Loading
;

Key Features

Compact 3.8x zoom covers portrait to wide view (76 degrees at 18mm to 22 degrees 50 minutes at 70mm).

3 Nikon Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements plus aspheric element for low distortion and minimized chromatic aberration.

Internal Focusing (IF) for smoother operation and great balance.

Optimized DX lens design is compatible with every Nikon D series digital SLR cameras.

Exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) for high-speed, auto-focusing with accuracy and super-quiet operation.

M/A mode for instant switching from auto focus to manual Nikon D-Signal technology for enhanced flash and ambient exposure control.

AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED 3.9 5 59 59
Excellent DX Lens! Got this lens with a D70 several years ago. I have probably shot well over 10,000 exposures with it. I still use it as my "normal" lens most of the time - no matter which body I use. I am a retired pro and now just shoot for fun. And this lens certainly adds to the fun! October 5, 2012
Great universal lens. Fabulous pictures. I purchased this lens to replace the OEM lens that came with my D5000 DSLR, as the OEM was accidently broken. Even though it is not equipped with anti vibration technology (which has not ever been an issue), it takes fabulous pictures and would recommend it as a great universal lens.. April 30, 2011
Great lens! I purchased this lens for my new D60. The kit lens 18-55, didn't give me the view I wanted. With a film camera, I found that the 100mm lens was ideal for what I wanted in a picture. Unfortunately, to get this in a DX camera requires a 66 (70) mm lens. The closest I could come was the Nikkor 18-70mm. It is fantastic: quick focus, clear, precise pictures. Add to that light weight and a fairly compact size, and you have a truly wonderful lens that is a pleasure to use and can capture what you see! April 14, 2011
a great lens This 18-70mm lens was a kit lens came with my D70. Although, it is a 6MP DSLR, it has been producing many great pictures with this combo. Being a kit lens, it performed way above my expected quality. I found it is stable and I am still using it most the time. The shared picture was taken last year trip to France. April 14, 2011
It has always been is a reliable lens for me Bought new in 2005 with a D70. Use it on D70,D90 & D300S. Very happy with this lens ... whilst I appreciate the other users comments I havent any bad things to say about this lens. Certainly there are better lenses out there and I have some; but for general use I like it. April 11, 2011
Excellent Walk Around Lens! I use this on my D80 and I never change it, I use it as my walk-around lens. It gives me minimum to no distortion at 18mm and it's super sharp at 70mm. The colors are really bright and it's practically a light weight. If you're thinking about a unexpensive kit lens for general use, look no more! August 12, 2010
Excellent lens. Sharp ! This lens came with my D70s. I have used it on my D200 and D300, for landscapes and all around general photography. Quality lens for a kit lens. Very sharp and fast focusing. August 5, 2010
Excellent all-around lens This was the kit lens with my D70s. I now use it for my D300. It is the lens I use about 95% of the time. It is sharp as a tack and is fast enough for indoor photography. It can focus close enough to be used as a substitute for a macro lens. At extreme wide angles, there is some barrel distortion, but this can be corrected with editing software. I highly recommend this lens. August 4, 2010
Amazing kit lense Got this lense with my D200, I am very satisfied with quality of the photos and the build of this lense. Great photos in all ranges from 18 to 70 mm. August 3, 2010
Lens came with my D70s and I thought that it would spend most of the time in my bag. I was wrong! It is my on camera/bagged lens that I switch out for needs instead. Just a great all around lens. I have found it to be quiet and ergonomically perfect for my family and myself. Optics are what I have come to expect with all my Nikkor lenses. Great product! August 1, 2010
Do it all lens - well almost A classic style mid range zoom that I carry all the time on my D200. Matched with a f1.4 50mm prime practically all my requirements are catered for. The pair are light and fit well into my bag. Although there is no VR I manage perfectly well and the f3.5/4.5 maximum is almost a stop better than the f5.6 VR lenses giving me more effect in portraiture. This lens is heavy but that's no bad thing. It's an impressive piece of glass clearly up to Nikon's high standard of workmanship. July 31, 2010
The very best kit lens to date My very first DSLR was a D70 which came with the 18-70mm f3.5 zoom lens. That lens was never changed. This is one of the very best if not the best IMHO kit lens Nikon has supplied with one of their DSLRs. It has always produced excellent images and I use it all the time in my Nikons. The images are always very sharp and contrasty. The focal range is ideal for the type of shooting I do. I so love this lens, it goes with me everywhere. It's like a good old pair of shoes that always fit you perfectly. July 30, 2010
Great all-round lens. I have large prints hanging on my walls 60 x 90 cm, all taken with this lens and they look fantastic. The detail shows right to the corners, people often ask how do I get such detail, I just say, a steady hand and quality ED glass. July 30, 2010
Good overall lens for starters for DX camera users Good overall lens for starters for DX camera users, sharp lens July 30, 2010
Good lens This is without a doubt one of the best lenses Nikon has ever produced. Without any testing equipment I still have to say it is the best. July 30, 2010
The most useful base lens I've been shooting since before zoom lenses and I have used 18-70 Nikkor about 9 years. I find it to be the most used lens in my 7 lens arsenal. I routinely work with two bodies that have different focal length zooms or fixed lenses and about 3/4 of the time the 18-70 Nikkor is on one of the bodies. I've been most pleased with my images produced by the 18-70 Nikkor. July 30, 2010
Excellent for my purposes This lense has served me well.I have done several thousand images of kid at a club game time. The zoom ratio is perfect for the kids games venue. I have also used for aircraft pictures and aerial photos of other aircraft in flight. It has served well. I have been involved in photography since the 50's. July 30, 2010
An excellent previous kit lens No longer available, unfortunately, as a kit lens its image quality was unmatched within its zoom limitations. Fortunately, 28-105MM equivalent in DX mode is not so terribly limiting and the images at poster size prints, even with 6MP cameras, is superb.. July 30, 2010
GREAT Product Small and versatile lens. Keeping it open at 4.5 gives shallow enough dof and maintains sharpness. Fast and accurate focus. July 30, 2010
Excellent Lens This isn't you typical Kit Lens, it much more than that with excellent build and image quality. One of the Best Affordable lenses Nikon has made to date. I use mine as a walk around lens and to shoot video. July 30, 2010
Great lens This lens came as a package with the first DSLR we ever bought, the Nikon D70. We've bought 3 more Nikon DSLR's since then and are still using the same lens, along with the 18-200 VR. We are wedding photographers and the 18-70 is perfect for the constant changes that occur. It can be used easily for a single portrait and then quickly to take wide group shots. July 30, 2010
A new life This lens has been on my D70 since day one. Now the D70 is converted to IR and Life Pixel recommended the lens for IR and calibrated my D70 for it. Today, I am into my D7000 with the 28-300 and now anticipating full-frame awaiting my D800 to use with my 70-200mm. However, I am just as proud of my 18-70 IR images as the state of the art lenses. March 29, 2012
Good entry level DX Lens I got this 18-70mm lens in 2007 along with my D80. It has proven an excellent general purpose entry level lens. At the price point I think there is little wrong with it. It is a much better lens than the 18-105mm that was sold at the same time as a package with the D80. Fast to focus, and no noticeable distortion across the zoom range. The main weaknesses of this lens are that at f/3.5-4.5 it isn't very fast, and obviously when I upgraded to an FX sensor I had to pension the lens off. June 23, 2011
Very sharp, good range I have used this lens for over 6 years, at max f4.5 it still give a very nice boken. Image quality is very high. I also have a 17-55 2.8, it has a metal contruction, but the image quality is just slightly better. Weakness: the zoom ring is getting sticky due to plastic construction. April 15, 2011
Good starter lens, not too fast This is a nice starter lens. It is not very fast (as the f-numbers attest to), but the autofocus is fast and silent. I especially enjoy the manual focus override. It is very sensitive and it seems almost like the lens uses ESP to decide if it needs to autofocus or if I prefer to do the focusing April 14, 2011
Great all around lens with excellent flexibility! I purchased the D-70 camera and the 18-70 lens together back in February of 2005, and the lens has always been trouble-free as far as mechanics go. All features work flawlessly. However, I have developed a problem over the years that I can do nothing about. Dust has gotten into the lens itself on one of the inner elements. No idea how it got in, as I would have thought the lens was sealed. This dust gets a bit worse every year, and all of my images have spots on them where the dust particles reside. (See uploaded image) I figure the only way to fix it would be to send the lens in to Nikon for disassembly and cleaning. Anyone have any ideas? This internal dust contamination problem is the only reason for the 4 star rating, rather than 5 star. April 14, 2011
Good performance Solid build quality, very very sharp, I used to own a Tamron 90 macro, and this one is just as sharp, you can easily see that on comparing portraits! Useful range, and 4.5 @ 70mm is very nice to have. Simply a solid professional lens, I would not really pay attention to all the negative reviews saying it will break down. The one i use is 5 years old, and still going strong. If something happens then Nikon have the 18-105 lens ready. November 28, 2010
Great Starter Lens This is a great starter lens although it is a DX only lens; it came with my D200 camera and I was not sure I would use it as I have quite a number of lenses. It turns out to be a surprising good lens, not the fastest lens Nikon makes but excellent quality lens in outdoor light or with a flash. I use it as a general all around lens and like it for my grandkids birthday parties or special occasions; the zoom range seems to fit perfectly for these events. The lens seems to stay in place and not creep as some zoom lens tend to do. It balances well on my D200 and D300 is light weight small and easy to carry around or keep in your bag. As with most zooms there are some minor issues with both ends I see a bit of bit of barrel distortion at the wide end and a bit of wavy distortion at the other end noticeable mostly when you enlarge your prints. In summary a better lens than the price indicates. August 3, 2010
Great kit lens to get started... I've had this lens for over 4 years now and have enjoyed it's versatility and clarity. My only disappointment was it's tendency for the zoom mechanism to break (as mentioned by other reviews here). I've sent off for a fix once but after this second failure, it's time to retire it. August 1, 2010
great when combined with the Nikor 70-300vr After purchasing a Nikor 50-1.8D I wanted a lens that was reasonbly priced to bridge the gap from W/A to a medium tele. I liked the fact it had a metal mounting flange.After using it for various types of photography, I have found that the choice I made was the correct. I do as much in the camera as possible to eliminate as much as possible any post processing. Just like when I used film. July 30, 2010
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
13 Questions | 17 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
13 Questions | 17 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
3 Answers

AF-S Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED - Lens not zooming smoothly - getting stuck. Occasionally it works. Turned on its side zooms smoothly

Aug 21, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
AF-S Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED - Lens not zooming smoothly - getting stuck. Occasionally it works. Turned on its side zooms smoothly
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I had a similar incident, this may be your problem as it is common.

There is a screw that has come loose inside the lens.

You may be able to repair it yourself, but be careful as my first one of these is in parts on my desk (I broke a cable putting it back together). If trying to fix it yourself you need to be at the 70mm end of the lens. Then you can remove the zoom rubber ring which will expose a screw. Remove the screw and the and the inner zoom cylinders will collapse exposing the loose screw. Tighten screw, the next part can get frustrating but stick with it, you need to drop the inner cylinder back to the camera so that you can put the screw back in. Then put the rubber zoom ring back on. Do a search on youtube for directions.

If it is stuck on the 18mm side I would take it to a shop to not end up in the same boat as me. To have any chance of the above working you MUST be on the 70mm side.
Sep 6, 2012 by
by
tinwistle
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Location : 
Kelowna, BC, Canada
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
You will need to send your lens for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
You will need to send your camera for service in order to be evaluated by one of our technicians.
Title: How do I get my Nikon product serviced?
URL: http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bi...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Is the 18-70 lens compatible with D3000, D3100, D5000, D5100?

Jul 5, 2011 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes! All lenses that have "AF-S" are compatible with those Nikons!
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Jul 6, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Camera dropped. Lens won't Auto-Focus. Can this be fixed?

Oct 26, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Long story short, my camera was dropped and now my 18-70mm lens won't auto-focus. When you try, all you hear is this weird clicking noise. The lens works fine though when manually focusing. Is this something that could be fixed if I took the lens to a camera shop? Or am I better off simply buying a new lens?
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It probably could be fixed but it will more than likely cost more to repair than what the lens is worth, might be better just to buy another and have done with it.
Oct 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
If the autofocus motor has to be replaced you are better off with another lens. You can send it to Nikon for evaluation but since you can get a used one for $150, I doubt it will cost less than that to repair it.
Oct 26, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

What could be causing the zoom to be locking up?

Sep 15, 2011 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Sep 15, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is the 18-70 lens compatible with F90/F90x

Dec 4, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I am not sure about the connectivity but at a guess optically, I would think not properly because it is a DX lens, designed for the smaller sensor of a DX camera. I believe that you would get a black band around the image, in the same way that you would if you attacked the lens to a D700, due to the 35mm film size.
Dec 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Focal Length Range for Nikon D100 and D70

Dec 30, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I've read several places that this lens only has a focal length range of 20mm to 70mm on these cameras. As this is a DX lens, why would the focal range be different for these cameras than say for a D50 or D90?
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Jerry
WA (the State)
Location : 
WA (the State)
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is and always will be a 18-70 no matter what body you put it on, focal length cannot miraculously alter on different bodies.
Dec 30, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

What is the best and cheapest option for me to mount this lens on a Canon 60D?

Jan 10, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
Sell it and buy the equivalent Canon lens.
Jan 10, 2012 by
by
MichaelL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Will this lense work with the Nikon D5000?

Jul 23, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, full function.
Jul 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G compatible for D7000?

Oct 8, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
A Hui
Singapore
Location : 
Singapore
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Oct 8, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED IF AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens compatible with Nikon FM2?

Dec 5, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Is "Nikon 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED IF AF-S DX Nikkor Zoom Lens" compatible with Nikon FM2? Can it be used on a film camera?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Not really no as it would cause vignetting to start with and more importantly there is no way to control aperture.
Dec 6, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers