Loading

Affordable, high-quality ‘walk-around’ lens

Weighing just 7.2 oz., this light and compact standard zoom lens produces clear, high-contrast pictures and videos. Its  approx. 3.1x zoom covers the popular range of 18–55mm, making it a versatile, go-to lens for everything from portraiture to landscapes. It even lets you shoot close-ups just 0.9-ft. from your subject.
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
A-M

Compact and versatile

3x standard zoom for DX cameras

Optimized for Nikon DX-format D-SLRs, the ultra-compact and lightweight AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II covers the most frequently used focal length range of 18–55mm. This makes it a great choice for a wide variety of shooting situations, from portraits to landscapes to HD video recording.

Nikon quality images

Advanced technologies for better photos

Despite its affordable price and compact size, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II offers some of the advanced Nikon technologies of more expensive lenses. Nikon’s Super Integrated Coating provides higher contrast and more vivid images while minimizing ghosting and flare. An Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass element minimizes chromatic aberration for superior optical performance.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II 3.6 5 55 55
Full of Quality and Dependability I got the Nikon 18-55mm AF-S DX VR with my D60 kit, my first DSLR, and used it until I felt comfortable enough with the camera to upgrade to the 18-105. The 18-55 was perfect for a learning curve. It takes outstanding shots, especially landscape and architecture. Indoors, with longer exposures, it also delivered crisp clear images without a tripod because of the VR feature. The qualities of all functions are extremely good, especially considering the price of the glass. Sometimes, especially the first few months, it took a bit to focus but that may also have been my own ignorance of various functions that both the camera and lens offer. I have read some reviews where people experienced distortion at the bottom and top of the range but I never noticed this in my captures. Though it is made of plastic it seems durable enough and it connected and disconnected with ease from the D60 body. While I had this lens for the first 7 months of my DSLR usage, I probably clicked about a thousand shots a month on average. The D60 and 18-55 were with me on my trip to England and the comments I have received on castles I photographed have been great. In fact, many friends and relatives requested framed 8x10s and 11x14s. That certainly makes one feel good. And I thank the D60 and 18-55 for that to a major degree. I would recommend this to anyone starting their DSLR life. For the money I do not think it can be beat. April 8, 2011
wonderfull Kit Lens it's an easy use and great Kit - Lens great for using every time and sharp for all you need September 22, 2010
Better than anyone could expect This lens came with my D80 and I kept it when I upgraded to the D90. I have wanted to try the VR version but can't get away from this lens - for the money, it is startlingly good. I recently bought the 60mm 2.8 macro, and after many attempts have gone back to little 18-55 for most of my macro shots - it's that good and the depth of field is much better. I now use the 60mm macro for mostly portrait work, which it is quite good at- go figure. Anyway, great, great lens - don't let the price throw you off. September 4, 2010
Excellent steal. First off, I'd like to dispel rumors of it's flimsiness. I've had the thing for six months. I've dropped it, stepped on it, and thrown it at cats (not really). The only part of it that shows signs of wear is the filter on the front. The point is, it can keep up with you if you don't abuse it. August 23, 2010
It does what it is designed to do. This lens, like the more than 20 others I have used in nearly 40 years of professional photography, is meets the usual high Nikon standard quality. If and when a photo goes badly, it is invariably my mistake, not the equipment. I have and still use large format, 35mm, and digital format lenses. When you hit your thumb with a hammer, it isn't the hammer's fault. July 30, 2010
No better lens for the money There is flat out no better lens for the money than this one (except perhaps for the VR version of the same lens, which I have no experience with). I shoot this lens on my D40x and D300, and it is sharp across the zoom range. You often get this lens virtually free with a low-end kit. I dont have experience with other kit lenses such as the 18-105 or 18-135, but from reviews I have read, those have a lot more distortion and are softer than this lens. This lens when paired with the 55-200 VR are about all an amateur needs 95% of the time. The pair is significantly superior to the Nikon 18-200mm lens in multiple respects (see my review there). You just flat out will not find a bang for the buck out there, period (again, the VR update of this lens may be the only exception to that). July 30, 2010
Great Lens I use this lens a lot. Coupled to my D5000 I am getting excelent results. July 30, 2010
Super Sharp Bang for the Buck This lightweight supersharp lens is a no brainer. It has both an aspherical and an ED element. It doesn't weight you down - a great grab and go lens that is versatile enough for 80% of the time. July 30, 2010
very good lens Very good lens given a fact that you understand it's not a fast lens. At a daylight performs very well, fast AF, silent, excellent application in street photography. Night time - you can use it, but you better of rely on your ability to focus it manually. Being a wideangle-to-normal-range-zoom it never leaves my bag. It is a very light-weighted lens. Downsides: I don't put slipping autofocus at night here because you expect to have it, you just don't have that light in the output, but here' something else. You have to use a ND filter to protect the lens from fingerprinting it, it's really easy to do w/o the filter. And the filter will give you all sort of glares very visible at night. July 30, 2010
Unbelievable for the Price The 18-55, even without VR, is probably the best all-around zoom lens I have ever used. It delivers consistently good results over its entire range, demonstrating its optical quality. I wish it was a little faster, but of course that tiny complaint vanishes with the newer 18-55 VR version. After using several lenses, the 18-55 is now the lens that is on my camera by default. You simply can not beat this lens for the price. July 30, 2010
Excellent Value. Excellent product overall Unfortunately I only had a chance to use this lens for about a two week period before it and my camera were stolen. Normally, since I own many other Nikon lenses besides those I've reviewed here I only buy a camera body but for some reason I opted to purchase the 18-55 lens when I purchased my new D300s to supplement my D300 and D700 bodies. Like I said, it was stolen but in the very short time I owned the lens I was pleasantly surprised at the lightness, ease of use, and the excellent, sharp images it produced. For the price, you can't go wrong if you need to get a kit lens. Excellent clarity, short, compact. Very unintrusive in it's use if you like fast street photography. A joy to carry on your shoulder. Almost un-noticable. July 30, 2010
A convenient and high quality compact lens. This lens is a real winning combinaison with a compact SLR like the Nikon D40. A perfect fit in term of ergonomics. When travelling with the camera, this package will give you very high quality picture mostly similar from result done with higher end pro lenses. VR stabilisation is only option missing but the newest version got it for the same price level. Another advantage of the lens is its filter diameter of 52mm wich allow you to try different types of filter at low cost like for a circular polarizer. If you are looking for stronger magnification, the Nikon AFS 55-200mm VR can fill the gap nicely. In one word, a perfect compact good quality fit! July 29, 2010
Melhor lente para estreia da máquina Esta lente veio com a câmera que comprei, uma D5100, e é ótima. Não sou profissional, apenas gosto muito de fotografia e de fotografar. A lente é versátil e bastante útil em muitas situações para minhas incursões fotográficas: registrar todos os eventos dentro de casa, fotografar meus filhos e esposa, fazer retratos e boas fotos de paisagens e documentar meus passeios ao ar livre. Para esportes velozes e macrofotografia existem lentes mais apropriadas. O alcance do zoom me agrada pois consigo enquadramentos em grande angular mais que suficientes para o dia-a-dia. As funções de autofocus têm uma boa velocidade, mas posso também focar manualmente, em situações específicas. A lente é leve. Como primeira lente me atende perfeitamente. March 30, 2012
A real value I am handicapped and the weight of my kit is extremely important. Anything that doesn't prove useful is gone in short order. This lens is an impressive blend of price, size, weight and performance. I don't use it a lot but its good enough to have found a permanent place in my "always carry" kit. It may not be as durable as some other items in the Nikon line, but I recommend it as a fine value for any amateur photographer. August 6, 2012
There's a reason these are in starter kits. Found one of these on the floor and behind a desk of the newsroom of a near-bankrupt publication I got a job with. It works relatively well, even though it's horribly dirty and I've even dropped it five feet onto a concrete floor while changing lenses. For a half-busted (the zoom gives me resistance now since dropping it like an idiot), dirty, inexpensive lens, it has done remarkably well and stays in my camera bag for those need-to-get, last ditch wide-angle shots. The fact that it comes in most starter kits makes them ubiquitous too. Every reporter who shoots Nikon should have one of these things. April 19, 2012
All rounder This Kit Lens is great for the begginers. You can shoot almost everything within the range. Its good for travelling, landscape or portraits. Everyone should use this lens at-least once. Grab it with your Lovely Nikon DSLR. NIkon the best. December 2, 2011
Best Darned Lens for the Money I've been using this lens as my general purpose lens for my D80 for about three years now. I love this lens! It's been problem free and it shoots great pictures, free of distortion and true to the subject. November 21, 2011
great product my lens is great and does the job I need it for. I have had a little trouble with it not auto focusing on close ups and hope the warranty repair is as good as the lens has been. August 4, 2011
Needed repair after 2 years but under warranty I did enjoy my camera and lenses for my D40 until my basic 18-55mm lense started to have trouble. Focusing by rotating lens freely became a problem. Nikon fixed it under warranty at no cost. June 5, 2011
Value Lens The 18-55mm VR II is an easy lens to recommend. It produces crisp, vivid, images throughout its aperture range. So long as larger max aperture is not needed, nor wider/longer focal length, this lens is a superb performer for a wide range of photo projects. The VR is effective, and, when used in connection with current DSLRs and their quality high ISO capabilities, allows shooting in many low available light situations. At its modest price point, it is a tremendous value. April 15, 2011
medicre focus range I have used with my film cameras wide angle lenses, and rather seldom I used my 28mm; usefil range would be 35 mm and up, othervise there is significant destortion even if digital corections are applied.. I liked very much my 80-200mmm, and my 50mm 1:1.2 is my favorite and I took som beautiful night shots. I hope I can use these lenses with D3100 in manual mode. Why do not make a digital back for film cameras? April 14, 2011
for the money its good, but... ok, so i got this lens as a kit lens with a d60. when i got my d300s i kept it just bc it had done so well. initially it was pretty sharp for what it is, and af was on par, yet a little slow compared to others. eventually, i started to lose auto focus after about a yr and a half of use. it still tried to af, but always missed. tried in camera calibration to no relief. tried it on a d60 adn d90 body, then a d5000 from a friend and still misses focus. then the zoom ring just froze up one day, only zoom from 18-about 35. for the cost to replace i was not overly concerned about it. it is the cheapest lens ... before i replaced it though, i bought a 24-70. then decided to get rid of some equipment and this lens went with it. overall, for a walk around lens it did great and actually does deliver sharp images . but it is a plastic kit lens and eventually it will fail. i cant know it really, it is not designed to be a pro lens, but a "beginner" lens, so. for the novice, it will meet most of your needs except low light focus. if it breaks, it isnt really much to replace compared to others, so... overall, 4 stars just bc of limited life of lens. other than that, it does ok to good. February 23, 2011
good for low-end product very crisp at most settings, minimal distortion. consistent focus capability. Good for entry lens. Not durable however - early on developed a tendency for the focus-helix to jump track and jam. August 2, 2010
Works well, Too much plastic The lens came with my D40 in a kit. The lens focused quickly, and took good photos. I had a snap on lens hood, and in the process of removing the hood, the lens separated in my hand. I have always been told Nikon lenses are the best. I was disappointed to see this lens was all plastic. I owned a Nikon SLR in the past. Camera body, lens, and flash were well built. The kit is a great buy for individuals entering the world of digital slr photography. July 31, 2010
Good lens This lens has a small aperture and should therefore be used with a tripod in situations other than daylight. I use a tripod as often as possible and the photos are nice and sharp, though not quite as sharp as my little Nikon Coolpix S1 camera. The features on this lens work well and are easy to use. It does not offer a macro feature and while it focuses more closely than most other lenses, I do wish it would focus about 25% closer. In summary, it takes great photos and you cannot beat the price. July 30, 2010
Great lense for close and medium ranges. I get sharp and clear photos at close and medium ranges. The AR and A settings are great. It gives a clear photo even if you are not steady holding your camera. July 30, 2010
Great Value This lens is very sharp. I am not fond of the plastic lens mount. But Lens does great job July 30, 2010
Compact & lightweight This lens came standard with the D40 camera kit. It is compact and very lightweight. Mostly made of plastic. It takes very nice photos but don't expect great zoom shots. About three years into owing it the zoom jammed @ about the 47mm mark. Luckily we had a 5 year warranty & Nikon repaired the lens free of charge. We had to pay the shipping & ins. to the repair facility in CA. Apparently this breakdown has happened to many owners. If it breaks again I will probably get a VR zoom lens. All in all it's a pretty nice lens for the low cost. I would have given it 5 stars if it had not jammed after minimum usage. July 30, 2010
Excellent optics, not the best construction I loved my 18-55mm lens, however, after 1.5 years of use, the plastic lens mount failed, which was not covered under warranty. The optics of this lens are fantastic for the price, if only the lens mount were more sturdy. July 30, 2010
Great basic lens standard with D90 One lens that came with my D90 package. Has done well for macro photography and wide angle. July 30, 2010
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
41 Questions | 58 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
41 Questions | 58 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
3 Answers

What does it means the symbol F - -?

Apr 29, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
it means that you have removed the lens from your camera
Nov 8, 2011 by
by
Rimo
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This usually means that the aperture is not set on the Orange number on the aperture ring. DSLR's prefer the aperture to be controlled through the ca,era, not on the lens. Set the aperture on the orange number and go into Aperture Priority or Manual modes to control the aperture. This is why the newer AF-S lenses with the G next to the aperture no longer have an aperture ring because it's controlled through the camera.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Verify that the lens is properly attached. F-- Means that no lens is attached or is not a CPU lens. Turn off the camera and select Manual Mode (M), and then turn it on.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

when taking a photo with subexposure it appears Err blinking

Mar 31, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have you updated your firmware?
Apr 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
An Err message is regarding a camera malfunction. Please release the shutter. If error persists or appears frequently, you will need to send your camera for service.
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

What should I clean the lens with?

Apr 15, 2011 by
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
There is a little spot on my lens, I cant get rid of it with a micro fiber cloth. Is there somthing wrong with this lens? or is it just a spot i may be able to get off? Please help!
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Osiah
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Take it to Nikon Service.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A drop eclipse fluid and a cloth or a lens pen usually gets most things off.
Apr 16, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Barb
Colorado
Location : 
Colorado
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The A is for Aperture Priority, this mode allows you to manually select the aperture using the command dial (Search command dial on Nikon's website for details). The shutter speed will automatically be selected for you in this mode. The M mode is Manual Mode. In this mode, you manually select both the Aperture and the Shutter speed. If your just getting started with photography, I recommend using the P for Program mode. In this mode, the aperture and shutter speed is automatically selected for you but gives you the ability to tweek exposures, metering and so forth. Start there and gain a solid understanding of how the camera selects the aperture and shutter speed. Purchase a D3100 Guide book from a local or online bookstore and learn the camera from there.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/lenses/DX/AFSDX18-55_3.5-5.6G.pdf
Here's a link to the manual.
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
JohnF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

manual adjustment seems to be locked up for zoom and focus, is this a malfunction due to damage or a setting?

May 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Jules
FL
Location : 
FL
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The zoom is never locked so if your zoom capability is locked, you should send it to Nikon for inspection. The plastic tube holding the front glass element can be manually focused when you put the lens on Manual focus noted by a "M" near the switch. Once you place it on Manual, the focal ring will unlock for manual focusing.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to move the switch on the lens from A to M in order to manually focus since the lens is the one that has the built-in AF motor.
May 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

Why does the lens make a scratching sound when the lens is focussing?

Aug 11, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
While using Autofocus on the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II lens, the camera makes a scratching sound. From the description, the lens's autofocus mechanism is supposed to be ultra quiet.
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Shrey
Ann Arbor
Location : 
Ann Arbor
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Congrats ! You got Sand in ur lens
Nov 8, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You will need to send your lens for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

Under the A - M on the lens theres a VR switch. What is VR & should it be on or off?

Sep 3, 2011 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Country-girl
Lancaster
Location : 
Lancaster
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
VR is vibration control. It stabilized an image & helps eliminate user shake which might blur the picture. If you have your lens fully extended, definitely turn the VR on. If you're getting a lot of blurred pictures at a long range, it could be from user shake which this will help eliminate.
Sep 9, 2011 by
by
akrpruitt
tampa, fl

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
VR stands for Vibration reduction...good to keep on when u r in auto mode...
Sep 3, 2011 by
by
Sahil
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

i would like to know weather this lense have VR or not?

0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Ozzy
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If it's a VR lens, it will have VR listed in its name. From what you've written, no it is not a VR lens. There IS a VR version however.
Sep 9, 2011 by
by
akrpruitt
tampa, fl

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, but this version does: http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Camera-Lenses/2176/AF-S-DX-NIKKOR-18-55mm-f%252F3.5-5.6G-VR.html
Sep 9, 2011 by
by
MichaelL
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

My question has 2 parts. Will this lens work with my Nikon D90 and/or will it work with my Nikon 6006?

Sep 12, 2012 by
by
Bill
Summerfield, FL, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Bill
Summerfield, FL, USA
Location : 
Summerfield, FL, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
the d90 yes. the 6006 dont know
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes to the D90, no to the 6006 as the lens is DX format not full frame.
Sep 13, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
 
2 Answers

Should this work with the D3200?

Aug 10, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I've picked up this lens second hand for quite a good price. The bloke said it's never been used but the autofocus doesn't appear to work on my D3200 - got it set to A (focus) but pressing the shutter button does nothing - no movement, no focus, no picture taken. Just want to check if it's 100% compatible (or if I'm doing something wrong) before I try to return it.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Andy
Leeds
Location : 
Leeds
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should auto focus, it is fully compatible with theD3200.
Aug 10, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work without any issue, if its second hand then you can assume that it has been used. If possible try it on another body.
Aug 10, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers