Loading

Key Features

Wide-ratio 5.8x zoom
Compact, versatile and ideal for a broad range of shooting situations, ranging from interiors and landscapes to beautiful portraits—a perfect everyday zoom.

An ED-(Extra-low Dispersion) glass element
Minimizes chromatic aberration, contributing to superior optical performance.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
Enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare.

Close focusing to 1.48 feet
Creative close-up photography is possible throughout the entire zoom range.

Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization
Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops** of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Aspherical lens element
Virtually eliminates coma and other types of lens aberration, further improving image integrity.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
Enables fast, accurate, and quiet autofocus.

Rounded 7-blade diaphragm
Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image elements.

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.1 5 169 169
great all purpose lens when i got my new camera, it came with the 18-55mm lens, and as part of the deal, a 55-200mm. the next day, i returned the 55-200mm and got the 18-105mm. this gives me the close personal range, and enough distance, to shoot waterfalls,without constantly swapping between the 18-55 and 55-200. now i can shoot waterfalls, people in front of waterfalls, and wide angle big picture shots. the 18-55mm remains in my bag as a backup, in case anything happens. July 30, 2010
Great Starter / Kit lens In my opinion, this is a great all around lens from wide angle to portrait shots. If you have to carry with limited lenses, I would recommend this for the casual vacation trip. This lens works well in low light if you have a tripod. I use this lens on my D90. July 30, 2010
Great all purpose zoom... This kit lens turned out to be far better than I expected. It produces sharp and color correct photos. Action is smooth and there is no lens creep. At both the extreme wide angle and the extreme zoom, photos are going to show some aberrations. Buildings will lean in extreme wide angle shots. Shadows will appear in the corners at the far end of the telephoto zoom range. These issues were expected given the price of this zoom. What was not expected was the fine clarity when photos were severely cropped and then blown up. This is a fine lens and one that will remain in use as I add more lenses to my kit. July 30, 2010
Nice versatile zoom lens This lens came with my D90 and makes great pictures from 18-105. If I could only take one lense this would be it. It does need more light being f 3.5 to 5.6 still a great lens. July 30, 2010
A great kit zoom lens Came as the stock lens for the D80. Very versatile zoom range, though not very quick (f 3.5-5.6). Great response with good lighting or a flash. A little bit of barrel distortion as you zoom, but nothing really noticeable unless you view at 100%. Overall a great, lightweight zoom lens for the DX bodies. July 30, 2010
Very good general purpose As a newbie to DSLR I cut my teeth on this lens. I have had it for about 1 1/2 years and used it about 90% of the time. It has served me well. The mount has not been a problem, but then I baby the camera and lens. My only gripe with the lens is that it doesn't focus as closely as I'd like. 1 1/2 feet is ok but I'd like it to be about 1/2 feet. I currently covet the 18-200mm VR II lens. It is sharper and gives you that almost 100mm further reach. July 30, 2010
Quality Images This lens came with the camera when i bought it in 2008. While the lens itself has consistently produced great quality sharp images, the first 2 months i had it, i often had an error message, which was to do with the mount connection. There were several times the camera wouldn't shoot when i was in Morocco and i was furious about it. Then other times it would work again. I sent the camera and lens back to Nikon for repair under warranty, and since then (18 months ago), i haven't had a single problem with it. It's a surprisingly good lens for a kit lens! July 20, 2010
QUALIDADE QUE SURPREENDEU. Uma lente extremamente versátil rápida, silenciosa perfeita para diversos motivos, uma resposta muito boa para locais de extrema luminosidade. April 22, 2012
I wanted to like it. My issue with this lens is that it reflects the shortcuts in construction to make it a less expensive kit lens. No issues with the glass itself, the VR, focusing all good, and a handy zoom range. The lens mount is plastic, not metal like most other quality Nikon lenses. If you hurriedly pick up your gear up by the lens (hey we all do it once in awhile) instead of the body your lens may just break off like mine did. Nikon charges to fix this and says it is from being knocked/abused. The plastic 'seal' at the end of the outer ring under which the inner barrel slides can slip out of place allowing debris to enter. So if you treat the lens with kid gloves it can serve you well but if you get out and about and use your equipment under real world conditions I'd get a more substantial lens. The AFS DX18-200 which seems to have a higher build quality is what I bought to replace this lens. May 16, 2014
Surpness not upto mark surpness not upto expected loss detail of the picture specially for long distance scene. January 9, 2014
Fine for casual shooting, but don't look for details Unfortunately I bought the lens with a D500 for image quality. If used indoors (studio) on a tripod the lens always is sharp on the right hand side and out of focus on the left. The upper left is a joke. I've been trying this for over a year and I'll probably need to get a fixed focus lens. July 31, 2013
Great versatility, poor durability I've had my D90 for about 3 years. This lens offers tremendous versatility and has done a very serviceable job. I am not a pro, so I don't take thousands upon thousands of photos. But I am an avid amateur and have enjoyed this setup very much. If I have to grab one lens to go, this is the one I revert to. That being said, I am disappointed that after a couple of years of what I consider average use, the plastic mount on the lens has cracked. There was no sudden impact or drop from a height. Just went to take off the lens, and crack goes the mount and a slim piece of plastic sheered right off one of the flanges that anchors the lens to the camera body. I'm in the process of working with Nikon to send it back for repair since there is no Nikon service provider in my area. My fear is that I'll be told that it can't be fixed and the lens is shot. And of course out of warranty. I hope I'm wrong. I've been using Nikon SLR products and lenses for decades and have subjected them to much tougher treatment than this lens has gotten, so I was surprised at the mount failure- and disappointed. May 4, 2012
"ehh" pretty much sums up this lens Recently I gave away all my canon stuff, and received the nikon d7000 as a gift & it came with this lens. Its alright, the word "ehh" pretty much sums up the performance. I just got the lens yesterday and im somewhat impressed but there are some things that annoy me so far. For example, the changing aperture from 18-105. At 105 the aperture is at 5.6 which does not let in much light. and also when you zoom in and out you have to change your exposure. If nikon could make this a 2.8 through out the zoom range it would be an amazing lens. December 26, 2011
It is a good lens i usually take it to camps and take and other places thats petty much it its a good lens to start off with. November 30, 2011
Technically advanced build quality ? Although this lens has all the technical advancements we have come to expect from Nikon and performs well in the field, I am disappointed with the plastic build quality. Many trade-offs for weight vs solid build vs cost. Much plastic. Unsure of quality of lenses vs my original AF lenses. Have to really consider durability in the field to decide if this is the lens for you. August 10, 2011
Good, but not Great The lens zooms smoothly, focuses fast and accurately. It fully covers the portrait range, rather than having than having that awkward break at 55 mm. It is fairly sharp, but not crisp. I expected a Nikon lens to fairly "pop" with sharpness. My 18-105 does not. I have two point-and-shoot cameras that are sharper. I love the Nikon D-90 camera and its 3200 ISO, but wish I had bought the camera without the "kit" lens and had bought another lens separately. August 8, 2011
It's alright This lens was a kit lens for my camera and for the time being it performed alright. Low-light performance is quite bad, due to the slow aperture. The zoom works well, with no zoom creep. The sharpness is alright, however at the longer focal length one can see some distortion April 14, 2011
O.K. lens, not super sharp The lens seems average for for overall serviceability. Sharpness seems lacking. April 14, 2011
Can't use it yet I can't discuss how good the camera is or whether I would recommend it because I haven't been able to use it yet. I had been using the Nikon D100 for years when I decided to buy the Nikon D7000 with telephoto lens. I explained to the salesman that I shot only in RAW. He did not tell me I would have to upgrade to Adobe Photoshop CS5 in order to process my photos. After struggling for a few days with my Photoshop CS3, I found that was the problem. In order to install CS5 I finally found I had to upgrade the memory in my computer and buy Snow Leopard. So I had to add onto the cost of the camera and lens the cost of Photoshop CS5 (luckily I got a student discount), the cost of memory updates and the cost of Snow Leopard. I had set enough money aside for the camera and lens but had not anticipated the extra expenses. It will take me a long time to climb out of the debt I incurred. I fault Nikon for not making that clear, Adobe for making it necessary, and the salesman at Camera and Darkroom in Santa Fe for not telling me. He was, by the way, very familiar with the camera and owned it himself. March 23, 2011
Decent all purpose lens from wide to telephoto Pro's ... MSRP of $400 for a single lens that will cover wide angle (18mm) to telephoto (105mm). Attractive price when included as a kit. Con's ... Plastic mount where Nikon has had to service the lens due to failure within 3000 pictures taken. As a general statement, a 'dedicated' focal length will outperform a 'multipurpose' lens. However, if you're looking for one lens to mount and use from wide angle to telephoto, the AF-S 18-105mm DX ED VR is worth considering. An alternative to consider includes the 18-70mm DX ED which did not have the VR feature (but still going strong after 15K pictures taken). Others include the 16-85mm ED VR or 18-200mm VR II if your budget permits. For professionals, you'll probably be disappointed with distortion in the 18-105mm range. Most users won't notice such distortion, or correct with software. I'm generally happy with the lens in general shooting to allow subject composition from within 2' to telephoto while covering wide angle landscapes and portraits. For the serious shooter, you'll probably have a fisheye, wide angle, wide angle zoom, 50mm standard focal, 60mm micro, and high power zoom in your Nikkor inventory. For those on a limited budget while trying to have a single lens to accomplish multiple tasks where f/stop and distortion most often won't be an issue, the 18-105mm is a decent overall lens where the 18-200mm might be a better choice for the extra money. August 10, 2010
Fragile but useful I have used this lens for over a year. It is good as an overall "normal" lens. It is also lightweight compared to other lenses. As with any lens that only reaches 105mm, it has limitations on macro photography, and can be a little short for some landscapes. The clarity is excellent, and I have produced sharp photos with excellent color rendition. My one beef is the plastic mount. This has proved a bit fragile for my use out in wilderness settings, and I recently had to return it for repair because an unnoticed blow apparently shattered one flange of the mount. This caused the electronic connections to go haywire and give error messages as well as incorrect exposures. Upon closer inspection, I also found that the sharp corners and edges on the mount were rounded off with wear. I have had a single body to work with and often switch lenses. I am not sure the plastic will stand up to heavy use of this nature. If the mount breaks, you will be paying for the repair (as noted in other reviews I have read) because it will be put down to impact damage. It is apparent that the plastic has limitations. My recommendation, having just purchased the 18-200mm is buy that instead. It has a metal mount, greater range and versatility, and better macro capability all in one lens. August 2, 2010
Good pictures; lightweigt; fragile construction The lens is quiet and easy to use and is relatively light, making it a good companion for travel. I've taken good pictures in daylight and night time with and without flash. However, while traveling overseas, my lens was attached to a D90 in a padded bag when it slipped off a suitcase onto the airport floor and the plastic lens mount broke, even though it was not a really hard fall. I was able to continue to use the lens for still photos by holding it tightly to the camera, though it was difficult. July 31, 2010
WA chromatic abberation is disappointing. Actually, my lens is a Nikkor AF-S 18-135 lens. It's not listed and this is as close as I could come. When I bought the camera, I thought, 'Wow! A great Nikkor zoom. This will be terrific!" I was surprised to find, on the WA setting, shooting on the shadow side of my subject, chromatic abberation. It's not just awful, but this is a Nikkor! Disappointing. July 30, 2010
I good kit-lens for beginner. A good lens for beginner, you can get a wide-angle until tele. The quality is acceptable, but it's feel too plasticy. The VR is usually useful, Anyway, what do you expect from a kit-lens, it's better than 18-55mm. I wouldn't recommend people to buy this lens separately, one is it a bit too expensive, two it's not worth to but separately as a walk-around lens, I would prefer 18-200 VRII, it's something worth more to invest in. I would say, if you are getting a D90 and you are a beginner, just want to walk around taking some pictures for personal usage, go for it. But if you want to get it separately, go for the 18-200 VRII, it's more worth to invest. July 30, 2010
for the price, its ok The first thing I told my wife is that even my old 50mm/1.8 E Series gives me better results than this one. But thats obvious. Really, it all depends on what you are looking for from a lens. Something inexpensive and usable for general purposes is what you get with this lens. And for the most part, most of us amateurs should be able to use it happily. I have not used it for too long (only about 3 months) and its been working fine for me as a packaged lens with D90. If I had a choice, I'd pay a little more and get a packaged deal with 18-200mm + d90. Lastly, Nikon has never disappointed me. And while I always harp about prices, Nikon is a part of my family. July 30, 2010
Watch out Great optics.Easy to use.BUT it is not up to the quality of the other NIKON lenses I own. The plastic mount will break if you tap anything with it.I wish the mount had been made of metal but it would have made it cost more April 24, 2013
Mass produced, low quality, plastic everything This lens is a kit lens for a reason, very cheaply made, (front ring came off within the first couple months) - if it came with your camera then by all means use it for average pics but do not spend your hard earned money on this lens if it didn't come with your camera. Very few images have come back tact sharp using this lens, but when I shoot w my 50 1:4 I get an incredible image and great bokeh. You'll be much better off buying the 18 0r 28-300 or better yet just invest in the 17-55 2.8 or 24-70 2.8 December 10, 2013
Nice lens, easy to use, great range. Just picked this lens up as a replacement to my kit lens that came with my D80. Used for two weeks and noticed the lens was loose on the body. After inspection found that part of the PLASTIC mount was cracked so the lens could not be secure to the body. Bummer, I didn't even think about the mount being plastic but I guess you get what you pay for. My 70-200 f2.8 has a metal mount and this will never happen. Lesson learned. December 27, 2012
Sharpness doesn't kick in until f/11 I never see any professional photographers comment on any of these kit lenses or entry level lenses, so I will do my best. I would only recommend this lens to someone who just needed a lens for a holiday family get together. I don't mind shooting wide with it, but wow, it's almost like having a fisheye lens with the amount of barrel distortion present at 18mm. Very weird for a focal length of 18-105mm. I would expect that in an 18-200mm or an 18-300mm, but not this one. One of my test shots was as follows: Tripod mounted, VR off, ISO 100, SB-900 as Key, SB-600 as backlight, 1/250s Shutter, started shooting subject at f/5.6 in 1/3 stop increments. The lens didn't even sharpen up until f/11. Very disappointing. Now, I understand that this lens is no means close to a pro lens, but I've never owned a Nikon entry level kit lens that wasn't sharp at it's lowest aperture, let alone one that didn't start to show more signs of sharpening by the first stop decrease. The few photos that managed to turn out somewhat useful still needed extensive sharpening in Photoshop. However, the color rendition is fantastic. Nice, vibrant color reproduction and almost no noticeable chromatic aberration. There is quite a bit of vignetting apparent at all apertures at 105mm, but Adobe Camera Raw's automatic lens correction profile takes care of this without a hitch. The biggest downside to this lens is the fact that it has so much barrel distortion, people's features change when corrected in Lightroom. I would recommend sticking with the 18-55mm VR and 55-200 VR if you want to go the kit lens route. Sure you will be switching out the lenses, but the quality of your photographs will be drastically improved. Besides, unless you really need a wide angle view indoors, you won't be swapping lenses all that often, as the 55-200mm VR works superbly for indoor shooting. It possesses great color reproduction, sharpness, and not too much vignetting. As for the 18-55mm VR; there is a time for panoramas and wide angle shots. Typically that time is not when you will need a 200mm focal length. Also, with only having the mid-range of focal lengths, the 18-55mm VR gives you the benefit of a wide angle without all of the extra barrel distortion and vignetting as noticed with the 18-105mm. Both the 18-55 and 55-200 are tried and true, and the utmost of Nikon quality outside of the pro realm. They produce great photos and were matched to work together, not just in focal length, but photographic production as well. November 12, 2011
Lens Mount The lens mount is plastic and breakes easily, I was told the camera is not heavy enough to have a metal mount and that there are not issues with this lens, but just google Nikom lens mount issues and you will see that this is a big problem and not covered by there 5 year warranty. September 15, 2011
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
54 Questions | 81 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 81 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

would a teleconverter work w/ this lens? i am new to dslr.

May 13, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no, tele-converters only work on FX (full frame) bodies with FX lenses attached.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters do not work with this lens or any of the new generation Nikon lens. They work with the old Nikkor lenses but not with the new lenes with VR and auto focus etc. I would recommend purchasing a longer zoom focal length like a 200mm or 300mm VR AF.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless your sample of the 18-105 is sharper than mine, I would not use a teleconverter with it. A teleconverter is kind of like an optical "digital zoom." It does not waste megapixals, but it does take the existing resolution and spreads it out. My lens does not have any resolution to spare.
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
Stevie G.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would professionally stay away from Teleconverters with digital. The lenses are calibrated for optimum performance as per their design. When you add teleconverters, you interfere with engineering principles as well as lose your ability to auto-focus in most cases.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
actually (please nikon officials look away) a kenko TC will work with nikkor superzooms as well (but of course, only in the tele area). i don't say it's pretty but it works.
May 13, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the 18-105mm lens compatible with the D3100?

May 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
12out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful6
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Jim
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. That is what is great with the nikon camera from there old cameras to a new cameras the lens will fit.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S 18-105mm lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Crop factor on the focal length of the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Aug 25, 2013 by
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have recently bought a Nikon D7000 + AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR kit, but I have a couple of Nikkor lenses dating from the 1980's.
Here's what's bothering me. When I set this AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm on the 50mm mark of focal length (the info in the picture also shows 50mm) I get almost exactly the same picture as when using an old Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 lens.
I have attached two photos taken wtih these two lenses.
The latter shuld be producing an image taken with a 75mm lens, since it is a lens made for 35mm film cameras and the crop factor should be applied.

My question is : is the focal length scale in terms of the 35mm cameras or the DX-sized sensors?
I.E. when it says 18mm on the focal length scale is this 18mm on a full-frame sensor (27mm on the DX) or 18mm on the DX (that shold be 12mm on the FX).
If this is a DX lens, why would it have FX focal length index?
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 2 months ago
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Location : 
Zagreb, Croatia
Age: 18-24
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
DX and FX lenses have the same crop factor - 1.5x - when used on a DX format camera. However, while DX lenses have a 1.5x crop factor on both DX and FX cameras, FX lenses only have the crop on DX cameras.

Your FX 50mm lens will have an angle of view equivalent to a 75mm lens when used on a DX camera and an angle of view of 50mm on an FX format camera. Your DX 18-105mm at 50mm focal length will have an angle of view equivalent to 75mm on both DX and FX format cameras.

The Nikon Lens Simulator helps to illustrate this by simulating the effect of lenses with different formats and focal lengths on both DX & FX format cameras. Visit
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/len...

You may also find these articles on Nikonusa.com helpful: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Okay, I will try again. The focal length scale at 18mm is based on FX, (27mm DX) the reason is you are still at 18mm focal length but because of the crop factor the effective field of view is 27mm.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Also, read this :
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Article/g588ouey/The-DX-and-FX-Formats.html

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Same crop factor FX or DX lens.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D40x?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF and AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. it'll autofocus because it's an AF-S, meaning the focusing motor is inside the lens. it'll also enable exposure metering and distance calculation.
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D50?

Jul 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D50
4.6 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Zach
Charlotte, NC
Location : 
Charlotte, NC
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF and AF-S lenses are.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D50.
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

1 Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D 5100 ?

Aug 10, 2011 by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
Location : 
bhopal ( INDIA)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF-S lenses work well with the D5100
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and I am sure you would love it I use it with my D5000 and my D7000.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Crescent PA
Location : 
Crescent PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

18-105 lens & focus ring

Oct 17, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way everyone elses work??
Edit your post: To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?) I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way they all work?
3 years ago
by
Kaye K.
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's how it works. Even though it doesn't say it on the side, that focusing ring is actually an M/A (autofocus with manual override), meaning you can have it set to AF, but turn the focusing ring without damaging the gears on the inside of the barrel.
Nov 12, 2011 by
by
D. Andrew
Norfolk, VA
Location : 
Norfolk, VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
the fine focus ring does tighten slightly at max and min point but over rides those points when a small pressure is applied, so no its not broke.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

How do I set the infinity focus on the 18-105mm lens?

May 24, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Renee
Miami,FL
Location : 
Miami,FL
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
set to manual (M).
set focal depth (18mm etc).
Turn fine focus ring to the right until infinity focus is viewed.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Using manual focus is going to be your best option.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?

Jun 18, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Danang
Indonesia
Location : 
Indonesia
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. The AF-S lens is certainly needed with this model.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is this lens (Nikkor 18-105mm) compatible with the NIKON D60?

Jun 29, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D60
4.5 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
zoomclicks
midest
Location : 
midest
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all dx lenses will work.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jun 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers