Loading

Balanced, fixed f/2.8 wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom lens

Praised for its reliability and overall image quality, this is a long-time favorite lens of passionate professionals. With a fast fixed aperture of f/2.8 across a 24–70mm zoom range, this lens provides both fine resolution and natural representation. A Nano Crystal Coat helps effectively reduce ghost and flare effects under harsh lighting for greater image clarity. Its Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto focusing without changing the length of the lens, so you can retain subject to working distance through the entire focus range.
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Fast. Versatile. Exceptional.

f/2.8 fixed aperture 24–70mm zoom

The AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED delivers fast, wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom capabilty and is optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both Nikon FX and DX format D-SLRs. Its fast, fixed f/2.8 aperture enables exceptional low-light performance and consistent exposure across the entire zoom range. Enhanced optical formulas produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, rendering outstanding image and video integrity.

A favorite among professionals

Durable, reliable and remarkable

For those who demand reliable performance in challenging environments, the AF-S NIKKOR 24–70mm f/2.8G ED delivers. Its rugged construction includes professional-grade dust and moisture resistance. Three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and Precision Glass Mold (PGM) Aspherical lens elements control chromatic aberrations while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest aperture settings; and Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra high-speed auto focusing with pinpoint accuracy and super-quiet operation.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED 4.7 5 212 212
The one to have Yes, it really is as good as all the reviews say. Very nearly the perfect lens in this range. Only very minor gripes are the size (it's a bit large) and of course the price. Still, it holds its own against just about anyone's primes, and to me, it's worth every penny. July 30, 2010
Great sharp lens even wide open Nothong but sharp contrasty images through the whole range of focal lengths and apertures on my D700. My only wish would be that it did not extend (although only slightly) on zooming. July 30, 2010
Versatile and wonderful lens I bought this lens with my D3 and it has become one of my favorite lenses mostly because it is So versatile. The zoom range is perfect for any indoor, wedding or event photography and being a 2.8 lens makes it great for low light situations. Even wide open the sharpenss ist excellent, the AF is quick and accurate. Very handy is also the small minimum focus distance allowing me to take close up shots of details. Overall the built quality is top of the line. This lens is always in my camera bag when i go on a session. July 30, 2010
Excellent! Outstanding glass. This lens is always on my camera. The sharpness across the range of this lens is just amazing. July 30, 2010
Fantastic Lens This is my favorite Nikon lens. I use it for group shots, weddngs, and landscape work. The images are sharp with excellent contrast and detail. It is well worth the price. July 30, 2010
Sharp! Sharp! Critically Sharp! I swallowed hard about 8 weeks ago and bought this lens. It is EVERYTHING it is advertised to be and then some. It is tack sharp for real photography -- corner to corner. I don't want to argue with any of the gang that shoots brick walls. Camera lenses are for taking photos. This lens is a quantum leap above the 24-120mm lens it replaces in my bag. (That one was pretty darned good on the D200/DX format, but it lost serious ground in the larger format.) While I'd like to have seen a little more range on the long end and VR as well, this lens has been on my D700 about 80 percent of the time since I unpacked it. The combination of the constant f-stop and the D700 capability at higher ISOs perhaps obviates necessity for the VR feature, but I see it on the 16-35 f4. In addition to the overall sharpness of the lens I am impressed with the way it controls flair and the way it renders colors. In summary, the Nikkor 24-70mm f2.8 makes me rethink any consideration of cutting corners on lenses. I will never purchase anything but the top of the line if I can afford to do so. If I can't, I'll save and wait. This is the perfect main lens for the full frame format. July 30, 2010
Super Sharp lens I love this lens till death, super sharp even at f/2.8, too sharp for film great using on FX cameras, so good , so fast focusing. The heavy weight of the lens is my only concern. who cares it is so good!! Worth the money July 30, 2010
This lens is the workhorse of my camera bag. This is a versatile and accurate lens. Instead of rushing straight to the subject of an assignment, I like to work my way in and after, work my way out. The 24-70mm is a fabulous lens for conditions that are constantly changing and serving you the unexpected. July 30, 2010
Highly recommended High quality well designed product. Excellent jack-all-trades lens. July 30, 2010
Great walkaround lens. I tested this lens on my D300 after purchase, expecting to shoot landscapes during the testing. I came upon a swan, and worked myself down to the bank close enough to get some shots. I was amazed at the sharpness of the lens. Beads of water stood out crisply on the swan's feathers. This lens does show some CA with objects against the sky, but I've not found a lens that doesn't, no matter the price. It doesn't show as much CA as some. I would recommend this lens to anyone. Someday when I get a FF camera, the D800, 18 megapixel one (haha), the 24-70 will be a headliner in my arsenal. July 30, 2010
Fantastic lens It's my main lens on the D700. It's almost perfect. The only problem with it is a (probably rare) "light leak" effect. I "fixed" it by applying a tape on the distance window. I don't see other drawbacks at the moment. IMO it's the best all-around lens you can find today. I enjoy every moment using it. Its IQ never disappointed me. July 30, 2010
As good as it gets This lens does it all. Outstanding in low light, sharp across the whole zoom range. This lens is intended for full-frame cameras, but I pair it with my D300, and find that I use this lens most of the time. It is obviously even more impressive on a DX body. There really are only two drawbacks with this lens: 1 - Size/weight 2 - Cost July 30, 2010
It's true what they say We've all seen the reviews from magazines and websites. I have owned this lens for 6 months and am consistantly amazed and satisfied with the performance on my D700 and D300. You will be too. July 30, 2010
Awesome lens This lens has absolutely stellar optics. Its crispness and contrast make images feel three-dimensional. I am simply stunned with the quality of the images I get from it. July 30, 2010
Great lens VR2 would have been nice to have on this lens for low light use. July 30, 2010
24-70 Excellent lens, not much more to had. Wish Nikon would come with more focal fix lens using Nano glass. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens Great lens for general use, excellent color rendering. This is my main lens for my D3s, I use for portraiture and general events. very fast and sharp in focus in any situation. Would be great if VR add on to the lens but, may not be neccessary. Hand held shot this lens with my D3s all day and got very good result in each picture, no hand shake or motion blur. I am very very happy that I made the right decision to buy this lens, I could not ask for any thing else more for this lens, it is great lens. You would not be disappointed. July 30, 2010
My Bread and Butter Lens This is my go to lens. This is a very well built lens. Image quality is outstanding-zero issues with the lens. Maybe I'm a little spastic, but I occasionally have trouble putting the lens hood on. I've used this lens in just about every weather condition you could imagine. Really nice. Well done Nikon!!! One word of caution to any hobbyists that are interested in this lens. This is a very serious, heavy duty lens. If you do not make income with imaging, you may want to consider some other options. You may find this lens very big and heavy. Try out it out for size at a local store before purchase... July 30, 2010
One of the super three for the quiver This lens has all the pros and only one con. The image quality is outstanding. For back country shooting the weight can be a negative. However, I will never again travel without this lens on by D-700. The results are just too good. July 30, 2010
Top of the line Excellent Glass sharp and durable. Perfect for portraits,weddings and events, very helpful in low light and with the D700 it is a perfect combination. July 30, 2010
Absolutely excellent lens I recently got this lens and have only been using it for a few months, but I can already tell that it is easily the best of its kind. If you need to have this mid-range focal length type of fast zoom (at least on FX or film bodies, on the D200 this lens is nice but not that amazing) nothing beats the 24-70 f2.8. I imagine the nano-coating Nikon touts really does the job - I find noticeably less flare with this lens than with the 24-120 Nikkor (as well as wider angle lenses, but that is to be expected). While this lens is a bit on the heavy side, thanks to its pro-level outstanding Nikon construction, the images it produces in difficult light are excellent. And with a Canon 500D close-up lens attached (much like a filter) this lens performs admirably as a macro lens as well. I use a post-processing software package called DxO Optics Pro to batch-fix my RAW NEF files, and while I can see large improvements in shots taken with the 24-120 or the 18-200 Nikkors, the 24-70 (as well as the 17-35MM f2.8) prove to not require much optical correction at all - the before and after versions of the image are almost identical. So again, for one who wants to have this mid-range focal length and get outstanding image quality, this lens is hard to beat. July 30, 2010
sharp lens----problem in low light with D700 body For the most part I love this lens. It is very sharp and fast. The issue is that on my D700 the built in low light illuminator hits the edge of the lens and lens hood, so in effect it doesn't work. This makes autofocus operation in low light on this particular camera a major problem. Nikon needs to fix the position of the illuminator on the next generation D700. The lens itself is great, but you will not be happy using it on the D700 in low light situations July 30, 2010
Excellent lense I use a Nikon D300 I was using a tamron 17-50mm Focal 2.8 and I decided to go for the Nikon 24-70mm focal 2.8. I did my first wedding couple weeks ago and the result was astounding. The sharpness of this lens is incredible and the colors are so real it is incredible. When I went back to the married couple to gave them the pictures on cd and a portfolio with a dozen of pictures printed on 8 X 10 inches the lady started to cry for no reason, she looked at me and said `I never tought I would see so beautiful pictures like those ones To me it is one of the best lenses I ever had since 30 years I've been in this field. I definitely recommand to anyone this beautiful state of art. July 30, 2010
An extremely good lense I recently purchased the AF-S Nikkor 24-70 f/2.8G ED lense with a new D300S. I have used it in a variety of environments and it is an incredibly sharp lens, including edge-to-edge at it widest angle. It is heavy, but the extra glass pays off in the crispness of the pictures. The photos I've made with this lens have that extra bit of sharpness that I think all photographers are always looking for, including sharp, accurate colors. While color accuracy may be more a function of the camera than the lens, a good lens certainly plays a role. The speed is great. This lens is clearly a step up from the prior Nikon lens of similar focal lengths that I had for my D70S, which was itself a very good lens. The manual fine focus ring that is functional even when the camera and lens are set to full autofocus modes takes a little getting used to--it is easy to touch it and throw an autofocus setting out of focus. This will be the lens that stays on my camera 85% of the time and will the only lens I carry when I can take only my camera and one lens. July 30, 2010
Great as a Portrait lens I use this as a portrait lens and the sharpness of this lens is absolutely great. The range also give flexibility. I shoot a lot of Indian Classical Dance portraits and this lens works out great. July 30, 2010
Built like a tank and sharp. I purchased this lens just about 6 months ago. The lens is heavy and built tough. It may seem large, but balances well with my D700/MBD-10 combination. AF is fast, smooth, quiet, and accurate. Image quality is comparable and sometimes better than many primes I've used. I highly recommend this lens to anyone needing a sharp, solid performer. This lens is a must for event photographers using the FX format. July 30, 2010
Great all purpose lens This lens lives on my D700 most of the time. Excellent sharpness from F4 up and above average bokea wide open. July 30, 2010
The Sharpest 24-70 Lens in the Industry I have used lenses in this range from other Manufacturers and this lens is the sharpest lens I have ever used! I thought that the old Nikon 28-70 f2.8 was sharp, but this lens is much sharper than any other lens I have ever used. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens, a quality product This is my "go to" lens. I carry it on my camera at all times. Tack sharp edge to edge. Thank you Nikon. July 30, 2010
Great lens Love this lens!!!! I keep this lens on one of my cameras at all times. Pictures are sharp and crisp, low aperture settings allow for great DOF and low light shooting. No complaints or regrets with this purchase. July 30, 2010
Page: 4 5 6 7 8
<<prev | next>>
50 Questions | 79 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
50 Questions | 79 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Marissa
Role: Semi-professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100 camera. However, the D5100 is a DX camera, so it will crop the image that is projected by this lens. In doing so, it will make your images appear closer than when using the same lens on a Full Frame (FX) camera. The crop factor is 1.5, so the 24mm end will act like a 36mm lens on an FX camera. The 70mm end will act like a 105mm lens on an FX camera. If the range from 36mm to 105mm will do what you want it to do, then this will be a good lens for you.

However, most photographers prefer a range of 17-55mm on a DX camera when shooting people and events. Nikon makes a great 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens specifically for this purpose. I recommend you consider it as an alternative. The image quality of the 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens is essentually equal to the 24-70mm f/2.8 FX lens. I used the 17-55mm f/2.8 for several years for shooting weddings before I converted to FX with the D3 camera.
Oct 21, 2012 by
by
Russ
Richmond Hill, GA
Location : 
Richmond Hill, GA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes . it is an afs lens. it will work on your camera.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Can you comment on this? I'm concerned that there must be a reason these posts are appearing on the Internet.
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Curiousnomad
Connecticut, USA
Location : 
Connecticut, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am sending my fairly new version of this lens back because it has never auto-focused on my D800, which I assume falls under the issues of quality control. Other lenses focus just fine of the D800, so this must be an issue with the lens and not the camera body I assume. If I find anythign else out after submitting the lens for Nikon warranty repair/service I wil advise.
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
There have been reports of focusing issues with the D800 and a fix is already rumored to exist. I have never heard of a QC problem with high end Nikon glass. I own the 24-70 and it is a very fine lens. I have quite a few Nikon lenses and I have not had a problem with quality. In any case, Nikon stands behind their products, so I would not be concerned.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Dont believe all that you read on the interweb, it is a fast sharp well made lens.
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Look through the "ratings and reviews" section above...

Contact "Service and Support" in main menu above , ...
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

What is the Minimum Focus Distance of the 24-70F2.8????....

Oct 22, 2011 by
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
Maybe I just can't see it, but I do not see the Minimum focus distance listed in the tech specs.
That is a very integral part of my shopping for a lens.

What is the Minimum FOCUS DISTANCE of the Nikkor AF-S 24-70 F2.8 VR????
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used the 24-70mm on my D300 at 1.4ft comfortably.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Liam
Ireland
Location : 
Ireland
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
tech specs say 1.2 ft.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The minimum focus distance is 1.2ft / 0.38m.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

Will the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens work with the D700

May 7, 2012 by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Location : 
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in fact it is one of the very best lenses with the D700. I shoot with a D3, which has the same sensor as the D700, and about 95% of my shots use this lens. It is extremely sharp and low in distortion.
May 8, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes very good choice
May 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Most definitely!
May 7, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Hello

I bought this lens few weeks ago and I went outside to take pictures in national park, when It was dusty and windy. When I zoom, the dust sometimes get inside and when is there some dirt and I zoom again then it scratch a little bit and I do not know how to get rid of the dirt that is stuck in that place. Hopefully you know what spot do I mean where the small dirt can get. My question is if It damages lens at all or It is minor issue.
Another feature that I noticed is that when I use manual focus ring that I can turn around many times I can. I thought that I cam turn only a quarter of ring. Does it somehow damages lens if i turns it more that the quarter, because when I turn more the limit, there is some resistance but not that significant.
Thank you
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
Location : 
Las Vegas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Send it to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
get it serviced - if the glass gets scratched its ruined
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

D300s with 24-70 and 17-55

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I currently have a 17-55 on my D300s. I am thinking of getting the 24-70, my question is, is there any sense in getting the 24-70, since the focal length of the 17-55 pretty much is in range with the 24-70?

And since the 24-70 is a FX lens... What is the actual focal length of this lens and a DX body such as a D300s?

Thanks
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Mark
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already have the 17-55 then I personally wouldnt bother woth the 24-70, however good it may be you will be spending money for an extra 15mm of reach. You may want to consider the 70-200 or similar to add to what you already use.
As for the focal lengths, the 24-70 will be a 24-70 on DX, the focal length doesnt change, its the angle of view that changes and if you have not used film or an FX body then I really wouldnt worry about the difference as its going to mean absolutely nothing to you, just use a lens that does what you want it to.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mark, it depends on your shooting profile and if you have other lens beyond 55. While initially the ranges seem similar their not. Because of the DX crop factor (1.522x). Actually the FX 24-70 on your DX camera would be actually 36-106. I suggest reviewing the metadata from your pictures to see what your shooting profile is (ie the focal range of the majority of your shots). Also recommend checking out Nikon's lens simulator so you can see the diffrence between the two lens. http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/simulator/

Lastly, these are both great lens with the exception that one was made for DX cameras and the other for FX cameras. I own the 24-70 and its great for everyday.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
EdelS
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

will this lens work on a nikon 4004S (vintage 1989) and if so what features would not work?

Aug 5, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Bernie
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont believe this camera is listed even under the "Archived" section on site.
I would contact "Service and Support" in main menu
Jul 6, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens is compatible with the Nikon 4004s.
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Will this work with the TC-14/17/20E II?

Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Bob G
California
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Bob G
California
Location : 
California
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our teleconverters.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

is it compatible with 5100 body

Sep 19, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Vitalik
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR (Excluding lenses for F3AF): All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes

this is list of compatible lenses and requirements...
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 20, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Does this lense work on a D5000?

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is lenses listed for your camera D5000

AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except some Shooting Modes
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work (will autofocus) because this lens has a focus motor
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
MarkoM93
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers