Loading

Balanced, fixed f/2.8 wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom lens

Praised for its reliability and overall image quality, this is a long-time favorite lens of passionate professionals. With a fast fixed aperture of f/2.8 across a 24–70mm zoom range, this lens provides both fine resolution and natural representation. A Nano Crystal Coat helps effectively reduce ghost and flare effects under harsh lighting for greater image clarity. Its Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto focusing without changing the length of the lens, so you can retain subject to working distance through the entire focus range.
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Fast. Versatile. Exceptional.

f/2.8 fixed aperture 24–70mm zoom

The AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED delivers fast, wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom capabilty and is optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both Nikon FX and DX format D-SLRs. Its fast, fixed f/2.8 aperture enables exceptional low-light performance and consistent exposure across the entire zoom range. Enhanced optical formulas produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, rendering outstanding image and video integrity.

A favorite among professionals

Durable, reliable and remarkable

For those who demand reliable performance in challenging environments, the AF-S NIKKOR 24–70mm f/2.8G ED delivers. Its rugged construction includes professional-grade dust and moisture resistance. Three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and Precision Glass Mold (PGM) Aspherical lens elements control chromatic aberrations while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest aperture settings; and Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra high-speed auto focusing with pinpoint accuracy and super-quiet operation.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED 4.7 5 212 212
Excellent Lens This is the perfect lens for so many situations that it is hard to know where to start. Incredibly fast. Sharp over the whole aperture range. A little lens distortion at 24mm. Keep it level when using it wide. It is really tough. I have had it all over the world and it continues to perform perfectly. Very fast and accurate focus. No lens creep. July 11, 2011
An exquisite Lens! This is just a supurb lens. It's fast focusing with exceptional optics. Excellent standard lens. June 26, 2011
One of the best There is huge visually noticable difference between shots made with this lens (and the 70-200 f2.8 VR) and my old stanby lenses that I about fell out of my office chair. My "good pictures" have become "great photographs". I now own both this and the 70-200. I sold my favorite lens of all time, a 24 mm prime, on a website. I'll never go back. You will get these two lenses from me when you pry them out of my cold dead fingers. One more note. If you are like me and constantly read pro blogs and photo how-to books you will see most of the pros say something along the lines of "I don't use mid range zooms, I use wide angle for landscaps and long telephoto for close ups". I bought that for a while until I started looking closely at the metadata for photos they exhibit on their websites and books. Check it out, 6 times of 10, the lens is shown to be a 24-70 zoom. I use this lens almost exclusively for landscapes and lifestyle photos. I rarely go to a wider angle unless trying to make a visual "statement". So, here's one pro who says "I USE MID RANGE ZOOMS", and the Nikon 24-70 f/2.8 is usually the one on my D3 when I pick it up. June 9, 2011
Really good lens I love this lens. I shoot a lot of digital infra red and convert it to black and white. One problem with this lens is it has a hot spot when you shoot IR with it. I found that the solution for this problem is to shoot with the lens wide open at f2.8 and this takes care of the hot spot problem. Because the lens is so dam sharp shooting at 2.8 is no problem. I get wonderfully sharp and detailed images with this lens at 2.8. I only have the hot spot problem when I shoot IR and for all other shooting with this lens it performs great. One thing to look out for is the fact that there can be a light leak from the distance scale window. To solve this I just put a piece of black tape over the window. Otherwise I love this lens. June 6, 2011
I Love My 24-70 f 2.8 on my D300s I Love this lens so much, that when my first was stolen I vowed to get another, and that is what I did. Why? This lens is superior to others. It has silky smooth focus and zoom rings, image and build quality is excellent! May 30, 2011
Perfect all-around lens I wasted a long time trying different lenses before I finally got the 24-70, I shouldn't have bothered. This lens is excellent. It takes the place of 6 of my primes and at the same apertures, matches or beats them all in sharpness, color and contrast. The focus is fast and accurate and the balance is top-rate. Along with the 70-200VRII, these two lenses take the place of 11 lenses for me and do them all proud. They are the best of the best. May 30, 2011
Incredible lens Fast, Reliable, great in all lighting situations, versatile, highly recommend this lens! May 25, 2011
Wow, what a lens! I love my new 24 - 70mm 2.8 ED lens. It opens a new view for my photography. I primarily used the 70 - 200mm. Love that lens, but my new 24 -70mm gives me additional creative opportunities. It is great for allowing me to get much closer to my subjects. I feel I'm in control of the shoot and not having to constantly back up for shots. My recommendation - BUY THIS LENS. May 14, 2011
Outstanding Lens! This is one of my favorite walk around lenses on my D700. It is very sharp and contrasty and works great in low light. I had read about all the good reviews of this lens but when purchased the lens and tried it out, I was a believer! The lens is a little on the heavy side but it feels like a real "lens" and not a piece of plastic! You want be disappointed in the performance of this lens. May 12, 2011
You can see the reason for the cost. This lens results are sharp from edge to edge. It is a little heavier than other lenses and yet that is warranted by what it does. I am still not used to the feel for the focus ring in relationship to the zoom ring. This lens makes my photography much better. May 7, 2011
Never been happier with a lens Never been happier with a lens. Images look spectacular. April 29, 2011
Great for everything This lens has been my workhorse for the past 3 years. Just a fantastic lens to have in the collection. Sharp enough to do full length shots and killer for three quarter to head shots. April 26, 2011
Awesome Lens ! The IQ is unbelievable on this lens. Their are really no words to describe the beautiful colors this lens provides. I owned a D90 for over two years, prior to my purchasing of this lens, I waited two years too long. April 23, 2011
Great everyday lense Its wide, and has enough zoom for close ups,plus its fast. Great general purpose lense. April 21, 2011
Sharp as a tack! This is a great lens for those indoor sports shooters! I'm fortunate enough to be on the floor near the basket to get some amazing action shots. You need this lens, you want this lens, you can't live without this lens! It should be in every shooter's arsenal of lenses. It's my goto lens of choice whenever I shoot sports! Word of caution: Don't let the sharp pictures cut you! April 19, 2011
Versatility Plus ! I have used this lens in many situations with amazing results. From landscapes to night shots and everything in between, I've never been dissappointed. April 17, 2011
This is my all round travel photography and landscape working lens. 24 - 50mm range It serves me 90% of the time for most wide angle situations and 80% with focal lengths between 50-70mm. The image quality is surperb, consistently sharp at all focal lengths. The constant 2.8 really sets this lens apart. This lens is well constructed , feels very solid in your hands. It looks great on my D700. My one wish would be having the same optical constant 2.8 in a 24-200mm. April 17, 2011
One of my best lense Fast, sharp and superb image quality. I love it! (How can "my review text" be too short if only 2 characters are left??) April 17, 2011
Great Lens This is a wonderful lens. Yes it's heavy, but it repaces a lot of prime lenses in your bag. I use it for landscape photography and it's as sharp or sharper than any other lense I've ever used. April 17, 2011
Wonderful daily use lens! This is a wonderful portrait lens & excellent daily walk around lens. Tack sharp, fast aperture. It goes with me everywhere. Nice combination with the 70-200 f/2.8. April 16, 2011
Excellent pictures. Fast focusing,Good glass When you read the facts about this Nikon lense, it is true. It is the tool that you need to obtain the vision that you have for your pictures. You can clearly measure the speed of focusing, details, quality of the lense and durability. The construction of the lense allows you to shoot in any enviroment. April 15, 2011
Its a great lens I love this lens and most of the time, it is on my camera. April 15, 2011
My Favorite Lens Hands down, this is the best lens I have. It has great optics with minimal distortions throughout the range. The images are always bright, and it's fast and responsive. It's on my camera more than 80% of the time. What more could I want. Well, it weighs a ton, but it's worth it. I wouldn't trade this lens for any other in the bunch. April 15, 2011
The best mid range zoom I've ever used This is the lens I use at least 50$ of the time for my weddings. No other zoom lens I've ever used comes can beat it (although the 70-200 comes close). The lens is also extremely well built. I used the 28-70 for about ten years. Two years ago I dropped it. I had it repaired, but it was never the same. I had seen many good reviews for the 24-70 so I purchased one. The reviews were dead on!. This lens is sharp, fast, and color contracts is excellent. April 15, 2011
The Must Lens I made the switch from DX to FX camera and purchased this lens. This is the "must have" lens. Super clear and crisp. It takes beautiful pictures with detail and sharpness like you have never seen. If there is a negative it is the size and weight, but for me the results are well worth these minor issues. April 15, 2011
I just want to say, it's was a perfect buy, I really enjoy it, work with it is just can make what I have in mind... April 15, 2011
A Real Work Horse of a Lens This is my go to lens. It does everything, from creamy bokeh to sharp as a tack images. April 15, 2011
100% sharp When I bought this lens I thought it was VR. But shooting with it I realized the its more more than the ones with VR. I think it's too sharp a lens. This lens with my D700 make it perfect. A brother to this lens is the 70-200mm 2.8 April 15, 2011
Fantastic Lense A Nikon rep. once told me, "you'll eventually own 2.8 Pro glass".....She was right. The 24-70 was my first and it is just a superb lense. It's been on my D700 from day one....perfect. I now have three Nikon 2.8 Pro lenses....love the quality and function. April 15, 2011
Others can Wonder I spent a lot of time reviewing info, renting different lenses to try and compare to one another the brands.Let others wonder why your pictures are always good. The rest of the internet hype is smoke and mirrors and gossip. This lens is deadly fast,accurate ,excellent color rendition and a pleasure to use. April 14, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
50 Questions | 79 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
50 Questions | 79 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Marissa
Role: Semi-professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100 camera. However, the D5100 is a DX camera, so it will crop the image that is projected by this lens. In doing so, it will make your images appear closer than when using the same lens on a Full Frame (FX) camera. The crop factor is 1.5, so the 24mm end will act like a 36mm lens on an FX camera. The 70mm end will act like a 105mm lens on an FX camera. If the range from 36mm to 105mm will do what you want it to do, then this will be a good lens for you.

However, most photographers prefer a range of 17-55mm on a DX camera when shooting people and events. Nikon makes a great 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens specifically for this purpose. I recommend you consider it as an alternative. The image quality of the 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens is essentually equal to the 24-70mm f/2.8 FX lens. I used the 17-55mm f/2.8 for several years for shooting weddings before I converted to FX with the D3 camera.
Oct 21, 2012 by
by
Russ
Richmond Hill, GA
Location : 
Richmond Hill, GA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes . it is an afs lens. it will work on your camera.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Can you comment on this? I'm concerned that there must be a reason these posts are appearing on the Internet.
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Curiousnomad
Connecticut, USA
Location : 
Connecticut, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am sending my fairly new version of this lens back because it has never auto-focused on my D800, which I assume falls under the issues of quality control. Other lenses focus just fine of the D800, so this must be an issue with the lens and not the camera body I assume. If I find anythign else out after submitting the lens for Nikon warranty repair/service I wil advise.
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
There have been reports of focusing issues with the D800 and a fix is already rumored to exist. I have never heard of a QC problem with high end Nikon glass. I own the 24-70 and it is a very fine lens. I have quite a few Nikon lenses and I have not had a problem with quality. In any case, Nikon stands behind their products, so I would not be concerned.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Dont believe all that you read on the interweb, it is a fast sharp well made lens.
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Look through the "ratings and reviews" section above...

Contact "Service and Support" in main menu above , ...
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

What is the Minimum Focus Distance of the 24-70F2.8????....

Oct 22, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Maybe I just can't see it, but I do not see the Minimum focus distance listed in the tech specs.
That is a very integral part of my shopping for a lens.

What is the Minimum FOCUS DISTANCE of the Nikkor AF-S 24-70 F2.8 VR????
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used the 24-70mm on my D300 at 1.4ft comfortably.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Liam
Ireland
Location : 
Ireland
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
tech specs say 1.2 ft.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The minimum focus distance is 1.2ft / 0.38m.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

Will the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens work with the D700

May 7, 2012 by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Location : 
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in fact it is one of the very best lenses with the D700. I shoot with a D3, which has the same sensor as the D700, and about 95% of my shots use this lens. It is extremely sharp and low in distortion.
May 8, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes very good choice
May 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Most definitely!
May 7, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Hello

I bought this lens few weeks ago and I went outside to take pictures in national park, when It was dusty and windy. When I zoom, the dust sometimes get inside and when is there some dirt and I zoom again then it scratch a little bit and I do not know how to get rid of the dirt that is stuck in that place. Hopefully you know what spot do I mean where the small dirt can get. My question is if It damages lens at all or It is minor issue.
Another feature that I noticed is that when I use manual focus ring that I can turn around many times I can. I thought that I cam turn only a quarter of ring. Does it somehow damages lens if i turns it more that the quarter, because when I turn more the limit, there is some resistance but not that significant.
Thank you
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
Location : 
Las Vegas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Send it to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
get it serviced - if the glass gets scratched its ruined
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

D300s with 24-70 and 17-55

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I currently have a 17-55 on my D300s. I am thinking of getting the 24-70, my question is, is there any sense in getting the 24-70, since the focal length of the 17-55 pretty much is in range with the 24-70?

And since the 24-70 is a FX lens... What is the actual focal length of this lens and a DX body such as a D300s?

Thanks
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Mark
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already have the 17-55 then I personally wouldnt bother woth the 24-70, however good it may be you will be spending money for an extra 15mm of reach. You may want to consider the 70-200 or similar to add to what you already use.
As for the focal lengths, the 24-70 will be a 24-70 on DX, the focal length doesnt change, its the angle of view that changes and if you have not used film or an FX body then I really wouldnt worry about the difference as its going to mean absolutely nothing to you, just use a lens that does what you want it to.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mark, it depends on your shooting profile and if you have other lens beyond 55. While initially the ranges seem similar their not. Because of the DX crop factor (1.522x). Actually the FX 24-70 on your DX camera would be actually 36-106. I suggest reviewing the metadata from your pictures to see what your shooting profile is (ie the focal range of the majority of your shots). Also recommend checking out Nikon's lens simulator so you can see the diffrence between the two lens. http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/simulator/

Lastly, these are both great lens with the exception that one was made for DX cameras and the other for FX cameras. I own the 24-70 and its great for everyday.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
EdelS
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

will this lens work on a nikon 4004S (vintage 1989) and if so what features would not work?

Aug 5, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Bernie
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont believe this camera is listed even under the "Archived" section on site.
I would contact "Service and Support" in main menu
Jul 6, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens is compatible with the Nikon 4004s.
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Will this work with the TC-14/17/20E II?

Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Bob G
California
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Bob G
California
Location : 
California
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our teleconverters.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

is it compatible with 5100 body

Sep 19, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Vitalik
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR (Excluding lenses for F3AF): All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes

this is list of compatible lenses and requirements...
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 20, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Does this lense work on a D5000?

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is lenses listed for your camera D5000

AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except some Shooting Modes
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work (will autofocus) because this lens has a focus motor
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
MarkoM93
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers