Loading

Balanced, fixed f/2.8 wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom lens

Praised for its reliability and overall image quality, this is a long-time favorite lens of passionate professionals. With a fast fixed aperture of f/2.8 across a 24–70mm zoom range, this lens provides both fine resolution and natural representation. A Nano Crystal Coat helps effectively reduce ghost and flare effects under harsh lighting for greater image clarity. Its Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto focusing without changing the length of the lens, so you can retain subject to working distance through the entire focus range.
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Fast. Versatile. Exceptional.

f/2.8 fixed aperture 24–70mm zoom

The AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED delivers fast, wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom capabilty and is optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both Nikon FX and DX format D-SLRs. Its fast, fixed f/2.8 aperture enables exceptional low-light performance and consistent exposure across the entire zoom range. Enhanced optical formulas produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, rendering outstanding image and video integrity.

A favorite among professionals

Durable, reliable and remarkable

For those who demand reliable performance in challenging environments, the AF-S NIKKOR 24–70mm f/2.8G ED delivers. Its rugged construction includes professional-grade dust and moisture resistance. Three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and Precision Glass Mold (PGM) Aspherical lens elements control chromatic aberrations while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest aperture settings; and Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra high-speed auto focusing with pinpoint accuracy and super-quiet operation.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED 4.7 5 211 211
Great lens I really like my 24-70mm 2.8 zoom lens a lot. It's very sharp and fast enough in most situations. It may seem a bit big at first, but is so well balanced on my D3 that it seems perfect on that camera. The only reason I didn't rate it 5 stars is that I wish it had a little bit longer range, say 24-125mm. That would cover a lot of my work without having to change lenses, however it is the perfect companion to the 14-24 2.8 and 70-200 2.8 lenses. April 14, 2011
Almost perfect This is my favorite lens to take pictures of family and friends. I don't even use my 50mm f/1.4 anymore. The sharpness is excellent. Most importantly f/2.8 makes big difference for me. I just wished it had VR so I could go a couple of stops lower. I also use it for landscapes, sunsets, etc. Of all the lenses in my bag, this is the one I use the most by far. March 22, 2011
This is aa excellent lens for potraits I have been using this lens instead of my f70-200 mm 2.8 ED lens. It has less weight but just as sharp as my zoom lens. it focuses very fast which I like even in low light. I see why people love this lens and I concur. a little expensive but worth it. I would recommend this lens to anyone who can afford it. August 3, 2010
This is an excellent lens. I use it as my "normal" lens. It is very sharp and fast. The biggest drawback is the size and weight. I wish Nikon could reduce both. That is the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars. August 1, 2010
Good Normal Zoom This 24-70mm zoom is an excellent lens for general photography. I use it primarily when I'm walking around and only want to carry one or two lenses. It is generally sharp throughout it's range, however I have experienced some unexplainable overall softness in some images (which I've not been able to pin down to specific focal lengths or aperture settings) and I frequently find chromatic aberration is just a bit much for my taste (easily correctable in software though). It is also very expensive and without really good lower priced alternatives (a sharp, well built, and more reasonably priced f4 version would be nice). Still, there is really nothing better in Nikon's line-up with this range, a fast aperture, and af-s focusing. Unfortunately, I sometimes find myself wishing there was. July 30, 2010
Amazing glass with some issues in FX format I've had 2 AFS 24-70 f/2.8 lenses in my career as a pro photographer. The first one was dropped by my assistant at an on site shoot; even though physically the lens got away with the fall seemingly unbruised, the metal barrel got slightly crumpled, which jammed the AF system. I decided to replace it after something like 3 years of excellent results, since the Nikon Service here at Chile is really lame. I decided that I would rather get a new one than risk working with repaired lens that does not give me 100% confidence. This lens is my butter; the bread is my Nikon D700. I could probably survive to 90% of my shooting assignments with this lens alone. Architecture, Landscapes, portraits, sports, products... you name it, this lens will do it. Until the advent of the FX format, the 24-70 had only one Major fault, in my opinion; a fault which Nikon curiously neglected to mention in their press releases and marketing information. This fault is the fact that this lens, in difference to other pro Nikkors as the 70-200 f/2.8 AFS VR, is not an INNER ZOOM lens. It is an INNER Focus lens, ok; but zooming in or out will change the size and balance of the lens which is something I did not expect in a US $2k glass. Now that I am using it again in the real world FX format -and not in the absurd DX format- I have found that this lens has a very distinct and clear vignetting issue. Off course that shooting NEF and some fiddling will render this almost unnoticeable. I have not tested if the vignetting persists in a 35mm film camera (my honorable F100), so I do not really know if this is rather a lens issue or an issue specific to the D700 sensor. Anyway, the marketing says "Optimized for FX sensors", which is something I really don't see in the real, professional world since I do have the problem. The lens is still, aside from its defects and flaws, a great piece of glass. July 30, 2010
Almost a perfect zoom! I recently purchased the 24-70 f2.8G ED lens along with a D700 Camera. As far as the images with this lens, they have been superb at all settings. Color and sharpness leaves nothing to be desired. I have only 2 complaints; The lens is heavy and cumbersome, but this is to be expected with a lens of this quality. This problem cannot be remedied. The second complaint is the problem with the shadow that is cast while using flash, and any setting less than 35mm, even with the hood removed. Perhaps this problem can be solved, but I have yet to discover a solution. July 30, 2010
Very good but... Overall an excellent lens, sharp with great bokeh, and fast focus. A real workhorse that I use from weddings to landscapes. But the zoom action/feel is not good. This is the second copy of this lens I've had. The first one was very gritty and stiff over about half its range right out of the box, so I exchanged it for another one. The second one although a bit stiff for my taste was at least even over the whole range, and it did loosen some after a while. Now after about a year of use it's gotten really bad. Loose in some parts of its range, very tight in others, so it looks like I'll need to send it in for repairs. Yes, they were both US spec lenses. I guess that for as much money as it cost I expected better. My Nikon 70-200mm VR f/2.8 is really good, and I have other 3rd party lenses that are just fine. July 30, 2010
Best in Class standard lens This is a wonderful standard zoom for it's low depth of field capabilities to sharpness and contrast that comes right out of every image. On the wide end shooting between F/2.8 and F/3.5 there is a 1/2 vignette around the edges with the D700 but that quickly disappears around F/4.0. Slight barrel distortions at around 24mm as well however; they are quite uniform and therefore easy to correct with software. The "sweet spot" seems to be between 35mm to 70mm around F/4.0 where it delivers perfect images each time. July 30, 2010
A very good lens Lens was purchased for ambient light photography. And, it does a pretty good job. BUT, this would have been a great lens had it had V.R. Even with a monopod, I don't get as sharp a photo with this one as I do with my 18 - 200 with V.R. in a very low light situation July 30, 2010
Fast AF , but imho needs update and VRII Very Fast AF , and accurate too. Very useful lens. Period but, imho ... distortion could be less, and sharpness a little more accross FL's at f2.8 (for the new high RES bodys in the future) ... And what I would really like to see , and would buy is VRII. (or should I say VRIII for wide angle zooms ... and Video) :) July 30, 2010
Fantastic overall lens. I'm not a technical writer or a pro-photographer. But I love this lens matted to my D700. Excellent all around lens. Autofocus is fast and quite. This is a fast lens 2.8F and I'm able to use without using a flash. Which I like about. If I can design this lens. I would make it a VR. This lens is costly but if you can afford it or photography is your gig. Its' a buy. July 30, 2010
Not really sharp I got 24-70 mm 2 months ago and used on my vacation ,took picture about 6000 picture and I found out this lens focus really fast and quiet but some time not focus on subject , I compare picture with my 18-200 mm vr2 ($849.00)really hard to tell which one with 24-70 mm ($1889.95) or 18-200 mm April 6, 2014
Sharp but heavy This Nikkor lens is plenty sharp, but displays a lot of distortion, and is very heavy. I fix the distortion automatically in software. It covers the FX sensor, and I bought it to use on my D3X body. I would wish it were either lighter, or had less distortion. It is almost heavy enough to warrant a tripod flange. April 16, 2011
Nice lens when its not in getting repaired. Have had to send the lens in 3 times to get repaired. Nice other than that. Can take a while to get it fixed some times... September 22, 2010
Great sharpness and focus but a dust magnet I've used the 24-70 since it was released. For pros it is your standard 24-70 2.8 that can be your everyday lens. It is very sharp for a zoom and the focus is accurate. One major problem that I've had is the dust sealing. This lens is a dust magnet. I have sent it in once to be cleaned and a couple of months later it is already full of dust. Most dust won't affect the final images but if you are shooting on solid backgrounds or outdoors with a solid sky you may be looking at a lot of retouching. For the price of this lens the weather and dust sealing should be much better. Still a good performer for a zoom. July 31, 2010
Not as sharp as other Nikkors I have... I like the lens okay, it focuses well and the range is useful, my only disappointment with it is that it's just by far not nearly as sharp as my other Nikkor lenses. Compared to my 85 1.4, 300 2.8, 70-200VR, 17-55 2.8, 50 1.4, and even the 24-85 f2.8-4, it's the softest of the bunch. Not terrible, but not what I was expecting, based on all the others... I'd still recommend it for those looking for this focal range, but don't expect to be dazzled. July 30, 2010
80 percent satisfied ... This lens is built to last ..and is very sharp ...that is if you dont move an once !...For the price of this pro lens ...I sure wish it had V.R. ...we do not all have steady hands and the tripod is not always an option ! January 20, 2013
Not Good For Sports I've used this lens for weddings and landscapes where it performs pretty good. It's not as sharp as it should be though. I'm extremely disappointed in how badly it it performs for sports. The lens focuses quickly but "hunts" to the background and nothing is in sharp focus. I'm extremely disappointed in Nikon for not upgrading this lens! I need a high quality lens in this focal range but this is a big disappointment! Whenever possible, I use the 70-200mm f/2.8 on my Nikon D700 which is very sharp and does not "hunt" to the background. January 19, 2014
Not very sharp. So I don't know what all the hoopla is about this lens! I made the big investment but sold not too long after! It's heavy, and it's not sharp at all!! The main reason I got rid it was because the images looked as if they were taken with a point & shoot. I will stick with my 50mm 1.4 G in the mean time. Now, that is SHARP! Even the 35mm 1.8 G is shaper than this! I really wanted to love this lens. Not to mention, it's only $199.95! June 20, 2011
Could be good? Since my purchase two years ago, this lens just wasn't right. I have now sent back to Nikon Service for Focus recalabration (second service). SO far I got stuck at two diufferent shoots (a wedding and a baptism) where the pictures were slightly out of focus and immediatelly switched lenses! If this isn't resolved I will trade this lens in for an aftermarket brand. SO far, Nikon has Not stepped up to replace this faulty glass. May 17, 2011
Poor performance on my full frame D700 This lens is expensive, heavy, and does not provide the performance I was expecting when used on my D700. I am having far better performance with the Nikon 24-120mm VR lens on this camera. April 14, 2011
Great performance, BUT The lens performs perfectly. It is sharp and the low light ability is top notch. However, there is a problem with metal flecks and shavings showing up behind the rear element of the lens. This doesn't happen to everyone and it took about 6 months for the specs to show up in mine, so now it has to go in for repair. That's annoying at the least, especially for a professional grade lens. September 28, 2010
This AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED lens is not as clear as I would expect. For the price it should be sharp. It is not. Not sure if it is time to switch to Canon or not. July 30, 2010
A bit dissapointed. The lens had to go in for service just a couple months after I purchased it. Came back working fine but I now feel the telltale signs of it having to go back once again for repair. There is something amiss with the zoom as it binds up and is not at all smooth while zooming in or out. Hopefully they have fixed this. July 30, 2010
Lens not durable I purchased this lens 7 months ago, and I loved it in every aspect, except one. I my camera fell off a chair on to a carpeted floor, approx, 20 inches. and the lens broke in half. Right at the part where it connnect to the camera. August 6, 2010
Page: 4 5 6 7 8
<<prev
49 Questions | 78 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
49 Questions | 78 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Marissa
Role: Semi-professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100 camera. However, the D5100 is a DX camera, so it will crop the image that is projected by this lens. In doing so, it will make your images appear closer than when using the same lens on a Full Frame (FX) camera. The crop factor is 1.5, so the 24mm end will act like a 36mm lens on an FX camera. The 70mm end will act like a 105mm lens on an FX camera. If the range from 36mm to 105mm will do what you want it to do, then this will be a good lens for you.

However, most photographers prefer a range of 17-55mm on a DX camera when shooting people and events. Nikon makes a great 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens specifically for this purpose. I recommend you consider it as an alternative. The image quality of the 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens is essentually equal to the 24-70mm f/2.8 FX lens. I used the 17-55mm f/2.8 for several years for shooting weddings before I converted to FX with the D3 camera.
Oct 21, 2012 by
by
Russ
Richmond Hill, GA
Location : 
Richmond Hill, GA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes . it is an afs lens. it will work on your camera.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Can you comment on this? I'm concerned that there must be a reason these posts are appearing on the Internet.
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Curiousnomad
Connecticut, USA
Location : 
Connecticut, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am sending my fairly new version of this lens back because it has never auto-focused on my D800, which I assume falls under the issues of quality control. Other lenses focus just fine of the D800, so this must be an issue with the lens and not the camera body I assume. If I find anythign else out after submitting the lens for Nikon warranty repair/service I wil advise.
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
There have been reports of focusing issues with the D800 and a fix is already rumored to exist. I have never heard of a QC problem with high end Nikon glass. I own the 24-70 and it is a very fine lens. I have quite a few Nikon lenses and I have not had a problem with quality. In any case, Nikon stands behind their products, so I would not be concerned.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Dont believe all that you read on the interweb, it is a fast sharp well made lens.
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Look through the "ratings and reviews" section above...

Contact "Service and Support" in main menu above , ...
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

What is the Minimum Focus Distance of the 24-70F2.8????....

Oct 22, 2011 by
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Maybe I just can't see it, but I do not see the Minimum focus distance listed in the tech specs.
That is a very integral part of my shopping for a lens.

What is the Minimum FOCUS DISTANCE of the Nikkor AF-S 24-70 F2.8 VR????
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used the 24-70mm on my D300 at 1.4ft comfortably.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Liam
Ireland
Location : 
Ireland
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
tech specs say 1.2 ft.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The minimum focus distance is 1.2ft / 0.38m.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

Will the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens work with the D700

May 7, 2012 by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Location : 
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in fact it is one of the very best lenses with the D700. I shoot with a D3, which has the same sensor as the D700, and about 95% of my shots use this lens. It is extremely sharp and low in distortion.
May 8, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes very good choice
May 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Most definitely!
May 7, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Hello

I bought this lens few weeks ago and I went outside to take pictures in national park, when It was dusty and windy. When I zoom, the dust sometimes get inside and when is there some dirt and I zoom again then it scratch a little bit and I do not know how to get rid of the dirt that is stuck in that place. Hopefully you know what spot do I mean where the small dirt can get. My question is if It damages lens at all or It is minor issue.
Another feature that I noticed is that when I use manual focus ring that I can turn around many times I can. I thought that I cam turn only a quarter of ring. Does it somehow damages lens if i turns it more that the quarter, because when I turn more the limit, there is some resistance but not that significant.
Thank you
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
Location : 
Las Vegas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Send it to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
get it serviced - if the glass gets scratched its ruined
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

D300s with 24-70 and 17-55

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I currently have a 17-55 on my D300s. I am thinking of getting the 24-70, my question is, is there any sense in getting the 24-70, since the focal length of the 17-55 pretty much is in range with the 24-70?

And since the 24-70 is a FX lens... What is the actual focal length of this lens and a DX body such as a D300s?

Thanks
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Mark
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already have the 17-55 then I personally wouldnt bother woth the 24-70, however good it may be you will be spending money for an extra 15mm of reach. You may want to consider the 70-200 or similar to add to what you already use.
As for the focal lengths, the 24-70 will be a 24-70 on DX, the focal length doesnt change, its the angle of view that changes and if you have not used film or an FX body then I really wouldnt worry about the difference as its going to mean absolutely nothing to you, just use a lens that does what you want it to.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mark, it depends on your shooting profile and if you have other lens beyond 55. While initially the ranges seem similar their not. Because of the DX crop factor (1.522x). Actually the FX 24-70 on your DX camera would be actually 36-106. I suggest reviewing the metadata from your pictures to see what your shooting profile is (ie the focal range of the majority of your shots). Also recommend checking out Nikon's lens simulator so you can see the diffrence between the two lens. http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/simulator/

Lastly, these are both great lens with the exception that one was made for DX cameras and the other for FX cameras. I own the 24-70 and its great for everyday.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
EdelS
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

will this lens work on a nikon 4004S (vintage 1989) and if so what features would not work?

Aug 5, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Bernie
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont believe this camera is listed even under the "Archived" section on site.
I would contact "Service and Support" in main menu
Jul 6, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens is compatible with the Nikon 4004s.
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Will this work with the TC-14/17/20E II?

Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Bob G
California
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Bob G
California
Location : 
California
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our teleconverters.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

is it compatible with 5100 body

Sep 19, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Vitalik
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR (Excluding lenses for F3AF): All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes

this is list of compatible lenses and requirements...
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 20, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Does this lense work on a D5000?

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is lenses listed for your camera D5000

AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except some Shooting Modes
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work (will autofocus) because this lens has a focus motor
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
MarkoM93
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers