Loading

Key Features

Wide-ratio 5.8x zoom
Compact, versatile and ideal for a broad range of shooting situations, ranging from interiors and landscapes to beautiful portraits—a perfect everyday zoom.

An ED-(Extra-low Dispersion) glass element
Minimizes chromatic aberration, contributing to superior optical performance.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
Enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare.

Close focusing to 1.48 feet
Creative close-up photography is possible throughout the entire zoom range.

Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization
Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops** of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Aspherical lens element
Virtually eliminates coma and other types of lens aberration, further improving image integrity.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
Enables fast, accurate, and quiet autofocus.

Rounded 7-blade diaphragm
Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image elements.

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.1 5 169 169
A great lens for general photography. Because of the range (18-105) or (27-157 on my Nikon D90), I have the ability to get good pictures of almost anything without having to change lenses. Close up (I wouldn't call it macro) performance is good. I have plenty of flower and butterfly pictures to prove it. I find myself going to the wide angle setting for many scenic photos. Some distortion is present but it is not noticeable unless you are very critical. The telephoto end is great for portraits and approachable wildlife. The VR works well as I have been successful in many low light situations with this lens. Sharpness, detail, and contrast are excellent. If I could only carry one lens this would be my pick. July 30, 2010
The only lens to carry I've used the short distance and long throw zoom lenses for ages. When I picked up this one, I realized it is the one lens that fits 98% of all applications, and the VR features, make it the best " one " lens to have. Keep you gadget bag light, carry just one lens...This one you won't regret it and your shoulder and next will feel better too. July 30, 2010
Excellent Compact, easy to use, very stable, a real pleasure. July 30, 2010
Very sharp all over the range Excellent choice. No problem with the mount. Despite the fact I've been using it (in combination with a D80) for about 6 months, I am more than satisfy with the product. July 30, 2010
Excellent for everyday use. I have had this lens for 14 months, using it on my D90. It has become my most useful lens covering everything that I need except for the longer telephoto range. Image quality is excellent. I have had no trouble of any kind with the lens and camera. The mount has always been solid and has survived some extensive traveling and the occasional knock. July 30, 2010
Awesome Lens I do a lot of nature photography. My emphasis is capturing the beauty and essence of the horse in motion. My photos tend to include a lot of background so that the subjects look like they have a lot of room to move around. Consequently, I need very high resolution. This lens is sharp and the VR counteracts the shaking of my less than steady hands. July 30, 2010
An excellent lens for portraits. A good general purpose lens. I use it on my D90 and for some reason, I never think of other lens. I recently photographed a concert using this lens and the photos are great! July 30, 2010
Very Versatile My first experience with this lens was at a sporting event and it performed flawlessly. It was fairly light and very easy to use and we got some great shots. July 30, 2010
Great all around lens Use for closeup, distance, and just about everything. If you don't want to carry multiple lens around, this one's for you. July 30, 2010
Good everyday Lens I only have a few lenses (the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR & the AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D) but that is mainly because I find the 18-105mm Nikkor lens to be so versatile and that I really don't need too many other lenses. It is a great carry around lens that when paired with a polarizing filter (a must in CO) will pretty much cover all that I need. While I do plan on getting a few more Nikkor lenses one for more panorama and one for more zoom shots, I feel the 18-105 will continue to be my "everyday" lens for quite a while. July 30, 2010
Terrific All-Purpose Lens I use this lens on my D300 and it's great. It works beautifully for everything from portraits to live theatre productions. Barrel distortion is minimal even at wider angle settings. It's a great addition to my camera bag. July 30, 2010
Surprisingly good I was prepared to be underwhelmed by this "kit lens" for my D90, but it surprised me. After correcting for a little "back focus" problem it has produced photos that are every bit as sharp as any zoom lens I have ever used. Only my old trusty 55mm Micro-Nikkor has beat it. July 30, 2010
Good walk about lens for D90 This lens came with my D90. I have had nothing but good experiences with this lens. As long as you adhere to its limitations you will not go wrong, i.e., do not shoot in low-light, do not try to capture images that are out of reach, etc. This lens is great for an everyday “walkabout” lens. July 30, 2010
Works great! This lens works great with the Nikon D90. I only wish it focused a bit closer for macro work. July 30, 2010
Great all purpose lense I dont know much about lenses yet, but I believe this is a very good all purpose lense. VR does works great and it produces, clear, sharp and colorful pictures! July 30, 2010
I love this lens This is a great lens. It can get the close ups and the zoom shots. The ease of using it is the best. I have actually zoomed in on birds in far away trees to see what kind they are. I highly recommend this lens for a wide variety of uses. Especially if you can only have one lens--this is the ONE to have! July 30, 2010
18-105 Vr a Great All Purpose Lens Whenever I don't want to carry extra lens with me, I grab my 18-105mm VR and hit the road. It's an all purpose lens....from wide angle to telephoto it works well on all counts. The VR works great even on night shots without a tripod. Highly recommend this lens as an all purpose lens... July 23, 2010
Great Lens! Got my AFS 18-105VR with my D90 and have to say it’s a very sharp lens. From use it appears sharp across the whole range of focal lengths. No complaints about the lens, just comments from people that are stunned to see how sharp it can really be when used correctly. July 13, 2010
Excellent all around lens * Zoom range is just perfect for regular indoor/outdoor. * Lens is fairly light (compared to 18-200) and photo quality is still comparable * Perfect for indoors also if used with a bounce flash (like SB-700) June 14, 2012
COMPLETA Uma ótima lente estou muito satisfeito com o produto recomendo . August 8, 2014
Melhor que a 18-55 mm e excelente contraponto à 55-200 mm Reúne os recursos mínimos da 18-55 mm com um alcance incrível para fotografias de retratos e de eventos. Excelente! November 18, 2012
Don't let "KIT LENS" discourage you! I received this lens with my D7000 in early 2012. Overall it was a great lens on this body but went quite soft past 70mm and I was concerned about the plastic mount. So, after reading numerous reviews, I decided to purchase the Nikon 16-85VR hoping to see a big improvement especially at the long end and I found the wider end to be a plus. Sharpness on the long end versus the 18-105VR and the build quality is better with the 16-85VR, but at twice the price of the 18-105VR, the improvements in my opinion were cost prohibitive! Enter the D7100...On this camera body, the 18-105VR really came to life even more so than the 16-85VR. Don't misunderstand me, both are good lenses, but for the money, the 18-105VR is difficult to beat unless you graduate to professional grade glass. The 16-85VR handles CA's a bit better, and it should at double the price, but this is easily corrected and both lenses suffer from moderate distortion and pin cushion which is also easily fixed. However, for general street photography, flowers and landscapes, the 18-105VR is very good overall; tack sharp and well worth the price. Mounted on the D7100, you would have to be a pixel peeper to tell the difference between the two lenses from wide to mid-range of their respective zoom ranges. The only reason I gave this lens only 4 stars is the plastic bayonet mount. DO NOT grab the camera by the lens with the 18-105VR as some plastic mounts have broken. And it remains a bit soft on the long end, but for the money, one can't go wrong with the 18-105VR especially on a newer body. I know there are many who will say I'm nuts. But for general photography, this glass is difficult to beat for the price! May 26, 2014
Good lense for the price. So what if this is a kit lense? When nikon decided to make this a kit lense, I am sure they did their research. Nikon would not pick a bad lense to go with a d7000 (which was my case). Anyway....yes it is not the same performer as the 24-70 or N coated but I have taken shots with this lense and have gotten many compliments. June 26, 2013
Good Walking Around Lens I bought this lens several years ago as an upgrade to the 18-55 kit lens that came with my D80. I thought it was a great improvement, but the 18-105 VR really came alive when I put it on my new D7100. Images are razor sharp and autofocus works flawlessly. The 18-105 mm range covers almost every photographic situation, making it the ideal walking around lens. About the only time I use a 55-300 lens is when I'm on a wildlife shoot. The only drawback is that it's rather heavy--certainly as compared to the basic 18-55 mm--but the capabilities of the lens more than compensate for that minor inconvenience. May 8, 2013
for tourists, good focal lenght The lens has a good focal lenght, so its good to shoot touristic shots, buildings... not so good in low light and not so sharp, but for the price it is a good solid lens. I wouldent recomend this lens just becouse of the 35mm f/1.8 which is rediciusly sharp lens and have a killer price fot it`s capabilitys in low light situations. January 29, 2013
Not as bad as some claim. This is actually the second print of this lens that I've owned. First with a D90. Now with a D7000. Yes the lens has a plastic mount....sure I would have preferred that be metal. Not the end of the world as some of these reviews would claim. I didn't shoot this lens for some time due to my wife surprising me with a 10-24mm. I shoot mainly landscapes so that lens stays on my D7000 most of the time. After some time I decided to replace this 18-105 with a higher quality lens so I headed out to shoot this lens to prove to myself how bad it was. Well it's really not that bad after all. I think I'll keep it. Learn how to use your lenses and body (keep both clean and dust free) and go forward. You will be surprised with the results. January 24, 2013
Good, maybe not great. I purchased the DX 18-105mm to pair with a Nikon D7000 as a "first step" in replacing a stolen kit. As an "if I only had one lens on a budget" it performed very well. Travel "snap shots" were clear and with little distortion across the 18-105mm range. It was a touch slow at times and didn't handle low-light levels as well as I had hoped but was certainly adequate when paired with a flash or a tripod. The zoom 18-105mm range provided a lot of flexibility in composition which more than offset the speed of the lens. F/3.5 is on par with other Nikon lenses with this range and at this price point. This lens did not stand up to hard knocks and an unintended "drop test" after a hard trip through Death Valley, but to be fair I'm not sure what would. The plastic mounting might count against it here. Although I'm replacing it with an expanded kit #including both the Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8 and the AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8 - which I recommend#. I would recommend this lens if you were starting out on a budget and wanted one lens to do a good job across a fairly wide range. April 6, 2012
Not bad for the money Once you understand that this lens retails separately for about £200 or so you will start to realise that it is pretty good for the money. As a standard kit lens it gives you a good start without having to purchase anything else unless you want to have a much longer focal length. It is plastic and it could do with a metal lens mount but that's what the money buys. Of course if you get the bug then you will want to spend more on prime lenses or zooms with better glass in them. I have found this lens pretty much does the job as long as the maximum zoom is avoided unless the aperture is close to the sweet spot. I now crave a 70-200 f2.8 VRII lens so that there is no need to push this lens right up to 105mm - which, let's face it, it does pretty well unless you are a serious enthusiast or professional, in which case - why did you buy this lens?! February 23, 2012
A true allrounder It's a true day to day use lens for portrait, travel, close up work. January 10, 2012
fun, easy to use lense I use this lense for Pet portraits and landscapes, and actually have gotten great results. I've printed these photos and have gotten awesome prints, so it produces pretty sharp photos. November 16, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
54 Questions | 81 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 81 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

would a teleconverter work w/ this lens? i am new to dslr.

May 13, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no, tele-converters only work on FX (full frame) bodies with FX lenses attached.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters do not work with this lens or any of the new generation Nikon lens. They work with the old Nikkor lenses but not with the new lenes with VR and auto focus etc. I would recommend purchasing a longer zoom focal length like a 200mm or 300mm VR AF.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless your sample of the 18-105 is sharper than mine, I would not use a teleconverter with it. A teleconverter is kind of like an optical "digital zoom." It does not waste megapixals, but it does take the existing resolution and spreads it out. My lens does not have any resolution to spare.
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
Stevie G.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would professionally stay away from Teleconverters with digital. The lenses are calibrated for optimum performance as per their design. When you add teleconverters, you interfere with engineering principles as well as lose your ability to auto-focus in most cases.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
actually (please nikon officials look away) a kenko TC will work with nikkor superzooms as well (but of course, only in the tele area). i don't say it's pretty but it works.
May 13, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the 18-105mm lens compatible with the D3100?

May 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
12out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful6
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Jim
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. That is what is great with the nikon camera from there old cameras to a new cameras the lens will fit.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S 18-105mm lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Crop factor on the focal length of the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Aug 25, 2013 by
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have recently bought a Nikon D7000 + AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR kit, but I have a couple of Nikkor lenses dating from the 1980's.
Here's what's bothering me. When I set this AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm on the 50mm mark of focal length (the info in the picture also shows 50mm) I get almost exactly the same picture as when using an old Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 lens.
I have attached two photos taken wtih these two lenses.
The latter shuld be producing an image taken with a 75mm lens, since it is a lens made for 35mm film cameras and the crop factor should be applied.

My question is : is the focal length scale in terms of the 35mm cameras or the DX-sized sensors?
I.E. when it says 18mm on the focal length scale is this 18mm on a full-frame sensor (27mm on the DX) or 18mm on the DX (that shold be 12mm on the FX).
If this is a DX lens, why would it have FX focal length index?
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 1 month ago
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Location : 
Zagreb, Croatia
Age: 18-24
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
DX and FX lenses have the same crop factor - 1.5x - when used on a DX format camera. However, while DX lenses have a 1.5x crop factor on both DX and FX cameras, FX lenses only have the crop on DX cameras.

Your FX 50mm lens will have an angle of view equivalent to a 75mm lens when used on a DX camera and an angle of view of 50mm on an FX format camera. Your DX 18-105mm at 50mm focal length will have an angle of view equivalent to 75mm on both DX and FX format cameras.

The Nikon Lens Simulator helps to illustrate this by simulating the effect of lenses with different formats and focal lengths on both DX & FX format cameras. Visit
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/len...

You may also find these articles on Nikonusa.com helpful: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Okay, I will try again. The focal length scale at 18mm is based on FX, (27mm DX) the reason is you are still at 18mm focal length but because of the crop factor the effective field of view is 27mm.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Also, read this :
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Article/g588ouey/The-DX-and-FX-Formats.html

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Same crop factor FX or DX lens.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D40x?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF and AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. it'll autofocus because it's an AF-S, meaning the focusing motor is inside the lens. it'll also enable exposure metering and distance calculation.
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D50?

Jul 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D50
4.6 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Zach
Charlotte, NC
Location : 
Charlotte, NC
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF and AF-S lenses are.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D50.
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

1 Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D 5100 ?

Aug 10, 2011 by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
Location : 
bhopal ( INDIA)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF-S lenses work well with the D5100
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and I am sure you would love it I use it with my D5000 and my D7000.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Crescent PA
Location : 
Crescent PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

18-105 lens & focus ring

Oct 17, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way everyone elses work??
Edit your post: To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?) I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way they all work?
3 years ago
by
Kaye K.
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's how it works. Even though it doesn't say it on the side, that focusing ring is actually an M/A (autofocus with manual override), meaning you can have it set to AF, but turn the focusing ring without damaging the gears on the inside of the barrel.
Nov 12, 2011 by
by
D. Andrew
Norfolk, VA
Location : 
Norfolk, VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
the fine focus ring does tighten slightly at max and min point but over rides those points when a small pressure is applied, so no its not broke.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

How do I set the infinity focus on the 18-105mm lens?

May 24, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Renee
Miami,FL
Location : 
Miami,FL
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
set to manual (M).
set focal depth (18mm etc).
Turn fine focus ring to the right until infinity focus is viewed.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Using manual focus is going to be your best option.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?

Jun 18, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Danang
Indonesia
Location : 
Indonesia
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. The AF-S lens is certainly needed with this model.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is this lens (Nikkor 18-105mm) compatible with the NIKON D60?

Jun 29, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D60
4.5 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
zoomclicks
midest
Location : 
midest
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all dx lenses will work.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jun 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers