Loading

Balanced, fixed f/2.8 wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom lens

Praised for its reliability and overall image quality, this is a long-time favorite lens of passionate professionals. With a fast fixed aperture of f/2.8 across a 24–70mm zoom range, this lens provides both fine resolution and natural representation. A Nano Crystal Coat helps effectively reduce ghost and flare effects under harsh lighting for greater image clarity. Its Internal Focus (IF) provides fast and quiet auto focusing without changing the length of the lens, so you can retain subject to working distance through the entire focus range.
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Fast. Versatile. Exceptional.

f/2.8 fixed aperture 24–70mm zoom

The AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED delivers fast, wide-angle to medium telephoto zoom capabilty and is optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both Nikon FX and DX format D-SLRs. Its fast, fixed f/2.8 aperture enables exceptional low-light performance and consistent exposure across the entire zoom range. Enhanced optical formulas produce exceptional sharpness, contrast and color, rendering outstanding image and video integrity.

A favorite among professionals

Durable, reliable and remarkable

For those who demand reliable performance in challenging environments, the AF-S NIKKOR 24–70mm f/2.8G ED delivers. Its rugged construction includes professional-grade dust and moisture resistance. Three Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements and Precision Glass Mold (PGM) Aspherical lens elements control chromatic aberrations while enhancing sharpness and contrast, even at the widest aperture settings; and Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra high-speed auto focusing with pinpoint accuracy and super-quiet operation.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED 4.7 5 213 213
Others can Wonder I spent a lot of time reviewing info, renting different lenses to try and compare to one another the brands.Let others wonder why your pictures are always good. The rest of the internet hype is smoke and mirrors and gossip. This lens is deadly fast,accurate ,excellent color rendition and a pleasure to use. April 14, 2011
Lovely lens I've used this lens with my D700 and have made spectacular photos. Sharp Great focal length Superb built Ultra fast AF It's just a fantastic lens. April 14, 2011
This product is great for both FX and DX cameras Excellent lens for all applications. This is the best general lens I have ever used. April 14, 2011
Outstanding Lens I have had this lens for about a month and I cannot say enough about its quality. The build is rock solid and it is highly responsive. I have used it to take early morning shots of memorials, monuments, and the Cherry Blossoms in Washington DC on a tripod with long exposures at a variety of f-stops. The shots have always come out richly saturated and sharp across the frame. Even when used hand-held, the images have exceeded those I shot with a third party lens under similar light and atmospheric conditions. I am able to use lower ISO's, get better faster speeds and better IQ across the frame. The color are richer and the subject is clear, details maintained, and highlights preserved. I highly recommend this lens April 14, 2011
Very Sharp I was amazed at how sharp this lens is. I took the attached photo at a relatively slow shutter speed (1/15) at f2.8 using a rear flash. The photo speaks for itself. The lens is a little heavy but with this quality, the weight is no problem. April 14, 2011
fast This lens is fast and tack sharp, the auto focus is fast and quiet. Of all the lenses that I have this is the one I like the best, it has become my go to lens for carry around. April 14, 2011
Great all purpose lens This lens is on my camera 90% of the time. 24mm is just long enough to keep the vertical lines straight, so I can photograph people with it. At 70mm, it's able to fill a frame from a reasonable distance. I only carry two lenses - the 24-70 and the 70-200 2.8! April 14, 2011
Definitely the cream of the crop for shooting! I love this lens! Its so crisp and has ultra fast focusing. I use it for almost everything! April 14, 2011
Don't leave home without it The 24-70 is my workhorse lens. Its range on a full-framed camera is perfect for scenic photography - going from wide to slightly more than normal. It is big and heavy but it's also fast and sharp. If I had to carry only one lens with me, this would be it. April 14, 2011
Excellent glass, AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED The Nikkor AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8G ED lens is one of my essential lenses. The images I get with this lens on my Nikon D700 body are crisp, clear, and the colors are vibrant. It's a fast lens and the 24-70 range makes it an excellent choice for a great basic lens. My photography centers around nature, landscape, urban, architectural, and abstract photography. People are always stunned with the clarity of the images that I capture with this lens. The construction of the lens is rock-solid. It operates well in both auto-focus and manual mode. If you're looking for a great investment on an essential lens, this one should be in your bag. April 14, 2011
Great Lens This lens is tack sharp....Period. I keep it on my D300 just about all the time now. I use to use a sharpening software on the keeper prints, but now I don't have too, it is razor sharp and worth the money in my opinion. The added benefit of f/2.8 throughout the range is a + as well. April 14, 2011
Stunning Lens This lens in combination with the D3 is amazing. Very fast and accurate. April 14, 2011
Excellent Lens From Street Scenes to Weddings I’ve been a photographer for over 30 years with Nikon equipment. The majority of my lens are AIS prime lens, from 14mm to 300mm. When I moved from film to digital I wanted a fast, wide to moderated tele. Hands down it was the AF-S Nikkor 24-70mm f/2.8G ED zoom lens. It's sharp all across the zoom from 24 to 70mm. This lens stays on my D700 90% of the time. Nikkor lens are the reason I use Nikon equipment. April 14, 2011
Razor sharp results. Honestly, this lens is a must have for anybody looking for the best results. It delivers tack sharp images at 24mm all the way through 70mm. In terms of build quality, it is like a tank. I could not give higher rating for this lens. April 14, 2011
Excellent addition to my lens selection options The 24-70mm f/2.8G ED delivers the goods. I had been working around a gap in my lens selections using other nikkor lenses and am completely satisfied with the color & crispness and that this lens brings to my images. April 14, 2011
Nano Crystal Coat does sharpen images. Hand held shots taken from the valley floor of the top of the falls in Yosemite show fantastic details of tree limbs. With this heavy lens, I can operate below ISO 200 and bring back the clarity of ISO 64 film and given the right light and enhanced with FX, I can, at last, experience some of the glory of Kodachrome 25. Low light shots are also fantastic. April 14, 2011
The Pro Quality Difference This is my go-to lens, despite its massive size. Once you grow accustomed to the sharpness and color accuracy of this lens, you can no longer settle for lesser quality lenses. The fast 2.8 aperture matches well with the D700's ability to capture images at high ISOs (1600 is fully acceptable in most circumstances) to support low-light handheld shots or give me the shutter speeds needed for action shots (though a longer lens is usually required for sports). The boket is wonderful and soft, and the resulting image quality just cannot be overcome by any lens other than those found on the highest end medium- and large-format cameras. Simply the best wide-zoom in the 35mm dSLR market. April 14, 2011
A Real Workhorse Outside of my prime Nikon lenses, this lens get a lot of 'face time.' Sharp, sharp, sharp and it provides the range I need for people, travel and nature. April 14, 2011
Best Nikon Lens This lens has it all. Fast glass, incredible sharpness, and quick focus. Great walking around lens except for the weight. It is pretty heavy and when mounted on a D700, it can get really heavy. Weight aside, this is a perfect lens. Covers just the right amount of focal length for most of what I shoot. It is kind of pricey, but worth every penny. Professional photographers will love this lens! April 14, 2011
This lens is so fast and so sharp. This lens works in almost any situation. It is blazing fast and the autofocus is rock solid. The 24-70mm continues to pay for itself over and over. Buy one immediately! April 14, 2011
Sharp, consistent, versatile, useful zoom range, w I’ve been using a few of the Nikon consumer level lens for years and wasn’t really happy with the inconsistent performance and always trying to use them at their sweet spot. Because of that I would use my 50mm f/1:4D for sharpness and consisted output. Needless to say, prime lenses are always great, but sometime you need some versatility, so I decided to see what all the buzz was all about and check out a pro grade lenses - the 24-70mm f/2:8 was my first step. I can honestly say this lens is really good. It’s not the sharpest of the Nikon line-up but its is very sharp and very consistent throughout it’s zoom and f-stop range. I can now confidently use a zoom lens without worrying about a sweet spots – it’s all sweet. Yes it’s pricey and a bit heavy, but if your photos matter to you and you can only afford one really good zoom lens, this is a good recommendation. I’m very happy with it. Yes, it doesn’t have VR, but it’s not an issue for me. April 4, 2011
Best lens I ever had. And I'm talking about a long career in photography. March 17, 2011
The Heart and Soul of my Gear I have been a Nikon Pro for more years then I care to admit. My first Nikon Body was an "F2" that I bought used in 1973. Although I no longer have the "F2" I do still have the 50mm lens that was attached to it at the time. Over the years I have improved my camera body many times going through F3, F4 and F5 before I made the leap to digital. Today I shoot my two year old D3X and my D3, and I still use lenses that I picked up from my film days. However, I bought the 24-70mm f/2.8G ED last year and it has become my go to lens for most of my work. As a predominately fine art landscape photographer these days, this lens works for almost every shot I take. At 24mm I am wide enough to get a good look at the panorama I'm shooting and in most cases when I do change down to say my 20mm the difference is almost not worth the effort. At 70mm I get just enough boost from the 50mm 1:1 world that I am really happy with the results. When you add to this lens the fact that it is super fast across all focal lengths, you have an amazing product. The clarity and brightness of my shots with this lens always thrills me. Last but not least is how great this lens does in low light situations. All in all this lens should be a part of every pros lens bag. March 4, 2011
Wow!!! Awesome Mid-range lens. Great for portrait and all around lens. Fast focus and sharp. Loving it. Go get it. This lens complete my Duo lens: 10-24mm & 70-200mm. Now it's my Trio-Set. But, I also carry the small 50mm f1.4 too. March 2, 2011
excellent just got this lens. This thing it fantastic. I got it with the sb-900 and experimenting with protraits. I have to say the mixture is great. I'm shooting with a d80 right now. I hope in a year I can get the d700 or maybe the d800 if it comes out by then. I took this picture with lens using the sb-900 remote to the side. Nikon user for life. February 28, 2011
nikon 24-70 2.8 finally broke down and got a 24-70. id put it off a long time bc i had other midrange zooms. after alot of use, they all broke so i was at a dilema . so i broke down and got it. and now i am honestly regretting that i didnt get it a long time ago. in comparison, i have a 50 1.8, and a 85 1.4, and thus far, all my photos at 2.8 are better than my other at f4. Af speed is almost equal to my 85, but significantly quieter. weight, it is a little heavy, but i am use to carrying a 70-200 also, so it isnt that bad. build quality is awesome. lens feels solid. lens hood is a little tricky to get on and off, but once on, its not going anywhere. overall so far i am extremely pleased with its performance. especially after doing a side by side comparrison with my 50 and 85. if you have the money, just do it, you wont regret. February 16, 2011
Amazing Amazing lens. Great Quality, does everything I need it to do. Other then the price its simple PERFECT! January 28, 2011
A lens for a lifetime of use Big and heavy for a short/mid zoom but this lens is razor sharp. The first images I viewed were astonishing. Built solid with large control barrels. It has the typical smoothness of Nikkor controls. It may seem initally expensive but you only need to buy it once for a lifetime of shooting. January 2, 2011
Excellent Optics, Durability and feel After reading all the great reviews on this lens I finally went for it. Having also the 14~24 I now have what I consider two of the best lens Nikon makes that cover that range, Fixed or otherwise. Since I prefer the wider ranges this lens is a wonderful addition to my bag. Some say the lens is heavy but I do not find it to be and I am very happy with the lens and it performs exceptionally well. It is a jewel. - The lens is worth the price. November 10, 2010
Excellent Buy!!! I was looking for a wide-angle lens and wanted something with flexibility. After reading the reviews I decided to take the plunge. All I can say is what a great lens. Heavy, big, but the results are spectacular. I join those who say this is now their main lens for shooting. Works very well in low light situations. I would have liked to have more of a wide-angle, but this is good enough and works well for many situations. This is a safe buy in my book and a must have. November 1, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8
<<prev | next>>
50 Questions | 79 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
50 Questions | 79 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Marissa
Role: Semi-professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100 camera. However, the D5100 is a DX camera, so it will crop the image that is projected by this lens. In doing so, it will make your images appear closer than when using the same lens on a Full Frame (FX) camera. The crop factor is 1.5, so the 24mm end will act like a 36mm lens on an FX camera. The 70mm end will act like a 105mm lens on an FX camera. If the range from 36mm to 105mm will do what you want it to do, then this will be a good lens for you.

However, most photographers prefer a range of 17-55mm on a DX camera when shooting people and events. Nikon makes a great 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens specifically for this purpose. I recommend you consider it as an alternative. The image quality of the 17-55mm f/2.8 DX lens is essentually equal to the 24-70mm f/2.8 FX lens. I used the 17-55mm f/2.8 for several years for shooting weddings before I converted to FX with the D3 camera.
Oct 21, 2012 by
by
Russ
Richmond Hill, GA
Location : 
Richmond Hill, GA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
yes . it is an afs lens. it will work on your camera.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
earl
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Location : 
Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully compatible with the D5100.
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
yes
Apr 15, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Can you comment on this? I'm concerned that there must be a reason these posts are appearing on the Internet.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Curiousnomad
Connecticut, USA
Location : 
Connecticut, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am sending my fairly new version of this lens back because it has never auto-focused on my D800, which I assume falls under the issues of quality control. Other lenses focus just fine of the D800, so this must be an issue with the lens and not the camera body I assume. If I find anythign else out after submitting the lens for Nikon warranty repair/service I wil advise.
Jul 22, 2014 by
by
Example: NikonPro. For privacy reasons, do not use your full name or email address

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
There have been reports of focusing issues with the D800 and a fix is already rumored to exist. I have never heard of a QC problem with high end Nikon glass. I own the 24-70 and it is a very fine lens. I have quite a few Nikon lenses and I have not had a problem with quality. In any case, Nikon stands behind their products, so I would not be concerned.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Dont believe all that you read on the interweb, it is a fast sharp well made lens.
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
KeithD

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
Look through the "ratings and reviews" section above...

Contact "Service and Support" in main menu above , ...
Jul 4, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

Will the Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED Lens work with the D700

May 7, 2012 by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Jen
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Location : 
Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, in fact it is one of the very best lenses with the D700. I shoot with a D3, which has the same sensor as the D700, and about 95% of my shots use this lens. It is extremely sharp and low in distortion.
May 8, 2012 by
by
Arkayem
Savannah, GA, USA
Location : 
Savannah, GA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes very good choice
May 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Most definitely!
May 7, 2012 by
by
Ric
Loveland, Oh
Location : 
Loveland, Oh
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

What is the Minimum Focus Distance of the 24-70F2.8????....

Oct 22, 2011 by
+7points
8out of 9found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Maybe I just can't see it, but I do not see the Minimum focus distance listed in the tech specs.
That is a very integral part of my shopping for a lens.

What is the Minimum FOCUS DISTANCE of the Nikkor AF-S 24-70 F2.8 VR????
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have used the 24-70mm on my D300 at 1.4ft comfortably.
Jan 20, 2013 by
by
Liam
Ireland
Location : 
Ireland
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
tech specs say 1.2 ft.
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The minimum focus distance is 1.2ft / 0.38m.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Apr 21, 2011 by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Hello

I bought this lens few weeks ago and I went outside to take pictures in national park, when It was dusty and windy. When I zoom, the dust sometimes get inside and when is there some dirt and I zoom again then it scratch a little bit and I do not know how to get rid of the dirt that is stuck in that place. Hopefully you know what spot do I mean where the small dirt can get. My question is if It damages lens at all or It is minor issue.
Another feature that I noticed is that when I use manual focus ring that I can turn around many times I can. I thought that I cam turn only a quarter of ring. Does it somehow damages lens if i turns it more that the quarter, because when I turn more the limit, there is some resistance but not that significant.
Thank you
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Thomas
Las Vegas
Location : 
Las Vegas
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Send it to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
get it serviced - if the glass gets scratched its ruined
Apr 21, 2011 by
by
DarrenM
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

D300s with 24-70 and 17-55

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I currently have a 17-55 on my D300s. I am thinking of getting the 24-70, my question is, is there any sense in getting the 24-70, since the focal length of the 17-55 pretty much is in range with the 24-70?

And since the 24-70 is a FX lens... What is the actual focal length of this lens and a DX body such as a D300s?

Thanks
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Mark
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you already have the 17-55 then I personally wouldnt bother woth the 24-70, however good it may be you will be spending money for an extra 15mm of reach. You may want to consider the 70-200 or similar to add to what you already use.
As for the focal lengths, the 24-70 will be a 24-70 on DX, the focal length doesnt change, its the angle of view that changes and if you have not used film or an FX body then I really wouldnt worry about the difference as its going to mean absolutely nothing to you, just use a lens that does what you want it to.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Mark, it depends on your shooting profile and if you have other lens beyond 55. While initially the ranges seem similar their not. Because of the DX crop factor (1.522x). Actually the FX 24-70 on your DX camera would be actually 36-106. I suggest reviewing the metadata from your pictures to see what your shooting profile is (ie the focal range of the majority of your shots). Also recommend checking out Nikon's lens simulator so you can see the diffrence between the two lens. http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/lens/simulator/

Lastly, these are both great lens with the exception that one was made for DX cameras and the other for FX cameras. I own the 24-70 and its great for everyday.
Jul 15, 2011 by
by
EdelS
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

will this lens work on a nikon 4004S (vintage 1989) and if so what features would not work?

Aug 5, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Bernie
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I dont believe this camera is listed even under the "Archived" section on site.
I would contact "Service and Support" in main menu
Jul 6, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the lens is compatible with the Nikon 4004s.
Aug 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Will this work with the TC-14/17/20E II?

Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Bob G
California
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Bob G
California
Location : 
California
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
No.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens is not compatible with any of our teleconverters.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

is it compatible with 5100 body

Sep 19, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Vitalik
Age: 35-44
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR (Excluding lenses for F3AF): All Functions Supported Except 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and some Shooting Modes

this is list of compatible lenses and requirements...
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Sep 20, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Does this lense work on a D5000?

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is lenses listed for your camera D5000

AF-S Lens Required for Autofocus
Compatible Lenses AF NIKKOR for F3AF not Supported
AF-S, AF-I: All Functions Supported
AI-P NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
IX NIKKOR Lenses Cannot be Used
Non-CPU: Can be used in mode M, but Exposure Meter does not Function; Electronic Rangefinder can be used if Maximum Aperture is f/5.6 or Faster
Other AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except autofocus and 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Type G or D AF NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except Autofocus
Type D PC NIKKOR: All Functions Supported Except some Shooting Modes
Jul 5, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work (will autofocus) because this lens has a focus motor
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
MarkoM93
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers