Loading

Key Features

Compact 3.8x zoom covers portrait to wide view (76 degrees at 18mm to 22 degrees 50 minutes at 70mm).

3 Nikon Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements plus aspheric element for low distortion and minimized chromatic aberration.

Internal Focusing (IF) for smoother operation and great balance.

Optimized DX lens design is compatible with every Nikon D series digital SLR cameras.

Exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) for high-speed, auto-focusing with accuracy and super-quiet operation.

M/A mode for instant switching from auto focus to manual Nikon D-Signal technology for enhanced flash and ambient exposure control.

AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED 3.9 5 59 59
Great glass for the price! Purchased as a kit lens with my D80...I'm pleasently suprised at the quality everytime I snap some shots. Good starter lens. July 30, 2010
Good all-go lens Got it with my initial D70, still use it on my D300 and like it's range and lightness. Price/quality ratio very good July 30, 2010
An great 1st Lens/general purpose lens Having & using this lens for several years now, I find this is a great general purpose lens. It is compatible with just about every Nikon D series Cdigital SLR. It takes Stunning close up's, it's Great for Portrait shots, Ladscape shots. it's Autofocus capability matches seamlessly and silently with he autofocus of the camera it's attached to & it's rather sturdy & not as easily subject to "lens creeping" as some other lenses i've had. July 30, 2010
Great all-around walk-around lens I would give this 5 stars if it weren't for the new 16-85, which replaced the 18-70 in my collection. I first got this one in the kit with my first digital SLR, the Nikon D70. The 18-70 took over in turn from an 28-105 in my film system. With the 18-70 I like its versatility, excellent performance, and compactness. One aspect that was better than newer lenses is that the 18-70 has 4.5 as max aperture at tele end, while later ones only have f5.6, and this makes a different in all but bright light. Also, the newer lenses have VR while 18-70 does not. There is some distortion and exposure fall off as to be expected with any zoom. I have used the 18-70 in all kinds of personal and professional applications in event photography and portraits, with success. I recommend the 16-85 as an alternative but the 18-70 is a great choice if if you don't want to spend the extra and don't need VR. July 30, 2010
Overall a good walk around lens One of Nikon's best value lenses for the DX format. I've done test shots against their high end lenses and in the mid range f-stops it is very sharp. On the extreme ends of the f-stops it loses some of the edge sharpness. But for about 90% of my shooting it is an excellent lens for the price. July 30, 2010
Best basic lens This lense is extremely sharp, and focusses like lightning. It's by far the best quality standard lens, without getting into the 2.8 line. If only they would at VR to this lens. The other VR standard zooms are not as sharp, and not as fast. July 30, 2010
It's my "Walk around" lens Finding a versatile lens at an affordable price now a days is a bit challenging. This lens has the ability to shoot in a small room or zoom out enough for street shooting and nature photography. Overall, I have been satisfied with the out come of my work while using this lens. Though it has picked up a little bit of dust behind the front element, it has never created any issues. I have recommended this lens to other users for every day use. July 30, 2010
Good daylight lens There are some distortions, nothing PTLens can't cope with. Just be sure to use thin filters (and only one filter), otherwise vignetting is there for sure... July 30, 2010
Fairly sharp, zoom eventually stuck I received this lens with my D200 about 5 years ago. The images I've made are fairly sharp, but never quite as sharp as I'd like. I enjoyed this zoom range as it fit nicely with the ultra-wide zoom and tele-zoom I also have. About a year ago the zoom was prone to sticking but still usable at all lengths. Then it finally got stuck at 22mm for good, just as the warranty expired. June 7, 2011
This lens needed repair twice, once for jammed zoom and once for autofocus going bad. Not a bad lens when it works, but would actually recommend the 16mm-85mm VR instead. April 15, 2011
Great lens when it works. I would have given this lens full marks 2 years ago. Despite taking good care of my camera gear, this lens's interface to the camera electronics now only functions intermittently and prevents the autofocus from working.It started playing up when it was < 4 years old. I expect better from Nikon. April 14, 2011
Mixed feelings This lens is small and compact. Shoots well and offers great images. It did however fail in the 18-35 range to auto focus. Upon sending it in for warranty repairs, I mist give the service guys props. They repaired it and returned it promptly. August 1, 2010
Good beginners lense. This is a good beginners kit lens for digital SLRs. However mine came apart inside after about 4 years and will no longer zoom. So I can't recommend it. July 30, 2010
dust on inside glass It's a good lens I guess, but after 5-6 years noticed dust spots on the images, which, after cleaning all cleanable lens surfaces and consulting experts, is caused by dust that somehow got inside the lens. i have been advised that it is not worth the money to open the lens and have it cleaned which means the lens is useless October 22, 2012
Nice lens till it broke down I got this lens with my d200 and after 25000 shoots it just broke down. The zoom and autofocus rings become stuck. I know the problem - there are some screws in the lens that become loose and causes this problem. I expected more than 25000 shoots from Nikon lens. But I could say only good about this lens. I like the wide 18mm and possibility to reach 70mm. Great for begginer. If it had f/2.8, it would be real treasure. Repair costs on street for my problem = 80$ August 24, 2011
Features are great -dont know about lasting after using my lense for 4 years I can no longer focas it it will not alow me to take pictures July 10, 2011
Great when it works! I love this lens and relied on it for a few years, shooting many real estate listings; however, last month, when I attempted to zoom out, it stuck. I finally managed to get it to move, but a few shoots later, the focus quit working and now it works intermittently. Today, on a shoot for a Realtor, it quit altogether. I am very disappointed, as I have used Nikon products beginning the with old S4 (yes, really, an S4, and I still have it) and have had wonderful results as a professional. One out of all the film and DSLR bodies and lenses I have owned is pretty good odds, but I hope Nikon is not sacrificing quality workmanship for bells and whistles. May 14, 2011
design flaw Between myself and my assistant, we own three of these lenses. All three are now not working, and a google check shows an ongoing problem. These lenses are prone to freezing up. The zoom function freezes. Apparently there is a screw that eventually comes loose. Estimated repairs on these are in the $90-$100 range. Of the three we own, two of them were very nice, sharp lenses. We really liked the sharp ones. The third one's focus was mediocre at best. I realize this was a kit lens, and I did buy mine used, but still, this shouldn't be happening. If you're thinking of buying this lens, check with Nikon and see if the design flaw has been fixed, and then only buy new, US products under warranty. Don't buy grey market. I'm a Nikon snob through and through (I own everything from point and shoot Nikons, to large format lenses from Nikon), but this lens was probably a mistake for them. October 18, 2010
good while it lasted — and I emphasize "while" The Nikkor 18-70 f/3.5 was a versatile lens, especially for outdoor normal daylight shooting, or indoors with a powerful flash. When I purchased my D3 camera I looked forward to using my Nikkor 18-70 f/3.5 on this camera to utilize its low-noise capability at high ASA settings, where f/3.5 would not be a hinderance. But sadly, for the second time in five years the gears jammed on the lens so now it is a 50-55mm lens. The first time this happened the lens was within Nikkor's 5-year warranty limit so it was soon fixed by Nikon, but the second time the gears malfunctioned the warranty had expired. Now the lens is just gathering dust in a drawer. July 30, 2010
decent optics, lousy construction This has always been an acceptably sharp lens, with a couple of caveats. Distortion at the wide angle settings is ok for general image making but really bad for anything requiring straight to be rendered as straight. It is a very complicated type of distortions that is never really eliminated in any kind of editing software. The most disappointing aspect of this lens is the construction of the zoom mechanism, which has never been smooth and worse yet, because of how the lens telescopes out during zooming, has a propensity for breaking resulting in the lens not being able to change focal length. My lens was repaired when it broke the first time and a year later, the same problem occurred rendering the lens inoperable. Verdict: Average at best and most surprising that Nikon would build a lens this way. July 30, 2010
Garbage I had this lens repaired after the warranty ran out, a bit over two years ago. Last week at a very important event, while zooming, the entire guts of the lens spewed out on to the street, I have been a loyal Nikon customer for more than 30 years. Nikon does not stand behind the warranty work and this lens does not have the quality of reliability that I expect from the brand. December 11, 2012
Jammed up This lens came with my D-70. It will only zoom in small restricted intervals. It is jammed between 30-40 mm, so I can't use the full range of zoom capability. Very frustrating and now can't accept any jobs unless I use my 70-300mm. I guess I will have to pay to have it repaired as I can't afford a new one. :( September 14, 2012
the manual adjustment for the zoom jams Myself and my brother-in-Law both had this lens and his began to jam when you twist the lens for zooming a year ago. My lens began jamming (meaning it wouldn't twist in and out from the 18mm-70mm zoom's) about 3 months ago. I sent mine in to Nikon in CA to have it repaired and saw the estimate which was more expensive then buying a new one on e-bay. i guess it just has crummy plastic slides between focal lengths bu apparently it's expensive to have it fixed. -Big Bird May 9, 2011
Worked for a while, now won't zoom...junk! This lens came with my D-70. It worked for a while. Now it will only zoom in small restricted intervals. It seems jammed between 30-40 mm, so I can't use the full range of zoom capability. I used to shoot thousands of photos a year, but since this lens jammed up, I hardly shoot any at all; and my kids are growing up too fast to be stuck without a working lens. I can't afford to go out and buy one that works. It seems that it should have worked for more than a year or two. :( April 14, 2011
Page: 2 3
<<prev
13 Questions | 17 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
13 Questions | 17 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

AF-S Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED - Lens not zooming smoothly - getting stuck. Occasionally it works. Turned on its side zooms smoothly

Aug 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
AF-S Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED - Lens not zooming smoothly - getting stuck. Occasionally it works. Turned on its side zooms smoothly
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I had a similar incident, this may be your problem as it is common.

There is a screw that has come loose inside the lens.

You may be able to repair it yourself, but be careful as my first one of these is in parts on my desk (I broke a cable putting it back together). If trying to fix it yourself you need to be at the 70mm end of the lens. Then you can remove the zoom rubber ring which will expose a screw. Remove the screw and the and the inner zoom cylinders will collapse exposing the loose screw. Tighten screw, the next part can get frustrating but stick with it, you need to drop the inner cylinder back to the camera so that you can put the screw back in. Then put the rubber zoom ring back on. Do a search on youtube for directions.

If it is stuck on the 18mm side I would take it to a shop to not end up in the same boat as me. To have any chance of the above working you MUST be on the 70mm side.
Sep 6, 2012 by
by
tinwistle
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Location : 
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
You will need to send your lens for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Is the 18-70 lens compatible with D3000, D3100, D5000, D5100?

Jul 5, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! All lenses that have "AF-S" are compatible with those Nikons!
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Camera dropped. Lens won't Auto-Focus. Can this be fixed?

Oct 26, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Long story short, my camera was dropped and now my 18-70mm lens won't auto-focus. When you try, all you hear is this weird clicking noise. The lens works fine though when manually focusing. Is this something that could be fixed if I took the lens to a camera shop? Or am I better off simply buying a new lens?
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It probably could be fixed but it will more than likely cost more to repair than what the lens is worth, might be better just to buy another and have done with it.
Oct 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the autofocus motor has to be replaced you are better off with another lens. You can send it to Nikon for evaluation but since you can get a used one for $150, I doubt it will cost less than that to repair it.
Oct 26, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

What could be causing the zoom to be locking up?

Sep 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is the 18-70 lens compatible with F90/F90x

Dec 4, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am not sure about the connectivity but at a guess optically, I would think not properly because it is a DX lens, designed for the smaller sensor of a DX camera. I believe that you would get a black band around the image, in the same way that you would if you attacked the lens to a D700, due to the 35mm film size.
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Focal Length Range for Nikon D100 and D70

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I've read several places that this lens only has a focal length range of 20mm to 70mm on these cameras. As this is a DX lens, why would the focal range be different for these cameras than say for a D50 or D90?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Jerry
WA (the State)
Location : 
WA (the State)
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is and always will be a 18-70 no matter what body you put it on, focal length cannot miraculously alter on different bodies.
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

What is the best and cheapest option for me to mount this lens on a Canon 60D?

Jan 10, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sell it and buy the equivalent Canon lens.
Jan 10, 2012 by
by
MichaelL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Will this lense work with the Nikon D5000?

Jul 23, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, full function.
Jul 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G compatible for D7000?

Oct 8, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
A Hui
Singapore
Location : 
Singapore
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Oct 8, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED IF AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens compatible with Nikon FM2?

Dec 5, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Is "Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED IF AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens" compatible with Nikon FM2? Can it be used on a film camera?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not really no as it would cause vignetting to start with and more importantly there is no way to control aperture.
Dec 6, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers