Loading

Key Features

Offers broad 18 - 200mm focal range for use in a variety of situations, equivalent to a 27-300 lens in 35mm format.

Nikon VR II (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization
Vibration Reduction, engineered specifically for each VR NIKKOR lens, enables handheld shooting at up to 4 shutter speeds slower than would otherwise be possible, assuring dramatically sharper still images and video capture.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC) offers superb color reproduction while minimizing ghosting and flare.

Delivers a high-level optical performance designed exclusively for use with Nikon DX digital format.

Enables focusing from as close as 50cm (20 in.) from the subject through its entire focal range.

Flower-shaped lens hood (HB-35) provides greatly reduced stray light.

11x zoom coverage offers a perfect compact and lightweight “one lens” solution.

Two Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass and three aspherical lens elements minimize chromatic aberration, astigmatism and other forms of distortion, while ensuring high resolution and contrast.

Incorporates a Silent Wave Motor (SWM) allows for fast, quiet focusing.

Employs a 7-blade rounded diaphragm opening that achieves a natural blur for out-of-focus elements.

M/A mode for rapid switching between auto focus (A) and manual focus (M) operation.

AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED 4.1 5 185 185
Covers a full range, excellent in tough places. An excellent all around lens, VR for aerial and boating photography and hand held shots in low light. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens for everyday use Great lens. Very sharp and rugged. I use the lens hiking and other outdoor conditions with great results. July 30, 2010
One Lens for Everything! Frist of all I use the D300 camera and I bought a lens from another company that was a 28-300. I took it to a zoo, where you have all types of challenges. Dark rooms with insects, bright sun with monkeys to harsh light and dark shadows. I was shooting a tiger and later when I saw the photos I was dissapointed in the sharpness. I then bought the Nikkor 18-200 VR lens and tried it out. I got my chance at the Nashville, TN zoo, and was extremely happy with the photos I got. I also realized that I needed the wide 18mm end of the lens as much as the telephoto 200mm end. I found there were more times where you want the 18mm rather than the limit of the 28mm wide end. I also have a Nikkor 60mm macro which I also get fantastic results. Also I kept reading about the cons of a 18-200 lens such as lens creep when walking. Some lenses have a lock so the lens won't extend while walking. This lens has no need for the lock. It stays put when I'm walking around. Also I read about loss of detail around the edges on certain mm settings. Believe me, having the ability to zoom in on something you can't walk up to, and still have the ability to shoot as close as 10" away can't be beat! I don't have time to switch lenses when I see something happening. I just go for it. Get this lens and take it everywhere! July 30, 2010
Perfect all around lens I purchased this lens shortly after it was released. This lens is the perfect lens for mounting on the DX format cameras. It delivers outstanding photographs, with incredible detail. I use it on a D2 model and it is seldom changed. I get a nice zoom range (27-300) and this makes my D2 my a great all purpose camera. I seldom leave home without it, I have nothing but compliments for this lens. The best part of this lens is the fact that it holds up well and the VR mode will definitely spoil you. July 30, 2010
Best lens I have ever owned With this lens I am always ready to shoot whatever appears in front of my camera...Best lens investment I ever made July 30, 2010
Great Lens This is a great lens for everyday use. The telephoto end and the wide end are a little soft but everything in between is great. I've been using it with a 1.4X teleconverter and am quite please with the images when there is plenty of light. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens I love this lens. It is so versatille for me. I use it to shoot most of my pictures and everyone raves about the results. Thank you Nikon for your exscellance in workmanship. July 30, 2010
A GREAT all-around lens.. My wife and I went to Israel, Egypt and Jordan recently, and I thought long and hard about taking my 14-24 super wide angle along as well. We were going to be somewhat cramped for space, so I just took the 18-200 with a polarizer. This lens turned out to be a workhorse with my Nikon D300s. After about a month, I took over 5,200 shots. While on the riverboat going down, (North) the Nile, I had many opportunities to use the VR image stabilization which worked very well. It also worked superb while on the tour buses. The best use of the VR was when when were in Jordan, going down the Sig into Petra, on a horse buggy with no springs, no shocks, no nothing but bounce and jar. Most of the photos were sharp, but truthfully many were just a blur. Ya gotta go there to understand what we went through. And I'll NEVER ride a camel again. I really like the 18-200 lens. I also have the 14-24 super wide angle zoom, and the GREAT 24/85 2.8 - 4 lens.. July 30, 2010
Great all around lens. This is a good all around lens. I used it on a five city Baltic cruise recently. For city touring it was the only lens I needed. July 30, 2010
This lens is really great indeed... I'm really impressed with this lens. After 35+ years in professional photography if find it to cover most of my needs. I now use it as my "Normal" lens. Great quality!! Only one complaint: if you are shooting downward or upward the zoom will slide...it will not remain in the position set. Nikon is aware of this to the point where they have included a "lock" feature but only available at the 18mm position. It should allow you to lock at any position or better yet... NOT SLIDE on its own. July 30, 2010
This is a very good all around lens I use it all the time , even though I have a 70-400. July 30, 2010
Wonderful lens!! This lens spoils you as you tend to leave it on the camera as a universal lens for all occasions. I got mine the day it was released in the United States and has been on the camera ever since to the exclusion of the many other lenses I own. One disconcerting thing though; at 18 mm when it autofocuses it reads about five feet on the focus scale even when the lens is focussed at infinity. In looking critically at the image files, the lens is focussed correctly no matter what the scale says but it can be rather worrisome. July 30, 2010
Excellent Product. Quiet. Fair Price. This is one of many Nikkor lenses that I own. Currently, that is the only one I carry around with me due to its wide to fairly long zoom range. A great all-around lens. It is quiet, fast to focus and very sharp for such a lens. I have used the VR feature but cannot make any comments in that regard. Highly recommend. It would have been nice if the price was lower. July 30, 2010
This lense is very verstile. For the most part, I love this lense. Before purchasing it, I read some rather negative reviews. I decided to buy it anyway and have not been dissatisfied. My only complaint is the focus ring. Maybe because I wear glasses, when I use the manual focus, I often get an out-of-focus picture, especially if I'm focusing on something up close. The focus ring is a bit stiff as well and that seems to effect fine focus. In sum, I use this lense all the time and do love it. July 30, 2010
Great Versatility I have used this lens as my primary lens for a couple of years. Great versatility in almost any condition. It is has been very dependable and rugged in all my travels. Pricey but worth it. July 30, 2010
The only complaint I have with the lense is the focal length creep when lense is sloping downward or upward, need a locking device to lock in the desired focal length as selected by the user. Another thing is to use lighter metal such as magnesium of titanium to lower the weight of the lense. July 30, 2010
The lens I keep on my camera The 18-200 is my workhorse lens, good for everything from street and festival photography to detailed closeups. Used with a tripod, it produces clear, sharp nature photographs, allowing me to capture broad landscapes and close views of a single flower without changing lenses. In three years, I've taken it everywhere from hot, dusty fields to dripping Pacific Northwest rainforests to live theater production photo shoots and it continues to perform like a champ. Are there better telephotos? Better macro lenses? Sure. But when I want to shoot unencumbered by a bagfull of glass, this is the lens that serves me the best. July 30, 2010
Brilliant travel lens I have owned this lens for about two years now and love it. No lens can be all things to all people but this comes really close. The zoom range and compact size make this lens indispensable for travel. Image quality is what you'd expect from Nikon, exceptional. I have travelled the world with this lens, taking it's share of hard knocks and it hasn't failed me yet. I wish this lens also was made in FX format. I would upgrade immediately to a D3S, what an amazing kit that would be! July 30, 2010
My best Nikon lens. I was a little nervous about this lens when I bought it; I had read several borderline reviews. However, it has served me well. I have used it in the jungles of northern Thailand and along the Mekong River. And, of course, in the normal around-the-home shots here in California. It is an outstanding lens. July 30, 2010
Great Lens Wonderful for travel. Use with D-80. Covers just about everything I need. This lens is before the Zoom Lock, which I would love. also, would like a macro mode, but I have found ways to work around. In all, it's a great lens that seves the bulk of my needs. July 30, 2010
My favorite lens !! As an event photographer, my 18-200mm lens allows me to take the best candid shots of people without "being in their face". Yes, I have to give up some f stops, but the results speak for itself. Nature photography is also a snap. It turns a Chipmonk into a Grizzly Bear by my ability to zoom in on the subject. Wide angle ability is superb. Frankly, the lens almost never leaves the camera body. July 30, 2010
A must have for Nikon shooters! I've used this lens ever since it came out about 3 years ago. It was highly rated by John Shaw at one of his seminars I attended. There was a waiting list here for the lens, but I finally obtained one on a vacation trip to Hong Kong. I have enjoyed the lens very much. It's nice to have just one lens on your travels that will do for 98% of your images. It's also very good for close-up photos of flowers, etc. when you want to "bokeh" the background. The only downside that I have experienced is that because of the 5.6 f/stop at 200 mm, you are not able to use an extender with AF. July 30, 2010
Perfect for travel Wide range of focal lengths is the obvious advantage; requires only one lens, no changing and getting dirt in camera. Marvelously sharp and fast auto focusing. After many years of lugging two or three lenses, this is the best answer. July 30, 2010
Excallant Lense This lens works for almost any situation the VR is Excellent. Lightweight and fast focus. Well worth the money!! July 30, 2010
Covers the basic range of lenses in one. This is my first zoom lens (bought it with my first digital camera- a Nikon D300s). I had a hard time choosing which lens to buy, but when I realized that in this one lens, I would have all of the standard lenses I consistently use in one lens, I decided to buy it. I have not been disappointed. It zooms and focuses smoothly. And the images that it has produced have been extremely sharp. It has not disappointed me. July 30, 2010
Truly a one-lens solution My first experience with a Nikon product--bought it with a D300. Outstanding combination. Photo quality exceeds my expectations. The main reason I'm reviewing this great product is to mention that gravity tends to extend and retract the lens. Inconvenient, but not a huge issue. July 30, 2010
An Excellent Product-One lens does it all !!! This is an excellent product which covers an incredible zooming range of x11, from 18 to 200mm. This lens practically covers most of my needs so that I don't need to carry any additional lenses. I whole heartedly recommend it to consumers up to the semi-pro level. July 30, 2010
Sharp clear photos, easy to use. Love it! It gives me the pictures I desire. Wide angle to get a bigger picture, and the zoom is fantastic. I use to have to switch lenses between my small zoom and large one. The problem with the large one was that the picture was so small. Now I can get a picture of my child in a group and then zoom in and get a picture of their face. I am so glad I bought it. Some people complain of lens creep, I haven't experienced that but it has a lock. Also people complain of the weight but I don't notice it. July 30, 2010
THE perfect kit lens. I am an advanced amateur and I've been using this lens on a Nikon D200 for the past 3 years. A perfect all-around lens, it will serve you well when you can't carry more lenses with you. The results are really beautiful, and even if it's not the cheapest lens of its kind I think it's worth the expense. Highly recommended (if you are starting to get more and more involved in photography, I seriously recommend you to try this lens). July 30, 2010
One and Only This is a great lens that can remain on the body at all times. It is a little heavy, and over a period of several years the lens now easily extends downward when you tip it down. August 30, 2011
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev | next>>
28 Questions | 37 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
28 Questions | 37 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR is an older lens. Can you still purchase this new? If not, then can you please tell me what the next comparable lens would be?

Mar 22, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR
18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Enservio
Massachusetts
Location : 
Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Purchase the 18-200mm VRII lens. It is denoted with a Gold VR symbol. The Red VR symbol is the older generation lens and you can purchase them anywhere camera equipment is sold. Just make sure they are an authorized Nikon dealer.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The new lens is the VR II. Almost the exact same lens with second generation Vibration Reduction.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Bigfoot
Apache Junction, Arizona
Location : 
Apache Junction, Arizona
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
There's a new version for this lens that is VR II.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

Is the Nikkor AF-S DX 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 G ED VR II lens compatable with the nikon D7000?

Apr 5, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a nikon D7000 with an 18-105 lens
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Danny
Trinidad
Location : 
Trinidad
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
peterh
Australia
Location : 
Australia
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. It's fully compatible.
Apr 5, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

is there any teleconverter supporting this len,please?

May 19, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Teleconverters take away auto-focus capabilities most of the time and interfere with the way the lens is engineered to operate. If you need a longer distance, grab a lens with a longer focal distance for slightly more in price. You will be glad you did instead of getting a teleconverter, but if you are set on it, Nikon provides one in the Lens section.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes, but it's not made by nikon (it's made by kenko). not the best optical quality, but works.
May 20, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Afraid not no.
May 19, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Nikon AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Jamie
New York
Location : 
New York
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Send it to Nikon. As soon as you do anything outside of being a general user, your warranty is voided.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
you might need special clockmaker's screwdrivers for that. they're usually cheap.
May 1, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

18-200 locked in SP-AF

May 12, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
My N 18-200mm is locked in Single Point - AF, despite the camera body (d300) being set to dynamic AF. I've tried resetting the body, de/reattaching the lens, manually resetting the lens settings...anybody have any thoughts?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
DeniseC
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If this is the only lens with this issue, send it to Nikon for evaluation. If it's more than just that lens, send the camera to Nikon for evaluation.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please verify that the AF-Area Mode Selector is set to Dynamic area AF (see page# 64 of the user's manual). and the Focus Selctor is not lock (see page# 66 of the user's manual).
May 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can you explain the three settings : M/A M ; VR on-off ; normal - active ?

May 30, 2014 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
For VR read this 6 part explanation:
http://www.nikonusa.com/en_US/IMG/Images/Micro-Sites/VR/experience/tips/focusing/index.htm
M/A setting allows you to use auto focus and then fine tune the focus manually without using any switches on the camera body. You just grab the focus ring and focus manually. M- turns autofocus off and you manually focus with the focus ring.
May 30, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
M/AM is manual focus and manual focus override. VR on/off does just that, turns VR on or off and Normal / Active is the VR type either Normal for most situatons rewuirong VR ot active for times, for example, when you are in a car or on a boat where you have up and down motion as well as side to side motion.
May 30, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Does this lens work well with the D80

Jun 23, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D80.
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

This lens is compatible with Nikon D60?

Jul 22, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

How long is the warranty on this lens?

Jul 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I can't seem to find anything on the warranty for this lens. I bought it in 2007.

Thanks!
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Hazzard
VA
Location : 
VA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its one year, unless you registered it for the extended warranty.
Jul 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX VR Zoom-NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is this lens compatible with the D50?

Nov 17, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Nov 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers