It's sharp, compact, and beats any other slow lens I own! April 15, 2011
Useful I bought the 35mm f/1.8G lens as a "normal" lens for my D-90. This is a very easy lens to just walk around with. It is light in weight and fast enough to provide good DOF. Sharpness is very good. Emphasis seems to be moving away from primes in today's variety of zoom lenses. The 35mm f/1.8 makes a great addition to any setup. April 15, 2011
Great lens An excellent addition to a DX shooters bag. Does what you expect. Gets out of the way and lets you shoot. April 15, 2011
A basic lens, required by every serious photog. The lens is intended to fit in my basic kit for portraiture and some close-up animal shots in some low-light views. With limited use, I am pleased with the initial results. I will feel better about it as greater use unfolds. The price is right and the quality meets my needs. April 15, 2011
Perfect Works exactly as expected. Very well made. Feels solid. I like the auto/manual feature. Definitely a recommended buy. I use it all the time. April 15, 2011
Great Buy! I bought this lens in preparation of being a father and getting ready to take lots of baby pictures. It makes shooting possible indoors and creates very nice and soft images. I have taken some great pictures of my son with it and impressed lots of people. April 15, 2011
Great Value This lense works very well in low light. Focus is sharp (better at f/2.8-4) and fast. Great all around lens. April 15, 2011
AWESOME normal lens for DX This lens has AWESOME focus, color, speed, and low light performance. Keep in mind that a 35mm will give you the equivalent of a 52.5mm on a FX sensor... so although it is considered wide, it is actually a normal lens. Having that said, on its own, it performs well... and add the price to the mix and it becomes a FANTASTIC buy. You cannot own a DX sensor camera and not have this lens. April 15, 2011
This product is excellent This product is perfect for amateur photographers. The price compared to the quality of the pictures and ease of use make it a must-have. April 15, 2011
Great for indoor photos. The 35mm f1.8 is the least expensive lens I own yet I use it on my D7000 more often than the others. It's perfect for indoor pictures such as birthdays and holidays as it allows me to take photos in normal lighting situations with a flash. I've used it to take family portraits and been very happy with the results as well. I can't think of anything negative to say about the lens. It's just a great lens for a great price. April 15, 2011
Fast, nice bokeh & compact size This is a wonderful miniature product by Nikon/Nikkor. It's super fast, very helpful in low light. I shot many frames with F8 - F22 with a variety of shutter and ISO speed. Result is excellent. Kudos to Nikkor! Further the price is v reasonable. April 15, 2011
I love my lens, even though I got a new 17-50mm, this lens is awesome especially since it opens up to a 1.8 aperture. April 15, 2011
Great lens, great price. Great lens and really cheap. Bought it for my D40 and I don't use my kit lens anymore. Sure the 35mm does not have a zoom, but the quality alone is worth it. You can always move a few steps forward if you need to zoom it. Not a big deal and you will be rewarded with much better pictures. Did I mention you will not need to use the flash? No more flat pictures. The fast f/1.8 lets you take nice, bright pictures even in dimmer lighting condition. Great lens, worth twice the price in my opinion (don't tell Nikon, please). April 15, 2011
Great value, excellent lens Very impressed with this lens for the money! Works great in low light (something I was looking for). Focuses fast. Takes great quality pictures. Using on a Nikon D5000 April 14, 2011
Cost Effective No need to spend so much money, this lens is awesome. Sharp photos, perfect for low lighting conditions. Small, makes my camera feel very light weight. April 14, 2011
I use this lens for taking low light images and for reference shots of hand built model kits which are transformed into illustrations. April 14, 2011
Great lens! I use this lens with my D3100, and I love it! The autofocus is very fast, the images are very sharp, and the bokeh is nice and smooth. Since I've gotten this lens I've rarely used my kit lens. I like the faster autofocus of this lens, as well as the sharper images it generates. And for blowing out the foreground/background, this lens rocks! I love highlighting my target by blurring the foreground/background. The lens is very sharp, especially between f4-11, with some softness wide open. I think my only complaint about this lens is that I have to walk around alot to zoom in/out. Yes I'm lazy! But that is not a knock against the lens, any prime lens makes you do the zooming with your feet. I feel the 35mm focal length is a great all purpose length. No you wont' get alot of reach out of it, but for most situations I find the length acceptable. I use mine mostly indoors taking pictures of family. In low light this lens is very good, given it's 1.8 maximum aperture. Just be aware opening up to 1.8 creates a shallow depth of field, and softens the image somewhat. But if you're in dim lighting and don't/won't use a flash, this lens can gather enough light where the kit lens wouldn't. My favorito aspect of this lens is the incredible control over your depth of field, given it's 1.8 maximum aperture. Open it up and get in close to your target, and watch that background blur oh so nicely. So if you're considering a fast prime lens, give this one a try, I think you'll be happy you did. Remember, this lens is made for dx bodies, so if you're a full frame fx shooter, look elsewhere. But I suspect fx shooters would already know that. April 14, 2011
clear,sharp, caps, hood, bag Small,light very easy to work with, dollar for dollar best nikon lens. On my D-300S it's a 52.5 perfect carry-around every day lens April 14, 2011
Compact lens Produces High Image Quality Just about everyone loves this lens with good reason. It's light, compact, and produces sharp images assuming that you focus on what you want. This prime lens will give you a couple of stops of extra light over a typical zoom lens at the cost of limited depth of field in low light conditions typlically found in museums or at indoor shows. If you want to travel light and are willing to zoom with your feet this lens might do the trick. I do, however, sometimes wish I had mounted my wideangle lens or my zoom telephoto lens but this lens has given me shots in dark places and images of rapidly moving people that I could not have gotten without much more expensive equipment. April 14, 2011
Fast Lens -- Great for indoor and nature photos The 35mm/1.8 DX is a great deal; a fast, versatile lens at a very reasonable price. Wonderful for low light situations such as indoor photography; can often shoot with just a small flash or without flash altogether. Its small size also make it a good travel companion that still has a wide range of applicability. Quality of the images is high. April 14, 2011
Strong Versatile Work Horse This lens, AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, is found on my camera most of the time. As a professional food photographer, I shoot at work everyday - a lot - and it's my lens of choice. This lens is well-suited for shooting the action in kitchens as food is being prepared and for shooting styled beauty shots or serving suggestion shots on a photo stage. It captures light and color brilliantly and will render my subject as vivid, artistic imagery. Its capacity to show smooth but dramatic contrast is superb. I love working with this lens in low-light conditions. It absorbs light like a sponge - a deeply colorful, vibrant sponge. The lens hood it came with , HB-46, was not overly tight when attached correctly and so it would constantly slip off the lens when I would brush up against a chef walking by, which, in close quarters, would happen quite often. I eventually bought a new hood. Same exact model, HB-46, but this one's nice and tight and never comes off unless I want it to. Guess the originally supplied one was a little off. This lens, I find, is also well-suited for exterior or landscape shooting. I do this on my off time, mostly everyday and I love mt results. It's a good focal length for shooting bands in small clubs as well. Sharpness: This is a sharp lens. Make no mistake. However, I've noticed over the year and a half that I've been using it (everyday) that the sharp focus is a little behind my desired focal point when using larger f-stops like 1.8 - 5.6. It's becoming annoying and I'm researching what can be done about it. But this phenomenon didn't occur until after over a year of constant everyday use. I've learned to compensate for it. Photos taken with this lens, I'm proud to say, are on products that are displayed on store shelves coast to coast nationwide and internationally. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G is an amazing part of any photographer's arsenal. Especially for the incredible price. Summary: Like I said, I use the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G nearly always. I make a living with this lens. April 14, 2011
The one to leave on your camera I just started using this lens but already have found it to be a good, all-purpose lens; good for nature pictures, pictures of groups and, with some editing, good for portraits. I prefer to set it one f-stop away from its widest aperture for most applications, unless I need more depth of field. April 14, 2011
This lens is great for tighter spaces. I purchased this lens over a year ago. It has served me well as a portrait lens (I had to save up for the Nikkor 2.8 70-200mm VR) This lens is sharp with nice contrast. It also worked out well for me to use in tighter spaces. Focus is sharp, fast and produces pictures with no distortion that I'm aware of. Bokeh is very pleasing also. I'm very pleased with the performance of this lens and it stays on my camera or within easy reach at all times. April 14, 2011
Great Candid Lens My old point and shoot died and rather than replace it I decided to purchase this lens to use on a D60 that I use as a backup to a D300S. This lens costs less than many point and shoots, allows me to shoot in RAW with my D60, very light weight combo is a little heavier than a point and shoot, but an acceptable trade-off for me. The lens is sharp and focuses fast. Shooting at f1.8 doesn't provide enough depth of field for candids, so, I find that stopping down to 2.8 or 3.5 gives me just enough depth of field for good candids. April 14, 2011
Great retro features and sees (almost) in the dark For ordinary travels, it's one of two lenses that I take, the other being Nikon's 18-200. It's especially fast, so it frees me from taking a flash unit. It's light weight and packs compactly, features that become critical with airline restrictions on carry-on baggage. Going back to a "normal" fixed lens after years of only using zooms also forces me to concentrate once more on careful composition before I take the photo -- that "previsualization" so beloved by master photographers. April 14, 2011
Very good everyday lens I have this as my primary lens on a Nikon D60. It is very good for indoor flashless photography. My 2 boys( 6 year old and 11 month old) stop what they are doing when they see the flash go off. With this lens not only during daytime but even at night time I can photograph them at play without distracting them. The lens is also able to autofocus quickly allowing me to take several shots from which from which I can choose a keeper. Bokeh is good enough to blur out the unwanted "extras" in the background who smile or act out thinking that they will come out and spoil the shot. April 14, 2011
Great lens. I bought this lens for my d5000, before i was just using the kit lens and i was okay with it. Then i decided to get the 35 1.8 and i don't think i will take it off the camera unless for some really good reason! That's how much i like it. It is quick, light and all around a pretty darn good lens. As they say a must have for a DX shooter. April 14, 2011
Great Lens I did some engagement pictures with this lens before even getting a real chance to play with it. After adjusting a few of the settings on my camera (a D60), the lens was fabulous. For a low price, I got the professional quality that I had been searching for. Now that I am better at recognizes lighting issues, this lens does not leave my camera. Thanks, Nikon, for another excellent product. April 14, 2011
Page: 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10
<<prev | next>>
79 Questions | 136 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
79 Questions | 136 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
+19points
22out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful3
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+6points
9out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful3
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned, the difference that really matter here is aperture. In fact, a lens set to f/1.8 will let in 4 times the amount of light that the 18-55 zoom can at its widest aperture. This means greatly increased low-light performance as well as much more range in depth-of-field.

Prime (or fixed focal length) lenses also provide better sharpness and contrast in general over zooms.

Personally however, I love primes because a) they're smaller, lighter, with fewer moving parts and b) the focal range limitation encourages a more artistic process as you physically move around to find your shot, paying attention to your composition instead of your equipment and c) the results simply look better.
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
SunnKram
Aspen, CO, USA
Location : 
Aspen, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-10points
1out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful11
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
6out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

+1point
5out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers