Loading

Key Features

Versatile and ultra-compact with a powerful focal length range of 55-200mm designed exclusively for Nikon DX format SLRs. Ideal 3.6x zoom lens for portraiture, sports or wildlife photography.

New compact rod-type Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high speed auto focusing with exceptional accuracy and super-quiet operation.

Two Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements achieve minimized chromatic aberration and superior optical performance.

9-blade rounded diaphragm for more natural out-of-focus highlights.

An excellent companion to the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED.

Nikon Super Integrated Coating (SIC) minimizes ghosting and flare to provide even higher contrast and more vivid images, even in challenging light conditions.

Focus mode switch enables quick switching between A (auto focus) and M (manual focus).

AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED 4.4 5 56 56
This is a great lens for the price. The motion is smooth and silent. The focus is sharp. I have already recommended it to other photographers. July 4, 2011
Compact-Good Mid-Range lens I just purchased this lens refurbished from Nikon. Packed well prompt delivery..only disappointment was the no name lens cap. Now I will have to exchange it with my 200f4 prong lens cap. So far have had no problems with over 25 Nikkor lens...many passed on to others. Retired,but still shooting. June 14, 2011
General purpose Zoom Lens I decide buy the second lens. 55-200mm AF-DR for my second camera for product photography. It good lens for taking 2 person photo shoot also. The lens works find. No problems. This is good price, and meets my needs for now. April 25, 2011
Takes great pics outdoors! Received a Nikon Camera and this lens for Christmas and I'm really satisfied. I take my camera everywhere I go! April 13, 2011
Is a Cheap and Great lens for outdoors. Use this lens with my D7000, so glad to have this to shoot nearby nature objects. March 22, 2011
Good lens I got this lense for Christmas and I liked it. It takes good pictures at a distance. Although it wasn't the one I wanted so I took it back. I would still recommend this to anyone looking for their first high power zoom lense. January 16, 2011
Great Lens I purchased this lens a few months ago. It works perfectly. I had the standard lens but wanted a zoom for distant shots. My only complaint is, I should have went for the VR version, but this lens works fine. If you purchase this lens, you will be satisfied. August 5, 2010
A Fast Zoom Lens for Photographing Elusive Birds. A good lens for taking pictures of birds and animals in the wild. The speed with the automatice features allows me to take photographs of flying birds and birds in the underbrush effectively. I can identify the birds using the magnifcation feature on the D40 camera. It is so effective that I don't use binoculars for indentifying birds. I always hold my camera in my hands, so that I need lightweight body and lens. The D40 camera and this lens are the best in market place. August 3, 2010
lite lens use it all the time i bought this lens for my new camera i just got (D3000) it came with the 18- 55mm i find it good for close in shots within 100f does great it that range. August 2, 2010
fine lens for price I find myself using this lens more and more in place of the standard 28 to 50 mm lens, it has less fish eying. Now the only time I use the 28 - 50 is when distance is a limiting factor. July 30, 2010
Good images, low price While it doesn't have a super fast aperture, and no VR, and is of plastic construction so it doesn't feel like the lenses I had for my F, this lens produces a clear sharp contrasty image, if used correctly--which is not at all hard to do. It comes with a shade also. I've gotten some killer shots of insects, birds, the NY skyline from the river, and some nice face shots also. This range of focal lengths lets you frame a lot of shots. It stays in my bag with my the kit lens, and my old manual 1.4 50mm prime and wide angle aftermarket and with these, everything is pretty much covered. July 30, 2010
Good lens, could be better I have had this lens ever since i got my Nikon D40. Don't get me wrong. It truly is a good telephoto zoom lens. But now that Nikon has made advancements in Nikkor lens technology, the VR, now on the newer 55-200 for about $100 more, helps to reduce blur then taking a low-light picture. I rely on VR all the time when taking pictures, because I never like to have taken a picture and find out later that it is blurred. Now don't get me wrong. This lens is really a great lens; number one, it is a little smaller, and it is about $100 cheaper than the later one. And, on a sunny day when there is plenty of light, I don't really need VR in the first place. So although I do not recommend this lens to someone, it is a great lens. My only reason for not recommending it is because Nikon has come out with the same lens with the VR function, which can be handy. Not worth the money to get rid of the older 55-200mm JUST for the VR, but f you are thinking about getting one, I would recomment spending the extra few bucks. July 30, 2010
Value This is an amazingly sharp lens for the $. It is compact and I have not been able to break it yet. My copy is as sharp as my 70-200 at less than half the cost and weight. July 30, 2010
The ease of use, the great features, it brings subjects up close and personal. I love it. July 30, 2010
Decent lens for the money. Got this as part of a kit deal in 2009 with my D5000 + AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR. It is a good lightweight lens, takes decent telephoto shots, and requires less expensive 52mm filters. I tended to use my 18-55 more, and only used this on a few occassions before I stepped up to an AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II in 2012. That move was for the convenience of carrying a single lens and to avoid the peril of switching lenses while taking travel photos. If you need a telephoto lens to fill a gap while controlling your budget, you'll do well with this one. If you've not got a wide, the 18-200 will be more convenient & durable, at the cost of extra weight. The 18-200 also has zoom creep, while this one doesn't; there is some give and take to consider. Check out the pro reviews such as Ken Rockwell (my favourite), PhotographyLife, DPReview, and DCResource to get more in-depth info. January 4, 2014
Loved it My 1st Nikon lens I have got for my D5100. Loved it. Just don't pick up the camera by the lens as it has a plastic mount. February 25, 2012
Product is fair You get what you pay for - The lens is not the best quality (which is pretty obvious when you take it out of the box) and does not take the best distance shots, But it will work in a pinch. Up close it does a pretty good job. For your money you would be better served moving up to the VR lens though. June 13, 2011
Entry level Zoom Lens 5 star reviews are a tad ridiculous for this lens. It is a decent entry level lens and gets the job done for beginning photographers. Not knowing what a great lens is and then giving this product 5 stars is ignoring what a great lens is. For the money, it is a great lens. As a lens in general (ignoring price) it is what it is. A cheap lens. It isn't very sharp. You are much better served with an inexpensive fast prime lens to get your photo juices flowing. A low Aperture f/1.4-1.8 prime lens will give you much better results. You just need to learn to move your feet. August 17, 2014
The lens is not very sturdy. The autofocus broke after about 6 month. It was a fun lens to use, but never produce the crisp sharp images I expected from a Nikon lens. It seems that the real focus is a little behind the subject. When the autofocus failed I was unable to get the lens repaired, because I purchased the lens on-line. It seems that these lenses are not from Nikon.USA and the four year warrantee is not honored. August 1, 2010
Think I have a defective lens, will try warranty Lens functions well up to 105, then has a mind of it's own. My friends focuses up to 135. Neither will snap at 200. Mine catches while hand turning from 55 to 105. Another friend had a similiar problem and moved up to a higher value lense and now has a great lense. I purchased my lense for a three week motor driving vacation and very unhappy at Grand Canyon and similiar views. August 3, 2010
Overall, very poor. Very poor lens, not worth the $, very light suggesting there isn't much glass there. Buy something, anything, else. Used it once and bought another lens. It sits in a camera bag now, wouldn't sell it to someone else. July 30, 2010
Page: 2 3
<<prev
50 Questions | 63 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
50 Questions | 63 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
4 Answers

Is this a VR lens or regular. If not VR how big is the difference in VR lens and non-VR lens??

Jun 20, 2011 by
-2points
4out of 10found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful6
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Justin
Indiana
Location : 
Indiana
Age: 25-34
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 Answers

Answers

+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
Answer: 
Hi if your lens in not a VR you could just use the way we took pictures before VR just set the shutter speed at or higher than the lens length ( example 200 MM == 200 th of a second or higher this does work to help with shake but not in low light when you need a slow shutter .
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
May 8, 2013 by
by
howie
st pete fl.
Location : 
st pete fl.
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
how big? about 2-3 exposure values, that's how big it is, especially at longer focal lengths. it lets you shoot handheld in situations where it would just blur otherwise.
Jun 21, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
The one at the picture is not a VR-Lens. Follow this Link: http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Product/Camera-Lenses/2166/AF-S-DX-VR-Zoom-NIKKOR-55-200mm-f%252F4-5.6G-IF-ED.html
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
StephanR

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I do not see the "VR" switch on it, so I would say it is non-VR. I don't have any non-VR lens, so can not tell you the difference, but I would say, it is helpful to have in certain situations.
Jun 20, 2011 by
by
JohnF
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Vishal
Dehradun
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is camera settings that determine defocused backgrounds not additional filters.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There are quite a few, but the most affordable are the:
AF-S DX NIKKOR 35mm f/1.8G
AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
All are fixed focal length primes.

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its down to camera settings not additional lenses that make backgrounds out of focus
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

What accessories go with this?

Aug 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my question
COOLPIX Neoprene Red Case
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
MH-22 Quick Charger
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
SC-29 TTL Coiled Remote Cord
4.5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
1. CL-0815 Soft Lens Case
2. 52mm Circular Polarizer II
Aug 3, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for accesories for your lens:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

Is this lens fully compatible with D7000 ?

Mar 29, 2012 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I am planning on buying a D7000. I already have this lens being used with a D40.
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Anon,

Yes, this lens will work just fine on the D7000, as will the other non-S series Autofocus lenses.

Enjoy your D7000, I own one too and it's simply amazing.

Frank
May 29, 2012 by
by
Frank- Nikon Pro , 23 year Nikon shooter
DC
Location : 
DC
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

Is the Nikon D60 compatible with the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED lens?

Feb 19, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Feb 19, 2013 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, lens has a built in focus motor.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

Is this lense compatible with the nikon j1

Sep 26, 2014 by
by
Uriel
Anaheim, CA, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Uriel
Anaheim, CA, USA
Location : 
Anaheim, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes but you will need the FT-1 adaptor to use it.
Sep 26, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, with the FT-1 mount adapter.
Here is a list of compatible lenses:
http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/acil/accessories/mount_adapter_ft1/compatibility.htm
Sep 26, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

What Nikon DSLRs is this lens compatible with?

Mar 1, 2011 by
Has staff answer
-2points
1out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
AG
WA, US
Location : 
WA, US
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
5out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful5
Answer: 
This lense is designed to work on any of Nikons DX cameras. Which one are you working with?
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+24points
26out of 28found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful26unhelpful2
Answer: 
The 55-200 AF-S lens is compatible with all our DSLR cameras.
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

d40

Mar 31, 2014 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
AFS DX 55-200 is fully compatible with the D40

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you are asking if this will work with a D40 then yes it will.
Mar 31, 2014 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

Is this compatable with nikon d40X?

Nov 18, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 days ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
Nov 18, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED is compatible with the D40x. For more information on compatible lenses and which lens would work best with the D40x can be found here: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
Nov 18, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
 
2 Answers

It is compatible with the D5300?

Nov 13, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 week ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED is fully compatible with the D5300. Please check out the following link for more information on choosing lenses for your D5300: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an....
Nov 19, 2014 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is
Nov 13, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers