Loading

Versatile long-reach macro lens with VR image stabilization.

When greater working distance is needed for close-up and macro shooting, the AF-S Micro NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8 delivers 105mm of reach, exceptional image quality, a fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and 1:1 reproduction ratio. Featuring advanced Nikon lens technologies like Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization, it’s optimized for close-up and macro photography yet versatile enough for all photographic situations—even handheld shooting!
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
M/A
IF Lens

Stunning sharpness

Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization

The AF-S Micro AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED’s long reach and built-in Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization bring new possiblities of handheld macro shooting. The lens delivers crisp yet natural images in any genre of photography. The longer focal length offers ample working distance when shooting close-ups of flowers, insects and other small wildlife. It’s medium-telephoto angle-of-view even creates beautiful portraits. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Advanced optical design

Outstanding close-up performance

The AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED’s remarkable performance is the result of Micro NIKKOR’s rich legacy in the field of close-up photoraphy combined with innovative Nikon lens technologies. From its superior VR image stabilization system to its ultra-fast, ultra-quiet Silent Wave Motor (SWM), the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is an advanced lens the empowers the full potential of advanced D-SLRs.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED 4.9 5 112 112
Fantastic Lens! I use my 105 VR exclusively for underwater photography. It's razor sharp and, once you get used to the very shallow depthy of field doing macro, it's a great lens. July 31, 2010
A Creative Tool I hunt for things to use this lens for. The results are great when you get it focused. I shoot mineral samples the lens brings out details that are hard to see. Focus is a little hard beacuse of the shallow depth of field but when you get it right you like the result. July 31, 2010
Outstanding glass I like to do a lot of extreme close-up shots. This lens enables clear, crisp, colorful images, and it is not too heavy in my backpack. July 31, 2010
Un-believeable sharpness In my 30+ years of photography, I have never seen a lens produce such sharp and vibrant images at micro level and portraiture. You have to shoot with it to believe the level of sharpness and detail. I would recommend it to any self respecting pro and serious hobbyist. July 30, 2010
Outstanding ! I always wanted to "penetrate" my favorite subjects : flowers and insects. Even though my Nikkor 18-200 mm was very good, I still needed to "be closer" ... I purchased the 105 mm f2.8 and ... WOW ! That lens is amazing ! Clarity, details, precision, ALL in one ! I LOVE it and I enjoy every single moment using it ! July 30, 2010
Worth the wait I have wanted a good Micro/Macro lens since I purchased my D90 and after looking at several lenses, I decided on the Nikon 105. It was worth waiting for! This has quickly elevated to my favorite lens. Images and crisp and make me look like an old pro. Would definitely purchase again! In my opinion, if you own one macro lens, this should be the one. July 30, 2010
Incredible Results I have purchased this lens and find that the detail in closeups is incredible. It not only improves one's photographic results in close ups but produces magnificent portraits. Its low light capabilities and vibration mode offer qualities that make you reach for this lens first on so many occasions. July 30, 2010
Wonderful Macro and All-Around Lens This lens is the main one I use when I'm out and about shooting outdoors. I love it for its macro ability (my favorite subjects with it are dragonflies, butterflies, and wildflowers), but it's surprisingly good at sports photography! I wouldn't use it for shooting football or other demanding outdoor sports, but I have used it to shoot disc golf, and I've taken lots of great action photos with it. It is heavy but well worth having on your camera. July 30, 2010
Best investment besides camera body! I can't carry a bag of gear, tripod, umbrellas, assorted lenses etc. to travel. Don't have time to keep switching lenses when in motion. Can't afford an assistant to carry above stuff. I need one "do everything you're supposed to do and then some" lens. The Micro-NIKKOR is it! I use one lens, can zoom from gnat's mustache to mountain range. Yes, it's heavier than some lenses, but SOLID: the best single lens (yet multi-purpose) I've ever purchased. July 30, 2010
so sharp, so fast focusing Love this lens till death, I can not get enough of this It is so sharp, so fast focusing,1;1 macro on a DX camera WOW!!! July 30, 2010
Razor sharp . I do a lot of macro shooting, and for years have used a 180MM macro lens from another manufacturer (as the 200MM Micro Nikkor was way out of my price range). When the 105MM came out, I figured the VR function would not be particularly useful but the focal length was something I could use - given it's shorter working distance compared to the longer lens. . Well, it turns out that this lens surpassed my expectations, including the VR function. On the D200 it's great, but on the D700 this lens just 'pops' with sharpness. And between the low noise-high-ISO capability of the D700 or the use of a ring flash (someday I'll get that Nikon R1 system!) I find myself getting terrific shots without the use of a tripod - something i would have never though possible a year ago. . Of course, the focal length is one that many like to use for portraiture, though to me this lens is almost too unforgivingly sharp - unless I do some post processing to smooth out natural skin blemishes this baby will show all. But that's not the main point of this lens, is it? . For anyone who enjoys macro shooting, this is a must-have lens. July 30, 2010
Excellent Lens Outstanding clarity and color. Quick auto focus. I have used the lens on my D300 with excellent results. I also have used it with a TC14E II converter for greater working distance, with no deteriation in quality. It also makes a nice general purpose lens with or without the converter. I am a little disappointed that the lens does not auto focus cleanly using the converter. (I realize that it is not supposed to auto focus with the converters.) Overall this lens is a great additon to my collection and well worth the price. July 30, 2010
Excellent Macro Lens This lens is perfect for small animal (butterfly, insects) where you need a little distance for light and do not want to scare the creature away. It works well handheld with a little practice, but recommend tripod usage when possible. July 30, 2010
The favored lens in my kit I bought this lens because I wanted a macro lens, and to add an intermediate tele lens to my kit. The 105 f/2.8G became a favored lens very quickly. In addition to the crisp macro images I obtain through this lens, I have found it to be a really nice portrait lens. The VR is very good and I obtain very sharp images hand held down to 1/15 sec. exposures. The weight and feel of the lens is just right and balances real well with my D700. July 30, 2010
Great True Micro Lens This lens a super lens for the money. No...it isn't cheap, but when you look at others in this category meaning true 1:1 then look at prices. From flowers to insects this is a great lens. Fast and GREAT control over depth of field is at your finger tips. The day I bought it my son came in saying there was a small praying mantis outside. We grabbed the camera and went out. The head remained in perfect focus, however the body was completely out. 1/4" difference and it was great. A perfect first time shot. I love it. July 30, 2010
the new world of macro Years ago, I used a 55mm micro Nikkor, but this is the first macro lens I have owned. It has enabled me to broaden my photographic experience and start a collection of photos I intend to display. When looking for a macro, consider the focal length. Some subjects (such as butterflys) won't tolerate the photographer/camera getting too close. This lens is also useable as a medium-length telephoto / portrait lens. The sharpness of the images is unsurpassed. This is not a technical review; several are available on the internet. I agree with the reviewers who have given this lens high ratings. July 30, 2010
Exceptional portrait lens I am a wedding photographer and thus the only real time I have to use the macro aspects of this lens is for images of rings, which it does perfectly.. But, that isn't why I bought this lens. I love this lens for portraits right around sunset. If it gets dark the VR comes in handy. This is small enough and light enough to be useful. I also own the long 80-200 zoom lens but it kinda big and it can't handle low light as well as this lens. Shooting wide open is a dream. I also love doing the formal dances with this lens, you can get some amazing close up work with perfectly out of focus backgrounds. I have put this lens through the test, it's by far the best portrait lens I've ever had. I wish I was more into macro photography, but I'm in love with this lens. July 30, 2010
Excellent clinical photos of skin problems. I have been extremely satisfied with my Micro 105mm lense. I am in the clinical practice of dermatology and document skin lesions and skin rashes with the lense. I use a Nikon D40 which has been a good companion to the lense. The photos I take are remarkably clear with the kind of detail needed for my line of work. The photos are always sharp thanks to the quality of the lense and the vibration reduction feature. The camera and lense set up is very simple and straight forward. My staff take many of the needed photos with outstanding quality. I would recommend this lense and camera to anyone who needs closeup quality photos with fine detail. July 30, 2010
handy multi purpose It's great for macro, but I also often use it for portrait. The focal length is perfect and yet it is not as heavy as the 70-200. July 30, 2010
nice sub telephoto As a former owner of the 105mm f2.5 Ai and 105mm f2.8 D Micro-Nikkor, I purchased this AFS G lens for my Nikon D700. It is even better than its predecessors as a portrait, close-up and landscape lens. It is the longest focal length I currently own. July 30, 2010
Great Macro This lens has opened up a new world of macro photography for me. I often use it with the R1 Speedlight system to get amazingly sharp pictures of bugs. I want pictures that have that "pop". This lens helps make it happen! July 30, 2010
Ladies' choice for beautiful bokeh... A few years ago, I traded my 30-yr-old camera and macro lens for new Nikon equipment. A year after purchasing the Nikon D50 kit, I added the Nikkor 105mm macro f/2.8G to my collection to capture close-up photos of wild and garden flowers, and insects. I have been impressed by the ease of handling of this lens. I especially like being able to work farther away from my subjects, yet achieve clear, detailed closeups. Although the Auto-focus feature is excellent, I get superb results using this lens in manual mode. To achieve my preferred depth of field, I work within a range from f4.5-f6.7, which always yields the right balance of focused and unfocused detail, along with a beautiful bokeh. July 30, 2010
Tack Sharp and Versatile Prime This is my favorite lens in my bag. It's fast, its not that heavy and my pictures explode with color and vibrancy. I shoot mostly portraits: events and family shots; when you lock on your subject's eyes, you have them. For 1:1 Macro photography it's very special - hand held or on a tripod. July 30, 2010
Yes, Yes, Yes! It's tack sharp until f16 + and then it's still very good. One lens... this should be it for FX. I use it everyday for fashion, table-top, nature, portrait, etc. The only real drawback is that f2.8 sometimes isn't shallow enough for full-length portraits... if you can call that a portrait. July 30, 2010
This lens makes me lots of money. I am an Internet coin dealer. One of the hardest problems I have had in the past was getting close up pictures of tiny coins. A few years ago I purchased the Nikon D60 SLR and was happy but not fully satisfied. Last year I added the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED to my camera and was I surprised. The auto focus is superb. The close-ups are amazing and the detail is just beautiful. I consider myself an amateur photographer. This lens makes my coins look like they were photographed by a professional. July 30, 2010
You'll use this lens more than you think! I bought this lens for detail work at weddings but now I use it all of the time. It has become my "go to" portrait lens on my D3 in the studio because of its sharpness, beautiful bokeh, excellent color and the ability to get in close. A fantastic lens for children and babies. I still use it for a lot of macro work but it is much, much more than a macro lens. July 30, 2010
My new walk around lens This lens is dead on. Excellent color, crisp clear shots. It has replaced the 85mm 1.4 as my walk around lens. I recently shot a sunlit subject from the opposite end of a 200' shadow filled alley. Once cropped it was as sharp as a closeup head shot. July 30, 2010
Sharp Macro Great images and nice 105mm distance. The first lens I bought for my new D700. July 30, 2010
What a superb lens! This wonderful lens is a necessity for anyone who likes flower, or macro work. It zips into focus instantly and delivers sharp, bright, vibrant photos with a real snap. I use a fiber optic ring light to give me great depth of field when I need it and the lens certainly delivers. For the critical, serious photographer, this lens is a must. July 30, 2010
Best lens in my bag. I bought this lens to improve my insect pictures. It sure does that and a lot more. My bugs are now great so are my flower shots. I do some art work shots for my artists freinds and with this lens I no longer have to adjust the colour or take out the barrel distortion. At 2.8 it is a great lens for kid action shots. A very sharp lens with good colour and contrast! I use this lens much more than I would have thought. July 30, 2010
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev | next>>
60 Questions | 84 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
60 Questions | 84 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
4 Answers

does it work with the nikon D3100?

Jun 12, 2011 by
+11points
11out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
4 Answers

Answers

+15points
15out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful15unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm 2.8 lens would work great on the D3100.
I use this lens on my FX D700 and my DX D70s sensor cameras.
Although this lens was designed to work optimally with a FX sensor it still works fabulous with Nikon's DX sensor cameras such as your D3100.
-- If you are getting into the rewarding aspect of Micro photography this is a great lens to start with. Happy Shooting

To fully optimize your shooting experience, consider a R1C1 Wireless Close-Up Speedlight System.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
dmbNIK
North Virgina
Location : 
North Virgina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful0
Answer: 
ignore joe, keith has the right stuff. all AF-S lenses work with all modern D-bodies.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will auto focus on the D3100 as it is the AF-S version.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-17points
0out of 17found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful17
Answer: 
Yes but you would have to focus manually, it does not have a built in lens motor.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

Where this lens was made, I wondered Nikon ever made this lens in China and sold its in US maket with US warranty (5 years)

Oct 2, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Nikon lens with SKU # NI10528GAF and product # 2160 , is this item made in Japan or China , how can I know which one is for US market. Any advise from Customer services or technical support is very helpful for Nikon user. Thank's
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Peter, N
San Diego
Location : 
San Diego
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Early models of the lens were made in Japan, current ones in China. But as others have basically said, don't concern with origin of the build, it really doesn't matter. Build quality is the same and would expect quality control to be the same across regions. Most 'USA' warrantied lenses have 'US' preceding the serial number, but not all do. If the box has the 5-yr tag on it and the warranty paperwork has the 1-yr plus 4yr US warranty info and all serial numbers match up and even if the lens doesn't have the serial number preceded with US imprinted on the lens, it is a US lens, not grey-market import and will be serviceable by Nikon. Nikon prefers you also buy through an authorized retailer. As well, typically there is a serial number set that corresponds to the US or international market. But then again, that's not always dependable if you get a US lens without US imprinted. For these lenses that are US but lack the US imprint in the serial number, I suspect based on demand and available stock, Nikon moves inventory first intended for non-US markets to the US market by adding all the necessary warranty info to cover the USA program and that's why some lens end up fully warrantied by NikonUSA without US imprinted. So basically, if you receive all the necessary paperwork, you're good. Would be interested to see Nikon responds to this post with agreement or correction.
May 10, 2014 by
by
~Cliff
Columbus, OH, USA

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
My lens 105mm f2.8 Micro Nikkor was made in China & sold in the US. I would have never suspected until I looked. The build is superb,the Glass is flawless the pictures are tack sharp with beautiful bokah. I was dissapointed to learn that the f stop changes & is only f2.8 @ infinity.At 1-1 Macro it is f4. Shooting @ 1:1 i always stop down to f8-f22 anyway so it is a moot point but feel Nikon should advertise it as a variable apurture lens. That said, I would buy it again. Buster
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Arden E. Olson
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
2out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
Answer: 
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operate to the same high standard. While individual cameras are marked with their country of manufacture we can't make a blanket statement about which camera is produced where.
Oct 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can you suggest a hood to use 77mm filters on this lens

Jun 28, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
use a step-up filter converter. they are available at any good camera shops. if you want a hood as well: buy a step-up converter, screw in your filter, then use a 77mm screw-in hood.
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
The filter size for this lens is 62mm.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

AF Nikkor 105mm f/2.8

Jul 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
can Af- Nikkor 105 mm f/2.8 used as a telephoto lens?
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
SunilS
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! It is great for telephoto use in situations not requiring a large depth of field. It produces very sharp portraits. It is excellent for street photography to enable the isolation of the subject from the surrounding environment without having to be too close. This provides the opportunity to get great candid shots even in low lighting situations without the use of a flash. I love it!
Jul 10, 2011 by
by
AlabamaTim
Montgomery, AL
Location : 
Montgomery, AL
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is a medium telephoto Micro lens, ideal for extreme close-up and portrait work with greater working distances and AF from infinity.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

1 answerDoes it work with the Nikon D60

Aug 21, 2011 by
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
led
malaysia
Location : 
malaysia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Lenses marked AFS have a built in motor and will work on nearly all Nikon DSLR's
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
HalE

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Will all functions on this lense work on my d300 (not d300s)

Sep 6, 2011 by
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Buster
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, perfect. :)
Sep 6, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can I know when the lens was made using the serial number on it?

Sep 8, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
A copy with a serial number starting with 255.... When was it made?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
mgg1975
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I’m not sure if this tells you or not...

http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-Explore/Photography-Techniques/gg1e57vo/1/How-to-No-Kidding-Read-Your-Lens-Barrel.html

If not I would contact "Service and Support" above in main menu bar...
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Why does my new 105 VR Micro only go to f 4.5 at 1:1 focual distance?

Sep 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Jim
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
Answer: 
I don't know why but all modern Macro lens will change f/stop when you get close.
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

-7points
2out of 11found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful9
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

What distance to achieve 1:1 macro ratio

Sep 30, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
5out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful2
At what min and max distance is needed for macro shots. Hoping to shoot bees and wasp, but I do not want to be that close for obvious reasons.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Dwayne
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
To shoot 1:1 the sensor plane is about 1 Ft. from the subject. I have shot many Wasps,Hornets & Bees & have never been stung. I have found,If you don't swat them they won't swat you. Remain CALM & if they start to get agressive, back away slowly & let them calm down.They will accept you if you don't hurt or injur them. Have fun!
My Images are to large to download. They were shot with D7000 & 105mm Nikkor & are almost all over 5 MB
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Buster
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
The Minimum Focus Distance is 1.0ft.(0.314m).
Sep 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

I can't get my 105 macro to autofocus

Nov 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
( Full Frame body)...it did work, and it just stopped. It acts like it's trying to focus but it can't find anything...any help would be appreciated!
3 years ago
by
JessicaM
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi
You are not too close to subject?
you are focusing on something with contrats?
Your m/ma slider on side is set either way ??? manual or manul auto???

If all these are ok, I would suggest contacting "Service and Support" in main menu above, they will respond in timely manner...

Hope this helps...
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers