Loading

Light and compact ‘walk-around’ lens with Vibration Reduction

With its versatile 18–55mm focal range and VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization, this lens makes it easy to create sharp, clear photos and videos. Remarkably light and compact, it’s an ideal general purpose ‘walk-around’ lens. It even captures fantastic close-up shots as close as 0.9-ft. from your subject.
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
AS
A-M

Versatile enough for any setting

3x standard zoom with Vibration Reduction

Optimized for Nikon DX-format D-SLRs, the practical and versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR was designed to cover the most frequently used focal length range of 18–55mm. It’s great for a very broad range of photo and video applications, from portraits to landscapes. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, ensures that all your shots turn out remarkably crisp, even when handheld shooting.

Sharp, clear images

Nikon technology for optimum performance

Like all NIKKOR lenses, the AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR is engineered for performance. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating (SIC) offers superior color quality and reduces ghosting and flare. A rounded, seven-blade diaphragm makes out of focus elements appear more natural, and a hybrid aspherical lens element minimizes various types of lens aberration. Expect vibrant, clear images and videos.

Nikon Vibration Reduction

Learn more about Nikon’s in-lens VR image stabilization which assures dramatically sharper still images and video capture when shooting handheld.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: DX-format lenses are attached to a DX-format digital SLR camera and zoom lenses are set at the maximum telephoto position.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 4 5 130 130
Limited Use but Excellent Pictures Slow lens but... I have this lens paired with a Nikon D3200. While the focal length is limiting at times I will not hold that against this lens rating since that problem is easily solved by purchasing other lenses. For an included lens this thing works great. Even if you flip it into auto mode and shoot away the pictures come out clean and crisp. The aperture of 3.5 does leave much to be desired in many situations. However, for what you can use this lens for, it does it very well. Let my sample images speak for themselves. I am new to photography with inexpensive budget equipment and I think the images look amazing. The VR works fairly well although I do not know the specifics or technicalities behind this feature. I do know that all the shots I shoot handheld come out sharp and clear. This lens does NOT blur the background the way that I would like for portraits so if you do a lot of that you will probably want to purchase the 35mm DX 1.8G lens. All in all however, for the price (or included in your kit) this lens allows you to capture most of your photographic ideas nicely. A great place to start. It usually takes a lot to impress me and I must say that I am impressed! December 30, 2013
THINGS STARTED OUT WELL ENOUGH ... My initial impressions of this lens were very favourable. It seemed to be well made (for a plastic lens), and the sharpness of the images I got with it were very pleasing. The zoom ring worked well, with no trace of sloppiness at all. The range of the lens, from, effectively, 27mm wide angle, to 82.5 mm telephoto, was very useful (allowing for the cropping factor), enabling it to be used in a variety of conditions, and it was not too bulky, even when zoomed out to the 55 mm setting. Time, however, was not kind to this lens. Annoying issues became noticeable as the months passed. For example, I could never find a lens hood that didn't intrude at the edges of the image when the lens was used at the 18 mm setting. It meant I had to crop images a bit more than I wanted to. The other issue was the distortion in vertical lines at the wide angle setting. This would render things like trees, and the edges of tall buildings, with curved sides, and the images would not look good. Using the distortion correction option on the camera menu made little difference. The most unpleasant surprise came more or less one month after the year's warranty expired: the lens developed a “wobble,” in that the front element would move noticeably up and down when the zoom ring was used (and the zoom ring itself had become very stiff and jerky to use). This “wobble” could be seen as a distinct up and down movement through the viewfinder, as if somebody had nudged the camera. So, forget about using the zoom when taking video images, as this up and down movement would be too obvious. At first, the wobble didn't affect the operation of the lens, but after a couple of weeks the focus became worse, and in some conditions, such as low light, the lens hardly focussed at all. Some research on the Internet revealed this “wobble” was a common problem with this kit lens, being that it is made down to a price. My research also told me that getting the issue rectified would not be easy. Some owners reported a six to eight week delay whilst the lens was with Nikon USA (and Nikon have now made it impossible to get your equipment repaired locally), and attempts to get any information were usually met with explanations like: “The item is held awaiting parts.” The deal breaker, as shown by Internet forum comments, was that the price of out-of-warranty repair was such that it was far cheaper to look online for a replacement lens. I have to ask, what is the point of making this lens of such cheap quality that it is only going to last you about a year? I should point out that I am neither a professional photographer, nor a “prosumer” snapper (whatever that means!). No, I am not anything other than a weekend photographer, so I hardly think I subject my lenses to overly rough treatment or excessive use. I honestly expected this lens to perform flawlessly for a lot longer than just over twelve months. Then again, I have read forum posts by photographers who have subjected their 18mm-55mm lens to far more use than I have, and it has failed in less than a year. In one case, a user reported about how the whole front element of the lens fell out whilst he was using it. Would I recommend this lens? No! Most definitely not! I would recommend that people purchase the camera body only, and then pay the extra for a different lens to the 18mm-55mm. My recommendation would be to go for the 18mm-105mm lens. The extra cost would be worth it. Also, the extended range of this lens would come in very handy. It would be far more useful to you in a whole range of photographic applications than the 18mm-55mm. Yes, the 18mm-105mm is just another plastic lens, but, hopefully, the build quality is that much better, so you would get more use out of it before it, too, exhibited the dreaded “wobble.” December 5, 2013
Great Lens The lens came with the camera and I've really enjoyed the wide angle view the lens provides along with the easy use of the VR feature. December 4, 2013
OK In a Bundled Kit This lens was bundled with the 55-300 mm version in a D5200 kit that joins my Canon 60D gear. The included 18-55 mm lens will not get the most out of your Nikon body. Its results are meaningfully 'soft', but you are also not going to get the latest-greatest in a price point bundle. It simply gets you started with a lens that will be suitable for snapshot sized prints. However, you may find that it can make for a suitable portrait lens where soft results are desired. When you want razor detail in a close up macro type shot, it won't be there. The lens is okay in a start-up bundle, but a serious shooter looking for sharpness would not purchase a stand-alone copy. The sample shot included would not well tolerate a blow up even though the D5200 body used with it is highly capable. July 28, 2013
Good Lens I have had this lens for about 3 years now and I take pictures for fun. This is easy to use and takes nice pictures. For an entry level lens I think you will be very happy with it. July 19, 2013
Good For a Kit Lens I got this lens as a kit lens with my D3200 and it is a good lens for a kit lens. Even though some people tend to say that the kit lenses aren't very good, this one surprised me. It's great for the price. This lens however isn't for all people. I would recommend this lens to anyone who is looking to take pictures for memories, someone who doesn't have a ton of money, or someone looking to carry around something small. Don't count on this lens for good zoom though. If you can manually focus, you can also get good macro type pictures if you're willing to get up close and/or on your knees. It's not a lens to use all the time(for photographers or beginning photographers) but it's a nice lens to have. Overall, it's impressive for a kit lens. July 15, 2013
Okay lense. Cheaply made This lense was recommended online as good value for money. Pictures were pretty good, not real sharp. I had this lense for about 2 months and it took a slight knock when it swung into a rock. Zoom mechanism was damaged. I got it fixed. Bumped it again. Another repair. Well, three strikes and it's out! It is getting thrown in trash. Local shop repair guy said he would not get it repaired (something I had already decided). I would not recommend this lens. Shoddy construction, long repair turn around. June 4, 2013
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR This lens was part of Nikon D5000 camera package I received as a gift. A 55-200mm VR lens was also included. The package got me started and this lens lasted two years before it malfunctioned. Nikon repaired it under the warranty. About a month later the lens fell on a carpeted floor and had the same malfunction as before; the zoom and focus would not work. This time the type of damage (because it fell)was not covered under the extended warranty and the cost to repair almost equaled the cost of a new lens. I read the reviews and decided not to have it repaired. Talking to experts I learned that this is an okay lens (it's more affordable than other options), but there are better options to consider if you're willing to pay a little more, which is what I did. I replaced the two lens with one that covered much of the same range and added a AF-S DX 35/1.8G Nikkor lens for low light/ portrait conditions. I'm ready to go to the next level with my picture taking. This lens is a good start and may be all you need. For me it was a nice beginning lens. April 17, 2013
Good value but low-end Included in a kit it's actually pretty good value - it's a decent, lightweight lens with very little distortion, so the photographs you get from it (if you're shooting RAW and don't benefit from all the in-camera corrections) require little if any tweaking. The big limitation is sharpness. It's just not very, especially at the tele end. On a modern entry-level DSLR like the D3200 or D5200, with which this often ships, the 24 megapixel sensor is nowhere near challenged with this lens. But that's okay, because unless you're a pixel peeper, a cropper, or getting really into it, you won't care. March 26, 2013
Starter Lens This lens came with my D3100 camera. I was new to photography so I literally had no idea what I was getting myself into! This lens is really good but once I got the hang of the basics, I wanted to do more!! This is what it is: a starter lens. I am attached to mine for sentimental reasons now but it is handy in the majority of every-day events. January 10, 2013
Kit lens that produce great photos got this lens when i purchased my nikon d5100. pictures taken from this lens are exceptional considering that it is a kit lens. November 7, 2012
El lente estándar Este es el objetivo que mas uso ya que venia con mi cámara, muy pocas veces lo quito de mi cámara, tiene enfoque muy rápido, funciona muy bien para paisajes y retratos, tiene buena calidad de imagen y es muy liviano. October 31, 2012
Light, good and cheap! This lens, including the mount, is made of plastic, which does not imply bad quality. I bought it with a D5000 for my wife, and she gets very good general results, at par with the ones obtained with a 18-200mm, with less distortion. Surprisingly, the lens shines in the macro range: 8x11 prints of butterflies taken with this lens and the 200mm micro Nikon that costs about 10 times more are hard to differentiate. October 24, 2012
Good beginner/travel lens. This is the kit lens I received with my D3200. It is a pretty decent quality lens for the price. Its not great, but it gets the job done. It does occasionally have trouble focusing when in Auto-Focus, but I usually leave it in Manual so it's not much of a problem for me. No real issues with it, it does what it's supposed to with relatively good results. I would recommend this lens to beginners and those who just want a decent travel lens. August 8, 2012
Great Starter Lens but thats all This is a great starter lens because you have a wide angle at 18mm and a slight zoom to the 55mm and comes with the VR and AF-S so there is automatic focus although that takes a while. pros - cheap - simple - light cons - slight distortion - slow autofocus - nothing special July 29, 2012
Awesome for beginners Perfect for portraits & landscapes while traveling July 7, 2012
perfectt . i have had this for 6 months and use it on a d5000 . its perfect . its good for anything . i love it . barley ever take it off . June 18, 2012
These reviewers know what they're talking about Other than those who complained about erganomics (I've yet to experience any frustrations with zooming) I completely agree with the reviews: this lense is great for the money. The 18-55 range is absolutely ideal, but after recently acquiring my 35mm f1.8, this lense does not look as sharp with every shot, but most pictures do turn out crisp and clear. June 2, 2012
GREAT LENS Great lens for starters. High quality pictures.This type of lens that you will bring anywhere or everyday use. Great lens for landscape,nature,portrait,travel...etc May 21, 2012
Lousy Len Just purchased this lens with the D5100. Lens was stiff when trying to zoom in and out. Returned to store to exchange and they went through 3 more lens with same problem. So I returned lens and camera. Just received camera and the 55 - 200 and the 18 - 55 lens through on line purchase. The 55-200 works fine but the 18-55 is so stiff and noisy, I'm returning everything and going to canon. April 14, 2012
Presque parfaite La lentille m'a donné un excellent rendement sur mon appareil D-5100. Pour le prix c'est un excellent achat. Le seul point a apporté est un détail qui peut être important. Le bouchon de lentille pourrais être retenu par une ficelle ou autre chose ( mécanisme détachable en même temps ). Ce qui l'empêcherais d’être oublié ou perdu. Son utilisation accessible aiderait a prolongé la vie de notre lentille. April 13, 2012
OK Product This is an ok lens. It's really not amazing, but for a beginner it works well and is worth the price. I would recommend upgrading to a Nikkor 50mm 1.4 as soon as possible as it will help you learn much faster. It is nice for wide angle though, which is what I use it for. If you are looking for an inexpensive lens, this is a good one. It is a good buy for the price! February 23, 2012
Great product This came bundled with my D3100 which I bought a year ago. I am well pleased with the quality of images I get with this lens. I have done a few portraits using this lens and both my subject and myself were rapt with the results. January 19, 2012
I was disappointed with this lens. I had allot of out of focus shots because this lens won't stay in focus in manual mode. Other than that it worked fine in the other settings. December 8, 2011
Amazing! Although I at first didn't like the idea of having such a limited lens [I like to shoot landscape photos so I thought I would prefer a telephoto], I actually really enjoy this lens! Pictures come out beautiful and crisp with no chromatic aberration so far [I've taken about 8000 photos so far and haven't seen a hint of it yet]. I would definitely recommend this for any amateur photographer trying to transition into the industry - speaking from personal experience. It's a great starting lens. November 14, 2011
Great little lens It was the VR that sold this lens for me. I got a really good price for this and attached to to my D40X. The VR does make a difference. Especially in lower lighting. My hands aren't as steady as they were 40 years ago. Even if they were, I firmly believe in stabilization. This lens really helped me personally, and I recomend it highly. November 7, 2011
Great everyday lens Pictures are very sharp. Very easy to focus. The first lens broke, so I replaced it with this one with VR. It improves clarity immensely. October 17, 2011
Great Lens Received the lens as part of a kit with the D3100. Lens has worked with no problems at all. September 12, 2011
Pretty good to me for the price This lense may have a few conforts to give up, but what matters is the end result, I feel this lense is able to take better shots than some more expensives ones, so save a few hundres bucks, be careful with the lense, take good pictures and use the money you save for something else. In my case it came with the D3100 camera kit. September 8, 2011
Gold Ring Lens This review is about the VR 18-55 mm lens, stock #2176, not the ED lens, stock #2170. They might look alike; the VR lens is superior to the ED! When I was buying my Nikon D5100 I checked prices and thought it would be prudent to get this 18-55 mm lens as an add-on. I mistakenly believed that Nikon was providing a “starter lens” so that I could use the camera right away. I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box and saw the gold ring around the lens. The gold ring is a particular hallmark used by Nikon to give distinction to lens quality. I guess that I am supposed to stand up when such a lens enters the room. Checking the technical reviews of the lens, I found that it is well-regarded and has favorable technical evaluations. You might care to check the reviews by users of comparable lenses of other manufacturers. I really think that a wide angle lens is the most useful lens of all. This is my lens of choice for photography in buildings, of people, for close up work, and for fast moving shots when I have to shoot from the hip not waiting for the viewfinder or screen. As a walk around lens, I set the camera at the sports action setting and the lens at 40 mm. The camera can focus on subjects less than a foot away. Nikon gets us off to a good start by including this valuable lens when we buy our cameras. Wide angle lenses have inherent problems: First of all, unless you hold the camera straight up the wide angle will create bending of the image along the sides of the picture. Avoid this by turning on the distortion control feature on the camera or fix it with third party software. Secondly, if the camera is tilted to the right or left, the picture will be tilted noticeably. Again, set the camera’s control for this, turn on the grid lines feature, or use software. The third problem will be light flares from looking into the sun. I remedy sun flares with the eraser function available with third party software. This lens does not come with a hood. In fact, the lens does not have treads to install a hood! (To use a hood would make the picture look like it was photographed through a pipe.) Some people criticize the lens for being plastic. This is silly. You want a lightweight, rust proof, strong lens body that does not perspire or cause the lens to fog or internally mildew due to temperature and humidity changes. Best Features: Sharp optics, short focus distance (macro), quick focus, vibration reduction for photography from an automobile at speed. An excellent value for the price. Worse Features: (Checking…) Recommended Accessories: If you like the status of a gold ring lens, then get the coffee tumbler from Nikon’s Logo Shop. That item comes with its own lens pouch and in a styled box. It has a gold ring! September 7, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5 6
<<prev | next>>
52 Questions | 81 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
52 Questions | 81 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
8 Answers

Vr-VrII

Nov 16, 2013 by
by
Ravnendano
Maribo. Dk
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
how can I find out if a lens has VR or VR II? seems not always been so good to write it in your spec.
9 months ago
by
Ravnendano
Maribo. Dk
Location : 
Maribo. Dk
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
8 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR Lens is VR, not VRII. The only way to confirm definitely if a lens is VR or VRII is to check the product specifications. Gold lettering may indicate either VR or VRII.
Nov 26, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
this means that all lenses with gold VR is a VR II. This means also that there are only 4 nikon lenses out of the 26 there have VR and 24 with VR II. if I understand right!
Nov 18, 2013 by
by
Ravnendano

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is the 200mm with VRII notice the VR in gold

http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product/Camera-Lenses/2188/AF-S-NIKKOR-200mm-f%252F2G-ED-VR-II.html
Here is the 200mm with VR notice the VR in red
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Products/Product-Archive/Camera-Lenses/2150/AF-S-VR-NIKKOR-200mm-f%252F2G-IF-ED.html
Definitely not wrong.
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Any lens made by nikon have an id , name or something else .
ED , VR , IF , AF and ... so on .
If a lens have Vibration Reduction , you can see VR lable on the lens body and in its name like AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55 f/3.5.5.6G VR or AF-S NIKKOR 600mm f/4G ED VR II
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
HamidJ

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No visual way of telling unless it is a lens that originally had VR and was updated to VR II. In that instance the VR printed on the lens would be red and the one with VR II would be gold.
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for the replies, but I still have a question that is not answered! how can the lens see if it is a VR or VR II. Is there anything on the side of the lens which indicate this? or are all new lenses with VR II?
Nov 17, 2013 by
by
Ravnendano

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Read this :
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/zoom/normalzoom/af-s_dx_18-55mmf_35-56g_vr/
Then this :
http://www.nikon.com/about/technology/rd/core/software/vr_e/index.htm
First article shows the lens having 3 stopsS of VR, second article shows VR I I gives 4 stops therefore the lens has VR.

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
VR , up up 3 stops.
Nov 16, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
4 Answers

Whats the difference between this two lense?

Jun 20, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am thinking to buy a lens of range 50mm and I have chosen this lens and AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G but i'm confused which one should i go for,what's the main difference between these two lenses?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  Keep in mind that 50mm is only the “standard” focal length for 35mm film cameras, or for digital cameras that use a sensor of the same size as a standard 35mm frame.  A few of Nikon's higher-end DSLRs use this format (Nikon calls it “FX format”), but most use the smaller APS format (or “DX format”, as Nikon calls it).

  The “standard” focal length for an APS-format camera is about 35mm.  As a rough rule, you can divide any lens focal length for a 35mm camera by about 1.55 to calculate what the comparable focal length would be for a lens to get the same field of view on an APS/DX camera; or multiply a lens focal length for an APS/DX camera by 1.55 to compute what the comparable lens would be for a 35mm/FX camera.

  Note, also, that many lenses are now being made specifically for APS/DX format cameras, being designed only to cover that frame size, and while these lenses will mount on a 35mm/FX camera, they will not cover the full frame.  The “DX” designation as part of the name of a Nikon lens identifies it as such a lens.

  Though I've been doing a lot of experimenting with the old lenses that I have for my forty-year-old F2, mounting them on my D3200, it is just now that I thought to try the opposite.  I just now mounted my AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR on my F2, and fiddled with it while looking through the viewfinder.  It appears that it actually does cover the full frame, as long as it is set to a focal length of about 24mm or longer.  As I zoom out to shorter focal lengths than that, it cuts off the sides of the frame.
Sep 14, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A straight 50mm is as close to what the human eye sees. I find that I am trying to get more into the picture that the straight 50mm will not let me. The 18-55mm will allow this and still give you the 50mm only if you want it. More versatile.
Jul 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
this one is a general basic zoom that lets you take pictures from the ultrawide (18mm) to the moderate tele (55mm) end. however, its max aperture is varied (gets worse by longer focal length) so it's nowhere near as bright at 50mm (5.6) as the 50/1.8. the latter lens is a fixed focal length lens (a so-called prime) where the zoom is your legs, but due to its brightness and large aperture it's better suited for low-light scenarios and when you need a shallow depth of field - nice subject/background separation.
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit the lens page in our website, so you will get acquainted with the different type of lenses that we offer.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
4 Answers

Manual focus with lens in auto mode?

May 30, 2012 by
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Is it harmful to turn the focus ring with the lens set to auto (not while focusing is actually taking place, but in standby while in auto)? Any symptoms if damage has been done? Sometimes is slow to focus, but may be normal...
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Joe
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have this lens, the kit lens I got with my Nikon D5000, and I have been wondering about this also, because J.D. Thomas ("Nikon D5000 Digital Field Guide," p. 6), says: "Rotating the focus ring while the lens is set to autofocus can damage your lens." But David Busch ("Nikon D5000", p. 60) refers to the focus ring as used to "fine-tune autofocus adjustment," which would suggest that when you autofocus you can adjust further manually. That is something that is possible with another DSLR I have. The answer from the "Nikon staff" indicates that it is harmful. It seems peculiar that the D5000 manual does not mention this danger.
Jul 22, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Colorado USA
Location : 
Colorado USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
To recap, the lens wasn't actually focusing at the time. The ring was moved gently with the switch set to "A", but it was in standby. Seems fine, just takes a second to focus (may be normal, don't know)...

To those at Nikon, what would be the symptoms if damage had been done?
Jun 1, 2012 by
by
Joe

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You shouldn't try to manual focus while the lense is autofocusing because the lense uses a silent motor that is controlled by the camera. It sounds like you may have damaged the lense.
Jun 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
These lenses have a switch that you can use it in manual or in Autofocus. If the lens is in A you're going to force the mechanism and may damage the lens.
May 31, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
3 Answers

does Nikon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR AF-S DX Nikkor Lens compatible with Nikon D5100?

Jul 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
3 years ago
by
flavia
miami
Location : 
miami
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes it can.
Aug 5, 2011 by
by
HeyThatPhotoGuy!

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5100.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
3 Answers

Photographing the Northern Lights--Infinity Focus or something comparable?

Feb 17, 2013 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My understanding is it is not possible to focus to infinity using this lens and there is no infinity marker. Is there another way to focus to infinity?

I bought the D5000 camera which came with the Nikon DX Nikkor AF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G lens. On two prior trips to see the northern lights I was able to focus on the moon; however this time the moon was not up and though I attempted to focus on a distant light on a highway (the only light source around), my photos of the northern lights were almost all out of focus.

I was using a tripod and manual settings, with the focus switch set to manual. ISO, aperture and shutter speeds varied, depending on the lights (as they did on the prior two trips); the only major difference this time was not being able to use the moon to focus prior to the lights appearing (I stayed at the same location each time, so conditions were the same).

Thanks for any info.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
CJ
Arizona, USA
Location : 
Arizona, USA
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  I have figured out a way to get this lens to focus at infinity, and stay there.  This is with a D3200 body; the instructions may not apply fully—or even at all—to a different body.

  First with the camera set to autofocus, select a very distant object (far enough to be “infinity” as far as the lens is concerned), point the camera at it, and press the shutter button halfway, to get the camera to focus on that object.

  Make sure the camera is displaying the “Info” display.  If it isn't, press the “Information” button that is just behind the shutter release.

  Next, press the “Information Edit” button at the lower left of the back of the camera.  (Not to be confused with the “Information” button just behind the shutter release.)

  Use the four-way “Multi Selector” to scroll to the autofocus mode setting.  This will be the field that currently shows something starting with “AF-”.  Change this setting to “M” (manual).

  The lens' focus is now set and locked at infinity, and will remain so until either the camera is set back to an autofocus mode, or until the lens' focus mode switch is set to “M”.

  I was puzzled when I first discovered this “M” setting.  It didn't appear to do anything but disable autofocus, leaving the lens' focus stuck wherever it was last focused.  As it happens, that is exactly what we want to do in this case.  With the lens' focus mode switch set to “A”, the focus ring is locked, and will not be turned manually (not unless you apply enough force to damage the focus mechanism, but we do not want to do that).  With the camera's focus mode set to “M”, it won't try to autofocus.  So the lens will stay focused as it was set in the first step above, at infinity.

  As it happens, the “M” setting on the camera anticipates a feature that some other lenses might implement—but which this one does not—whereby selecting this mode from the camera will unlock the manual focus ring, even if the lens' own setting is left on autofocus.  With this lens, it just leaves the lens' focus set and locked to wherever it was last set—not what Nikon intended, but useful in this case.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Sep 16, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  It does seem to be an unfortunate thing about these modern cameras and lenses that are meant to work automatically, that while they provide some ability to operate them manually, manual operation does not work nearly as well with them as it would on a more primitive camera/lens that is intended to be operated manually.

  In particular, one thing I have noticed about this lens is that while you can manually focus it, it is imprecise and unmarked.  Any other lens, if I turn the focus all the way in the infinity direction until it stops, it is at infinity.  This lens, on the other hand, will actually focus past infinity; taking you to a hyperopic setting where nothing will be in focus.  To focus it manually at infinity requires the same guesswork as focusing it at any other shorter distance.

  Short of buying a suitable manual-focus lens, the best advice I can offer is to try to focus on something like the moon or a distant light, and try to use as small an aperture as you reasonably can, to give yourself some reasonable room to be imprecise with your focusing.
Sep 14, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately, the 18-55 lens does not have an infinity marker, and we do not support any other method of manually focusing the 18-55 lens at infinity. It is always best to use the right tools for the job, especially in photography. It would be best to purchase a lens with an infinity marker.
Sep 11, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
todd
nyc
Location : 
nyc
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters interfere with the calibrated engineering of the lens as well as losing your auto-focus ability in most cases. I professionally would not recommend using teleconverters.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, tc's will not work on either lens.
May 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

F-stop

May 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My f stop is stuck at 22 for some reason and I can't adjust it, any suggestions?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
J
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can only adjust the aperture in Aperture Priority or manual modes. It doesn't have an aperture ring like the D series because all changing in done inside of the camera modes. If you are saying that while you are in one of those modes that the aperture is not able to be adjusted and you suspect it is the lens, send it to Nikon so it can be checked.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

Nikon D60 with Nikon DX AF-S NIKKOR 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 G

May 30, 2011 by
by
Jnichols
Oklahoma
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I zoom, the lens will not go passed 35. Help Please
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Jnichols
Oklahoma
Location : 
Oklahoma
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the lens wont zoom past 35mm, it needs to be checked by Nikon Tech support. Dont attempt to check it yourself as your warranty will be voided.
May 31, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to send your lens for service in order to be evaluated by one of our techs.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

why the photos are not focuses?

Aug 22, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
hy, i bought a nikon D3100 with kit lens 18-55mm. now after a few month i saw that when i shoot picture in less then 1/300 shutter speed, all my picture are not focused. the camera capture the focus, i do the picture, but when i look the photo is not clear. i try also to do picture with the tripod and remote control( for not shaken the camera) but same result. all the picture made in less then 1/300 are not crystal. what i should do? thank you
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Lorand
Montreal
Location : 
Montreal
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
are you using the tele end? are you using the VR in the lens? but, most important, ARE YOU USING LIVE VIEW? tips: turn on VR. don't use live view for photos. and choose your focus point wisely, first focus then reframe.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For better assistance, please click on the link below in order for you to send sample images:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
 
2 Answers

Largest Aperture

Sep 8, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
When I have the camera in A mode, the lowest f/stop I can attain is f/5.6 as indicated in the viewfinder however the lens is supposed to go to 3.5.
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I suppose that you are talking about an AF zoom lens? The lowest f stop will depend on the focal length of the zoom. If you are are the wide angle end, you will get the lowest f-stop for the lighting. If you are the telephoto end, you will get highest, depending on the lighting.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's wht the lens says f/3.5-5.6. It means the lens can go to f/3.5 at 18mm but only to f/5.6 at 55mm - the maximum aperture changes depending on the zoom. Try zooming back to maximum aperture (18mm) and you should be able to use f/3.5
Sep 8, 2011 by
by
GerardoD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers