Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 246 248
A must have lens I bought this Nikon refurbished lens primarily for its low light sensitivity -- available light photography has been my passion since the days of f1.4 Nikkor lenses and Tri-X pushed to ASA 3200 -- and while I was a little concerned about the refurbished part, a new 35 mm f1.8 was unavailable at the time, and had been for months. Am I ever glad I took that chance. First, the lens has worked, without a hitch, for nine months, and it has been used almost daily during that time. Second, the images, both low light landscapes and portraits, as well as regular-light images, have been just stunning, often appearing in my weekly natural history column. It even works, coupled with an SB-600 speedlight, as a fine macro lens. Every Nikon DX photographer should own this one. I'm exceedingly pleased. January 11, 2012
I should have bought this one first! Just the one I need for many occasions. Wide enough for indoor shooting like birthday parties and similar events. January 6, 2012
Essential for taking the next step I own a Nikon D60 and use it often, but had never seen a reason to go past the two kit lenses I had (18-55VR &55-200VR). Luckily a friend talked me into looking into prime lenses. At first I didn't like the notion of losing zoom, but everyone I knew told me it would improve my photography; they were right. Prime shooting really brings you into the process of taking a photo. The 35mm 1.8 is a great prime lens for almost any shoot; low-light shooting is incredible and image quality is absolutely stunning. The only complaint I have is the auto focus is a bit finicky at medium range but is easy to get used to. The supplied lens hood is of better quality than other Nikon hoods I've used (matches body finish). Overall this is a simply brilliant lens; clean and crisp images across the board no matter the lighting situation. If you are looking to branch out of the initial kit lenses this is the one to go for. For the price, this might be the best Nikon lens out there. December 29, 2011
Loving it (: What a great lens to carry around. It's light, much less bulky than the standard 18-55. Amazing quality, and I was debating between this and the cheaper no AF 50mm, but this definitely beats it even for like 100 dollars more. Great for portraits, and not as close up as the 50 that youd be bumping into things all the time. Great pictures, never need flash again! I can get to ISO200 in my room with terrible dim lighting! Love. December 22, 2011
Favorite Lens I love this lens. Almost always sharp even if I miscalculate. Trains you to move around, rather than rely on zoom. I use it for almost everything, and it never lets me down. I have several other lenses, including zooms and a macro--all good, but this is best. December 19, 2011
Excellent lens. Just as good as everyone says it is. Autofocus is fast and build quality is great. Wish this was the first lens I bought! November 29, 2011
Very good lens! This lens has proven to be a valuable asset for close up and low light use. Because it is much shorter than my other lenses it will work in very confined spaces as I discovered during the first use. The images are razor sharp, exposure is accurate, and the auto focus is fast and accurate. I highly recommend it! November 23, 2011
Very fast lens! This lens is awesome! Very fast and the images seem to be much cleaner when compared to a kit lens at the same settings. Buy it! November 17, 2011
simply awesome I just recently purchased this lens and it is amazing , it is so much fun to use. November 1, 2011
Excellent lens in a very reasonable price.... This lens is awesome. I never thought i would buy a prime lens. I was confused about the quality because of its price. But after using it......I amazed..picture is very sharp...and it works in very low light . love it. Thanks to NIKON. October 11, 2011
GREAT LENS; AMAZING CLARITY; SUPERB QUALITY I purchased this lens to use with my Nikon D3100 camera that I adore. It has far exceeded my expectations for such a reasonably priced lens. It produces great pictures in low light conditions and the Bokeh effect is great. October 10, 2011
Great Lens This is the perfect replacement for my 50 1.8 on my DX bodies. I always felt the 50 to be too long. The 35 is amazing. Great optical quality and the perfect walk around and low light lens. September 26, 2011
Excellent features As close as I can come to a 1:1 shooting capabilty with a lens for DSLR. Excellent depth and so simple to shoot. Just focus and fire away in any light. Great for indoor shooting for HDR photographs as well as landscape HDR shooting. Allows great depth in manual and aperture. I have gotten great white balance with this lens. Keep it with me all the time and use it always. It is small so I can just just keep in a small bag attached to my belt. Highly recommend and great price. September 21, 2011
Great Lens Bought this for my D5100. Couldn't be happier. I leave this on my camera instead of the 18-55 it came with. Very sharp and lite to carry around. Background blur or bokeh is great. For $199 this is a no brainer. Every Nikon Dx owner should have this lens. August 27, 2011
Great lens for the price This lens has not left my d3100 since I bought it two months ago. I use it family portraits indoor and outdoor and the quality is amazing and professional - like. Everyone should get this lens. I researched all the five star ratings and now I know why. August 24, 2011
Great lens!! Nice color (better than 50mm f/1.8). Sharp. Accurate/fast AF. Good in low-light environment. August 23, 2011
Light, fast, great pairing with D7000 I like to shoot in available light, and this little lens gives me a lot of freedom in a lightweight, affordable package. I have other lenses that I use with my D7000, but this one is my favorite for everyday use. August 18, 2011
So Fun!! I love this lens and for $200 bucks you can't beat the price! August 3, 2011
Wow! What a terrific lens!!! If you own a DX format Nikon DSLR this lens is a must! It is compact, lightweight, balances great on your body, and is simply a joy to use! I rotate this frequently on my D200 as my "go to" prime lens. Its fast f1.8 maximum aperture allows some excellent low light effects. I like to use it in the f1.8-2.8 range to open up backgrounds in low light ambient or flash situation. I recently used it to photograph low light theatre from close to the stage and the results were phenomenal. This lens produces great colors and contrast and focuses extremely fast even in low light conditions. The 7 blade rounded diaphram also produces a nice bokeh effect. On the flip side, it also has a deep f22 minimum aperture, which allows for tremendous depth of field. Also, 35mm on a DX sensor converts to approximately 52mm, so it is a nice focual length for portraits and shots of people. You will appreciate the way your camera handles vs. a heavier, longer zoom, so you will really like it if you need to carry your camera for a while. It is affordable and a great value, so run, don't walk to get this lens! July 30, 2011
Big Bang for the Buck I consider myself a multi-media artist and photography is one of my expressive media. I don't get paid hundreds (or thousands) of dollars to shoot important people or special events. I use my camera to capture intimate moments - usually unexpected simple experiences. This lens helps me do that - WONDERFULLY. I find that shooting full open at 1.8 softens the image ever so slightly, but does not make it fuzzy. Perhaps I should say that it doesn't appear "brittle." It looks fine. I find that having that narrow depth of field easily justifies any softness (which is MINOR). This lens is one of the least expensive in my collection and I use it the most. Period. I use this in conjunction with a 50mm 1.8 depending on how close I wish to get to my subjects. I've used this lens on my old D70, my father's D300, and my new D7000. I believe that it focuses faster on my D7000 than it did on the D70, but I've been delighted with the images it captures on all bodies. A real advantage of the newer bodies (D7000 and D5100) is their improved low-light capability. Opening this lens up to 1.8 while setting the ISO to 3200 or 6400 allows for some great images in darker venues without having to use the flash. I had my camera with me at lunch today with a number of colleagues who are also photo buffs and they all commented on the images the lens was capturing. One friend was particularly impressed with the video the D7000 was able to get with the narrow depth of field. He, and others, have said, "It looks like 'film.'" In closing, I can't say enough about this lens especially at its price point. If you wish to put your subject in focus and soften everything else around it, this will bring you joy. I find the bokeh quite pleasing and very organic. July 14, 2011
Great Lens I am just getting back into DSLR photography. In a recent Aperture clinic, the instructor raved about this lens for indoor pictures. He did not understate the value of this lens. I hate flash photagraphy for the white-wash effect. This lens allows you to take indoor pics with a great warm natural effect. June 29, 2011
Fun to play with I only purchased this lens last week, and so far it is great to have in my camera bag. Great for indoor photography, and I have not had the opportunity to experiment with portraits or nature pictures, but on my D200, the picture quality are more than satisfactory. Since this is my first fixed focal length lens I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm happy I bought it. June 21, 2011
Great Lens I have had this lens for about 3 weeks now. I am very happy with every aspect of this lens. Very good in low light. Excellent indoors, and great for landscape. I took some beautiful shots with it a few weeks ago of some water falls in the Shenandoah National park. Well worth the price. June 18, 2011
Great lens, a must have for low light. If you want a lens that is light in weight, this is the one. It has been awesome in shooting where there is not very good lighting. It is a lens that I will have around for many years to come. Great lens. June 16, 2011
My best and favorite lens to use ! Stays on the D3100 all the time.I got 3 lenses except the kit lens and this is my favorite one. since I had the 35mm range covered by the 18-55 kit, I though I don't need this one.Reading all the awesome reviews about it I decide to buy it, because it is inexpensive. What I like about it is that it is tough, light,small, does no need VR (saves me battery) colors are great, it is very sharp, I love the depth of field, the bokeh I like, even the pro- photogs say it is not very good.What I do not like about it is... hm, I don't know, I'm not a pro photographer ,who knows what, a super expensive 35mm(or 50mm FX) prime can do, but I think this 35mm prime is AWESOME ! Everyone who has a DX body have to make him/her self very happy with one of these !!! June 10, 2011
Great inexpensive "normal" lens Using this lens on my D7000 is a joy, mainly because of its light weight, small size and quiet operation. Using it in either still or movie mode, it focuses fast and accurately and is quick enough for stage lighting conditions. The manual focus is easy and fast too, and allows for beautiful bokeh in either still or movie mode at the more open settings. June 6, 2011
Impressive Lens Purchased the lens today and right away I was impressed. Took a photo of the salesman and it was an awesome shot and then went to the outdoor mall and started checking out various targets. I am really happy with this lens and know that it will produce the detailed product I am wanting to achieve. Looking forward to taking pictures at the upcoming weddings.... [Go Ahead - GET it! You won't be disappointed] Jeannie :) June 4, 2011
Best Prime in the line I have to say it, the 35mm on a DX format camera is the best lens you can buy. GET IT! June 3, 2011
Outstanding lens The 35 1.8 G has outstanding sharpness corner to corner. No discernable viganetting or pincushoning. Color rendition is outstanding. Focus is fast and quiet. A must have lens. June 1, 2011
Excellent Lens Love this lens if your a person that loves portrait photography but street photography as well this is the lens. Great in low light, focuses fairly quickly as well. May 28, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 10
<<prev | next>>
72 Questions | 127 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
72 Questions | 127 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+19points
21out of 23found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful2
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years ago
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years ago
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

0points
4out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers