Loading

Fast, f/2.8 DX-format zoom lens delivering superb image quality.

This is the lens for both stunning sharpness and beautiful background blur (bokeh) with DX-format cameras. Its fine resolution and fast f/2.8 fixed aperture deliver exceptional photos and HD video—from close subjects all the way to infinity—to satisfy professionals on assignment as well as aspiring high-end photographers who value image quality. Its versatile standard zoom range of 17–55mm make it an ideal walk-around lens—you’ll keep it on your camera all the time.
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

All-in-one versatility

Ideal wide-angle to standard zoom range

Optimized for DX-format Nikon D-SLRs, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17–55mm f/2.8G IF-ED delivers exceptional performance across its versatile wide-angle to standard zoom range. At 17mm, the lens covers a wide angle of 79°, ideal for architecture, landscapes, cityscapes, travel and group shots; at 55mm, it offers an angle of view similar to our eyes, ideal for portrait work and everyday photography.

Stunning results in any light

Nikon’s first f/2.8 fixed aperture, 3.2x zoom

The AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17–55mm f/2.8D IF-ED’s ultra-fast, f/2.8 fixed aperture ensures stunning clarity, beautiful background blur (bokeh) and consistent exposure across its entire zoom range and opens the possiblity of shooting in a wider variety of lighting scenarios—without a flash. Its DX-optimized design makes for a smaller, lighter lens that achieves optimal quality from center-to edge-to-corner of the image. And advanced Nikon lens technologies help draw the full potential from any Nikon D-SLR camera.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED 4.6 5 80 80
this lens is like gold for my eye.... I drooled over this lens for years before I finally bit the bullet and slapped down the 13 hundred for it. Am I having buyers remorse? NO! This lens was and is so worth every single little penny spent. I toyed with the idea of getting a cheaper lens. I am SO glad I didn't!! This lens is like the all fabulous and dependable standard lens only a Million times better (at least a thousand bucks better)! My photos are sharper, brighter, more colorful, I think it even helps my clients look better! hAHa! If you are debating over this lens, get it! I put it on my d200 and it does not leave. I am a natural light photographer that does everything from babies in my "home studio" to the weddings. I absolutly LOVE it and highly recommend it. Now get off that fence and go freakin buy it! February 15, 2011
A pleasure to shoot, great look and feel. Contrary in belief to some, that this lens is too robust to be an everyday walk around mount, in my opinion, is false. Its perfect on my D90. How I use this lens to conform too comfort, is simple; I invert the hood when not in use and this creates a larger platform for my hand to balance its weight and length. I'm 6'1, with fairly large hands, so this works for me, but I'm sure not for all. Mounted on my D300, I find the combination a bit too cumbersome for hand-held shots. December 9, 2010
Most used lens in my bag at a fixed 2.8, this lens is great for low light and everyday applications. I find it to be most useful at its extreme ends. 17mm and 55mm are very useful lengths on a for a DX sensor. although there are times that i wish i had a wider focal length, i am much happier to buy another lens without the 55 zoom. great lens to bring on travel when space is limited. it can literally shoot an entire trip. It might not be the best lens Nikon has ever made, but what it was made for, it gets the job done…very well November 18, 2010
just one i have a 50 mm 1.4 70-200mm 2.8 and 17-55 mm 2.8 and the true that i use this lens most of the day for my work, weddings, is good for inside and outside, low light, fast...wide when there is not space were you can stand. good color, use with filter b+w 100% the best lens expensive but you get the best quality.. October 28, 2010
The best DX wide angle zoom I bought this lens a year ago finaly and use this on the D50 wich i own almost 5 years together with the 300MM F4 AF-S i have a perfect combination to do all kinds of phothography with high iq results. I use only Nikkors because the results come out with the same colour balance en contrasts. Yes its even worth my 6MP amateur camera because glass matters October 22, 2010
A Real Gem of a Lens! I love this lens! For general photography it's fast and sharp and has that magical Nikon quality. This lens will be regarded a classic very soon. The constant f2.8 aperture is fantastic and has the best bokeh of any Nikkor I've ever seen! You can't beat this lens in quality! September 24, 2010
Great General Purpose or Closeup Lens I have used this lens exclusively on a Nikon D300. This is a great combination. It works extremely well in lower light closeup situations. Mushrooms and very small plants are two examples of subjects. The color and clarity of the lens for these situations is as good as any. The other combination I use for this type of photography is a Nikkor 24-70mm on a D700. Honestly, in most instances, I can't tell any difference in photo quality. This is a very nice, rugged lens for landscape photography too. I lost a strap and my footing in a small creek canyon, dropping the camera and 17-55mm lens into the rocks. It broke the UV filter and put a small scratch into the lens barrel, but otherwise, the lens is fine and as good as it ever was. I highly recommend this lens for general purpose photography on a DX format camera. Distortion and chromatic aboration are non-existence and the bokeh is excellent. September 22, 2010
much better than a kit lens Over the past year I've been working freelance for local newspapers shooting high school sports and other odd jobs along the way. The money I've been making on my submissions has been set aside and I've been using it to upgrade my gear to better stuff. This is my latest acquisition and I couldn't be more pleased with it for my photojournalism purposes. Images captured at basketball games from near and above the goal are awesome, sharp, clear and with little noise in them. Missouri high school gyms are not well lit, so shooting at ISO 3200 and higher is a near must, but IQ is still very good for newsprint work. No regrets at all. Yes, it was an expensive purchase, but it will soon pay for itself with senior picture work and wedding jobs. LIKES: The construction is solid, but heavy - it's not a cheap kit lens. The mount is weather sealed and metal - no plastic. CONS: The rear focus ring is stiff - hopefully it will loosen with use. The lens extends when focused to the extreme short or long ends of it's range. August 8, 2010
Great for work on the road - travel photography A fantastic lens to take while traveling. Super functional. Gives you lots of options. Crisp, clean images. A true workhorse of a lens. Love it combined with my D700. August 5, 2010
Great general assignment lens My standard lens, perfect for most assignments. Used it for magazine covers, breaking news and interiors. The lens is built tough, made of all metal. Mine is banged a dented and still focuses/zooms smoothly. The only problem I have is the rubber focus ring has loosened and falls off the lens. August 4, 2010
17-55 One of the best Lenses I have ever used on D300. Just love the results I get with this "Tank".. August 3, 2010
Fast lens, very clear image I bought this lens about 3 weeks ago and I used it to shoot my kids in Washington DC and the images from this lens are very clear. I was in a couple of museums and the images were fantastic. I didn't need a flash at all. One less thing to carry around. I would highly recommend this lens. It is a bit heavy but for me a clear photo is worth it. August 3, 2010
Great for wedding. In a lot of wedding I took, I don't even need to change lens. Love it's fast speed especially useful when in church. August 3, 2010
It is a good lens for the money I like my 17-55mm, 2.8f. After playing with the lens for 6 months, I am still very fond of this lens. When comparing this lens to my 18-70mm, 18-200mm, and my 1.8f 50mm, this fast 17-55mm 2.8f can do many things that my other lenses cannot. As for the picture IQ concern (1/ in the ordinary situations; 2/ 8x12 enlagement photos or smaller; 3/ only allow few seconds to evaluate the photos) I found that almost all my photographer friends cannot tell the difference between 100 pictures made by different lenses (mentioned above) with the identical settings. For the money, this 17-55mm should be a tool for the serious professionals (not necessary for the ordinary enthusiast with a limited bank account). August 2, 2010
Good but not great lens The 17-55mm f/2.8G lens is clearly superior (in my tests) to existing, but older design, Nikkor wide angle lenses such as 20mm f/2.8D and 24mm f/2.8D. The edge and corner sharpness of the 17-55mm lens is markedly better than these wide-angle single-focal length lenses. At the longer end of the lens, optical quality is very good tho, in my tests, the 35mm f/2.0D and 50mm f/1.4D lenses are somewhat sharper (especially at the edges and corners) and somewhat more contrasty. Potential users of the 17-55 mm f/2.8G lens should be aware that it is a large and somewhat heavy lens. Still, overall, if I carry just one lens with me and I'm out on a shoot where weight is not an overriding consideration, I carry the 17-55mm f/2.8G lens. August 2, 2010
Good Lens But... The Center of the lens is very Sharp but the 17mm edge is horribly distorted, unworthy of Nikon top lens. August 1, 2010
Big, heavy, quick, quiet, sharp This fine lens has no equal for general reportage in which responsiveness in available light is the prime requirement. Exceptional sharpness throughout the range, quick and silent autofocus and the available-light power of the constant f/2.8 aperture make this a no-brainier as an all-around reportage lens. Since the release of the 16-85, its size and bulk mean that it is no longer my standard all-purpose lens for travel and casual use, but for live performance or indoor action, this is it. August 1, 2010
Excellent but heavy I use this lens for almost everything, but when i go on vacation it most likely will stay home, due to its weight and my weak shoulders. Otherwise, an excellent lens. August 1, 2010
Great lens... This is the lens I use the most. Excellent quality and very sharp. I use it on my D200 all the time. Great for shooting pictures of the granddaughters around the house in low light settings. July 31, 2010
Great Lens This is a great lens in every way, the quality is pure Nikon. If there is a downside, it's a bit heavy but I love it. July 31, 2010
A brilliant lens for Weddings and Portraiture I would not be without this lens. It is well made and the optics are are good as you will find anywhere. I have been able to get superb results in wedding and portraiture work. One of the striking features is the great catchlight results that can be achieved which is a common talking point with my clients. The lens is well worth the $ :) July 31, 2010
Great match I have the D300 and this lens is perfectly matched. Sharp pictures, fast lens in a zoom gives it great flexibility. July 30, 2010
My copy must be a lemon. Maybe my expection is too high for this lens. It has too much of the barrel distortion (from wide to telephoto) for my taste. It had been in the service by Nikon Canada 3 times. I mentioned about this distortion problem every time I brought my 17-55mm lens for service, and I got the same answer every time. IT IS NORMAL. Finally, I gave up (saving my time+gas+). Now I am using the old 50MM F1.4 AF on my D300 DSLR and happy with the pictures taken. I just want to take pictures and print them. I don't want to use photoshop to correct the barrel distortion and straighten vertical lines every pictures taken using this lens. This lens is now catching dust. Oh well. July 30, 2010
using this lens in Yellowstone NP I used this lens more than my Nikkor 28-200mm, because of its quickness. It was great for landscape shots, as well as our group pictures (15 of us!). The Universe placed the animals I took photos of, within shooting range of this 17-55mm, giving me some awesome images . I'm happy with the results, and moreso, with the lens itself. I'll keep renting it, and others from Calumet. July 30, 2010
Great Lens for running sports. I use this lens primarily for photographing running sports. These include high school cross country, indoor track and outdoor track, as well as local races. In these sports you don't need a long focal length lens because you can get close to the action. I use this lens with a D90. The lens is not heavy or bulky, so I can run around a cross country course with no problem. Cross country meets go on no matter what the weather. I have shot meets in full rain gear. When Nikon says the lens and camera are waterproof, they're not kidding. I have a UV filter and have gotten water droplets on the filter but could not any indication on the resulting picture. In Indoor Track I need the lens speed and high ISO capability of the D90. Before this lens I used direct flash. This not only disturbs the runners but results in very inconsistent photos. When I look back on those photos they look amateurish compared to the ones I'm taking now. July 30, 2010
Workhorse lens I recently converted from another camera brand - won't say which - because I liked the quality of images I was seeing from Nikon. As a reporter at a newspaper, I work closely with our photography staff who use Nikon cameras and lenses. I thought I'd give it a try. The experts suggested I begin with a versatile lens like the 17-55, and boy am I happy I listened. This camera does everything I ask of it. It's great for wide-angle shots I often am required to get when I'm on a scene and photographers aren't available. It works just as well for close-ups. The lens provides sharp photos of friends and family, and having an aperture that opens to 2.8 allows it to work great in low-light situations. I have no complaints about this lens. Image stabilization, which it doesn't have, isn't necessary with this lens in most situations. I highly recommend this lens. July 30, 2010
I love this lens This lens is a perfect equipment for DX format. You never disappoint when you use it. However, I look forward to see the VR system in this lens. Nikon.. i love u ^^ July 30, 2010
Usually the first lens I grab This is a great lens, and is usually the first one out of the bag. However it has a definite "sweet spot" you'll need to be aware of. At settings below f5.6, expect some fuzziness in your images. The sharpest pics come from a setting of f8 and higher. It is a fast lens but it will really test your camera's auto-focus feature shooting below f5.6. Knowing that, I keep an old 50mm f1.4 lens handy in the bag I'll switch to when the situation allows. July 30, 2010
This lens is very soft on the edges This lens is expensive and I have to say it is not worth it. The edges on right and left are very soft and when shooting large groups it is very disappointing. The overall sharpness is OK but not great compared to some of my other lenses. July 30, 2010
Nice tank The lens has high resolution, great color rendition and is built like a tank. I have inadvertently dropped it a couple of times on concrete, with no ill effect beyond scratches - no decentering, no broken focusing mechanism. Great locking lens hood that both protects the front element and blocks extraneous light. The rubber focus and zoom grips do tend to come off in hot climates, which is fairly annoying. Could stand to have just a few extra millimeters on the long end (personal preference). July 30, 2010
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
19 Questions | 25 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
19 Questions | 25 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

diference between 17~35 and 17~55 f 2,8

May 9, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I'm a serious passion, hobbyist and I'd like to buy one new lens, but could you explain the main difference between the 17~35 f2,8 and 17~55 f2,8?
which one is the better for my use, I've a D7000 and D90, and I like to photograph inside events, portraits and landscape.
I appreciate if you can answer it for me, thank you too much
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Marcelo
Brazil
Location : 
Brazil
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 17-55 G lens is designed exclusively for DX format cameras like your D7000 and D90. If you plan to move up to FX Full Frame like the D3 and above and expect to use this lens, your going to lose sensor compatibility. However, this lens is going to give you the maximum compatibility with your cameras now because it's designed for the DX sensor in your cameras. It's also slightly better glass than the 17-35 D and in my professional opinion, handles metering and exposure better communicating with the cameras systems.

The 17-35 D lens is also excellent glass, has an aperture ring on the lens and can be used for DX and FX cameras. On DX cameras, your image will be cropped, meaning what you see in the viewfinder will be cropped so your final photo will slightly be trimmed down from the corners.

If your not going to move to a $2500+ camera, go with the 17-55 G as its made specifically for the cameras you have. If you are moving in the near future, go with the 17-35mm D, Although I would advise you to consider other FX full frame G lenses because they do such a better job interacting with the cameras software producing cleaner images that require less post-shooting processing.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
17-55 has a longer focal length range, that is, from a wide lens to a moderate middle-range lens. the difference is that the 17-55 is a DX lens which means it won't work on full-frame bodies (d700 and up), but they will work just fine on DX bodies (d7000 and d90 are DX, so it's good for them). however, for portrait and event work you'll still need a longer focal length lens, something above 90mm.
May 9, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with an fx model camera...d700 and d3s

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, but it is designed to work in "crop mode" only. This means less megapixels will be used and there will be an effective focal length multiplier of 1.5x. If you wish to use the full-frame on these cameras, then you must override the auto-DX cropping in the menu. After you do you will see vignetting on the images at wide angles (below ~24mm) because this lens is designed for an DX body.

Instead, Nikon would recommend you purchase the 24-70mm f/2.8G for this sort of camera. I believe it is only MSRP a couple of hundred dollars more, so, for the price of this lens, is a reasonable upgrade with some bulk.

If you are searching for a wide angle lens for an FX body, the recommended lenses are the 16-35mm f/4G, 17-35mm f/2.8D, and the 14-24mm f/2.8G.
Jan 8, 2012 by
by
tychay
San Francisco, CA, USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can, however, it will cause vignetting in FX but you can switch to DX mode, at reduced mp, and use it.
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

would this be an appropriate lens for a Nikon d5000?

Jan 7, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Short answer: Yes.

Long Answer: Nikon DX lenses are optimized for use for APS-C digital Nikon bodies (Nikons except for the D3, D3S, D3X, D4, and D700). In particular, this lens is equivalent to the 24-70mm f/2.8G on the FX bodies. This means that this lens is probably best used on a Nikon D5000(series) or D7000(series) in documentary style wedding photography, personal on-site news photography, etc. The large aperture and normal range is good for anything from group shots (wide angle) to portraiture.
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
tychay
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can you use a teleconverter with the 17-55mm f/2.8 lens

Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Mike
West Seneca, NY
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Mike
West Seneca, NY
Location : 
West Seneca, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
No, teleconvertoers cannot be used with this lens, they will not fit and most likely cause damage if you do try and fit one on.
Feb 3, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, but it has to be the AF-S series. They are the TC-20E II, the TC-17E II and the TC-14E II. They are expensive, but the only ones that will work.
Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Upchucked
Bluffton, SC, USA
Location : 
Bluffton, SC, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can i use this lens with D60 camera?

Oct 18, 2012 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Sunny
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully functional on the D60.

For more information on lenses compatible with the D60 please see http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans....
Oct 18, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, full function.
Oct 18, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

I own D60 with AF-DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 G VR . Can I get better picture quality if I upgrade to 17-55 mm lens?

Nov 1, 2012 by
by
Flying bird
Orange County, ca
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Flying bird
Orange County, ca
Location : 
Orange County, ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Firstly the 17-55 is not a prime lens, lenses like the 50, 85 and 105mm are prime lenses.
Now whether you are going round get better images with the 17-55 is subjective as there are a lot of other things to consider, beings as it is a constant 2.8 aperture lens it will always have an advantage over the 18-55 as you can drop the f stop down and so achieve faster shutter speeds thus you will then get less blur in your images so in that sense it will be better.
If you are thinking of buying one I would suggest renting one for a week so you can compare results yourself.
Nov 2, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hello Flying bird - Pictures with 17-55mm f/2.8 will definitely be better compared to 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 BUT keep in mind, the picture quality also depends on the Camera's Dynamic Range. Though 17-55mm f/2.8 is a prime lens, it is for DX format cameras. If you upgrade your body to FX, you may notice vignetting at the edges. 17-55mm f/2.8 definitely is a good lens if you are doing landscape photography. The other lens to consider is 24-70mm f/2.8, which is a prime FX lens & works on DX format too! This way you don't have to worry if you upgrade your body to FX! Hope this helps.
Nov 1, 2012 by
by
AnilU
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

can i use with d700

Dec 15, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the lens can be used on the D700 but I probably wouldn't bother to use it. The D700 has a DX mode but images go do down to 5.1mp because not all the sensor is being used.
Dec 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens for D3000?

Sep 20, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it has a built in focus motor.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens to D300s?

Nov 22, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the D300s is a DX format camera.
Nov 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Does a crop factor apply to the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens?

Dec 27, 2012 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
After reading Nikon's description of the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens, i concluded that a crop factor would not apply to this lens. Designed, as stated, exclusively for Nikon's DX format, one of the features Nikon added to the lens was the capability to project a smaller image circle, which, I reasoned, would be of a size appropriate to the smaller image sensors of DX bodies and the image then would not be cropped--or otherwise why do it? --Hang on, I'm almost there-- Therefore a crop factor/multiplier of 1.5 to determine the effective zoom range when the lens is mounted on a DX body is not necessary, e.g., on a DX body, the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8, designed with the DX sensor as its target hardware, does, in fact, have a zoom range, as stated on its barrel, of 17-55mm.

Then, as I read some of the comments at the Reviews tab, I saw people referring to the zoom range of this lens on a DX body as 25.5-82.5mm. And I was looking at that old crop factor again.

Are some reviewers experiencing crop factor confusion or are those reviewers right to apply a 1.5 crop factor to the zoom range? Or, am I correct in thinking that no crop factor is necessary for the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens--that what you see on the barrel of this lens is what you get?

Thank you.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
wild man
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Crop factor still applies.
Dec 27, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers