Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 246 248
Sharp as a tack I love this lens -- very sharp, great for low light conditions, good Bokeh. Good lens for tight spaces. I used it on my old D90 and now on my D7100. This is my go-to lens for sharp pictures of people. January 18, 2014
Sharp, Versatile and Easy to Use After reading loads of positive reviews about the 35mm/1.8, I bought it for a three day trip to Cannon Beach for New Year's. Having used it for a week now, I can say I've been nothing but impressed by this little lens. It has a solid feel, is fast, produces sharp photos in almost every situation. I'm an adventurer and look for lenses that are great for landscapes, portraits and general travel shots with my D7000, and this fits the bill perfectly. If you are looking for an exceptionally sharp multi-purpose lens for under $200, you literally cannot beat the 35mm/1.8. January 5, 2014
Nikkor AF-S DS 35MM f/1.8G Recently purchased this lens for my D3200. Unbelievable lens! Quality is amazing! Ditch the kit lens and get yourself this lens ASAP. December 26, 2013
My New GoTo People Lens!! Love this Lens. Cheap. Compact. Fast. Sharp details with soft backgrounds. Indoors or outdoors. On my D7100, it becomes a normal lens so its perfect for portraits and candid pics of my family. I doubt you'll find a better lens for the price. November 5, 2013
All-around excellent prime lens! A must to add to your bag! I'm an amateur photog looking for great portraits and night shots on a D5200. After reading many reviews and videos, I was able to finally determine the 35mm prime would be a great addition. In just the first day, taking some low-light pictures, I could easily determine that it was WELL worth it! You can tell this is some major glass by the weight of it! Go out and buy it today! August 27, 2013
The only essential lens for a DX After only a week of having my D3200 I realized the low light limitations of the kit lens and after hours of research online I found the 35mm 1.8 as the most highly recommended option especially from Jared Polin who is awesome. I felt like replacing the kit lens with this was a huge step for me learning photography since I wasn't preoccupied with zooming in and out and focused on the composition instead. In addition the low light capability of this 1.8f aperture is fantastic since I'm not a fan of using the built in flash. Highly recommended to anyone as a first lens to replace the kit lens, then get a 55-200VR or a 70--200 to compliment it. August 16, 2013
Incredibly Fast and Sharp portrait lens I love this lens. I originally purchased it with my Nikon D7000. I have a wide selection of other lenses (70-200 f2.8, 18-35 f.3.5-4.5, 50mm f. 1.4) and so far it is my favorite when it comes to street photography. I tend to enjoy very up close and personal shots and this lens is perfect as long as you are not nervous about being very close to your subject. This lens also performs incredibly well in low light which is ideal for street photography. Overall I have no complaints. August 5, 2013
Zoom with your feet ! Forget about fussing with kit zoom lenses, pick this lens and zoom with your feet! Great for indoors with just the camera's built in flash to fill in any shadows, or available daylight. I've been through all phases of amateur lust after this or that zoom lens and I STILL come back to this (DX) lens as the most versatile. The quality of the optics and the maximum aperture is so much better than a cheap kit lens, you'll be glad you chose it. May 30, 2013
Love this lens! This lens is a favorite when it comes to taking pictures of my son most of all. Great detail, great in low-light environments, and love the blur it creates. I can't wait to see what other great pictures it gives me. May 27, 2013
a low light lens I am relatively a newbie but I already have three lenses in my bag. A telephoto 55-300mm, the stock 18-55mm, and this 35mm. This lens was suggested by my friend/mentor and he said that this is good for low light, no flash, room photography. He is right and I produced good "boudoir" type photos with excellent quality. A must for a new photographer specially if you want to do portraits or similar subjects. May 18, 2013
Satisfaction The best lens. It is fast and takes excellent pictures. Get yours now! February 28, 2013
Best of the Best ! When I first tried this lens, I had it on my D7000, in a room with minimal lighting and no flash, and the performance of this lens was spectacular. I eventually replaced my 50mm with this 35mm, as my "go to" lens. It's great with just about every avenue of shooting. I HIGHLY recommend this lens to any shooter, regardless of experience, you won't be disappointed at all. February 18, 2013
Great for any Nikon camera! This lens is just stellar. It's lightweight, pin sharp, and fast to focus. I haven't taken it off my camera yet. The hood is a little cheap and it doesn't do much for flare, but I leave it on for protection. The SWM is really quite quiet and the metal mount is a nice feature. It's plastic for sure, but it still feels pretty solid. Plus, the price is the icing on the cake! If you have any hesitation of buying this lens, don't. You'll be pleasantly surprised with the performance. January 9, 2013
Love this lens on my D7000 I'm new to dSLR and so happy with this purchase. It's a great low cost one-lens solution for indoor/low light scene. It performs extremely well in low lighte. A picture is worth a thousand words. December 29, 2012
Great lens! Right out of the box i was very impressed... As a 13 year old this was the only low light lens i could afford and i feel like i definitely got my moneys worth. I use this with my D7000 and the lens provides a stunning background blur and performs excellently in low light conditions. I would recommend this lens to anyone, even a professional. If your decision to buy the lens depends on these reviews, don't hesitate! You will not be disappointed! December 21, 2012
A very very useful lens The first thing I noticed when using this lens was the fantastic contrast and sharpness it produces even when wide open at f/1.8 which in turn gave a certain quality look and feel to my images that was not easily obtainable with other lenses in this price range. The speed and focal length make this a great 'go to' lens which has served me well in most situations. I have used this lens for portraits and food photography on a D40 and D90 and have yet to be disappointed. Highly recommended. November 14, 2012
Lens for every dream photography i own a D5000 for the last 2 years. Being not satisfied with the kit lens i went for a 55-200, though i loved the bokeh effect when using my 55-200 lens, somehow i was missing the kick in my photographs. I am just a amateur photographer and loved experimenting, this is when i came across the 35, f1.8G. No words to describe on its output, sharp images & colors it brings out which seldom require post editing. And for the price it would be a shame to not add this in the kit bag. My camera refuses now to use any other lens.. go for it if you love your photographs. November 3, 2012
Oh!! Boy, I just love it.. Every DX Nikon user should have it.. So I can only say, Just buy it. August 25, 2012
Cursed Lens Cursed? Why? Because once you own one, it's hard to use anything else. I have a multiple range of lenses but somehow I am gravitated to keep on using this one. I've been to 3 different countries and it was still hard for me to use the mid-range or the telephoto lens and I still keep using this very versatile and very high quality lens. And for the price... you're crazy for not getting it. August 7, 2012
Fantastic quality I love this lens. I just recently bought it and it hasn't left my camera (the D3100) since then. The quality is amazing. Yes, the autofocus is finnicky at times, but can be easily fixed by switching to manual focus. I haven't tested out bokeh yet, but as long as you have good lighting, the photos turn out fantastic when using the maximum aperture. The colors turn out bright and the photo is very clear. June 27, 2012
Great lens!!!!! I wanted a good lens for newborn photography. Better than I ever thought possible. I love it!!!!!! June 22, 2012
Great for Portrait I bought this lens for my D7000, and the photo quality is excellent.Even with minimum light, it will still take great photos. This lens is better than 50mm (if you own D7000), as 50mm is too long for DX camera like mine. June 1, 2012
Brilliant Lens - Absolutely fabulous bokeh.... I have been using this lens for over an year now. With the most basic entry level D300, I have taken pictures that looks professional. The price makes it even easier. May 17, 2012
Great everyday lense I've had this lense for some time now. It takes nice and sharp images. I like the bokeh as well. Great for taking pictures in low light. Fast focus, sometimes has a hard time finding the focus though. The price was great! April 27, 2012
A must have for DX shooters If you don't mind moving forward and back to frame your shot, this lens is excellent as an everyday walk around lens for your DX camera. It's sharp, super light and also works well in low light. The only limitations are difficulties in getting group shots in cramped spaces and not getting excellent bokeh all the time because you really need to get the right distance between your camera and your subject. But if you have the space and the patience, this lens is worth every penny and much more. This is a no brainer, get one as soon as you can! Nikon really did a good job on this lens by combining both quality and practicality. April 15, 2012
Could do a big job in a small lightweight lens I have been using it 35mm f/1.8G DX mainly for taking outdoor photos and not used the lens that came with the Nikon D5000 kit since I got this lens 4 months ago. Most of the photos taken looked sharp and clear. So far there has not at all been problem in focusing. I think it would be great for travel, too. April 7, 2012
Such a fun little lens After purchasing this lens a week ago it has not left my camera. Fantastic sharpness and color, bokeh is very pleasing around F2.8 and you can open it up to 1.8 and get really soft creamy shots too if thats what you like. Superb available light lens, I've yet to use the flash with it, even inside. Great for indoor photography as well as a awesome walk-around lens outside. This lens will deliver image quality far beyond your kit lens, its a great 2nd lens for any DX shooter. I can't recommend it enough. Has the build quality of a far more pricy lens. March 30, 2012
Wonderful. Wonderful. Wonderful! I had been planning on purchasing another lens for awhile now, but financial situations were holding me back (as the one I wanted was fairly expensive) I did some research and finally just went out and bought this lens. I was so pleased. It takes beautiful photographs, I'm so in love. I don't plan on removing it from my camera, out with the old, in with the new. Hello everyday lens! So, if you're debating on it.. buy it. Just like all the other reviews suggest. February 26, 2012
great things from a small package... Great lens especially for the price. Works beautifully in day time and still pretty good at night (under low light conditions). February 11, 2012
This is the one that stays mounted. I use this lens all the time. The 1.8 aperture makes it perfect for social events and other indoor or night-time use, but it is also so sharp it is great for general photography. Extremely sharp images, gorgeous bokeh. Small, light, decent build quailty. At $200, a steal, and a must for any Nikon owner. January 30, 2012
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 10
<<prev | next>>
72 Questions | 127 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
72 Questions | 127 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+4points
6out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+6points
7out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+19points
21out of 23found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful21unhelpful2
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years ago
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+6points
8out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful2
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years ago
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-9points
1out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful10
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
5out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful6
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers