Loading

An optical masterpiece: the ultimate ultra-wide-angle zoom.

With a fast fixed maximum aperture of f/2.8, the award-winning AF-S NIKKOR 14–24mm f/2.8G ED delivers truly superlative performance in any situation. Nikon’s exclusive lens technologies and innovations in optical design deliver outstanding sharpness, color and contrast, even in backlit conditions. Tough, reliable, simply exceptional—this is essential glass for serious photographers who demand the best photos and HD videos.
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Unrivaled performance

A lens in a class of its own

The fast, ultra-wide-angle AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 14–24mm f/2.8G ED is optimized for edge-to-edge sharpness on both FX- and DX-format Nikon D-SLR cameras. It combines the latest Nikon lens technologies, innovations in optical design and the rich heritage of NIKKOR glass to deliver truly superlative performance in any situation.

Engineered for pros

Advanced, durable and reliable

The AF-S Zoom NIKKOR 14–24mm f/2.8G ED’s rugged construction and professional-grade dust and moisture resistance withstand even the most trying conditions. Nikon’s exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and Internal Focusing (IF) technologies enable ultra high-speed autofocusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful, super-quiet operation. Nano Crystal Coat (N) minimizes ghosting and flare, and Aspherical Lens Elements (AS) virtually eliminates coma and other types of aberration—even when used at the largest apertures. The AF-S Zoom NIKKOR 14–24mm f/2.8G ED draws the highest level of performance from advanced D-SLR cameras.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths. Nano Crystal Coat solves ghost effects caused by red light and effectively reduces ghost and flare caused by light entering the lens diagonally.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED 4.9 5 112 112
This is a special lens When I see reviews that are overwhelmingly positive for any product, I try really hard not to join in the chorus of praise with just another "Great lens" review. So, here are some of the already-stated down-sides to this lens: It's heavy, it's bulky and it can't take a filter. One other thing that has been mentioned but not emphasized - light leaks in from weird angles and I think it might have something to do with the way the hood is designed. The hood is a petal shape and the corners may go too deep allowing light to come in from the four corners. You can notice some smudges in the photo below of the star-field and tree tops. These happen when the subject is dark but there are light sources "off camera". The up-sides to this lens are legion. It takes sharp sharp sharp photos in the worst lighting conditions and produces amazing colours with no hint of washout. Even at 14 mm, the distortion is minimal in most compositions. I take my best shots with this lens even though I probably only use it for 1 in 10 pictures. When I show the photos below, I'm always told that I did a great job Photoshop'ing the shots with the Milky Way. I have no way of convincing people that there's zero post processing on any of these pictures. None. Zilch. I take the Photoshop comments as a compliment to the lens. This is not a "snapshot of family vacations" lens or a selfy portrait taking lens. But if you're looking for a lens that will unleash some creativity in your compositions, this is the best that I have encountered for that. August 6, 2013
great lens!! Most aspects of this lens have been covered in other reviews. I will just say, yes, it is a great lens!! I will add this , in regards to the 'exposed' front element. It is a very exposed front element, and some are worried about scratching it. Well, I have to say, so far I have banged that glass twice, and it didn't leave a scratch on it. The most recent, I swung the camera to take a shot out of a cockpit window, and caught the map holder on the control column ... a sort of side/sliding blow off the front element of the lens ... in looking at it, I though there was a scratch ... after a cleaning with a cloth, it turned out that it took paint off the map holder, and there was no damage to the lens. So, while I'm sure one could end up scratching it, that front element is far more resilient than most would assume. August 4, 2013
Perfection That's what describes this lens! I've been waiting too long to buy this lens and the whole time I've been thinking if it is worth the money. What about the BIG front crystal? What about the weight? What about the lens' filters? etc. At last I bought it, even though I still consider myself a beginner! Yes there's a big front crystal, yes it's a heavy lens and yes there's that filter problem! What I think? It's a pro lens! If it wasn't heavier because of ALL those crystals it has inside what would it be? Its sharpness is JUST incomparable. Its colors are extremely vivid even at night. Great contrast, ULTRA-WIDE. Note that I own a D7000 and that I haven't seen more than half of its potentials yet! I can't imagine how it performs on a full frame DSLR! It's a difficult lens to learn since it's professional! It's great for landscape, for tall and big buildings since it can capture the whole thing (with perspective). I have also taken some great portrait and even close-up pictures with this lens! Just perfect! Finally, there's a slight (and when I say slight I mean very slight) distortion (of course), since it's ULTRA-wide, which I personally think is a tiny problem and you can easily correct it if it bothers you! I don't think there's a lens with a maximum angle of view of 90° (on a DX) and 114° (on a FX) with such a slight distortion. I haven't regret buying this lens and I don't think I ever will. August 1, 2013
My go-to lens Of all the gear in my bag this lens is my prime shooter. I dos wonders with distortion, is fantastic for small work environments, and at a uncommon focal length it it perfect for creative work too. As a press/sports photographer this lens allows me to focus on the story without losing the environment. When it comes to sharpness, this lens comes close to rivaling midrange prime lenses and it has very little falloff and no visible vignetting. I will also give kudos for having the strongest front element of any lens I own It to this day does not have a single scratch visible (under a magnifying glass) even though It has unfortunately found itself in some odd situations (one where it accidentaly hit a metal pole so hard that a piece of metal was stuck to the front element) This lens is not without beefs however. Unlike my 17-35mm or Dx 10.5mm this lens tens to flare more when a light source (the sun) enters my frame. Issue #2 is that this lens distorts a bit when coupled to a DX body (not that you should be using one) but when I put it on my D7000 it seems to have a bit of falloff on the edges not seen on my D700/N80 or friend's Fx bodies. Issue #3 is both a question and a complaint... who thought it was a good ides to not manufacture a lip on the lens barrel for the lenscap to hug. I have wasted hours looking for that lenscap because it will just "fall off". The lenscap over time becomes loose and will eventually become loose enough to not stay on properly (you will especially notice this if you shoot with the lens everyday. That story above wouldn't have happened if the cap had bothered to stay on. Issue #4 Is not really an issue, but being a superwide It might be helpful to mention that this lens has a distortion quirk. While you have to work to get any linear distortion (it is very good at that) the lens will "keystone" or accentuate the perspective of an object. It is more noticeable on a unorganic object and if used correctly may help your photography but it does exist June 22, 2013
By far the best wide zoom available I purchased one of these 3 years ago and found it to be exactly what is advertised. back then it was used with a D3/D2Xs with good results. Here we are and the digital film making era is in full swing and the need for a second angle that also has to be wide prompted the purchase of a second lens. Well worth the price, optical excellence and using it on the current bodies it really does shine. The store location is very tight and the 14-24 is the only option and I took this hand held at 1/60 f7.1 ISO6400 on the D600 as an example. June 14, 2013
Astonishing I have shot only Nikon gear since the early 1970's and have used most if not all of the variations of F, and now shoot with a D800 which is my dream camera...everything I always wanted in a camera is provided by the D800. Therefore the lenses are the variable. The color rendition is spot on, the autofocusing is fast even in complicated settings and the images are tack-sharp. I have read conflicting comments about its ability to produce rectilinear images. My testing indicates that if the lines in the subject are straight, and if the camera is held straight, the resulting image will be straight with no curvature of the field. I found I was able to create a curved field, and curved straight lines but I also found the curvatures to be easily repaired if they are displeasing for some reason. I love the slip off lens protector which reveals the lens and the affixed hood. This is a brilliant innovation and I hope they continue to use it in the future. The zoom ring and the manual override focus ring are easy to access and, to me, they are where they belong, not to mention their material is easy to deal with. Until I bought the 14-24, the 24-70 and the 70-200mm lenses I used only prime lenses except for a 17-35mm AF-S IF-ED. Given the work I do I'll keep my primes but, the three new zooms are amazing (read reviews of the other two as long as you're here). June 5, 2013
Superb I've been shooting with Nikon glass for 30 years and I have accumulated a number of quality lenses. This one is on the top for clarity and color......they never cease to amaze me. Frankly, it's worth every penny May 24, 2013
Superb performer! You will not be disappointed. Wow doesn't even begin to describe this lens. April 18, 2013
The best ultra wide I have ever used Since I was a young man at photographic college I have been testing and comparing lenses. Over the years I have been staggered at the low quality optics on a number of high end, particularly wide angle lenses. I recently jumped ship from Canon, back to Nikon for one main reason - the Nikon 14-24 lens! The D800 also had something to do with it, but having tried one of these lenses, I was delighted to find what I had been looking for, for years. A seriously sharp and contrasty wide angle lens at all apertures. It's a real beauty. I have owned prime Canon 14mm F2.8 which was an embarrassingly poor optic. The Canon 16-35 was horrendous at 16mm at every aperture. The Canon 24mm F1.4, I tried 3 different models because I couldn't believe this lens could be so average. Unfortunately all 3 turned out to be the same. So, back to the 14-24mm, yes we all know it is quite heavy and doesn't take standard filters. I stopped using filters when I switched over to digital (except protect). As an optic I can promise you, you will be unable to find anything on the market that comes close. Even the Canon/Nikon fit Zeiss lenses don't compare and that is comparing prime lenses with a zoom lens! It is simply sharp wide open, optimum at F8, getting a touch softer by F22. It is astonishingly sharp corner to corner, from F4 upwards at all focal lengths. The mild rectilinear distortion is easy to correct in many photo edit suites. I have a 24-70mm Nikon and when shooting at 24mm, I always go for the 14-24, as it is simply a far better lens. Buy one, you will love it. February 20, 2013
Fantastic lens in all respects! I have owned this lens for over a year now, never leaving the shop with out it. Picture quality if not short of crystal clear and sharp. Noticed several comments regarding size and weight, but when I have it in my hands they are not noticeable or a problem, because of the super crisp pictures you will receive. Worth every penny and then some. NIKON ALL THE WAY!!!! February 13, 2013
Fantastic Lens The Nikkor 14-24 has always been one of my favorite lenses. I doubt many prime lenses can produce a photo as sharp as this lenses. I recently purchased a D800. This combination can not be beat. If you mount the lens and camera on a tripod and use a cable release the photos are so perfect. I recently received my Lee filter kit for this lens. I really expect to producer some killer shots. Great job Nikon. December 26, 2012
Photographic gold... This lens is magic. Like I said in my review of the 24-70, the weight of this lens is part of the deal. Complaining about it is the same as complaining about the legroom in a [name of your favorite fast sports car here]. The 14-24 is pure photographic gold... December 13, 2012
The Perfect Lens For shooting interiors there isn't a better lens, I used the 14mm Lens and found that the 14-24mm is sharper. I love it more than my 16mm fisheye. I used this lens in low lite interiors as well as landscapes the results were awesome. If there is a down side I would say that it would be the weight. Overall I don't care about the weight as long as it will help make my images more sell able. I would highly recommend the 14-24mm lens for anyone shooting interiors, landscapes, or even wedding group shots. So far I have only owned the lens just over a month and have taken it on several photo shoots with D300s, I can't wait for D800e to arrive so I can see what this lens is really capable of. July 17, 2012
The second best lens in the Nikon lineup under $5000 There is not much to say about this lens, except that it is a technological marvel and a photographic gem. The only thing that can beat this lens is the AF-S 24mm f/1.4G, and that´s that. And the only things I do not like about the 14-24 are the price, the weight, and that you cannot use any normal filters with it. June 14, 2012
The sharpest wide angle lens by Nikon so far Pros: Razor sharp even at aperture 2.8 Minimal to 0 distortion Hardly any chromatic aberration Excellent build quality+weather proof Cons: Heavy, but almost every expensive lens is heavy Huge bulbous end, can't use filters without special adapters Review: This lens is one of the members of the trinity (other two being 24-70 and 70-200). It looks like a fish eye lens, but isn't. It is not only good for landscapes but can also be used for group portraits; at f2.8 it gives a good bokeh. It is a must have lens for all those who do lots of landscape photography, wedding shoots and time lapse. Most third party f2.8 lenses are not actually usable at 2.8 but this one definitely is. I also shoot videos using my Canon 5d Mark ii and since Canon does not have a 14-24 lens, I use this one on it with a Nikon to Canon adapter and it works pretty good. The only drawback is that it is a little difficult to use this lens with Canon for photos because it will not auto focus with it. After getting the D4 I have been using my 14-24 on it for videos. Mind you, this lens is sharper than any other 14mm prime lens I have ever used. It is the Nikon's magic glass, Nano crystal coat and ED elements that make it such a perfect lens. You CAN use it on a DX camera but not as an ultra wide lens. With a crop factor of 1.5 its focal length becomes 21-36. For DX, try the Nikon's 10-24mm wide angle lens. Overall it is a highly recommended lens. I bought this lens before buying a full frame Nikon camera because in my country it is always out of stock and they order it from abroad when you ask them to. Also, make sure that you keep it in the carrying case that comes with it because even with the cap on it has a tendency to accumulate dust. Also check out the other 2 members of the trinity. I bought them and am in love with them. June 3, 2012
double vision issues, superb contrast & saturation, excellent build quality The contrast & saturation is superb. There's a sort of "double vision" effect for out of focus things which is a little annoying. It doesn't perform as well on subjects at infinity as I would like but for what it is it's quite good. It's a zooming, wide angle retrofocus lens and considering the constraints of modern engineering this is as good as it gets. You might get a bit better sharpness performance out of a PC-E lens if you want to monkey with tilt movements for a couple minutes before taking the shot. It doesn't take filters but the contrast & saturation are so high I don't think it's as big a deal as people make it out. It's heavy so keep that in mind if you're using it on a heavy body with an on camera flash. The construction is solid and the focus & zoom rings are smooth. It's moving almost 1KG of glass so it's a given that there's a bit of resistance in the zoom ring compared to the focus ring. It's probably the smoothest "full time manual focus" ring I've ever experienced. The lens element is very exposed so I leave the lens cap on at all times and take it off to take a picture. I might relax a bit more and "let go" later but for now it makes me nervous. Dust on the front element WILL show up in the shot. This camera is unforgiving in that aspect. The chromatic aberration is manageable. Usually it doesn't need correction. There's barrel distortion on the wide end. Used on a D300. Waiting for my pre-ordered D800 to come in. The reason this lens gets 3 stars is because there's a serious "double vision" problem for out of focus elements. On the D300 small details are rendered twice if they're out of focus, about 3-4 pixels apart. Things like telephone wires in the distance, little leaves, etc. Having to stop down the lens extra to mitigate this defeats the purpose of having such a sharp lens. I really wish this issue didn't happen. For those interested I'm comparing this lens to the following that I've used: Zeiss 35mm T* 2.0 Distagon (on full frame), voigtlander 21mm color skopar F4 (on 35mm film and aps-c sony nex), Schneider Super Angulon F8 on 4x5 film February 29, 2012
Fast aperture & the ultra wide I own this lens befor five months i am so pleased that i bought this lens because the sharpness & the well constructed , I keeping it mounted on my D700 , photographing churches its so nice with glass February 27, 2012
One Tack SHARP! lens I have had this lens for just about one year now and I must say I don't use it as often as I like but I should, since this in my opinion one of the sharpest pieces of glass I have used, I usually use this in tight city and town shots at night but need to start breaking it out for day time photos, the one draw back is filter usage is next to nil on the options here, but Lee has designed an after market Cokin style holder that fits behind the built in lens hood that uses 150mm filters, so a Grad. ND filter can be used or others. I love this glass for indoor Cathedral photos in that the wide angle it offers on a FX sensor is perfect on my D3-D3x bodies and it is a beautiful to handle lens, if you only want top notch glass and don't want to purchase a arsenal of lens to cover a good range I suggest that this needs to be in your kit bag and a perfect compliment to 2 other beautiful lenses offered in the Nikon line up that one should consider is the 24-70 f/2.8 VR, and 70-200 f/2.8 VR. These three lenses will just about cover anything you will ever need. One recent photo I shot at night is with this 14-24mm f/2.8 and is included in my review was shot on my D3x full frame sensor at 16mm focal length at ISO 640 and 2 seconds, yes I did use lens correction in PS CS5 to straighten out the lens distortion but you can see some of the endless possibilities possible with this lens. January 24, 2012
Glass Glass Glass !!! Bought this lens along with the D700 for shooting in jazz / night clubs with no flash .. Between the glass and the high available ISO, it's the perfect combination .. heavy, yes .. perfect, yes !! Great for city shots as you can get crazy with this lens .. You can take it all in even when the light gets low between the tall buildings .. Love hand holding the night shots, no tripod !! A monster of a lens .. January 11, 2012
one excellent bit of glass without doubt a superb piece of glass! i have owned and used this lens now for the past 6 months and love it! i have no reason to doubt the 'true' ability of this lens and only my lack of 'daring' (and the bloody cost of the thing) is holding me back from just taking all sort of chances with it: "have to get that shot" - "at all cost" Really, this is a marvelous piece of glass, one you will never be disappointed with, just release your imagination and watch it be fulfilled! i highly recommend this lens (for what it's worth) December 31, 2011
Excelente lente !! Se esta convirtiendo en uno de mis favoritos Si bien siempre me incline por otras focales, despues de comprar el 14-24 es uno de mis elejidos !! December 17, 2011
Wicked Lens I tried other wide angle lens hoping to save a few dollars. I just recently purchased the 14-24mm and I can honestly say it’s the best of them all. My only negative is its susceptible to flaring if in direct contact with light source. Beyond that it’s sharp, colourful and controls distortion better than any other wide angle lens I’ve worked with. I love the weight and construction and I highly recommend this lens to anyone who’s picky about picture quality. This is definitely one of Nikon’s best achievements, and its one of my favourites for sure. December 11, 2011
Masterpiece. This lens is easily one of the best in my arsenal of lenses. A lot of people get all into their zoom lenses, but if you are not into zoom lenses and want easily one of the best lenses nikon has ever made. This is their Mona Lisa. The ƒ2.8 comes in handy for low light scenes. helps long exposures at night. crisp sharp details across the spectrum. Can't see that light fall off. - Using DX, it's just Awesome. on FX, It's even more so! I highly recommend this lens. The construction is superb, I use raincovers all the time, but sometimes there will be that long exposure you were dying to get and suddenly, rain! This lens can take on quite a bit. it's been through some light rain and hail at the same time. Just keep that bubble of the lens at the front clear of anything. - Only down falls are: the price (this lens is WELL worth it. the lower the price you find the better!) and that bulge of the lens in the front. Not complaining. It adds that uniqueness to the lens and for me. this is the best lens for ultra wides out there. If you want smaller sizes, you can go for the fixed D series which are still great! Seriously, try this lens, I guarantee you will fall in love with Wide style photographs. November 25, 2011
Simply Amazing Lens! This lens has been the heart and soul of all my landscape work. I'm pretty much addicted to it; it stays on my camera almost 70% of the time. It's super sharp and built to last, my photo friends that use other brands cameras salivate when they see this lens and wish they can use it :) Buy one! November 21, 2011
EXCELLENT LENS AMAZING AND REALLY SHARP LENS, QUALITY IS THIS LENS IS EXCELLENT QUALITY IS AMAZING, their great NIKON OPTICAL TECHNOLOGY IS A SUPERIOR GRADE LENS November 21, 2011
THE BEST I just bought this special lens and immediately I found it so special!Simply the best!Ever! October 22, 2011
Eye-poping clarity I know I am probably just "singing to the choir", but I wanted to add my voice to the many admirers of this amazing lens. It has stellar optics and the color rendering is just delicious. When another lens might have difficulty capturing a shot because of tricky lighting, this hunk of glass comes through with yet another amazing image. This is the ultra-wide gold standard. October 20, 2011
One of the best! I use this for shooting landscape and am always excited with the results. It is a pricey lens but you get the one of the best. September 11, 2011
I've owned this lens before but sold it due to the fact I wasn't using it much nor did I completely understand this lens. After re-owning this lens for a week, I've gained a whole new respect for the lens and I don't think there is another lens that provides the color and contrast of this lens! Highly recommend if you are on FX and looking for an ultra-wide angle lens. I can't think of a better lens near it's range. Oh and if it matters, I own the trinity. August 1, 2011
Best of the best This lens is so close to perfect that it could be the best zoom lens ever made by Nikon. It is also suitable for both FX and DX formats. Simply outstanding! July 4, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
16 Questions | 20 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
16 Questions | 20 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
3 Answers

Understand this lens cannot be fitted with filters which seems extremely odd to me, or can it?

Jun 23, 2011 by
by
John
Alton, IL
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
If nothing else to protect the lens glass from the elements while shooting or an accident, can Nikon recommend a filter manufacturer that has or can custom make filters for this lens. I'd like to also know the thinking behind the engineering of this lens to not allow the use of filters for it. Appreciate it before I consider buying this lens with this liability or risk factor. Thanks.

John
3 years, 1 month ago
by
John
Alton, IL
Location : 
Alton, IL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I bought mine with extra insurance protection that, for a reasonable price, covers accidental damage up to and even including full replacement. That said, you do want to be careful when carrying your camera around with this lens attached.
May 29, 2014 by
by
LarLac
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Location : 
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-5points
1out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful6
Answer: 
there are some third-party solutions that make use of the ridges of the sunshade petals. however, it's quite common for fish-eye category lenses not to have a filter mount.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

-8points
3out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful11
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information regarding filters:
Answer Title: What filter should I use on my lens to protect it?
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

How to clean the glass?

May 2, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
When I clean the glass on the Nikon 14-24 2.8 with lens cleaner, lens tissue, and wipe off with a micro fiber cloth I am getting swirl marks. How do I get rid of the swirl marks without over cleaning and damaging the lens?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Use a piece of lint free lens cleaning tissue and a small amount of Lens Cleaning solution. Do not use anything containing abrasives or solvents, only use Lens Cleaning Solution.
May 2, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+7points
8out of 9found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful8unhelpful1
Answer: 
Use a lens pen, much better that bits of cloth and fluid.
May 2, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Will this lens crop the frame on the D600? Or should I prefer the 17-35 mm?

Oct 9, 2012 by
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens is full frame (FX) as is the D600. There is no crop unless you choose to set the camera to that mode (and why you would do that, I can't imagine). It is the DX lenses that will shoot only in crop on a full frame sensor like the D600). I think this lens is amazing and prefer it to the 17-35mm.
Oct 31, 2012 by
by
Nikonfan
Colorado, USA
Location : 
Colorado, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Why would you want to shoot DX crop with a wide lens, in DX crop the D600 only shoots at 10.5 megapixels. If you must then go with the 17-35 DX
Oct 9, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
2 Answers

Why is no Rear Lens Cap Supplied with the AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED?

Feb 12, 2014 by
by
TAP
Laurel MD USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
The Nikon USA Accessories page for the AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED does not indicate that a rear lens cap is supplied with this lens. Please explain why, or correct the page to state that a Rear Lens Cap in Supplied.
6 months ago
by
TAP
Laurel MD USA
Location : 
Laurel MD USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Lens comes with the LF-1 Rear Lens cap as well as a Slip-on Front Lens Cap and the CL-M3 Semi-Soft Case.

Thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Feb 17, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Rear lens cap is supplied, just an oversight on Nikons part.
Feb 13, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
1 answer

Why isn't the hyperfocal distance mark engraved on this lens?

Mar 19, 2011 by
by
Ansel
Malaysia
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I would like to experiment with hyperfocal. Older Nikon lenses have the hyperfocal distance marks engraved but the 14-24 has none. Is there any tutorial available or perhaps Nikon could write a program that we could use to calculate the hyperfocal distances.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Ansel
Malaysia
Location : 
Malaysia
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For more information, please see link below:

Answer Title: How can I calculate hyperfocal distance?
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
1 answer

Is this a parafocal Lens?

Mar 27, 2012 by
by
Corbybhoy
Australia
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Is the 14-24mm f/2.8G ED a parafocal lens when focusing manually?
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Corbybhoy
Australia
Location : 
Australia
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I believe you mean parfocal, a lens that stays in focus when magnification/focal length is changed.
1) I've never tested the 14-24mm myself.
2) Nikon doesn't say anything about it.
3) But several third parties over the Internet say that "yes".
Apr 12, 2012 by
by
PauloFeitosa
Curitiba - Paraná, Brazil
Location : 
Curitiba - Paraná, Brazil
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
1 answer

What's the best lens for shooting video indoors on a D7000

Jan 3, 2013 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Will be doing a shoot inside a big hall in a few weeks and I have been having issues either picking the right lens or with my camera's settings when shooting video indoors. Some shots are exposed fine, some are too dark and then some are over exposed and I need to find a happen medium. I chose Nikon 14-24mm below but I wanted to know what you thought was the best lens for what I need to shoot.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Chuck
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Any Nikon lens with a maximum aperture or F-number of f/2.8 or lower would perform well indoors or in low lighting conditions. The 14-24mm lens is an ultra wide angle lens, so you will need to get as close as you can to your subjects. The AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II is a very good choice if you need to get close shots without moving closer and it's excellent for indoor shots. Prime lenses are also very good.

The ariticle below is about shooting indoor sports but it should give you an idea of how the lenses perform indoor.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...

Current line of Nikon Lenses.
http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Pr...
Jan 4, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
1 answer

Is it safe to use the Eclipse Optical Cleaning Solution to clean the 14-24 ?

Jan 4, 2013 by
by
François
Paris, France
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
In addition to a microfiber cloth, is it possible to use as Lens Cleaning Solution the Eclipse E2 to clean the Nikkor 14-24 without any damages on the Nanocrystal coating or the lens itself ?

Thanks in advance for your answer,

Regards
1 year, 7 months ago
by
François
Paris, France
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please check the link below to find out how to clean your lens.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jan 4, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
1 answer

Compatible

May 23, 2013 by
by
Alberto
Naperville, IL, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Is this lense compatible with nikon d3200?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Alberto
Naperville, IL, USA
Location : 
Naperville, IL, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED Lens is compatible with the D3200. For more information on choosing lenses for the D3200 please see this article on NikonUSA.com:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 25, 2013 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
 
1 answer

What filter (s) does Nikon suggest for 14-24 mm? I am particularly interest in clear class for protection.

May 29, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Athens, GA, USA
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Anonymous
Athens, GA, USA
Location : 
Athens, GA, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
You cannot put a filter on the lens. You will have to get a third party filter kit but they are not for protection.
May 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers