Loading

Compact, fast f/1.8 prime lens for DX-format cameras

Optimized for DX-format cameras, the compact, lightweight AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G delivers the consistently stunning images you’d expect from a prime lens. Its fast f/1.8 maximum aperture is perfect for low-light shooting and creating softly blurred backgrounds; and its classic “normal” angle of view (approximating what we see with our eyes) makes it a great all-around lens.
Silent Wave Motor
AS
M/A
Rear Focusing

Beautiful background blur

Isolate your subject for a dramatic effect

The secret to creating beautifully blurred backgrounds in your photos and videos is using a lens with a wide maximum aperture. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G’s maximum aperture is f/1.8, which provides complete depth-of-field control for isolating your subject and creating stunning portraits.

Outstanding low-light performance

Shoot in a greater range of conditions

An f/1.8 maximum aperture isn’t just for creating blurred backgrounds—it’s also the key to exceptional low-light performance. With the AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G, you’ll be able to shoot in more situations with only the available light—indoors or out, from morning until night.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G 4.8 5 259 261
Beginner I am a beginner who is trying to take up photography as a hobby. I am quite amazed at what this peice of equipment has done so far. I am just taking random shots at home. Cannot wait for spring to really get a full range of colours. December 23, 2010
Excellent upgrade to any kit lens Simple, light, cheap and with decent optical performance. This lens brings fast, creative photography to those without the money to buy hugely expensive professional lenses, which is its greatest achievement. It is usable wide open, with decent central sharpness and improves to very sharp when stopped down even to F2. By F2.8 the borders are better. It will easily outperform the kit lenses and allow low light shooting and creative use of depth of field. Very versatile as a standard lens on DX bodies. The only negative is some green and red fringing either side of the focal plane. Overall a bargain upgrade to DX users August 11, 2010
a great buy This was the second lens i used after my kit lens with the d5000. i'm an aspiring photographer and i've gotten some amazing shots with this lens. definitely something i would recommend to everyone. August 8, 2010
This lens is excellent I bought this lens because of the low price, and I was suprised of the quality and performance of the lens. Excellent lens for close up shots. August 7, 2010
Great first prime lens I am very happy with the results of this lens. You have to LOOK for the light falloff at f/1.8 to even notice it. Extremely sharp pictures from f/2.8 and up. Very compact and light - great to walk around town with! Only complaints would be that the focus ring is a little flimsy (I can rattle in in place without rotating it) and I wish there was a focus distance scale. I just like to know where it's at before I turn the camera on. Also it'd be helpful for video since that's currently manual focus only. August 1, 2010
Love the DOF I love to shoot anything with this lens, I like to play with the DOF a lot for every subject. Good enough range also. July 30, 2010
Great basic lens Besides the kit 18-105, I chose the 35mm f1.8 to go with my D3000, and these two are a great match. Being small and lightweight, with a fantastic wide aperture, these lens are perfect for low light shooting in urban travel. Very versatile, the only downfalls are the distortion present and a touch of chromatic aberration showing up sometimes, both being easily corrected in post-production software. The price point makes these an almost mandatory buy for those wiling to take photography a step up. The prime makes you work harder, and that shows! July 30, 2010
a must-have I consider this lens an absolute must for anyone looking to add a little more impact in their photography. I think it's a perfect first companion to the DX kit lens. It has so many things going for it: - versatile focal length - 35mm on a DX model camera (approximately 50mm equivalent) is a great all-around focal length that I use for situations from street photography, to casual family get togethers. - wide aperture - I use all the time when I want to either isolate a subject, or if I find myself in a low-light situation. - fast autofocus - great at those times when I chase my small daughter around. i find that a lot of times I can just hold my camera at arm's length and shoot away without peeking through the viewfinder. I've learned to generally trust the autofocus and I get unusual vantage points. - small size - much more easy for me to carry the camera around. And people around me don't take me as "seriously" as they might and tend to relax more as I shoot away. - image quality - while I'm not a pro, I haven't been disappointed with the quality of this lens, from the sharpness, to quality of blur. - price - I'm really glad that Nikon has this at a great price compared to what's currently available for the Canon and Sony brands. Only thing I wish for on this lens would have been a depth-of-field scale, as I rely heavily on this on my manual focus lenses. I'm really happy with this lens, and I would not consider owning a DX DSLR without one of these. July 30, 2010
A great lens at a cheap price This lens offers you fast aperture for shooting in low light without flash. At 52mm equivalent for FX, one of my only complaints is the lens could be a bit wider, especially indoors, but as a "walkaround" lens it's great. It's sharp wide open at f/1.8 and gets even sharper from f/2.8-4. The lens is lightweight and has a rear-focusing element to prevent dust from getting in. The Canadian price is a bit too high but otherwise it's a fantastic lens for a good price. July 30, 2010
Custo beneficio Rápida, nítida e leve. Indispensável em situações com pouca luminosidade, pela metade do preço que pagaria por uma lente f1.4. Se você está iniciando no mundo da fotografia com lentes reflex, esse é um ótimo passo além da lente que acompanho o kit de sua câmera. June 16, 2012
A little disappointed This is a very sharp lens with crisp contrast. The colors are snappy and the color cast is neutral. The area of caution for me is the bokeh. If you want this lens for general picture making and/or available light-type photography, it's a good choice. I got it because I needed a lens that I could use at large apertures for full-length to waist up portraiture. It has a good angle of view on my D300s, but the bokeh is not smooth. It's passable with simple backgrounds, but if there is anything visually complex in the distance it doesn't smooth out. Instead, you get these weird patterns going on that are only a little less distracting than if I stopped the lens down. I've tried everything from wide open down to f/4 and nothing really looks very good. I understand there are limits with shorter focal length lenses, but I thought Nikon might give us something more here. But hey, it's a very low priced lens, so... May 9, 2013
You get what you pay for This lens is quite affordable for someone looking for a first lens but unfortunately I cannot recommend it. It's got noticeable barrel distortion and the lens mount is made of plastic. If you don't intend to change lens often then get a coolpix. Also if you depend on the camera to fix the barrel distortion then you may be disappointed. A better value lens is the Nikon 50mm AF f1.8D: way less distortion with a metal mount at a lower price. February 15, 2011
Not Good Lens is extremely sharp but will not focus on the intended subject. I have tried it on 4 different bodies, D2Hs, D2X, D7000 and D40X. It focuses behind the intended subject on all four bodies. A focus adjustment of +20 on my D7000 is not enough to bring the intended subject into focus. I sent it to Nikon for warranty service. I hope they fix it and do not try to tell me it's normal. May 16, 2011
Versatile Lens This is an outstanding lens (and definitely worth the $200US pricetag) only when it is working. I'm not sure if I just got a lemon, but I have problems with the aperture fins sticking wide open. Even though the metering on my camera's LED readout says the shot should come out well-exposed at higher apertures (i.e. f/ > 1.8), the stuck lens causes most photos to be extremely over-exposed. I sent it back to Nikon repair and it was thoroughly cleaned, but the lens still sticks wide open. July 31, 2010
Stay Away from Refurb Ordered this refurb right from the Nikon site, had done a lot of research and decided on this over the Sigma 30mm f1.4, price was great. Shipped quickly got it here and it looked great. Popped it on my camera and the A/F is so slow that my Grandmother with cataracts can focus faster than this thing can. Very disappointed with Nikon, this lens was either never fully tested or if it was, it should never have left the bench. RMA Number requested. October 13, 2011
Reconditioned is a no... buy new wonderful lens that everyone should own. However if you are going to get this lens, purchase it new. I purchased mine Reconditioned. Regrettably after the warranty period has expired the lens is having focusing problems. Continual hunting and searching, and unable to maintain focus. I will repurchase this lens new when they become available. I have learned my lesson... April 14, 2011
Page: 6 7 8 9 10
<<prev
78 Questions | 136 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
78 Questions | 136 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Sort by:
+19points
22out of 25found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful3
i want to buy another lens, but i dont know if this lens is a better choice for me, help guys.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
RodolfoD
5 Answers

Answers

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
I was in the same situation. You will not be disappointed. Just look at all the reviews. I also purchased a refurbished Nikkor 50mm f/1.8. It is the best lens I have ever had.
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
Answer: 
For $200 this is the best choice.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
Maybe. This lens will allow you to shoot in lower light conditions than the 18-55mm lens that came with your D3100. This might include shooting indoors without flash and in museums and at shows with fast moving people, assuming you can get close enough. I own one and like it but I also have other more general purpose lenses.

I have a feeling that if you have to ask, this lens might not be the right choice for you. A wideangle lens that goes from about 10-20mm will open up a whole new world of photography not available to you now (good for some travel shots, but stitching photos together might also work) and a lens with more reach such as 18-105mm or 18-200mm might have a more immediate benefit. Portrait photos typically use a lens somewhat longer than 55 mm (maybe 85mm on your camera). One thing that is especially nice about the 35 mm lens is its compactness. With this lens I can put my whole camera into a vestpocket pouch and shoot images in an art museum that does not allow flash. I have framed copies of several masterpieces I've taken this way.

Because many people like a little more reach, the kit lenses of cameras that cost a little more come with the 18-105 mm lens. Also there is a 55-200 mm lens that can provide extra reach without duplicating what you already have.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+6points
9out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful9unhelpful3
Answer: 
Absolutely, yes!
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
Depends on what you are using now, if its the kit lens then possibly it could be better, obviously its going to be faster and sharper, but only you can decide if its what you need.
Apr 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
5 Answers

Will autofocus on a d3000?

Apr 24, 2011 by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Has staff answer
+12points
14out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful2
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Cisco
Miami,fl
Location : 
Miami,fl
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it will
May 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As Yevgen said the Nikkor AF-S DX 35mm f/1.8 G will autofocus in your D3000.

All lenses who contais S (AF-S) which means servo will focus in your camera.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
JuanR

+3points
6out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful3
Answer: 
Hi Cisco
I am sorry, but "Number One Contributor" gave you the wrong answer.
Your camera (D3000) do not have internal auto focus motor, but to have autofocus you can use any Nikkor lenses, which start from "AF-S ...".
All this lenses, including "AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G", have internal silence auto focus motor.
And that means, that with this lens, your Nikon D3000 will have autofocus, I also can added: very fast , precise auto focus and this lens is really very sharp, very sharp for most price category.
Good luck Cisco.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
No, affriad not.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+5points
7out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful2
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D3000.
Apr 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Will it auto focus with a D3100?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Ive read some reviews saying that it wont autofocus with the D3100 and others saying that it does. I really need to buy a fast lens but I cant decide, and I really need the auto focus :s main use is for portraits :)
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Michelle
Dominican Republic
Location : 
Dominican Republic
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, worked perfect with my 3100. Very pleased; bought to take daughter's Senior Portraits with.
Mar 7, 2012 by
by
Mickey
Broomfield, Co
Location : 
Broomfield, Co
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, up to full HD 1080, and full time focus
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! this lens is a DX format, same as the D3100, I have this lens, love it!
Jan 16, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
4 Answers

Why would one the AF-S 35mm 1:1.8 lens if they have the 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 to use. Explain the difference when using these lens.

May 20, 2012 by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Has staff answer
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Marlin
New Orleans
Location : 
New Orleans
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
As mentioned, the difference that really matter here is aperture. In fact, a lens set to f/1.8 will let in 4 times the amount of light that the 18-55 zoom can at its widest aperture. This means greatly increased low-light performance as well as much more range in depth-of-field.

Prime (or fixed focal length) lenses also provide better sharpness and contrast in general over zooms.

Personally however, I love primes because a) they're smaller, lighter, with fewer moving parts and b) the focal range limitation encourages a more artistic process as you physically move around to find your shot, paying attention to your composition instead of your equipment and c) the results simply look better.
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
SunnKram
Aspen, CO, USA
Location : 
Aspen, CO, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+12points
12out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
Answer: 
Probably the biggest difference is the aperture, f/1.8 will allow you to shoot in low light situations, and also allow you to blur the background when opening the lens wide. Fixed focal length lenses will often provide sharper images especially around the edges and corners of the frame.
May 22, 2012 by
by
Goodbye Canon
Portland, OR
Location : 
Portland, OR
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-10points
1out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful11
Answer: 
One is a zoom lens the other is fixed length, the 35mm being faster but lacks zoom and visa versa, cant really compare them and say you should have one over the other as they both have their uses.
May 21, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
6out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful7
Answer: 
Main difference is the angle of view and the aperture.
AF-S 35mm f/1.8 = Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 44°
AF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 = Maximum Angle of View (DX-format) 76°, Minimum Angle of View (DX-format) 28°50'
May 21, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

is it fit for D7000?

May 13, 2011 by
+10points
10out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sumo
india
Location : 
india
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes! D7000 is a camera in DX format and this lense too.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Very much so. That's the camera I am using it on.
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
Yamikaze
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure, this lens will work well on all Nikon DX body like the D7000
May 13, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

can i zoom with these lenses?

Jun 16, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot zoom, however the tradeoff is that the lens is more compact and the pictures are higher quality
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no this is constant focal length lense.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. With this lens you need to "zoom with your feet", but the advantages of this sort of lens are it's size, weight, sharpness and and the ability of it's wide maximum aperture to gather light. It's ideal for general photography, street shooting, and low light photography without flash.
Jun 16, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

will this autofocus with the d40?

Mar 26, 2011 by
+7points
7out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It works correctly on my D40X that does not have an internal motor, just like the D40.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D40 has no auto focus motor, but any AF-S lens is compatible to the D40 because it has a built in motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the 35mm f1.8 has its own AF motor, so the D40 can be used with no issues.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Will this auto focus with Nikon D60?

Mar 27, 2011 by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
I own a Nikon D60, SB-400 flash and need to know if this lens will work correctly with my Nikon hardware?

Thank you,

Vadim
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Vadim
Brooklyn, NY
Location : 
Brooklyn, NY
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have a D40X (has no internal motor, just like the D60) and it works fine on this camera.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
BostonAaron
Boston, MA
Location : 
Boston, MA
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years

+1point
5out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful4
Answer: 
Any AF-S will auto focus with the D60 because it has a built in motor. AF lenses don't and neither does the D60 so no auto focus.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will work perfectly as the 35mm lens has its own focusing motor. The sb-400, especially when bounced, will give plenty of wide light to capture with the viewing angle of the 35mm lens! Cheers!
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
3 Answers

Is it compatible to autofocus with a D5000?

Apr 19, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. I have a D5000, and the autofocus is excellent on this lens, even under lower light conditions. Be sure that you have your D5000 set up properly through the menus, then on the lens barrel itself, set the switch to the "M/A" position and it will do fine for you.
Mar 29, 2012 by
by
JargonTalk
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Location : 
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely.
Apr 23, 2011 by
by
ll
Montreal, QC
Location : 
Montreal, QC
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is. And it's a great lens.
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JamesD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
 
2 Answers

Will this auto focus with D90?

Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
+12points
12out of 12found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Angie
Indianapolis, IN
Location : 
Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will auto focus on any of the newer bodies as it has its own AF motor built-in.
Mar 28, 2011 by
by
Drumsnap
Central Florida
Location : 
Central Florida
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens will auto focus with D90 and with more simple DSRL - D50, D40 (which does not have internal AF motor inside the body).
D90 works with:
-all AF NIKKOR lenses D-/G-type (excluding IX NIKKOR lenses) with all functions possible (including 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode);
-all DX AF NIKKOR lenses (all functions possible);
-all AF NIKKOR lenses other than D-/G-type (excluding old lenses for F3AF) will also have all functions, except 3D-Color Matrix Metering II mode;
-all old AF Nikkor without D-type will can not work in 3D Color Matrix Metering and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
- non AF lenses AI-P NIKKOR will not work in autofocus mode, 3D Color Matrix Metering II and 3D Multi-Sensor Balanced Fill-Flash mode.
Mar 10, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4
next>>
Page: 2 3 4
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers