Loading

Versatile long-reach macro lens with VR image stabilization.

When greater working distance is needed for close-up and macro shooting, the AF-S Micro NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8 delivers 105mm of reach, exceptional image quality, a fast f/2.8 maximum aperture and 1:1 reproduction ratio. Featuring advanced Nikon lens technologies like Silent Wave Motor (SWM) and Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization, it’s optimized for close-up and macro photography yet versatile enough for all photographic situations—even handheld shooting!
Vibration Reduction
Silent Wave Motor
Nano Crystal Coat
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
M/A
IF Lens

Stunning sharpness

Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization

The AF-S Micro AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED’s long reach and built-in Vibration Reduction (VR) image stabilization bring new possiblities of handheld macro shooting. The lens delivers crisp yet natural images in any genre of photography. The longer focal length offers ample working distance when shooting close-ups of flowers, insects and other small wildlife. It’s medium-telephoto angle-of-view even creates beautiful portraits. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Advanced optical design

Outstanding close-up performance

The AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED’s remarkable performance is the result of Micro NIKKOR’s rich legacy in the field of close-up photoraphy combined with innovative Nikon lens technologies. From its superior VR image stabilization system to its ultra-fast, ultra-quiet Silent Wave Motor (SWM), the AF-S VR Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is an advanced lens the empowers the full potential of advanced D-SLRs.
*Based on CIPA Standard. This value is achieved when: FX-format compatible lenses are attached to an FX-format digital SLR camera.
Vibration Reduction
Vibration Reduction
A Nikon in-lens technology that improves image stability by automatically compensating for camera shake. Lenses that offer VR will feature the abbreviation VR on the lens barrel.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
Nano Crystal Coat
Nano Crystal Coat
An anti-reflective coating developed by Nikon that virtually eliminates internal lens element reflections across a wide range of wavelengths.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED 4.9 5 104 104
Macro Uso essa lente a quase um ano,com otimos recurso de clareza e profundidade de campo,é uma lente macro que recomendo a um amigo como já fiz,uma otima lente. May 7, 2012
BOA LENTE PARA MACRO LENTE RECOMENDADA POR DEZENAS DE PESSOAS NO SITE FLICKR NAS PAGINAS DEDICADAS A MACRO FOTOGRAFIA, E EU TAMBEM RECOMENDO. March 21, 2012
fast and sharp very good close up lense and a good medium tele for sports. Only problem: why is it not a fixed F2.8 thru the whole rangeof focusing?? It's about F4 at close up and not F2.8. Aperture changes as you focus from close to further away. frustrating! July 18, 2011
versatile macro Very sharp; great for flowers; nice for portraits; super color rendition. April 20, 2011
Great macro, doubled as general tele lens. I did a lot of reading online (including the customer reviews on B&H) on this lens, the Nikkor 60mm macro (no vr) and the Tamron 60mm & 90mm macro (also no vr) and tested the latter three lens in stores since no one carries the Nikkor 105MM macro vr. Tamron lens are good, as i like the Tamron 60mm a lot (f2.0) but when compared to the Nikkor lens side-by-side the Nikkor 60mm lens produces sharper images, and the Tamron 90mm is flimsy although legendary for its tack sharp images. There are no comparison in terms of quality and output. I decided to go with this Nikkor 105mm macro vr. So far i have used it for general photography (very nice bokeh for portrait). Took it with me to Asia for 2+ weeks, and enjoyed using it indoor / low light condition but have to learn how to use the lens to maximize its potential as this is a specialty macro lens. It is what i expected in built quality and image output: solid built and tack sharp when focus correctly or as intended. The lens is a little heavy and big on the D90 and the auto focus, VR are more audible than other DX VR lens due to the size of this lens. Compared to other Nikon professional f2.8 lens, this is not as expensive although it's a specialty macro lens. April 18, 2011
Great with Some Drawbacks This lens is sharp, contrasty, and beautiful a 2.8 and up. Its not a lens I pull out often but I could use it for portraits more and should. It lets me stand back out of the light for detail shots and the VR helps greatly. Focus "Breathing" takes some getting used to and I often use manual focus to nail shots because the AF sometimes doesn't do what I want it to. The VR takes a second to kick in and because its my only VR lens its kind of annoying to me but may not be to you. Otherwise its a necessary and welcome addition. If i shot with this all day, im sure that the issues with this lens would go away because its unique handling takes some learning. I own the 24 1.4g the 85 1.4g the 50 1.4g the 24-70 2.8g and the 80-200 2.8 D and this lens is as good as all of them. March 2, 2011
It hunts too much. I purchased this lens in 12-2007 after having a 60 mm Macro which I loved very much. I purchased the 105 Macro so I could take Macro photos a little further back and not be in the shadow of my subject,especially when using studio strobe. It works great. The only problem I have had is that it hunts and hunts too often. I will be sending this back to Nikon for a third time to hopefully correct this problem. September 23, 2010
Is it worth your buck ?!? Just picked up this lens yesterday and tried it out at home. I couldn't stop. This is an AMAZING lens. I'm new to photography and all but the shots I got from this were great. I tried it as a close-up macro, longer-range macro and as a longer-range portrait. Results were great for all these setting. Have to use manual focusing for macro though (from what I read, its a standard approach to macro photography). When using the auto-focus, its super quiet. The focus ring is large, smooth and responsive. The supplied lens hood is nice. The lens is of excellent build quality. That said, its a heavy one. Hand-held macro shots will be difficult or tricky (even though it has VR). A tripod is needed. For portrait or when on auto-focus, you can do hand-held shots. Considering the price, I was expecting this lens to come out of Japan. It is, however, produced in China. June 14, 2012
Great lens,but....... This is a great macro lens. I use it on a D200,300,and D800. Fast and sharp. But after it was out of its 5 year warranty, the focusing motor failed. 330 dollars and six weeks later is the reason I can't give this lens 5 stars. July 22, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5
<<prev
48 Questions | 69 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
48 Questions | 69 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
4 Answers

does it work with the nikon D3100?

Jun 12, 2011 by
+11points
11out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
4 Answers

Answers

+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful14unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm 2.8 lens would work great on the D3100.
I use this lens on my FX D700 and my DX D70s sensor cameras.
Although this lens was designed to work optimally with a FX sensor it still works fabulous with Nikon's DX sensor cameras such as your D3100.
-- If you are getting into the rewarding aspect of Micro photography this is a great lens to start with. Happy Shooting

To fully optimize your shooting experience, consider a R1C1 Wireless Close-Up Speedlight System.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Jun 18, 2011 by
by
dmbNIK
North Virgina
Location : 
North Virgina
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
ignore joe, keith has the right stuff. all AF-S lenses work with all modern D-bodies.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will auto focus on the D3100 as it is the AF-S version.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

-16points
0out of 16found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful16
Answer: 
Yes but you would have to focus manually, it does not have a built in lens motor.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

1 answerDoes it work with the Nikon D60

Aug 21, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
led
malaysia
Location : 
malaysia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Lenses marked AFS have a built in motor and will work on nearly all Nikon DSLR's
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
HalE

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 21, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Will all functions on this lense work on my d300 (not d300s)

Sep 6, 2011 by
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Oct 17, 2011 by
by
Buster
Oregon coast
Location : 
Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, perfect. :)
Sep 6, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can I know when the lens was made using the serial number on it?

Sep 8, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
A copy with a serial number starting with 255.... When was it made?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
mgg1975
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I’m not sure if this tells you or not...

http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-Explore/Photography-Techniques/gg1e57vo/1/How-to-No-Kidding-Read-Your-Lens-Barrel.html

If not I would contact "Service and Support" above in main menu bar...
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

I can't get my 105 macro to autofocus

Nov 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
( Full Frame body)...it did work, and it just stopped. It acts like it's trying to focus but it can't find anything...any help would be appreciated!
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
JessicaM
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi
You are not too close to subject?
you are focusing on something with contrats?
Your m/ma slider on side is set either way ??? manual or manul auto???

If all these are ok, I would suggest contacting "Service and Support" in main menu above, they will respond in timely manner...

Hope this helps...
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 3, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Does VR work at 1-1 magnification?

Jan 31, 2012 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the VR works at that magnification...
I used to use tripod for everything, after getting this lens, I have shot tiny little flowers size of your finger tip with VR n handholding, it works amazing...

the image below, is flower bout the size of a dime...handheld, full macro as close as i could get, ...
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jul 2, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, but not as efficiently as it does at smaller magnifications. On December 16, 2008 photographic journalist Julia Silber did a review specifically about this lens' VF performance while at macro use (easily found at a simple Internet search).

When I need to do tripod less macro, instead of VR I recur to FP high speed flash, at 1/4000: it freezes *anything*, including bees' wings. The attached photo was taken with a D7000 @1/4000, SB-600 flash on FP mode, 18-55VR lens with a mile of extension tubes @ f/22.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
PauloFeitosa
Curitiba - Paraná, Brazil
Location : 
Curitiba - Paraná, Brazil
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D80 camera?

Apr 23, 2012 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes...
this lens is amazing, I can’t say anything negative about this lens , I have owned it for 5 years and love it...it works amazing on my D70 and my D2X as well...
Jul 1, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Is the AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens compatible with the D7000?

May 2, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, absolutely compatible,
awesome lens, I have owned it for 5 years and i love this lens...
Jul 1, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
May 2, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Availability?

May 8, 2012 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Are there any details around when this product will be in stock again...it's quite rare to find retailers in North America supplying this lens? Or, does Nikon have an updated lens in the works?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I didn’t realize they were not available...
I would suggest asking "Service and Support" above of this section...
Hope this helps.
Jul 1, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Any problems with using the Nikon HN-30 (screw-on) lens hood on this lens?

Jul 31, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The HN-30 is designed for the 200 f/4 so even if it did fit there is a very good chance it would cause vignetting as it is a lot longer than the hoods for the 105mm.
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think you would have serious vignetting.
Jul 31, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers