Loading

Key Features

Wide-ratio 5.8x zoom
Compact, versatile and ideal for a broad range of shooting situations, ranging from interiors and landscapes to beautiful portraits—a perfect everyday zoom.

An ED-(Extra-low Dispersion) glass element
Minimizes chromatic aberration, contributing to superior optical performance.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC)
Enhances light transmission and offers superior color consistency and reduced flare.

Close focusing to 1.48 feet
Creative close-up photography is possible throughout the entire zoom range.

Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization
Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.5 stops** of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Aspherical lens element
Virtually eliminates coma and other types of lens aberration, further improving image integrity.

Exclusive Nikon Silent Wave Motor (SWM)
Enables fast, accurate, and quiet autofocus.

Rounded 7-blade diaphragm
Renders more natural appearance of out-of-focus image elements.

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR 4.1 5 169 169
Great all around lens Ease of use: it is well balanced on a D5100 - it is far from that front heavy feeling that deteriorates mirrorless APS-C cameras. I love the focus ring... but it could be a bit more wide. It weighs just as much, that it is comfortable for a walk. Zoom rings and tubes are OK, no creeping, and turning smoothly. Plastic bayonet?? I can't state anything about it, because I use it since less than two weeks. I have read many users stating it is strong enough, but I will handle with care. Sharpness: excellent at the center, and no dramatic drop towards the edges. Great color rendering. Distortion: really exists, and somewhat pronounced. Sometimes ADC is a Must. Vignetting: pronounced with max. aperture at the wide and long end - stopping down by 2/3-1 stop helps much. But in some situations you have to live with it. Macro: it is not really intended for macro, but makes nice pictures of flowers. Out of focus blur: I love it at 105mm - but obviously, there are far more powerful bokeh-makers. VR: helps much. At wide end, even 1/2.5s handheld is possible with appropriate shooting technique. Focus speed: not a speed demon, but fast enough in most of the situations. Zoom reach: usually you won't need more at the tele end, but if you shoot wildlife (butterflies, birds, mammals etc.), a 70-300 VR tele will improve the situation much. Wide is nice, but nothing more than standard. Final words: bearable compromises, great performance for price. April 4, 2012
5 Stars based on class of lens I originally got this lens with my D90 when it was first introduced 3 years ago, when I was new to Digital SLR after decades shooting film with Canon equipment. The 18-105 is the most versatile lens in my kit now in that it handles a wide range of shooting styles from landscapes, travel, portraiture, and almost macro close up very well but excels in none of them. Over the last several years I have gotten some of the best lenses Nikon makes, which are stellar for their specialty but none, are more versatile regardless of price. I recommend this lens for beginners who are not sure of their special interests yet and probably will not know until after taking thousands of photos. This lens allows someone to explore such a wide variety of shooting subjects that it is almost an essential lens for newcomers. I also recommend this lens to travelers and casual shooters because it is light weight and quite capable of producing images that anyone regardless of experience, would be proud of. What is its strengths: Light weight, wide range of zoom, very close minimum focusing distance(almost macro), nice flare resistance, good contrast, excellent Vibration Reduction(VR), smooth manual focusing, good sharpness at widest apertures and excellent sharpness stopped down to, say f/8, good out of focus rendering at longer focal lengths which is really effective at 90mm or so for portraits that blur the background pleasantly to isolate the very sharply focused subject, and bargain price. What are the weaknesses? It is not as good for ambient light indoor photography because its maximum aperture not optimized for it....use a flash when the light is dim, moderately slow automatic focusing in low light, geometric distortion at the widest focal lengths, a little pincushion distortion at 105 mm focal length, Software correctable CA at wide apertures. These all sound bad but they impact every lens to varying degrees and compared to other lenses in its class and price range, these are better specs than others. Note that this lens has a plastic lens mount which I've heard is criticized for potential weakness but my experience is that after 80,000 shots on two different Nikon cameras(D90 and D7000) in rough conditions of event and back country shooting it seems rugged and I would have no qualms about taking it anywhere. So, with $10,000 in great, heavy lenses in my bag, the 18-105 is still shot frequently, particularly for walks and travel, or anywhere when using the great SB900 flash with it. April 1, 2012
Awesome Lens Awesome lens, works perfect for every occasion, great lens for a great price March 21, 2012
It is what it is... Understand that many of these reviews lack objectiveness - it's mostly peoples' opinions and if we stand back and look at the "big picture", we'll come up with a more balanced perspective. One thing to keep in mind is that this is a sub $400 lens - period. If you want to subject your body and lens to chasing antelope across the desert, don't include this lens. If you want zero distortion throughout the zoom range, forget it. This is certainly the area whereby if you want more, you have to pay more. Also, taking great photographs isn't always technical - it's artistic. Some great photographers take better photos with their phone-cam than others do with a $5000 DSLR kit. Having said that, this lens performs very well for where Nikon has it priced. When you add this lens to today's entry level DSLRs - 3100 through 7000, you have a package that people could only dream about having just 5 years ago at a price that nearly everyone can afford. The lens performs well under most conditions. If you find yourself in low light, mid zoom and you can't use the flash, then crank up the camera's ISO. I've used this lens on my low end 3100 with the ISO at 1600 and was mildly impressed with what I got. Outdoors with lots of light is a no-brainer. Wide angle shots are reasonable for the amateur who wants an inexpensive starter kit without dragging around multiple cameras or lenses and/or shelling out multiple thousands of $$$. If you want a good performing, all-in-one lens that will give you just a bit more reach than the 18-55, this one works very well for the PRICE. If you want a better lens, be prepared to pay for it. February 20, 2012
My Most used lens I have a 18-200 lens, I use this lens most of the time. I always seem to go back to this lens. November 23, 2011
I'd call it a "Prosumer" lens.... ....I think "kit" lens is a little demeaning for this lens. I've been using my 18-105 for about a year, bought brand new after I dropped my 18-70 and broke it. I've used on my D100 and D80 with spectacular results. I've done portrait shoots with this lens, using two strobes, camera at ISO 100, the lens set to f/5.6 as well as f/8 and the sharpness and color of the results blew away not just me, but the people who hired me to take the pictures. The lens produces a beautiful bokeh as well. I have a Nikkor 50mm 1.4 lens as well which, of course, at f/5.6 is mind boggling but it is a prime and on a DX is almost telephoto....not ideal for wide shots, unless you stand in the next room over from your subject! Whether I want to walk around NYC or Upstate NY in the mountains, the 18-105 is all I need, covers just about every situation I'm in. I carry around my 70-300mm in case I see bird of prey out there I want to capture but it's a rare occasion, believe me. The 18-105 has been a fantastic lens for me. November 17, 2011
Great Lens Got this lens as an upgrade to the 18-55mm. The lens is very sharp and works without any problem with the D7000. Read a lot of reviews before buying it and found it to have no negetives in its use after 500+ photos in low light, bright Sun, inside or outside, under any condition. Great Sharp Lens for the Price. October 31, 2011
Nothing but pure excitement One great lense. Picture are sharp and clean. I'm glad to have this for the fall color. October 15, 2011
Great versatile starting lens This is a great versatile lens to get started. Very broad range from wide angle to zoom. The AF-S is great for quick accurate focusing. Solid speed though f/stop naturally a bit limited. Also very affordable. August 29, 2011
Great replacement for my old 18-70mm lens It came as a pleasant surprise that my new D7000 came with this 18-105mm lens that is so much sharper than the 18-70 that came with my old D70 - thank you, Nikon! August 18, 2011
Go To Lens I have a variety of lens from Nikon and continue to purchase new and used. But day in day out I have found this lens to be my go to lens for everything from night photography to landscapes to portraits. This lens is resonably priced and does a great job. In fact if you have a D3100 all the way to a D300s you should have this lens. I'll add a few photos so you can see what it is capable of. Nikon please continue to make lens of this quality at this price point. Most of us can't afford a 1600.00 plus F2.8 we want one but..... Anyway boys and girls buy this lens it will be your most used lens I promise....... August 14, 2011
Amazing lenses for the price Come with my Nikon D7000 really Great Lenses for the price good job Nikon :) August 4, 2011
Great versitile lens I love this lens on the DX format, as it works great for all around shooting from moderate wide angle to moderate telephoto, making it great for action shots, where things change quickly, to buildings and landscapes. This is my primary lens for the DX format. Qualtiy, of course, is great. All images are sharp., no problems at all. Sure, some geek with a microscope can probably find some imperfection, but I'll bet you won't notice it! July 25, 2011
This lens is great! Use it for all now. Never use standard lens at all. June 29, 2011
Great kit lens, came with my D7000 The reputation that kit lenses have are not always good, but this has been a joy to have. You just cannot go without a wide angle sometimes, this lens was a savior at a wedding. I brought my 35mm prime lens and was just to difficult there to get the whole picture. Very quick focus and lets plenty of light in for great pictures. Recommend with camera kit. June 16, 2011
fast,easy,exlent just used it on a wedding carried two other lenses but never changed lenses June 11, 2011
great lens Up until a few weeks ago, these lens was the one I hardly used. I didn't think of it as a quality lens because it was the "kit" lens with my D90, and I have been looking at replacements. I was wrong. I took it to a Photo Safari on the Oregon coast, and it takes awesome images as long as you understand the limitations of the lens, and use some good technique. It will never be great in low light unless its on a tripod, not a big deal, almost all of my images were on a tripod. I probably could have gotten away with just bringing this lens with me if needed. It's stayed on my camera almost all of the time. Over all, Great lens. People shouldn't look down on it for being a "kit" lens. May 23, 2011
Excellent Lense for All around Shooting After 1000 photos with the D7000 this lense has not let us down. Images are sharp bright, and excellent quality. I purchased the D7000 instead of the D5100 for many reasons but the kit lenses were so far apart. The 18-105 is great! April 20, 2011
This Lens takes great pictures! This is a great all around lens. I love the image stabilization feature. It really does the job, you can hand hold the camara at very slow shutter speeds and get crisp, clean pictures. Colors are vibrant and natural. April 18, 2011
Great Walk-Around Lens Don't let this lens being sold as a 'Kit Lens' fool you. There is a reason Nikon chose this as a kit lens for some of the higher end DSLR's. First it has a good focal length that allows for good scenery type shots, good portraits, and decent close-ups. It's auto-focus is fast and accurate also. It also comes with a very affordable price for those of us who are budget minded. I really find this lens a great compliment to my Nikon D300s. April 18, 2011
Fantastic Lens This is my forth new Nikon lens it is by far my favorite. I have coupled it with my D7000 and that combination is producing incredible results. This lens focuses quickly and it produces clean clear images. If I could have only one lense to use this would be my choice. Do I like this lens would I recommended it in a word YES! April 17, 2011
Great Product The price is great. The lens gave a better range of possibilities. April 16, 2011
I love this lens I bought he D90 that came packaged with this lens. I have owned various other lenses and this one has become my favorite to use. I keep it on the camera at all times, only changing it out if I need a zoom lens. It was great for taking pictures in doors and came in handy during christmas. I could get great wide angle shots and it had enough of a zoom that I could get some really good close up shots. It has amazing clarity and the VR option is just a bonus. I highly recommend this lens. April 16, 2011
easy to use, good range, portable, no blur This is our first lens. We purchased it as part of a set when we purchased the camera (Nikon 3100). This lens is very user friendly. It has a great range for taking portraits and not too distant scenery. It's not too large so it packs up well. With the vibration reduction on we haven't had to worry about blurry pictures. Overall we are very pleased and would definitely recommend this lens. April 16, 2011
Great kit lens I got this lens with my D90 kit and all I can say is that I am highly satisfied. I have used it indoors and outdoors and just like other nikkor products the quality is outstanding. April 15, 2011
Great, Very Versatile This is a great lens or a beginner such as myself. Has a great range and makes it easy to have tons of options without having to switch lenses. I love shooing with it, and can't wait to try out some more Nikkor lenses. April 15, 2011
A useful and practical lens This is the lens that I use the most because of the wide range of use. I get excellent images with with little "messing around". I especially like the non rotating telephoto. I don't have to reset my polarizing filter when changing zooming in or out. April 15, 2011
far and near with this lens you can go wrong it goes far and near at needed! and its has auto focus, the picture is still amazing, a no brainier can use. April 15, 2011
My everyday lens Great lens, stays on my camera all the time. If there is a down side, I haven't found it yet. April 14, 2011
Great everyday lens I keep this lens on my D300s about 95% of the time. It has been great since the very first day. I use the lens primarily for wedding, but also enjoy it as a walking around lens. Lately I have been using it for putting together panoramas. The only drawback that I have experienced is quite a bit of pin cushion effect at various focal lengths. The positives include very fast and accurate focus, as well as the VR. April 14, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 7
<<prev | next>>
54 Questions | 81 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 81 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
5 Answers

would a teleconverter work w/ this lens? i am new to dslr.

May 13, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
no, tele-converters only work on FX (full frame) bodies with FX lenses attached.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters do not work with this lens or any of the new generation Nikon lens. They work with the old Nikkor lenses but not with the new lenes with VR and auto focus etc. I would recommend purchasing a longer zoom focal length like a 200mm or 300mm VR AF.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unless your sample of the 18-105 is sharper than mine, I would not use a teleconverter with it. A teleconverter is kind of like an optical "digital zoom." It does not waste megapixals, but it does take the existing resolution and spreads it out. My lens does not have any resolution to spare.
Aug 8, 2011 by
by
Stevie G.
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I would professionally stay away from Teleconverters with digital. The lenses are calibrated for optimum performance as per their design. When you add teleconverters, you interfere with engineering principles as well as lose your ability to auto-focus in most cases.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
actually (please nikon officials look away) a kenko TC will work with nikkor superzooms as well (but of course, only in the tele area). i don't say it's pretty but it works.
May 13, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Is the 18-105mm lens compatible with the D3100?

May 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
12out of 18found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful6
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Jim
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. That is what is great with the nikon camera from there old cameras to a new cameras the lens will fit.
May 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S 18-105mm lens is compatible with the D3100.
May 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
4 Answers

Crop factor on the focal length of the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Aug 25, 2013 by
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have recently bought a Nikon D7000 + AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR kit, but I have a couple of Nikkor lenses dating from the 1980's.
Here's what's bothering me. When I set this AF-S Nikkor 18-105mm on the 50mm mark of focal length (the info in the picture also shows 50mm) I get almost exactly the same picture as when using an old Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 lens.
I have attached two photos taken wtih these two lenses.
The latter shuld be producing an image taken with a 75mm lens, since it is a lens made for 35mm film cameras and the crop factor should be applied.

My question is : is the focal length scale in terms of the 35mm cameras or the DX-sized sensors?
I.E. when it says 18mm on the focal length scale is this 18mm on a full-frame sensor (27mm on the DX) or 18mm on the DX (that shold be 12mm on the FX).
If this is a DX lens, why would it have FX focal length index?
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 1 month ago
by
macromaniac
Zagreb, Croatia
Location : 
Zagreb, Croatia
Age: 18-24
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
DX and FX lenses have the same crop factor - 1.5x - when used on a DX format camera. However, while DX lenses have a 1.5x crop factor on both DX and FX cameras, FX lenses only have the crop on DX cameras.

Your FX 50mm lens will have an angle of view equivalent to a 75mm lens when used on a DX camera and an angle of view of 50mm on an FX format camera. Your DX 18-105mm at 50mm focal length will have an angle of view equivalent to 75mm on both DX and FX format cameras.

The Nikon Lens Simulator helps to illustrate this by simulating the effect of lenses with different formats and focal lengths on both DX & FX format cameras. Visit
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/len...

You may also find these articles on Nikonusa.com helpful: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Okay, I will try again. The focal length scale at 18mm is based on FX, (27mm DX) the reason is you are still at 18mm focal length but because of the crop factor the effective field of view is 27mm.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Also, read this :
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Article/g588ouey/The-DX-and-FX-Formats.html

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Same crop factor FX or DX lens.
Aug 25, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D40x?

May 5, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all AF and AF-S lenses are compatible.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. it'll autofocus because it's an AF-S, meaning the focusing motor is inside the lens. it'll also enable exposure metering and distance calculation.
May 6, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D50?

Jul 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D50
4.6 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Zach
Charlotte, NC
Location : 
Charlotte, NC
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF and AF-S lenses are.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D50.
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

1 Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D 5100 ?

Aug 10, 2011 by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
+2points
3out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
dhananjay
bhopal ( INDIA)
Location : 
bhopal ( INDIA)
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, all AF-S lenses work well with the D5100
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is and I am sure you would love it I use it with my D5000 and my D7000.
Aug 14, 2011 by
by
M.R. Herron
Crescent PA
Location : 
Crescent PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
3 Answers

18-105 lens & focus ring

Oct 17, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way everyone elses work??
Edit your post: To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?) I just purchased a D90 with the Nikkor 18-105 kit lens, my question is about the focus ring. I thought that there would be a range to use and a stop point to let you know you have reached the closest or farest in that range. Mine kind of free turns, you can feel this very slight resistance like one should be there but goes past that pretty easy. Once it goes beyond that point it doesn't change the focus ability at all. Is it broke or is that the way they all work?
3 years ago
by
Kaye K.
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's how it works. Even though it doesn't say it on the side, that focusing ring is actually an M/A (autofocus with manual override), meaning you can have it set to AF, but turn the focusing ring without damaging the gears on the inside of the barrel.
Nov 12, 2011 by
by
D. Andrew
Norfolk, VA
Location : 
Norfolk, VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
the fine focus ring does tighten slightly at max and min point but over rides those points when a small pressure is applied, so no its not broke.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

How do I set the infinity focus on the 18-105mm lens?

May 24, 2011 by
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Renee
Miami,FL
Location : 
Miami,FL
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
set to manual (M).
set focal depth (18mm etc).
Turn fine focus ring to the right until infinity focus is viewed.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Using manual focus is going to be your best option.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?

Jun 18, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Is the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR compatible with the D3000?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Danang
Indonesia
Location : 
Indonesia
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes. The AF-S lens is certainly needed with this model.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it is
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
SaikatC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
 
2 Answers

Is this lens (Nikkor 18-105mm) compatible with the NIKON D60?

Jun 29, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D60
4.5 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
zoomclicks
midest
Location : 
midest
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes all dx lenses will work.
Nov 7, 2011 by
by
smaperry
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jun 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers