Loading

Key Features

Wide-ratio 5.8x zoom
Compact, versatile and ideal for a broad range of shooting situations, ranging from interiors and landscapes to beautiful portraits—a perfect everyday zoom.

An ED-(Extra-low Dispersion) glass element
Minimizes chromatic aberration, contributing to superior optical performance.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
Enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare.

Close focusing to 1.48 feet
Creative close-up photography is possible throughout the entire zoom range.

Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization
Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops** of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Aspherical lens element
Virtually eliminates coma and other types of lens aberration, further improving image integrity.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
Enables fast, accurate, and quiet autofocus.

Rounded 7-blade diaphragm
Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image elements.

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.1 5 169 169
great walk-about lens A wonderful walk-about lens to be kitted with any DX SLR camera. Though considered by many as an alternative to the 18-55 the 18-105 is actually a formidable lens to get used to the camera and to get an idea of what you want to add to your collection of lenses. That aside as a flexible working lens to be used in variable situations like urban areas, the 18-105 delivers a great wide angle and then carries the focus through to a wonderful 105mm for an urban portrait or a more cropped scene for example. Near field objects render wonderful bokeh in small apertures in both 18mm or even at the top end at 105mm. Downside is the seemingly useless and somewhat bad idea of the black paper ring around the front of the lens, which seems to have no real use what so ever. A better, higher end version of this lens would certainly fill a niche in the ever saturated "kit-lens" alternative. November 7, 2011
My goto lens for travel I have two of these. The first was the kit-lens for my D90. The second a replacement due to an accident at the airport, read on.... It's a really nice range for street, landscapes and night photography (with tripod). My only complaint is that the flange ring holding it on the camera is made of plastic, which severely reduces the build quality of this lens. But for the price, range and performance you can't go wrong. My tip: Don't transport your camera with this lens attached to it in a bag, it might just snap off, if the bag falls over. See why I have two? October 18, 2011
Useful Lens Purchased to replace kit 18mm-55mm lens which came with D5100--did not feel this had enough flexibility for everyday use at low level zoom (portraits, close-nature, framing objects, etc). Like the lens a lot so far, good optics/clariity. Since not IF type, it is a little cumbersome (4" long at 18mm, 6" long at 105mm), but is fairly lightweight, so easy to handle. Have also ordered a 55mm-200m IF type for extended capability. August 22, 2011
serviceable, but cheap mount Use this lens for personal & semi pro use. Mount to camera body is plastic and broke within 2 years of rather light use; my only complaint. August 4, 2011
Unbeatable value I use this lens on my D7000 and found it to be a great all around everyday lens for close up, portrait, landscape and medium telephoto shots. It is my go to lens unless I am doing long distance shots of nature and wildlife. The photos comes out sharp and colourful. Auto focus is quick and the vibration reduction greatly helps is getting those tack sharp pictures. I will recommend this lens to anyone. July 28, 2011
Good cheap lens. The lens came as part of body lens combo with the D7000. The lens certainly works well with the camera and provided some amazing shots. If cosr were not an option, I would probably purchase the 18 - 200 MM lens. This will happen in the future, but for now, I am quite happy the the lens I have. July 7, 2011
Good lens This is a good lens. I wish the package would offered the Nikkor 18-200mm lens. May 21, 2011
I was surprised I had read some bad reviews of this lens and was a little worried. I've been pleasantly surprised with it. I'm happy with the quality I'm able to get with this kit lens. I really love the range 18-105 for portraits and can't wait to shoot with it more. Good lens for the price. May 20, 2011
Many Strengths, one weakness The 18-200mm lens was purchased as a set with the D-90 camera and provides all the focal length and aperture required for general non-professional use. It has all the strengths of the Nikon family of lenses [coatings, craftmanship, internal vibration reductution, manual options,etc.] But, as with the rest of the new SLR cameras with interchangeable lens, there is a plastic ring attaching the lens to the body which is very insubstantial. Be very gentle and there is no problem. Strike anything immovable with the lens and you will be visiting the repair shop. May 3, 2011
Good lens but read below-Caution Great Lens but repairs can cost 1/2 the cost of the lens. lot's of plastic inside. Broke the cheap plastic mount and paid $125 to repair. In a separate incident- A screw came loose inside the lense (very common with inexpensive lenses like this one) and jammed the zoom/auto focus-rendering the lense mostly useless. Fortunately this lense has a 5yr mfg warranty which Nikon is fixing at no charge! April 25, 2011
An OK Lense Light weight and easy to use. Lack of an aperture ring drives me crazy, as my last camera was an F3 and that was standard. Absolutely hate the lens cap, which is very difficult to place with the shield on and if the camera is lifted, even a little by the shield, the lens cap easily comes off. Bad design in my opinion. I have reached into my bag many times to find the lens cap off and suggest that the lens should automatically come from the factory with a glass lens uv/skylight filter to protect the lens from fingers that accidentally touch it. April 23, 2011
Such a great lens! I have used (and I'm still using it today) this lens for more than one year and this is such a good lens! I have bought it with D90, which makes a great couple together. This lens is very very sharp and usable in each "category" to photograph. I used it for gigs, portraits and landscapes, with the best of the results! I would (definitely) recommend it instead of 18-55mm ;) April 21, 2011
Great Walk Around Lens I purchased this lens as part of a kit. I have found it to be a good lens for general photography. It has sufficient range to perform in most photographic situations. The only issue I have with it is that the aperture is not large enough when zoomed in for some lowlight situations. While this is not always an issue, it is something to consider when purchasing this lens. April 18, 2011
Great First Lens This is a great first lens. If has a good focus range, but is too slow for most action shots. The boken is good at the 18 end but when you reach out to 105 you can tell that the aperture closes up, and background blur gets less. For most everyday uses this is a great lens but I wouldn't recommend this if you are going to try and make a profit off of your shots. For any other use I WOULD recommend this lens. April 18, 2011
Good lens for the price I've used this lens allot for all kinds of photography, though the images I get from it varies from just ok to very good (sometimes) for the price of this lens I can't complain, I get good enough images with it for my needs with a cheaper lens, overall the lens is a decent investment for personal photography April 17, 2011
A great kit lens This lens is a perfect range for DX sensor cameras - you add an 80-200mm or 70-300mm zoom, and you have a great 2 lens kit for travel. I shoot this lens a lot on a custom infrared converted Nikon D200 camera body. The VR gives me at least 1.5 stops of hand-holdable shutter speed advantage, although subject movement becomes a problem sometimes, and no VR lens can fix that. April 16, 2011
Good overall lens for day to day shots. I am very happy with this lens on my D-90. All of my pictures are in focus and the wide angle and zoom capability make it very flexible for most pictures. I have had my camera and lens for 15 months now. I would recommend this lens to my friends and others. April 16, 2011
A very nice kit lens! This lens is good if you are buying it as a kit lens which come with a kit set of D90 or D7000 either than that you shouldn't but it. I would recommend 18-200mm VR more over than this. Due to it's range, it making me having a limit, I have a feeling of pushing beyond 105mm limit. Other than the range problem, this lens is consider very good as a kit lens. It can do nice color and I haven't seen any ghosting effect as my other old lenses. Caution: If you planing to use this lens for a video shooting on your DSLR Mic don't use the autofocus mode because the sound of the focus is terribly bad and noisy it also quite slow. April 16, 2011
On my camera 90% of the time. I purchased this lens as an upgrade from the 18-55 that came on my D50. I purchased a D90 (Body only) and wanted better glass for it. April 14, 2011
fairly quick / great for landscapes I find this lens really good for the type of landscapes I shoot with my d300s. It has given me the type of pictures that I need for my business, especially the deep shadowed detail I am looking for. The one criticism. I wish that it felt more substantial I worry that it will not last very long when I am climbinmg over rocks or through heavy brush. April 14, 2011
Better Than I Expected This is the lens that came with my Nikon D7000 and the more I use it the better I like it. It's at its optical best in the 24mm-60mm range which suits my style. In the 60mm-105mm range it's still very good when you pay attention to aperture settings for best sharpness. f8 seems to be the sweet spot in this range. For the price you can't beat it and the colour rendition is just fine. April 14, 2011
Good lens This lens gets great pictures and has a comfortable zoom range for most situations. My only complaint is that it could have a bit better aperture. April 14, 2011
I Approve I have been away from SLR photography for about 10 years after being involved for about 40 years. Back in those days my favorite lens was my 43-86 zoom. I would say that the 18-105 is a great replacement in current technology and a perfect pairing with my new D7000. In my first outing with it I did notice that I need to remove the lens hood with the flash on in the wide angle mode. Since the hood is notched it seems curious that they didn't take this into consideration and allow one of the notches to line up on top. I think that might have eliminated the shadow if you forget to take it off. April 14, 2011
standard zoom as far as kit lenses go, this is the one to get. it's not much larger than the 18-55, but gives you so much more useable length. my daughter's both have the 18-55, which is also a great lens, but grab my 18-105 whenever i'm not using it. that's how much of a difference it makes. takes great shots and you don't miss much. April 14, 2011
This is a great lens for the features and price If you are on a budget or are new to photography this is the lens for you. It is a great well rounded lens, it came with my D7000 from Best Buy and has served me well. I sometimes take it to school and I see some lizards around and I take pictures of them and the size of the lens and the mediocre low light functionality means it is a good lens. However I would have liked it to have a better zoom so I will be getting a 55-300mm vr lens. I would say that this lens is something that is a "must" in any camera bag! March 17, 2011
Great all purpose lens. This has become my primary lens for all that i shoot. Very dependable. December 13, 2010
Great kit lens I got the 18-105 with my D3000, as a present from my family. It was great they chose to upgrade the standard kit to a better lens, instead of going for a better camera. This piece of glass is truly versatile, and of very decent optical quality. As stated in other reviews, plastic mount, a bit of distortion at 18 and some vigneting at 105 isn't five stars, but this lens keeps cost down while affording a fantastic zoom range, truly weel chosen by Nikon. VR works indeed, and at mid values sharpness is comparable to much higher grade lenses. So, a fantastic piece of kit for newbies and intermediate users, no doubt about it. August 11, 2010
Good, solid value I bought this to supplement the 18-55mm kits lens on my Nikon D40. It has become my main lens due to its versatility and IQ. I have only have 2 niggling issues: First the manual focus ring is too easily moved when holding the lens.Secondly, the lens tens to suffer form "zoom creep" if pointed up, or down. Gravity tends to take over. That should not happen. August 5, 2010
Good all round This lens came with my camera (Nikon D90) and I use it alot, I do portraits with it I use it at weddings I use it for basicly any type of photography except for low light but over all I really like the lens. August 3, 2010
Nice to have An excellent lens for my pets and family photo. A good general purpose lens. I use it on my D40X at all the time. 18-135mm or 18-150mm are perfect mutch for me. August 1, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
51 Questions | 78 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
51 Questions | 78 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

would a teleconverter work w/ this lens? i am new to dslr.

May 13, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no, tele-converters only work on FX (full frame) bodies with FX lenses attached.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters do not work with this lens or any of the new generation Nikon lens. They work with the old Nikkor lenses but not with the new lenes with VR and auto focus etc. I would recommend purchasing a longer zoom focal length like a 200mm or 300mm VR AF.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless your sample of the 18-105 is sharper than mine, I would not use a teleconverter with it. A teleconverter is kind of like an optical "digital zoom." It does not waste megapixals, but it does take the existing resolution and spreads it out. My lens does not have any resolution to spare.
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
Stevie G.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would professionally stay away from Teleconverters with digital. The lenses are calibrated for optimum performance as per their design. When you add teleconverters, you interfere with engineering principles as well as lose your ability to auto-focus in most cases.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
actually (please nikon officials look away) a kenko TC will work with nikkor superzooms as well (but of course, only in the tele area). i don't say it's pretty but it works.
May 13, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the 18-105mm lens compatible with the D3100?

May 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+5points
11out of 17found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful6
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Jim
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. That is what is great with the nikon camera from there old cameras to a new cameras the lens will fit.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S 18-105mm lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Crop factor on the focal length of the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Aug 25, 2013 by
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have recently bought a Nikon D7000 + AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR kit, but I have a couple of Nikkor lenses dating from the 1980's.
Here's what's bothering me. When I set this AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm on the 50mm mark of focal length (the info in the picture also shows 50mm) I get almost exactly the same picture as when using an old Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 lens.
I have attached two photos taken wtih these two lenses.
The latter shuld be producing an image taken with a 75mm lens, since it is a lens made for 35mm film cameras and the crop factor should be applied.

My question is : is the focal length scale in terms of the 35mm cameras or the DX-sized sensors?
I.E. when it says 18mm on the focal length scale is this 18mm on a full-frame sensor (27mm on the DX) or 18mm on the DX (that shold be 12mm on the FX).
If this is a DX lens, why would it have FX focal length index?
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my question
 
11 months ago
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Location : 
Zagreb, Croatia
Age: 18-24
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
DX and FX lenses have the same crop factor - 1.5x - when used on a DX format camera. However, while DX lenses have a 1.5x crop factor on both DX and FX cameras, FX lenses only have the crop on DX cameras.

Your FX 50mm lens will have an angle of view equivalent to a 75mm lens when used on a DX camera and an angle of view of 50mm on an FX format camera. Your DX 18-105mm at 50mm focal length will have an angle of view equivalent to 75mm on both DX and FX format cameras.

The Nikon Lens Simulator helps to illustrate this by simulating the effect of lenses with different formats and focal lengths on both DX & FX format cameras. Visit
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/len...

You may also find these articles on Nikonusa.com helpful: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Okay, I will try again. The focal length scale at 18mm is based on FX, (27mm DX) the reason is you are still at 18mm focal length but because of the crop factor the effective field of view is 27mm.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Also, read this :
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Article/g588ouey/The-DX-and-FX-Formats.html

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Same crop factor FX or DX lens.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D40x?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF and AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. it'll autofocus because it's an AF-S, meaning the focusing motor is inside the lens. it'll also enable exposure metering and distance calculation.
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D50?

Jul 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D50
4.6 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Zach
Charlotte, NC
Location : 
Charlotte, NC
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF and AF-S lenses are.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D50.
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

1 Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D 5100 ?

Aug 10, 2011 by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
Location : 
bhopal ( INDIA)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF-S lenses work well with the D5100
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and I am sure you would love it I use it with my D5000 and my D7000.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Crescent PA
Location : 
Crescent PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

18-105 lens & focus ring

Oct 17, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way everyone elses work??
Edit your post: To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?) I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way they all work?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Kaye K.
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's how it works. Even though it doesn't say it on the side, that focusing ring is actually an M/A (autofocus with manual override), meaning you can have it set to AF, but turn the focusing ring without damaging the gears on the inside of the barrel.
Nov 12, 2011 by
by
D. Andrew
Norfolk, VA
Location : 
Norfolk, VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
the fine focus ring does tighten slightly at max and min point but over rides those points when a small pressure is applied, so no its not broke.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

How do I set the infinity focus on the 18-105mm lens?

May 24, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Renee
Miami,FL
Location : 
Miami,FL
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
set to manual (M).
set focal depth (18mm etc).
Turn fine focus ring to the right until infinity focus is viewed.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Using manual focus is going to be your best option.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?

Jun 18, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Danang
Indonesia
Location : 
Indonesia
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. The AF-S lens is certainly needed with this model.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is this lens (Nikkor 18-105mm) compatible with the NIKON D60?

Jun 29, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D60
4.5 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 1 month ago
by
zoomclicks
midest
Location : 
midest
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all dx lenses will work.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jun 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers