Loading

Versatile long-reach macro lens with VR image stabilization.

When greater working distance is needed for close-up and macro shooting, the AF-S Micro NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8 delivers 105mm of reach, exceptional image quality, a fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and 1:1 reproduction ratio. Featuring advanced Nikon lens technologies like Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization, it’s optimized for close-up and macro photography yet versatile enough for all photographic situations—even handheld shooting!
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
M/A
IF Lens

Stunning sharpness

Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization

The AF-S Micro AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED’s long reach and built-in Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization bring new possiblities of handheld macro shooting. The lens delivers crisp yet natural images in any genre of photography. The longer focal length offers ample working distance when shooting close-ups of flowers, insects and other small wildlife. It’s medium-telephoto angle-of-view even creates beautiful portraits. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Advanced optical design

Outstanding close-up performance

The AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED’s remarkable performance is the result of Micro NIKKOR’s rich legacy in the field of close-up photoraphy combined with innovative Nikon lens technologies. From its superior VR image stabilization system to its ultra-fast, ultra-quiet Silent Wave Motor (SWM), the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is an advanced lens the empowers the full potential of advanced D-SLRs.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED 4.9 5 109 109
Superb Lens! I was skeptical of this lense at first because of the price, as I am new to photography as a hobby. It is definitely worth it. I am delighted to have purchased it! You can take nice macro shots from a reasonable distance. It also is good for portrait shots. It works works well with my D5200. April 19, 2014
Great lens for macro. After having read reviews for this lens all over i wanted a lens which would be suitable for macro and portrait photography. Ive never done macro work before and was keen on getting this lens as it had some of the best reviews all around. Just got it in my hand yesterday and in spite of knowing this lens was heavy feeling it in my hands made me realize the actual weight it carried. This lens is heavy!! I use a Nikon D600 and after attaching the lens to the body it felt pretty ok. I took a couple of trial shots on general setting, manual, shutter speed around 250 and aperture about 3.3, i cant bel;ieve how easy it was to get great pictures even for a novice like me. The perspective that macro offers was new to me and just after a couple of clicks the pictures were pretty unbeleiavable. I soon realized that at macro level the aperture def needs to be played around with to get the crisp shots. The bokeh is out of this world. on smaller subjects the focus hunting was pretty noticable and frustrating, and i quickly set it on manual and noticed it to be much easier to focus than autofocus. I havent had chance to try portraits using this lens. I would highly recommend this lens as the quality is awesome. I am attaching a few first sample shots from this lens and remember i wasnt even trying to get a professional quality. September 6, 2013
Great macro lens! very sensitive Bought this lens with the R1C1 commander kit and the pair is perfect together. The speedlight flash kit goes together very easily and works real nice. Paid the extra for the flash setup and it made life a LOT easier. Also, setup and breakdown is simple and the macro lens and flash kit travels easily in any camera bag. February 12, 2013
Great sharp macro lens This is my favorite lens for both fx and dx bodies. I have made more good photographs with this lens then all my other lens. Though it is a bit heavy it is worth it for the images it produces. January 28, 2013
Unbelievable , amazing lense for close up dental photos I use this lens for my dental practice photos and I got a great photos with this lense and my D7000 nikon camera. December 18, 2012
Sharpness of the lens This Lens is really amazing, the sharpness of the lens is really like a razor, i love to use it. And i also use this lens to shot Landscape photo too. Is a really recommended lens for macro, portraiture, and etc purpose. November 13, 2012
Stunningly sharp lens I've had this lens for nearly 5 months and until recently had been using it with my Nikon D7000 and now with my new Nikon D600. This lens is superb on both the DX and FX format cameras. I use it primarily for shooting insects of various types but have occasioned to take a portrait or two and the sharpness of this lens is nothing short of breathtaking. With portraits I've had to soften the images or I get a lot of push-back on seeing too many blemishes or wrinkles from the subjects in the photos. When I first got it I struggled a bit with auto-focus "hunting" but have gradually adapted to it to where it is no longer an issue. I can't be more specific because I didn't do anything special other than more or less learning how the lens likes to be operated. Also in that regard I've read many a report that the vibration reduction and even the auto-focus is virtually useless when doing 1:1 macros. I have not found this to be the case. I use both to great advantage and rarely have had to manually focus. Overall this is one truly outstanding lens worth every penny I paid for it. Highly recommended! November 7, 2012
Versatility and superb image quality I recently bought the Nikkor Micro 105 VR lens to match up with my new Nikon D600. What a fantastic combination! The VR works very well and I have been able to get some good macro shots hand held...I'm looking forward to some extensive tripod work with this lens. Image quality with the Micro 105 VR is superb...tack sharp....and with the dynamic range of the D600 this lens really shines with outstanding colours and contrast...right out of the camera. Auto focus is very fast, although the D600 does "hunt' a bit with this lens depending on the subject being photographed (some of that could have been me working with a new camera). The bokeh is very smooth and buttery which gives the Micro 105 VR even more versatility as a general purpose lens with perhaps even a bit of portrait work thrown in. The shots below were taken hand held....the hole in the leaf is a 100% crop from a tiny segment of the overall photo. I shot the spider in its web with my D600 and D7000 about 1 minute apart. You can see the differences between how the the DX sensor D7000 and the FX sensor D600 work with this lens. The superior sensor in the D600 with its outstanding dynamic range was able to bring out so much more detail in the spider than could my D7000.....the spider looking dark and flat by comparison. The images were taken with identical camera settings, exposures etc. The D600 really enables the Micro 105 VR to excel. All images are jpegs straight out of the cameras with no adjustments what-so-ever. I also have a Nikkor Micro 85 VR lens which is a very good DX lens but it simply cannot compete with the outstanding image quality of the Micro 105 VR. I have no hesitation recommending the Micro 105 VR...it is superb. September 30, 2012
Perfect - Multipurpose Lens Awesome... has left me speechless on several occasions... I would recommend this lens to serious hobbyists and others above that level already have this beauty... Macro world gives you immense opportunities and kind of "unlocks" a different world altogether. Indoor Portraits in low light conditions are pretty sharp... I have actually not used my other lenses for the last 4+ weeks since this has been around. Portraits are primarily shot in the 85-125mm range, this lens sits smack in the sweet spot of that range. Use your feet to zoom in and zoom out if needed. I have a D5000, and have not gone above 640 ISO. Have got crisp handheld shots ~1/25 with f16+ for macro (means very low light conditions). Macro mode will need some practice to get used to - but that is the way macro oughta be! for Portraits... I've not gone below f9 and not higher than 200 ISO with exceedingly fast shutter speeds. Highly Recommended. A Nikkor .... will always outlast. September 9, 2012
Great 'Magic hour' portrait lens I use this lens very little for macro work. I own the 80-200 f2.8 zoom lens and find that it's too large to take to weddings. There has been a rash of people stealing gear at weddings so I decided to start wearing my lenses on a belt This lens is my go-to lens for portraits. After sunset when the light is still out for a few minutes this lens really shines. Just turn on the VR. I also use it inside of churches handheld with the VR on. I have also found that it focuses quickly in low light and it's amazing to use during the first dance. i cannot tell you how sharp this lens is, it's breathtaking. But, yes, to photograph the rings I use it for that as well. The macro excels at that. If i had to go a year with only one lens, it would be this one. June 27, 2012
Super sharp shots This is my first Macro lens. I am using it on a D7000. Wow. I cannot beleive how clear the images are. It is heavy so I do use a tripod on my Macro shots. Do turn off the VR when using the tripod. I did not think it would matter but I experimented with it on and off on the same shot and it will be more in focus and respond to focus faster when switched off and using a tripod. To really see the fine detail this lens is capable of, crop some shots and reallly zoom in. Outstanding. So to sum it up, super clear, very fast focus, very sharp focus are all the pros. The only cons are it will not go to 2.8 when zoomed all the way in and it is a bit heavy but that is due to the super build quality. June 26, 2012
An Introvert's Lens I am an introvert. Photography is my hobby. I have found the perfect lens for the introverted photographer in Nikon’s AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens. Let me explain. I find the medium telephoto fixed focal length of 105mm to be just right for taking candid shots of people, especially when used for street photography. I can keep my distance from my subjects to avoid either being too obtrusive or invading anyone’s personal space. Yet, the macro capability of this lens will allow me to get in much closer should the subject prove amiable and amenable to that. We introverts are, on the whole, friendly people. It’s just that interaction with people takes its toll on us, and there is a point at which we need to call a “time out,” disengage, get away, and be by ourselves to reenergize. At such points it is a pleasure be able to walk around in solitude and explore the world that the “micro” feature of this lens presents. With this one lens I can photograph the world from both afar and up close, literally, from infinity to 1:1 magnification. This is a wondrously wonderful instrument. Well done, Nikon optical designers, engineers, and technicians. And thank you. June 8, 2012
amazing in every way, shape and form I've owned this year for almost 5 years now, and It's quality shines!! I need to get a nicer tele-converter than the Kenko tubes, this lens is so heavy that it creates visible gaps between the rings ;-/ .. it still works but just a little sketchy... I suggest going with nikon teleconverter if you plan on expanding your reach June 3, 2012
Macro Dream! This lens is fantastic. The sharpness is incredible even with a d90. I use it to take pictures of flowers and insects and I could not be happier. I use it in the studio and outside. In truth I don't often use the VR but it is nice to have when you are taking action shots, or portraits in a low light setting. If you want something that is more versatile than consider the 24-70mm Nikkor Zoom lens. That doesn't have VR and doesn't cover the 105 range but can cover the edge of the macro range quite nicely. If you want to take your Macro to the next level than this is undoubtedly the lens for you. It works really well on my D90. I can't wait to try it on a full FX D800, which is where this baby will really shine! May 24, 2012
Macro 105mm Superb performance and extraordinary sharp images. March 4, 2012
exellent macro lens! i use this lens for macro shot and I got amazing results. things I love about this lens its super sharp, beautiful color rendition. some say the AF on this lens is slow for macro work, but not a problem for me because i use MF most of the time when when shooting macro. i love this lens. February 29, 2012
The hand held best This Lens does not disappoint, I have had it for over one year now, and all of my shots with it are stunning. It is by far the sharpest lens in my bag. and on a DX it really takes advantage of the magnification factor. I have used both a TC-20EII and a TC-17EII converter on this lens. It will fully auto-focus even in poor lighting. The shots with the teleconverter are sharp and very acceptable. however without the converter, it is like a razor. I still had to set the fine tune to -8 on my D7000, (back focusing issue). but this lens is by far one of my all around favorites. The VR is what really makes sets it apart from all the other micro lineup, not even the 85mm F3.5 Vr micro can really do what this one can. only the 200mm F4 will surpass this lens in sharpness if you have it properly stabilized, but this lens is made for on the go macro work. I really liked using this lens with the SB-400 flash, keep the weight down and still get excellent light fill. Highly recommended for all users, DX and FX. and If I had to have one lens, and sell the rest off, this would be my keeper. the quality is absolutely top notch. November 13, 2011
A must-have lens for your camera bag In the short time I have had this lens, it's hardly ever detached from my D90 camera. I soon discovered that being mounted on a tripod is vital to avoid camera shake. With such a shallow depth of field at low apertures, it takes practise to get focusing right. I now use a remote and what a difference it has made. This is one of the best lenses I have ever used, and it's so well built, can't fault it at all, just wish the insects would remain still for longer and the wind wouldn't blow so much! August 1, 2011
Very good quality lens, high precision autofocus good for portraits with focusing range reduction, for macros I usually use manual focusing! July 25, 2011
This one of my favorite lenses. I love the versatility and quality of this lens. It produces images that are perfectly sharp with a beautiful depth of field. The depth of field is very thin in close-up work, so I had to learn where to focus and how to choose the aperture to produce the effect I wanted. Portrait and still life shooting has been great fun, as well. The 105mm telephoto design allows enough distance from the subject to produce a depth of field large enough to capture a sharp image of the subject in a soft environment. This contrast in focus draws the viewer's attention right to that part of the image you wish to emphasize. The quality of construction is excellent. I always make room in my bag or "fanny pack" for this workhorse. July 10, 2011
Superb Lens This is one of Nikons best. I have the 70-200f2.8, The 200-400 f4 & the 105 f2.8 Micro Nikkor. These are the sharpest & best made lenses I have ever owned. Being near 75 years old, that is saying something. I have owned a lot of lenses. Expensive & Heavy, yes but they contain a lot of Very good glass in a very sturdy container. June 25, 2011
Overall this is a great lens. This is a great lens to start with. The only thing I would like changed on it is when in manual focus it needs a fine and finer adjustment for focus. Instead of just one ring to focus with put two and let the second be a finer adjustment to the focusing. I have just started using the camera and I love it. Much better and easier to control than the Canon I had. June 20, 2011
Best macro ever! I bought this lens after trying older Nikon and off-brand models and I have to say I am delighted with it. Razor sharp. Colors and contrast are superb. The fact that it doesn't extend while focusing, its focal length and rugged construction make it a great tool for outdoor macro photography. I also use it in the studio for commercial shots. I am very pleased with the results. June 4, 2011
My close ups are way better now !! Pros: It works really nice.. a tripod is really usefull doing this type of photography...even without it i still get some good results. Cons: Heavy..on a d300s with mbd10 grip but i don't mind it much the results make up for the weight. Price..i guess you get what you paid for...i've waited three years to get this lens. Other thoughts: I wish Nikon would let their customers know that the warranty form filled for their purchases was received. May 21, 2011
Excellent Lens I bought this lens more than a year ago with the expectation to take macro shots of insects, flowers and other small natural objects. The results have been great with the 2.8 glass elements. Recently I've started using it as a portrait lens and now its use has grown two fold. As a portrait lens, the results are spectacular. Each week I place a new image of mine as my desktop wallpaper, and each week I have several colleagues dropping by to say "Wow! nice photo!" The depth of field in portrait shots is great. May 7, 2011
Sharpest Lense in My Bag I have taken close-ups, portraits, and landscape shots with this lens and it has performed well, especially when sharpness is critical. I would recommend this lens for anyone needing professionally sharp images. May 2, 2011
ideal for medical /dental applications I have been using it for dental photography . I find it to be one lense for intra oral as well as extra oral shots. I conduct courses country wide on medical photography and presently writing a book on it May 1, 2011
This is a great lens! This lens was recommended as a good close-up lens and a good lens for nature. I have found it is all of that and more. Clear and sharp whether shooting nature scenery, birds in flight, or flower petals. Excellent in low light as well! April 23, 2011
Everything I'd Hoped For! This lens is just incredible.. Very sharp with wonderful bokeh. Macro shots are stunning and makes shooting nature exhilarating! This lens is on my camera more than any of my other lenses. The VR isn't as helpful on macro shots but is otherwise awesome and AF can hunt quite a bit sometimes in low light macro situations. All in all this a superb piece of glass and I would buy it again if I had to! April 18, 2011
great for wildflowers I bought this lens mainly for photographing wildflowers. It has been great. April 14, 2011
Page:2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
57 Questions | 81 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
57 Questions | 81 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
4 Answers

does it work with the nikon D3100?

Jun 12, 2011 by
+11points
11out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
4 Answers

Answers

+15points
15out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm 2.8 lens would work great on the D3100.
I use this lens on my FX D700 and my DX D70s sensor cameras.
Although this lens was designed to work optimally with a FX sensor it still works fabulous with Nikon's DX sensor cameras such as your D3100.
-- If you are getting into the rewarding aspect of Micro photography this is a great lens to start with. Happy Shooting

To fully optimize your shooting experience, consider a R1C1 Wireless Close-Up Speedlight System.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
dmbNIK
North Virgina
Location : 
North Virgina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
ignore joe, keith has the right stuff. all AF-S lenses work with all modern D-bodies.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will auto focus on the D3100 as it is the AF-S version.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-17points
0out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful17
Answer: 
Yes but you would have to focus manually, it does not have a built in lens motor.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

Where this lens was made, I wondered Nikon ever made this lens in China and sold its in US maket with US warranty (5 years)

Oct 2, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Nikon lens with SKU # NI10528GAF and product # 2160 , is this item made in Japan or China , how can I know which one is for US market. Any advise from Customer services or technical support is very helpful for Nikon user. Thank's
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Peter, N
San Diego
Location : 
San Diego
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Early models of the lens were made in Japan, current ones in China. But as others have basically said, don't concern with origin of the build, it really doesn't matter. Build quality is the same and would expect quality control to be the same across regions. Most 'USA' warrantied lenses have 'US' preceding the serial number, but not all do. If the box has the 5-yr tag on it and the warranty paperwork has the 1-yr plus 4yr US warranty info and all serial numbers match up and even if the lens doesn't have the serial number preceded with US imprinted on the lens, it is a US lens, not grey-market import and will be serviceable by Nikon. Nikon prefers you also buy through an authorized retailer. As well, typically there is a serial number set that corresponds to the US or international market. But then again, that's not always dependable if you get a US lens without US imprinted. For these lenses that are US but lack the US imprint in the serial number, I suspect based on demand and available stock, Nikon moves inventory first intended for non-US markets to the US market by adding all the necessary warranty info to cover the USA program and that's why some lens end up fully warrantied by NikonUSA without US imprinted. So basically, if you receive all the necessary paperwork, you're good. Would be interested to see Nikon responds to this post with agreement or correction.
May 10, 2014 by
by
~Cliff
Columbus, OH, USA

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
My lens 105mm f2.8 Micro Nikkor was made in China & sold in the US. I would have never suspected until I looked. The build is superb,the Glass is flawless the pictures are tack sharp with beautiful bokah. I was dissapointed to learn that the f stop changes & is only f2.8 @ infinity.At 1-1 Macro it is f4. Shooting @ 1:1 i always stop down to f8-f22 anyway so it is a moot point but feel Nikon should advertise it as a variable apurture lens. That said, I would buy it again. Buster
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Arden E. Olson
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operate to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can you suggest a hood to use 77mm filters on this lens

Jun 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
use a step-up filter converter. they are available at any good camera shops. if you want a hood as well: buy a step-up converter, screw in your filter, then use a 77mm screw-in hood.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
The filter size for this lens is 62mm.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

AF Nikkor 105mm f/2.8

Jul 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
can Af- Nikkor 105 mm f/2.8 used as a telephoto lens?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
SunilS
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! It is great for telephoto use in situations not requiring a large depth of field. It produces very sharp portraits. It is excellent for street photography to enable the isolation of the subject from the surrounding environment without having to be too close. This provides the opportunity to get great candid shots even in low lighting situations without the use of a flash. I love it!
Jul 10, 2011 by
by
AlabamaTim
Montgomery, AL
Location : 
Montgomery, AL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is a medium telephoto Micro lens, ideal for extreme close-up and portrait work with greater working distances and AF from infinity.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

1 answerDoes it work with the Nikon D60

Aug 21, 2011 by
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years ago
by
led
malaysia
Location : 
malaysia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Lenses marked AFS have a built in motor and will work on nearly all Nikon DSLR's
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
HalE

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Will all functions on this lense work on my d300 (not d300s)

Sep 6, 2011 by
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Buster
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, perfect. :)
Sep 6, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can I know when the lens was made using the serial number on it?

Sep 8, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
A copy with a serial number starting with 255.... When was it made?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
mgg1975
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I’m not sure if this tells you or not...

http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-Explore/Photography-Techniques/gg1e57vo/1/How-to-No-Kidding-Read-Your-Lens-Barrel.html

If not I would contact "Service and Support" above in main menu bar...
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Why does my new 105 VR Micro only go to f 4.5 at 1:1 focual distance?

Sep 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Jim
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know why but all modern Macro lens will change f/stop when you get close.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

-6points
2out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful8
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

What distance to achieve 1:1 macro ratio

Sep 30, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
4out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
At what min and max distance is needed for macro shots. Hoping to shoot bees and wasp, but I do not want to be that close for obvious reasons.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Dwayne
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
To shoot 1:1 the sensor plane is about 1 Ft. from the subject. I have shot many Wasps,Hornets & Bees & have never been stung. I have found,If you don't swat them they won't swat you. Remain CALM & if they start to get agressive, back away slowly & let them calm down.They will accept you if you don't hurt or injur them. Have fun!
My Images are to large to download. They were shot with D7000 & 105mm Nikkor & are almost all over 5 MB
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Buster
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
The Minimum Focus Distance is 1.0ft.(0.314m).
Sep 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

I can't get my 105 macro to autofocus

Nov 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
( Full Frame body)...it did work, and it just stopped. It acts like it's trying to focus but it can't find anything...any help would be appreciated!
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
JessicaM
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi
You are not too close to subject?
you are focusing on something with contrats?
Your m/ma slider on side is set either way ??? manual or manul auto???

If all these are ok, I would suggest contacting "Service and Support" in main menu above, they will respond in timely manner...

Hope this helps...
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers