Loading

A wide-angle lens with enhanced perspective, focus and depth-of-field control.

As the wide-angle version of Nikon’s three perspective control (tilt-shift) lenses, the PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED delivers a dramatic ultra-wide-angle view perfectly suited for architecture, interiors, cityscapes, landscapes and more. Featuring Nikon’s versatile tilt, shift and rotation capabilities, advanced lens technologies, and the superior design and construction that have made NIKKOR lenses famous, the PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED will expand any photographer’s capabilities and creativity.
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
Rear Focusing

Stunning architectural shots

Perspective control and a wide-angle view

Nikon’s high performance perspective control lenses let you quickly adjust the focal plane of the lens—independent of your camera position—to bring an entire landscape into sharp focus, to alter the natural depth-of-field of a scene, to selectively focus on certain subjects, to offset perspective anomolies in architectural shooting and more. The PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED combines that control and a versatilve wide-angle perspective.

Outstanding image quality

Nikon technology for superb performance

Like all NIKKOR lenses, the PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED produces truly superior images. Three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements ensure outstanding sharpness and color reproduction. Nano Crystal Coat (N) virtually eliminates the ghosting and flare often seen in lesser wide-angle lenses, while Aspherical lenses (AS) greatly reduce coma and other types of aberration. And since it’s a Nikon, you can expect the highest standard of lens design and durabliity for years of consistent performance.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
Rear Focusing
Rear Focusing System
A system in which only the rear lens group moves during focusing, thus eliminating changes in the physical length of the lens during focusing and enabling faster focusing. Such lenses are designated with RF on the lens barrel.
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED 4.8 5 12 12
I dream of architecture Very little distortion, vignetting and lateral color fringes. Using Lightroom and Photoshop I developed scripts to batch correct the very little distortion their is on this lens ( just about +0.5 ), color fringes and vignetting also are corrected very easily since their is none at center point ( no shift/tilt ). As for tilt and shift movements, when they are applied, I leave a comment on pictures with rise/fall and left/right shift to correct them accordingly. So what's left to say is that this lens is perfect for architecture. The drag and feel of all the adjustments (focus, aperture, rise and tilt) is just perfect. Someone did their homework. Everything is easy to move and it stays put. Controls do feel like they could be bigger, but if you consider replacements are available from Nikon then this is no problem. They did consider the fact that not everybody owns a D3 ( for clearance ). August 17, 2010
Excellent glass, sharp and vibrant. This lens delivers the high quality I expect from Nikon. Very sharp, excellent contrast and color. Negatives: the control knobs are a little difficult to access when the lens is rotated and there are some positions that are not available on my D700 due to the prism position. All in all I prefer the functionality of the old 35 PC and 28 PC that I still use, though the glass is clearly as good or better on these new PCE lenses. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens! This is an excellent lens overall. Used with NX2, it controls fringing very well. The manual isn't very helpful - if you've never used a view camera you may want to do some research on the web to help with tilt/shift adjustments. I'm enjoying the control that I missed when I gave up my view camera. My only gripes are these: *The locks are hard to tighten adequately, especially with the small knobs. (Nikon will put on larger knobs for a fee). *Landscape photographers will want the tilt/shift and the rise/fall on the same plane. Nikon charges $125 to do this. However, the modification is a simple one and can be undone easily; there is a video on the web that shows this step-by-step. July 30, 2010
Optically good but mechanically bad I do a lot of architecture and high end realty. I use the 24mm PC a lot, in all conditions. Although I love the lens for its optical quality, mechanically I have problems with it, especially working outside in the cold in Montreal often with gloves on. The shift and tilt knobs are too small. In the different temp. conditions, the shift lock sometimes jams completely. I now find its difficult to keep the shift locked, it slips sometimes while focusing. I use the tilt mainly with very small increments around zero and its difficult to control accurately. Other manufacturers have done a better job mechanically in-spite of the obviously challenging size constraints. July 30, 2010
incredible lens! It's been only a few months, but this lens had already become my favorite wide-angle for landscapes and cityscapes in tandem with my D3. The perspective control is allowing me to do things I was not able to previously, not only correcting perspective, but also being able to shoot near-far compositions with good dof at moderate apertures. The combination of low noise @ high ISO on my D3 and moderate aperture allows me to shoot high shutter speed HDR's under less than optimal conditions outdoors (windy!) and still render excellent subject detail. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because the set screws to hold the shift and tilt settings are not large or robust enough to hold the shift and tilt settings under all conditions (walking around etc.). This shouldn't be considering the cost of this lens. Other than that, this is an excellent lens. December 5, 2011
Optically Superior - Mechanically Average I waited a long time before I plunked down the 2k for this lens. I shoot a lot of architectural images and this lens has been on my wish list for quite a while. I have not been disappointed by the wonderful images that it has delivered. I don't mind it being all manual either - it makes me think about what I'm about to do. However, the little tiny thumb-screws used to unlock and tilt/shift the lens are way too small. I'm a big guy with big hands. This is just frustrating to deal with. I would think that Nikon could have come up with a better solution. October 17, 2011
Long Overdue This is a great daily workhorse for architectural assignments, and a must have lens. Terrific optics & lots of shift latitude. On a D3X with heavy tripod and pre-released mirror mode the results are stunning. That said, I prefer the old 28 & 35mm pc design, as the mechanical features of this unit slow me down. The shift lock often slips and clunks the adjustment fully to the negative end, which I'd never use anyway. The old design allowed me to rotate either direction from a vertical format for a quick combination adjustment of rise & "shift". I'd buy a Nikkor 18mm or wider pc if offered. August 2, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
15 Questions | 18 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
15 Questions | 18 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
3 Answers

Will the 24 pc-e work with the new d800?

Feb 20, 2012 by
by
Mikon
Houston, TX, USA
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Mikon
Houston, TX, USA
Location : 
Houston, TX, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens works very well on the D800 despite what you might read on the internet. The only limitations I have found is when shifting horizontally the shift knob will have to be rotated so it is pointing down as it interferes with the built in flash (not enough clearance) if you try to rotate it so it points up so you can see the degrees of shift scale. This in no way affects the lens performance, but some may find it an inconvenience if they want to see the shift scale when performing this function. There is some vignetting when the lens is shifted to the extreme either way so it is probably best to back it off slightly from the extreme shift stop when composing your shot. This is a manual focus lens of which I have found no difficulty in focusing during tilt /shift movements using live view on the D800.
Dec 13, 2013 by
by
MikeKSA
Saudi Arabia / Canada
Location : 
Saudi Arabia / Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+13points
13out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D800 and D800E can be used with a PC-E lens' shift and tilt features. There may be some vignetting or incomplete coverage when the built-in flash is used and the exposure metering needs to be carefully considered as composition can change exposure.

-8points
1out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful9
Answer: 
The lens is a standard Nikon F mount, it will definitely mount on a D800, unless Nikon has changed the type of mount their new camera bodies use and made all lenses obsolete. Whether the rectangle housing and the knobs interfere or not with the built-in flash housing of the D800, judging by the side-by-side photos of the D800 and D700 comparison, there may be slight limitations on shift movement. As for metering and focusing while tilted or shifted, most likely the D800 will not do so while tilted or shifted.
Mar 10, 2012 by
by
ALwin
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
2 Answers

Will the focal length of this lens work on a D7000?

Oct 23, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, I recently purchased this lens and it works fine on both our D3 and D7000. However, on the D7000, in certain positions, the tilt or shift knobs can be a bit tight and difficult to get to when you have them in the vertical position right under the built-in flash. It still works, just a bit tight, especially wearing gloves.
Dec 5, 2011 by
by
JoeC
Southern Cal
Location : 
Southern Cal
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not quite sure what you are asking, but yes it will work.
Oct 24, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

Can I mount the PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED on a D90?

Nov 16, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I'm thinking about buying this lens, but when I borrowed my friends I found that the rectangular housing hits on the underside of the flash when I'm trying to mount it. Is there a way to mount this lens on the D90? Thanks
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-13points
0out of 13found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful13
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

Why won't this lens shift or tilt on the D800?

Mar 10, 2012 by
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
I'm planning to buy the D800 but not if it prevents the tilt shift lenses from actually tilting and shifting. Why won't the TS lenses function as a TS lens should function if being used on a D800?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
The D800 and D800E can be used with a PC-E lens' shift and tilt features. There may be some vignetting or incomplete coverage when the built-in flash is used and the exposure metering needs to be carefully considered as composition can change exposure.
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

Will the Nikon PC-E Nikkor 24 mm F/3.5 tilt-shift Lens easily fit a D90 - I heard that thyere were problems mounting it

Apr 3, 2012 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
The D90 has an F mount that will allow you to use a wide range of Nikon lenses. Please verify first the list of compatible and incompatible lenses in the user's manual for the D90. PC-E NIKKOR series lenses can not be used with shifting or tilting.
Apr 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

PC-E Nikkor 24mm F 3.5 ED

Apr 13, 2012 by
by
Stormy
Bay Point, CA, USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Will the PC-E Nikkor 24mm lens work on a Nikon D5000 body? I have a son that wants to go into Architecial photography. He did not ask for this I just want to surprise him with it. All so is there a book on this lens?
2 years ago
by
Stormy
Bay Point, CA, USA
Location : 
Bay Point, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
This lens can not be used with shifting or tilting.
Apr 16, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

Tilt and shift on same plane with larger knobs added?

Apr 21, 2012 by
by
gtwhogger
Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
By having the Tilt and Shift located on the same plane as each other by Nikon and having them add the larger adjustment knobs applied, will there be any ristrictions of movement on the D3 body?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
gtwhogger
Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Location : 
Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Thank you for your suggestions, I will pass them to our Quality Assurance Group for review.
May 2, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I've read some feedback that it is either or parallel or right angle, and that it takes a technician to change the lens operation.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
SoCal
California, USA
Location : 
California, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-7points
0out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful7
Answer: 
It depends on the type of camera you are using. see your camera user manual. It tells what the restrictions will be when you use a certain lens.

Thanks JD
Feb 22, 2013 by
by
JD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

24mm PC-E on D600?

Jun 16, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I see the question has been asked about the D7000, but i need to know if this lens can reach the full extension of its movements AFTER it the tilt and shift have been switched parallel, anyone know?

Thank you in advance.
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Don't own this lens but a quick Internet search states the D600 like the D800 have more built in flash clearance and full lens operation is possible after rotating the lens 180 degrees. Several websites and blogs confirm this.
Jun 16, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
 
1 answer

will 24 pc-e work on d5000?

Jul 15, 2013 by
by
shaz
canada
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a d5000 and I will be doing some architectural/landscape photography. I am looking for a wide angle tilt/shift lens.
9 months ago
by
shaz
canada
Location : 
canada
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because of the protrusion of the built in flash you would have very limited tilt/shift function.
Jul 16, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers