Loading

Definitive wide-angle zoom lens with VR II image stabilization.

This high-performance, f/4 fixed aperture, wide-angle zoom lens is perfect for interiors, landscapes, cityscapes, general photography and establishing shots when recording HD video. It covers a remarkably broad range, from ultra-wide 16mm to standard 35mm, and delivers superior sharpness and color. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 2.5 stops* of blur free handheld shooting.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Unwavering sharpness

Nikon VR II image stabilization

From daylight to low light, inside or out, near or far, your creative bases are covered with the astonishing versatility of the AF-S NIKKOR 16–35mm f/4G ED VR. Nikon VR image stabilization provides 2.5 stops of blur free handheld shooting. You can leave the tripod at home and create with spontaneity and confidence, even when lighting is less than ideal.

Exceptional versatility

Superior stills and HD video in any setting

AF-S NIKKOR 16–35mm f/4G ED VR includes some of Nikon’s most advanced lens technologies for exceptional performance in a broad range of shooting situations. From its flare and ghosting reducing Nano Crystal Coat (N) to its ultra-fast, ultra-quiet Silent Wave Motor (SWM) internal focusing motor, the AF-S NIKKOR 16–35mm f/4G ED VR is an advanced lens for today’s advanced D-SLR cameras.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR 4.8 5 49 49
Range of zoom is great I used this lens extensively on our recent trip to the Tetons. Great quality and the range of the zoom was very helpful. July 30, 2010
Landscaper dream lens I've owned a Nikkor 14-24 for a few years and I finally got to try the new 16-35VR f/4 lens. I have to say I am very impressed with this new lens. I recommend this lens to anybody looking for a light, round filter capable, wide angle landscaping lens zoom lens. It balances a lot better than my 14-24 and the extra mm in the long end does let me get tighter shots whenever I want without having to switch lenses. Distortion is noticeable at 16mm but easily fixed in software and not really noticeable for most natural landscapes At first I thought the VR feature wasn't going to make that much of a difference since this is no telephoto lens. However I was amazed that it does make a noticeable difference in low light conditions and when you lack a tripod. I now wish my 14-24 had VR. While not as sharp as my 14-24, for most landscape apertures (f/8 and beyond) this lens produces very good images, and probably as good as the 14-24 lens. Only wide open does the difference become noticeable with the 14-24 being better at the edges. Yet I don't think that's necessarily a problem for landscape photography since very rarely does on need to shoot wide open. This lens was a pleasant surprise and I hope nikon keeps making more f/4 zooms. Being a heavy f/2.8 lens owner, I'm definitively liking the weight and price of this new line. July 30, 2010
Excellent crisp sharp photos Exceptionally sharp; not too heavy; easy to use; affordable. July 30, 2010
Very sharp This is a superb wide angle zoom, priced more reasonably than the 14-24mm, and in a package that is more friendly to the photographer. Although not great for architecture photography at its widest setting due to distorted lines, this limitation is easily corrected for in imaging software. July 30, 2010
Superb Lens!! This lens is a very good Value for the Money. Even though I don't use Ultra Wides in my normal jobs, this lens is a great Landscape Lens. I have used it for some Architectural Interiors too. July 30, 2010
A Gem of a Lens I picked up this lens primarily for office interiors but now I use it all the time. It is sharp, sharp, sharp! It has great color, great perspective and seems brighter that I expected. The VR seemed overkill but now I love it, popping off razor sharp images at 1/4 second without a worry at weddings or location portrait sessions. Put this lens on a D3 and go shoot in a pitch dark room and wow yourself. July 30, 2010
Excellent value and quality Purchased for landscape and general purpose photography for use with my D800. Focus is instant and accurate, images are exceptionally sharp. Barrel and pin-cushion distortions are linear and easily correct. Construction quality is superior, handing ergonomics very comfortable. Excellent value and quality. August 1, 2012
Fantastic Lens Fantastic lens with great build quality. Relatively light for the size. Great aperture as I feel there is no need to own a f2.8 wide angle lens as I rarely shoot at this focal length in low light conditions requiring a faster lens. Only complaint is the length as it would be nice if it were a bit more compact allowing it to fit easier in the bag. June 11, 2011
Good wide angle lens!! I have been photographing weddings for almost eigth years now and I was waiting for a good, wide lens. I shoot different cultures weddings and some of them their families are huge! With -many times- being at a confined space a good wide is a must. Definetly a keeper. What I also like is that it forces you to change lenses if you want to shoot a portrait. You can distor your subject with this lens. I gave it a 4 star rating because it doesn't focus fast enough. But I can live with that. October 13, 2010
Wonderful Ultrawide I obtained the 16-35mm f4 VR a few months ago for use with my D700. This lens has been getting very good reviews and I agree with most everything I've read about it. I haven't used the 17-35 at all, and have only briefly used the 14-24, but it seems most of the comparisons are probably right on. This 16-35 is sharp beginning at f4, has a great zoom range, is built well, and handles great. Every lens has drawbacks and the only issue with this one is the well-documented, fairly extreme barrel distortion at the wide end. Overall it rocks and deserves 5 stars otherwise. August 2, 2010
good prosumer lens, overpriced distortions at wide end, field curvature, corners are soft, needs to be closed to f8.0 to be acceptable. July 30, 2010
Great lens First, I want to begin by saying that all my experiences are based on using this lens as a FX lens on either a D3 or D3x. I also base my review in light of my results with other Nikon lens, a 14-24; 24-70; 24 PCe; 20 mm and 60 mm. My 14-24 is a terrific lens, but as Thom Hogan says, its my favorite lens I never use. For most uses, its just a little too short. The 16-35 fills that gap for me as an everyday lens for someone who like wide angle work. The lens is much lighter than the 14-24 and if your walking around all day with a D3, the weight adds up. On the down side, there is some angle bending at 16 mm, in particular, the horizon, much more so than the 14-24. I have been doing correction with NX-2 and CS5, but there is no current lens correction profile for this lens yet in the Adobe profile list (July 2010), once that profile is out there, this should be less of an issue. I find the lens sharp and color great, especially if used at f8. Overall, good value and a good addition to any wide angle lens inventory July 30, 2010
Lens flares a lot I'm still scratching my head over how I got here. I was shooting with a D7000, but I really wanted, or thought I wanted, some N series lenses because of the supposed promise to eliminate lens flare. And since all the N lenses are FX, I thought I should have an FX camera to use the lenses at the length they were designed for. So I talked myself into a D600, and I bought the 16-35mm as my first N series lens to go along with it. But here's the thing ... I go out to the beach to shoot some sunsets, and I discover that this lens flares more than any lens I have ever used in my life, completely negating the entire reason why I bought the lens and the D600 in the first place. I've got one shot where the entire field of view is plastered with flares all over it. Now I don't know what to do. Should I go back to the D7000, should I buy some prime lenses? I'm now disillusioned by the promise of the N series lenses. Other than the flare, I think it's the best and sharpest lens I own. February 23, 2013
Soft off center axis I returned this lens because it was unacceptably soft off center axis on my D300. At 16mm even when stopped down to f5.6 off center image quality was soft. I also compared it to my excellent Nixon 24-70mm f2.8 at both 24mm and 35mm. The 24-70 was far superior off center axis at both 24mm and 35mm to the 16-35mm both at f4 and even when the 16-35mm was stopped down to f5.6. There was something very wrong with this lens either in design or manufacture. March 6, 2011
Page: 2 3
<<prev
11 Questions | 13 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
11 Questions | 13 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Does this lens work with the Nikon D5100?

Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Liz
Point Loma, CA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Liz
Point Loma, CA
Location : 
Point Loma, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Works with D5000, too. So, D5100 shouldn't be a problem.
Jan 14, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes this lens will work on the D5100,the S indicates a built in focusing motor in the lens'
However it will no longer be 16-35mm, It will be 24-56.5 mm because of the APS-c sensor
& its 1.5x multiplication factor.
Apr 24, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Apr 24, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does this lens work with the Nikon D300?

Aug 4, 2011 by
by
Eliot
Rockport, ME
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Eliot
Rockport, ME
Location : 
Rockport, ME
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, no problem.
Aug 4, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

can this fit D3000?

Sep 6, 2011 by
by
itzzjoe
Newark
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Can this lens fit my D3000? does the auto focus work on D3000?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
itzzjoe
Newark
Location : 
Newark
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes and yes.
Sep 6, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Is there a lens shade for this lens that will go over a polarizing filter?

Jan 4, 2013 by
by
O.
Houuston, texas
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
1 year, 3 months ago
by
O.
Houuston, texas
Location : 
Houuston, texas
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, You can attach the HB-23 Bayonet Lens Hood over a polarizing filter.
Jan 5, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

What country manufactures the 16-35mm f/4G ED VR ?

Feb 19, 2013 by
by
TEDG
South Florida
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
What country manufactures the 16-35mm f/4G ED VR ?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
TEDG
South Florida
Location : 
South Florida
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-10points
0out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful10
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual cameras and lenes are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera or len is produced where.
Feb 21, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Does the lens work with nikon d600?

Mar 8, 2013 by
by
Georgeny1
New York, NY, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Georgeny1
New York, NY, USA
Location : 
New York, NY, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it does.
Mar 8, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Do you work with Nikon D600 ?

Jul 24, 2013 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Do you work with
Nikon D600 ?

Is there a better option for nature photography?
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR lens is compatible with D600. There are many things in Nature that can be capture with different types of lenses. Please check NIKON Learn & Explore Library for articles on Nature Photography.
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-An...
Jul 26, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

Is this lens good enough for D800E camera?

Nov 3, 2013 by
by
Semi Pro
Denmark
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Semi Pro
Denmark
Location : 
Denmark
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes it is, very good optics.
Nov 3, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

is this a good lense for night club photography

Mar 17, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Location : 
Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For good night club shots, you will want a large aperture to let in as much light as possible. From daylight to low light, inside or out, near or far, your creative bases are covered with the astonishing versatility of the AF-S NIKKOR 16–35mm f/4G ED VR. Nikon VR image stabilization provides 2.5 stops of blur free handheld shooting. You want large apertures to let in as much light as possible.
Mar 20, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
 
1 answer

How can you tell if your 16-35mm is a VR II?

Aug 26, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
LD
MO
Location : 
MO
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
As they are fairly new to the line up all 16-35's are VR2.
Aug 26, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers