Loading

Light and compact ‘walk-around’ lens with Vibration Reduction

With its versatile 18–55mm focal range and VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization, this lens makes it easy to create sharp, clear photos and videos. Remarkably light and compact, it’s an ideal general purpose ‘walk-around’ lens. It even captures fantastic close-up shots as close as 0.9-ft. from your subject.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
AS
A-M

Versatile enough for any setting

3x standard zoom with Vibration Reduction

Optimized for Nikon DX-format D-SLRs, the practical and versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR was designed to cover the most frequently used focal length range of 18–55mm. It’s great for a very broad range of photo and video applications, from portraits to landscapes. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, ensures that all your shots turn out remarkably crisp, even when handheld shooting.

Sharp, clear images

Nikon technology for optimum performance

Like all NIKKOR lenses, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR is engineered for performance. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) offers superior color quality and reduces ghosting and flare. A rounded, seven-blade diaphragm makes out of focus elements appear more natural, and a hybrid aspherical lens element minimizes various types of lens aberration. Expect vibrant, clear images and videos.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 4 5 130 130
Easty to use I just purchased a Nikon D5000 with the 18-55mm kit lens, and because it is my first D-SLR i think it is great. The lens is small, light weight, and can take amazing sharp photos. I recommend to get it if you are just starting with Nikon. August 2, 2010
Durability Uncertain I've enjoy my camera for 2+ years. It's about the 4th Nikon I've owned. But the 18-55 lens that it came with just broke and I didn't do anything worse than I usually do. I'm concerned that it's just not as well made as it used to be.... but isn't almost everything. August 2, 2010
Great Lens for beginers I got this lens with my D5000 and I find this is great for everyday standard use. Would be nice if a lens hood comes with this. Because other screw type flower lens hoods leave gray circles on the corners and built in flash creates a shadow. Not the best DoF effects can be captured with it but hey, you can compose great shots with it. I love taking mid range wide angle photos and close up portraits with this lens. The lens quality is very high and VR is good. Great for a beginner! August 1, 2010
Nice lens - wide range of magnification I use the camera and this lens mostly for general scenes in my travels. It gives me a wide choice of framing options from fairly wide angle to get the "big picture" to close in, tighter shots for a little more detail. August 1, 2010
Very Happy So Far This lens was part of my first DSLR,(D5000 kit), I bought. Works great for everything I am using it for, basic vacation and family photos. Sure it can do a lot more than I can!! August 1, 2010
Good Kit Lens This is a good kit lens. I just wish it could be a little sharper and a little faster at the same price point. August 1, 2010
Superb Quality and Resolution in Pictures I love this lens cause is the cheapest Zoom with quality optics that can produce pictures so sharp that after a little photo-shop correction it is hard to find much visible difference in sharpness and resolution at normal print sizes than the much more expensive lenses. But that said, it only lacks in quality of construction. you get what you pay for. In High Humidity conditions It sucks in moisture through zooming and focusing (has poor weather sealing) so it can catch fungus and dirt very very easily. So I use this lens professionally in bad weather conditions and then I can afford to dispose it off after 2-3 months. Since its quality of optics is Absolutely perfect for my Interiors and Landscape in the Rains, I use it Professionally. Just my two Cents.. thanks. July 31, 2010
OK for the casual shooter This lens came with my D60, but I don't think it's the best match. The aperture doesn't get large enough for low-light photos, and it can be frustrating to try to capture any moving subjects even in indoor lighting (practical, non-pro) situations. Otherwise, it's a decent lens that does its job admirably with long exposures or very well-lit areas. Despite my issues with the smallish aperture, I think it's a good value for the money, even if I had to buy it. Though, I might be inclined save my money for something else if I was in the market. July 31, 2010
Great Basic Lens I got this lens with my Nikon D60, and it is great for basic shooting. I use this lens pretty much all the time. My only complaint is that deep pinks and reds tend to become oversaturated and are not processed well, but it's nothing Photoshop can't fix. July 31, 2010
Excellent Overall Product This lens was the kit lens included with my Nikon D60. I think it is an excellent lens. VR function is great. Though plastic constructed, I think it is very well built. Would recommend it highly. it is a great starter lens for someone looking to step up to the DSLR stage. Excellent Nikon Product. July 31, 2010
Great! Great lens for the money,I have a D5000,its just incredible! July 31, 2010
better than expected kit lens This lens arrived with my D80 Nikon body. I was surprised at the images shot with this little lens. This lens is a great lens to travel with. If you are touring sites outdoors, this is perfect, especially the18mm end. I would love to have a faster lens for indoors (hence the four-star rating), but for the Big Sur or the Grand Canyon, this lens can not be beat for the price. The 52mm filter ring allows you to buy affordable filters that will fit on a number of Nikon prime lenses. July 30, 2010
opticall very good starter lens People look down there nose at this lens because it is only a 3x zoom, but optically it is very very good and very light weight, In fact, for the money a fine lens. My only complaint is that it is not shipped with a lens hood (one is available). It may not be subject to flare, but a lens hood is a good protector for the front of the lens. July 30, 2010
I love this lens. The VR feature is best. The VR feature is a shot saver for me because I have a difficult time holding the camera still when I am shooting family activities. With these lenses I take very clear crisp shots even during activities where the subject is moving. I'm glad I chose Nikon camera with the Nikkor lenses. July 30, 2010
a must-have, basic lens in anyone's collection Articles in magazines poo-poo these kinds of lenses, which is too bad because it does a bit of wide angle, a bit of telephoto, macro not to badly, it's stabilized, compact, light, and above all, it's extremely sharp and very affordable! The only weak point of this lens is it has quite a bit of chromatic aberration and distortion. The former is fixed easily in Lightroom and Photoshop, while retaining its sharpness, and the latter doesn't matter that much unless you're photographing paintings, drawings, etc. July 30, 2010
pin sharp lens This is a sharp lens. Consistently excellent results. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is the focusing element makes using a polarizing filter a pain in the rear... but not impossible. July 30, 2010
great kit lens while kit lenses may be under-rated, this lens is an exception. overall qaulity, build, usefullness, color accuracy and tonal renditions are excellent I keep this one on my D60 all the time and it is my one and only travel lens - always get the shots I want and know I can depend on it for consistant high quality results July 30, 2010
The clearest, sharpest lens I own The may be a "kit" lens that doesn't cost much money, but I consider it to be the clearest, sharpest lens that I own. My other Nikkor lenses are the 55-200 VR and the 18-200 VR. I use this lens on my D60 and my D90 for outdoor use, some portraiture, and other indoor photography when using flash. I'm also a CLS freak. If you only have one lens and you can't spend much money -- this is the ONE !! I have about 10 lenses total, but this one will always be in the line-up and in use, regardless of the fact that I also have an expensive 18-50mm f/2.8 lens as well. July 30, 2010
Terrific Lense. I purchased this lense with my D3000 camera. I have taken many pictures and have been very impressed with its' ability to focus up close and render excellent pictures. The zoom feature enables the user to compose pictures to their liking. My pictures have gotten raves from those who have seen them. Pretty much what you'd expect from Nikon. July 30, 2010
Nikon quality to depend on Great edge to edge sharpness at all focal lengths. Best of all, it's a NIKON ! July 30, 2010
This lens is very good and inexpensive This 18/55 mm VR lens is very fast focusing, light weight and compact. An absolute joy to use and carry all day, producing sharp, excellent photographs. July 30, 2010
Nice for the price This lens does every thing I want it to do. The only problems I have is in manual focus the focusing ring is to loose, when I turn the ring on my polerizing filter the focusing ring moves instead July 30, 2010
Great lens with VR capability I bought this lens along with the camera body and it is a very good lens indeed ; quick, light, amazing definition. I also use it for macro with an added screen in lense and it works great with amazing shoots Definitaly recommend this lens and format. July 30, 2010
Very flexible Lens This is a great basic lens. Allows a lot of flexibility for the new Nikon owner, July 30, 2010
This is perfect for the serious, non-professional. The visual range of the lens is perfect for most outside and close up photograhy. The vibration reduction adds a nice feature making low light shots much easier. July 30, 2010
Excellent This one is a very good one for new users to DSLR and VR. Just awesome. July 30, 2010
Good start up kit lens My first DSLR is Nikon D90 and I have used this lens (AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR) as a start up general purpose lense. I would reccommend this lens as a fairly good one for anybody who is looking for a general purpose kit lens to start with. July 30, 2010
It works! Great all-round lens. Only issues I've experienced is capturing super deep reds/oranges. July 30, 2010
Great lens, great performance Great lens for everyday shooting. Would be even more attractive w/ a hood July 30, 2010
Very good starter lens This lens came with my D-80. It is versatile and works very well. I'm a beginning photographer and it has been easy to learn how to get great shots with this lens/camera combination. July 30, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
56 Questions | 87 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
56 Questions | 87 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
8 Answers

Vr-VrII

Nov 16, 2013 by
by
Ravnendano
Maribo. Dk
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
how can I find out if a lens has VR or VR II? seems not always been so good to write it in your spec.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Ravnendano
Maribo. Dk
Location : 
Maribo. Dk
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Lens is VR, not VRII. The only way to confirm definitely if a lens is VR or VRII is to check the product specifications. Gold lettering may indicate either VR or VRII.
Nov 26, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
this means that all lenses with gold VR is a VR II. This means also that there are only 4 nikon lenses out of the 26 there have VR and 24 with VR II. if I understand right!
Nov 18, 2013 by
by
Ravnendano

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is the 200mm with VRII notice the VR in gold

http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product/Camera-Lenses/2188/AF-S-NIKKOR-200mm-f%252F2G-ED-VR-II.html
Here is the 200mm with VR notice the VR in red
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product-Archive/Camera-Lenses/2150/AF-S-VR-NIKKOR-200mm-f%252F2G-IF-ED.html
Definitely not wrong.
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Any lens made by nikon have an id , name or something else .
ED , VR , IF , AF and ... so on .
If a lens have Vibration Reduction , you can see VR lable on the lens body and in its name like AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55 f/3.5.5.6G VR or AF-S NIKKOR 600mm f/4G ED VR II
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
HamidJ

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No visual way of telling unless it is a lens that originally had VR and was updated to VR II. In that instance the VR printed on the lens would be red and the one with VR II would be gold.
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the replies, but I still have a question that is not answered! how can the lens see if it is a VR or VR II. Is there anything on the side of the lens which indicate this? or are all new lenses with VR II?
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
Ravnendano

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Read this :
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/zoom/normalzoom/af-s_dx_18-55mmf_35-56g_vr/
Then this :
http://www.nikon.com/about/technology/rd/core/software/vr_e/index.htm
First article shows the lens having 3 stopsS of VR, second article shows VR I I gives 4 stops therefore the lens has VR.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
VR , up up 3 stops.
Nov 16, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
4 Answers

Whats the difference between this two lense?

Jun 20, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am thinking to buy a lens of range 50mm and I have chosen this lens and AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G but i'm confused which one should i go for,what's the main difference between these two lenses?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  Keep in mind that 50mm is only the “standard” focal length for 35mm film cameras, or for digital cameras that use a sensor of the same size as a standard 35mm frame.  A few of Nikon's higher-end DSLRs use this format (Nikon calls it “FX format”), but most use the smaller APS format (or “DX format”, as Nikon calls it).

  The “standard” focal length for an APS-format camera is about 35mm.  As a rough rule, you can divide any lens focal length for a 35mm camera by about 1.55 to calculate what the comparable focal length would be for a lens to get the same field of view on an APS/DX camera; or multiply a lens focal length for an APS/DX camera by 1.55 to compute what the comparable lens would be for a 35mm/FX camera.

  Note, also, that many lenses are now being made specifically for APS/DX format cameras, being designed only to cover that frame size, and while these lenses will mount on a 35mm/FX camera, they will not cover the full frame.  The “DX” designation as part of the name of a Nikon lens identifies it as such a lens.

  Though I've been doing a lot of experimenting with the old lenses that I have for my forty-year-old F2, mounting them on my D3200, it is just now that I thought to try the opposite.  I just now mounted my AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR on my F2, and fiddled with it while looking through the viewfinder.  It appears that it actually does cover the full frame, as long as it is set to a focal length of about 24mm or longer.  As I zoom out to shorter focal lengths than that, it cuts off the sides of the frame.
Sep 14, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A straight 50mm is as close to what the human eye sees. I find that I am trying to get more into the picture that the straight 50mm will not let me. The 18-55mm will allow this and still give you the 50mm only if you want it. More versatile.
Jul 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
this one is a general basic zoom that lets you take pictures from the ultrawide (18mm) to the moderate tele (55mm) end. however, its max aperture is varied (gets worse by longer focal length) so it's nowhere near as bright at 50mm (5.6) as the 50/1.8. the latter lens is a fixed focal length lens (a so-called prime) where the zoom is your legs, but due to its brightness and large aperture it's better suited for low-light scenarios and when you need a shallow depth of field - nice subject/background separation.
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit the lens page in our website, so you will get acquainted with the different type of lenses that we offer.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
4 Answers

Manual focus with lens in auto mode?

May 30, 2012 by
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Is it harmful to turn the focus ring with the lens set to auto (not while focusing is actually taking place, but in standby while in auto)? Any symptoms if damage has been done? Sometimes is slow to focus, but may be normal...
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Joe
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens, the kit lens I got with my Nikon D5000, and I have been wondering about this also, because J.D. Thomas ("Nikon D5000 Digital Field Guide," p. 6), says: "Rotating the focus ring while the lens is set to autofocus can damage your lens." But David Busch ("Nikon D5000", p. 60) refers to the focus ring as used to "fine-tune autofocus adjustment," which would suggest that when you autofocus you can adjust further manually. That is something that is possible with another DSLR I have. The answer from the "Nikon staff" indicates that it is harmful. It seems peculiar that the D5000 manual does not mention this danger.
Jul 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Colorado USA
Location : 
Colorado USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To recap, the lens wasn't actually focusing at the time. The ring was moved gently with the switch set to "A", but it was in standby. Seems fine, just takes a second to focus (may be normal, don't know)...

To those at Nikon, what would be the symptoms if damage had been done?
Jun 1, 2012 by
by
Joe

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You shouldn't try to manual focus while the lense is autofocusing because the lense uses a silent motor that is controlled by the camera. It sounds like you may have damaged the lense.
Jun 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
These lenses have a switch that you can use it in manual or in Autofocus. If the lens is in A you're going to force the mechanism and may damage the lens.
May 31, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
3 Answers

Photographing the Northern Lights--Infinity Focus or something comparable?

Feb 17, 2013 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My understanding is it is not possible to focus to infinity using this lens and there is no infinity marker. Is there another way to focus to infinity?

I bought the D5000 camera which came with the Nikon DX Nikkor AF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G lens. On two prior trips to see the northern lights I was able to focus on the moon; however this time the moon was not up and though I attempted to focus on a distant light on a highway (the only light source around), my photos of the northern lights were almost all out of focus.

I was using a tripod and manual settings, with the focus switch set to manual. ISO, aperture and shutter speeds varied, depending on the lights (as they did on the prior two trips); the only major difference this time was not being able to use the moon to focus prior to the lights appearing (I stayed at the same location each time, so conditions were the same).

Thanks for any info.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
CJ
Arizona, USA
Location : 
Arizona, USA
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  I have figured out a way to get this lens to focus at infinity, and stay there.  This is with a D3200 body; the instructions may not apply fully—or even at all—to a different body.

  First with the camera set to autofocus, select a very distant object (far enough to be “infinity” as far as the lens is concerned), point the camera at it, and press the shutter button halfway, to get the camera to focus on that object.

  Make sure the camera is displaying the “Info” display.  If it isn't, press the “Information” button that is just behind the shutter release.

  Next, press the “Information Edit” button at the lower left of the back of the camera.  (Not to be confused with the “Information” button just behind the shutter release.)

  Use the four-way “Multi Selector” to scroll to the autofocus mode setting.  This will be the field that currently shows something starting with “AF-”.  Change this setting to “M” (manual).

  The lens' focus is now set and locked at infinity, and will remain so until either the camera is set back to an autofocus mode, or until the lens' focus mode switch is set to “M”.

  I was puzzled when I first discovered this “M” setting.  It didn't appear to do anything but disable autofocus, leaving the lens' focus stuck wherever it was last focused.  As it happens, that is exactly what we want to do in this case.  With the lens' focus mode switch set to “A”, the focus ring is locked, and will not be turned manually (not unless you apply enough force to damage the focus mechanism, but we do not want to do that).  With the camera's focus mode set to “M”, it won't try to autofocus.  So the lens will stay focused as it was set in the first step above, at infinity.

  As it happens, the “M” setting on the camera anticipates a feature that some other lenses might implement—but which this one does not—whereby selecting this mode from the camera will unlock the manual focus ring, even if the lens' own setting is left on autofocus.  With this lens, it just leaves the lens' focus set and locked to wherever it was last set—not what Nikon intended, but useful in this case.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Sep 16, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  It does seem to be an unfortunate thing about these modern cameras and lenses that are meant to work automatically, that while they provide some ability to operate them manually, manual operation does not work nearly as well with them as it would on a more primitive camera/lens that is intended to be operated manually.

  In particular, one thing I have noticed about this lens is that while you can manually focus it, it is imprecise and unmarked.  Any other lens, if I turn the focus all the way in the infinity direction until it stops, it is at infinity.  This lens, on the other hand, will actually focus past infinity; taking you to a hyperopic setting where nothing will be in focus.  To focus it manually at infinity requires the same guesswork as focusing it at any other shorter distance.

  Short of buying a suitable manual-focus lens, the best advice I can offer is to try to focus on something like the moon or a distant light, and try to use as small an aperture as you reasonably can, to give yourself some reasonable room to be imprecise with your focusing.
Sep 14, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately, the 18-55 lens does not have an infinity marker, and we do not support any other method of manually focusing the 18-55 lens at infinity. It is always best to use the right tools for the job, especially in photography. It would be best to purchase a lens with an infinity marker.
Sep 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with a D50?

Aug 29, 2014 by
by
Dhay
Stuart, FL, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Dhay
Stuart, FL, USA
Location : 
Stuart, FL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR. The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR is remarkably light and compact, it’s an ideal general purpose ‘walk-around’ lens. It even captures fantastic close-up shots as close as 0.9-ft. from your subject. For more information on which lenses to use with your D50 please see: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Aug 29, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible
Aug 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
Aug 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
3 Answers

does Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX Nikkor Lens compatible with Nikon D5100?

Jul 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
flavia
miami
Location : 
miami
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it can.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
HeyThatPhotoGuy!

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters interfere with the calibrated engineering of the lens as well as losing your auto-focus ability in most cases. I professionally would not recommend using teleconverters.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, tc's will not work on either lens.
May 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

F-stop

May 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My f stop is stuck at 22 for some reason and I can't adjust it, any suggestions?
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
J
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can only adjust the aperture in Aperture Priority or manual modes. It doesn't have an aperture ring like the D series because all changing in done inside of the camera modes. If you are saying that while you are in one of those modes that the aperture is not able to be adjusted and you suspect it is the lens, send it to Nikon so it can be checked.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

Nikon D60 with Nikon DX AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 G

May 30, 2011 by
by
Jnichols
Oklahoma
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I zoom, the lens will not go passed 35. Help Please
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Jnichols
Oklahoma
Location : 
Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the lens wont zoom past 35mm, it needs to be checked by Nikon Tech support. Dont attempt to check it yourself as your warranty will be voided.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your lens for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

Does nikon 18-55mm ED VR support nikon D7000

Nov 20, 2011 by
by
gspiash
Dhaka, Bangladesh
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I've just purchased my brand new Nikon D7000 and got his lens from my friend. But don't know is it fully compatible with my new gear? Have anyone any idea?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
gspiash
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Location : 
Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
As far as I am awar pretty much all slr lenses made since 1959 should fit the D7000
Nov 21, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Fully compatible.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers