Loading

Fast, f/2.8 DX-format zoom lens delivering superb image quality.

This is the lens for both stunning sharpness and beautiful background blur (bokeh) with DX-format cameras. Its fine resolution and fast f/2.8 fixed aperture deliver exceptional photos and HD video—from close subjects all the way to infinity—to satisfy professionals on assignment as well as aspiring high-end photographers who value image quality. Its versatile standard zoom range of 17–55mm make it an ideal walk-around lens—you’ll keep it on your camera all the time.
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

All-in-one versatility

Ideal wide-angle to standard zoom range

Optimized for DX-format Nikon D-SLRs, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17–55mm f/2.8G IF-ED delivers exceptional performance across its versatile wide-angle to standard zoom range. At 17mm, the lens covers a wide angle of 79°, ideal for architecture, landscapes, cityscapes, travel and group shots; at 55mm, it offers an angle of view similar to our eyes, ideal for portrait work and everyday photography.

Stunning results in any light

Nikon’s first f/2.8 fixed aperture, 3.2x zoom

The AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17–55mm f/2.8D IF-ED’s ultra-fast, f/2.8 fixed aperture ensures stunning clarity, beautiful background blur (bokeh) and consistent exposure across its entire zoom range and opens the possiblity of shooting in a wider variety of lighting scenarios—without a flash. Its DX-optimized design makes for a smaller, lighter lens that achieves optimal quality from center-to edge-to-corner of the image. And advanced Nikon lens technologies help draw the full potential from any Nikon D-SLR camera.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED 4.6 5 79 79
Somewhat happy with refurbished lens I just received my refurbished 17-55. I was surprised that it did not come in a Nikon box. It was packed inside a cardboard box surround by foam. It was well pack but I was surprised it was not in a Nikon branded box. The lens seems to be in fine working order. Front and back glass are clean and no dust. Body is also clean and in good shape. The parts that disappointed me were the caps and hood. The lens cap has obvious scratches and the rear cap has a "S" inscribed on it in silver Sharpie. The hood is also scratched up. I guess that is what you get with a refurbished product hence the three star rating. June 4, 2013
Versatile and Fast I've used my Nikkor 17-55 lens during the past five years for everything from shooting portraits and sports scenes to photographing the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel. I don't mind the extra weight because the photos I get with it are stunning -- time and time again, particularly in low light situations. I used it first on my D80 and now use it exclusively on my D90. With a lens this good I don't feel the need to upgrade my camera -- I don't think I could ever get any better shots. Bottom line -- this is Nikon's best DX format lens and well worth the few extra ounces of weight. September 8, 2012
Excellent Close Encounter Walk Around Lens I got this lens over 6 months ago and have been extremely happy with it. I can see why everyone has been telling me that Nikon has the best “glass” on the market. Because this is a DX lens (I imagine replaced by the 24-70mm for FX) it works great on those lower priced bodies. This is the way to go for a great wide angle perspective. I love it for walking around in close environments. I have been able to get all the shots I need, even at night. March 17, 2012
Worth every penny if not more. I've always been uptight about the quality of my photos. No noise, nice color, everything. But I've also never wanted to save more than 600 dollars for a lens. People would tell me that the lenses over 1000 weren't REALLY worth it. That's not the case. I finally buckled down and saved enough to get one of these bad boys. It's also why I'm sticking with the high end DX cameras for awhile longer. Don't bother buying a prime, a wide angle, or another standard zoom. I have 12 lenses and the only time I use them is when my brother uses it. Pros: 2.8 aperture through the entire focal range for fast shutter speed and freezing motion extremely study build smooth turning focus and zoom ring (best i've seen) autofocus is faster than even my speed demon 35mm 1.8 (less zoom the lens has the faster the focusing usually is) Cons: Extremely heavy. My D90, Battery grip, and the lens feels about 15 pounds (a complete guess, but it's heavy) Cost, even being worth the price, it still took me awhile to save enough for it. January 9, 2012
Finest lens currently made by Nikon I put myself on several waiting lists before finally securing this fine lens. I already owned the Nikkor 24-120 f/3.5-5.6 G AF-S VR lens, and I loved the VR. So, it took me awhile to switch over....however, the color and sharpness of the 17-55mm surpasses all of the Nikkor lenses that I own (and I own quite a few!). The only downsides to this lens is lack of VR (not a big deal with the newer cameras) and the fact that it is a DX lens. This lens is the main reason I have not gone to a FF camera. November 16, 2011
Super love the lens It's fast, sharp, silent. Been using this lens for about 2+years now and the most used of my 6 Nikon lenses. November 6, 2011
Outstanding Lens The lens is great for portrait and in low light condition. I'm using it on DX camera bodies, D90 & D7000. I also have the 24-70mm f2.8, an the quality pictures that I have taken so far equal to the 24-70mm, but built for DX body. Super sharp! I would recommend this lens for DX users out there, look no further. This will be my all around lens. I used to use prime lens (35mm f1.8 or 50mm f1.4), now this lens will be on my camera and use the primes for backup in my bag. November 1, 2011
A Masterpiece An excellent lens in performance. Worth in every dollar spent on this lens. Sharp in focussing, shades and tone well balanced. Low light photography at its best. October 22, 2011
Don't think. Buy. I have had this lens for about 3 weeks now. I am using it excusively on a Nikon D7000. Prior to acquiring this lens I was using Nikon's "kit" 18-105 zoom, which is actually a pretty good lens, and under the right circumstances can take tack sharp photos. I originally was looking for a good prime lens, but during my research, this lens kept popping up. At first I was quite put off by the price, but I kept reading reviews that gave stellar ratings. I am a traveler who often finds himself in extremely humid, or extremely hot and dry (jungles or deserts) conditions that have a single common thread. They're all very dirty. I needed a lens that was tough (this one is built like a tank) and that had seals (this one does), and would allow me to take as few flash photos as possible (this one is rated at F2.8 across its zoom range...need I say more?). This lens is known as the "photo journalist's lens". It has earned that name by being versatile and tough. As soon as the lens arrived, I started taking photos and checking them with my editing software. My first photo was of the cat I share a house with. I zoomed in with the editing software. Every single hair was clearly visible. OK. So far, so good. I went into the back yard and took a few shots of flowers. Flowers, especially deep red roses, can be very challenging. The colors were excellent, and the edges of the petals extremely well-defined with no CA that I could see. Bokeh was great, and very natural looking, too. Depth of field is easily controlled as the lens is zoomed because of the Fstop does not change because of the zoom, as in some other zoom lenses. A few days later I found myself at a car/motorcycle show. Lot's of shiny paint and bright chrome. Shots taken there were incredibly crisp, with no discernible ghosting or comma (ok, ok, I did avoid shooting right into lights, but the chrome could have caused problems). I posted some of the shots to a social media site which usually cuts the resoluton of photos, and my photographer friends there immediateliy commented on how sharp the pictures were. Though the lense does not have VR, it really doesn't need it. VR is a mechanism that allows you to take pictures at much lower shutter speeds or smaller F-stops than you normally could. Since this lens is already an F2.8 lens across its zoom range, there's not much VR could do for you. Like any lens made by anyone, this lens has its sweet spots. Like any lens made by anyone, this lens also has some areas where the pictures might not come out as well as hoped. A good photographer will learn the lens and use it in its sweet spots, which are very wide. Some have complained that this lens is heavy. Well, compared to some of the plastic lenses in production, it IS heavy. However, quality equipment is made with quality materials. Brass and steel, and good glass has weight. On my D7000 this lens is well-balanced. Add a battery grip and it's even better. I have carried the camera/lens set up all day with no problem, but for those complaining about weight, adjust your neck strap, or purchase a harness. The lens focuses internally so nothing moves when you focus. The zoom does move the front element in and out perhaps 3/4 of an inch, but the lens hood is connected to the body of the lens, so it does not move with the zoom, as on some lenses. This is an added design plus, but it makes for an extremely large and deep lens hood. Many photographers leave their lens hood on to protect the lens against bumps. On some lenses the hood is connected to the front bezel. A bump on a lens like that, even with a lens hood, can damage the internal mechanisms. On a lens like this one, where the hood is connected to the body, damage is much less likely. Of course I don't need to suggest putting a clear or UV filter on the lens to protect the front element from dirt and scratches. A filter is much cheaper to replace than a front element. The filter threads, by the way, are plastic. This is not just a cost-saving design element, but actually pretty smart on Nikon's part. Bump metal filter threads too hard and then dent, making getting the filter off almost impossible. Bump plastic filter threads and they will often spring back, but can also be worked with a little to get the filter off. I only have one small complaint. The focus and zoom rings are a bit narrow for me, and placed in such a way that they don't fall easily under the fingers. and one ring is very close to the camera body when the lens is mounted. The zoom ring is pretty stiff, but I believe that's on purpose, as the elements in the zoom mecahnism are quite heavy, and would cause zoom creep if the zoom mechanism was less stiff. Not a huge deal, but takes some getting used to. The one statement I can make about this lens is that I have four Nikkor lenses, but of the four, this lens rarely comes off my camera body. It's a versatile and robust lens for most photographic situations. It does not suffer fools, however. You will need to spend time learning its quirks, but doing so will be time well-spent, and you will find yourself really falling in love with this thing. Don't think. Buy. You won't be sorry. October 13, 2011
Average performance Traded up to this lens from nikkor 18-200 dx on the basis of third party reviews promising razor sharp resolution, at the expense of more weight and less range. My conclusion: unless my particular unit needs calibration of some kind, it is not significantly sharper than the lens it replaced , at half the price. Quality justifies the pricetag, and weight is not unreasonable. September 22, 2011
Ones you put this lens in a camera you will not want to change! August 4, 2011
my every-day lens I've used over ten Nikkor lenses, this is the one I always have on my D7000 and F5. It is solid in performance, provides excellent sharpness and no distortion. June 9, 2011
Suberb wide angle zoom For nature, portraits, and travel photography the 17-55 zoom provides moderate wide angle capture and zooms to an 82mm tele on my D300....high resolution and excellent color rendition The f2.8 maximum apature gives me great available light advantages. Overall, it is the best wide angle zoom I have ever used. April 20, 2011
My standard lens We originally purchased this lens in 2007 to use for a trip to Italy believing it would work well for shots in the cities. It did this very well. Since then it has become our standard lens on the camera. While not as fast as our 50mm f/1.4, it has proven so versatile that the drop to f/2.8 is an excellent trade-off for us. The resulting photos are sharp and the lens weight and size balances well with our D200 body. This is an excellent lens for DX cameras. April 20, 2011
Professional Workhorse Pros: super sharp, good range for DX (35mm equivalent to 25.5-82.5mm), pro build, fast silent focus, close minimum focus distance, rubber seal against dust and moisture, nice hood lock & no exposed extending barrel (hood is fixed with outer barrel, hiding the inner barrel which extends a little). Cons: no VR, stiff zoom ring, mild light fallof (at 2.8) & distortion at 17mm. Rubber grips for zoom and focus loosen after couple of years. April 20, 2011
Solid, professional, not for everybody Excellent quality, when taking picture close to 17mm or 55mm the focus is not clear all the time and need to check the focus. If D300 used by point and shoot person, with the 17-55mm, most often you get not perfectly sharp image. Strong Robust, construction, Feel good quality. Heavy to bring on a Ski slope... IF the 16-85mm has been available when I bought the lense, I would probably go for that one as a walkaround lense. Louis April 17, 2011
Great all around DX lens fast zoom with fast focus. Bokeh isn't as creamy as some of the longer lenses but will do portrait just fine. Excellent contrast even @ F/2.8. Construction is typical nikon pro lenses - like a tank. Zoom and focus rings are both buttery smooth. Had this lens on D50, D70 and D300, all produce excellent colour and sharpness. But on the D300, with a SB800, the rig does get bit heavy to carry around for the day. April 16, 2011
It's a "do all" lens. I bought this lens for mostly doing weddings and have not been disappointed in the least. I take 75% of my shots with it and the rest with my 80-200 2,8 lens. I shoot with a D200 and the combination is a real joy to work with. All I need now is a 50mm 1.4 and I'll be all set. I also enjoy taking landscapes and the close-ups are exceptional. The 17-55 is a great lens to have and recommend it for anyone who can afford it. April 15, 2011
Bokeh is the best I picked up this lens from my local shop along with a Nikon D7000 to use for architecture shots and portraiture. It's got the best bokeh I've seen in a DX lens. I stopped shooting still when my clients hired me for more video work, and now that I have been picking up more still work I picked a camera that could do fantastic stills and a little bit of video on the side. The 17-55 keeps it's bokeh on the video settings and gives great image quality for video with completely washed out backgrounds when set at anything lower than f4. April 15, 2011
VERY GOOD A complete zoom lens to use for panorama. Very good quality wide angle April 15, 2011
Excellent lens though expensive Very good lens in all situations and all appertures. Rather heavy and a bit too expensive. April 15, 2011
Serious lens for the serious photographer I have find on problem with this lens, do I like Nikon lens, yes.....why, they work and produce great quality pictures and let you concentrate on getting the shot. April 14, 2011
Worth the weight and cost I love this lens. It's built like a tank, it's very sharp and the colors are saturated. You get what you pay for. But shop carefully. I tried out 3 samples - two were great and one was poor. April 14, 2011
Excellent quality and features This lens is my all-time favorite. The wide angle to tele zoom range is perfect for 90% of my field of photography. The lens is tack sharp, and the f/2.8 stop throughout the zoom range is perfect. Excellent result, I cannot see any flaws in my pictures, the resolution is fantastic. Really great lens. April 14, 2011
17-55mm f2.8 There is little better that can be said of this lens, period! It is flawless. Not once have I questioned about purchasing it or using it. It is so versatile and the landscapes are superb. If there is a better lens, expect to pay a lot more for a small benefit that might not even be noticed. April 14, 2011
The Bomb Super-sharp, built like a tank, great color rendition. Exactly the sort of design and build quality that made Nikon lenses famous. And a really good bayonet-style lens hood. April 14, 2011
I love this lens Excellent, reliable, capable, excellent build quality, sharp, great color. What else could I want from a lens? April 5, 2011
A truly BRILLIANT ALL-ROUND performer. I have been using this exceptional lens on my D200 since January 2007. I find it to be absolutely superb right across the board. Yes it does distort a little at 17mm, but this can be corrected to a lesser or greater degree with a little re-positioning of my shooting angle. The use of ED elements makes this lens exceptionally sharp, especially while engaged in portrait or landscape work which I undertake most of the time. While being used with a polarizing filter, it renders exceptional quality images both in colour and black & white which is essential during the Summer months when the Sun is high in the sky. The build quality of the 17-55mm is also without equal and the weight of this "Trusty Steed" actually improves it's overall performance dramatically. No fear of any bumps and bashes doing irreparable damage to this baby. It just goes on and on turning out superb results every time and truly 'delivering the goods'. this is a 'Go Any Where' lens that used on my D200 in combination with a good camera holdall has become a friend for life and I am truly happy with it because there is NO photographic situation that I CANNOT handle. As for the rubber grip ring issue, this can be resolved with a good quality waterproof epoxy resin that once applied will re-seat the rubber ring tightly around the lens barrell and allow you to continue using the lens, slip free in ANY situation in ALL climates and temperatures. This is a very minor issue that is very easily resolved. I love this lens totally, and on my D200 body is where it stays....PERMANENTLY !!! April 3, 2011
My favorite lens not much to say I have had this lens for several years Moved from my D-200 to the D300s and the D2X It just works If you need an all around lens this is it April 2, 2011
this lens is like gold for my eye.... I drooled over this lens for years before I finally bit the bullet and slapped down the 13 hundred for it. Am I having buyers remorse? NO! This lens was and is so worth every single little penny spent. I toyed with the idea of getting a cheaper lens. I am SO glad I didn't!! This lens is like the all fabulous and dependable standard lens only a Million times better (at least a thousand bucks better)! My photos are sharper, brighter, more colorful, I think it even helps my clients look better! hAHa! If you are debating over this lens, get it! I put it on my d200 and it does not leave. I am a natural light photographer that does everything from babies in my "home studio" to the weddings. I absolutly LOVE it and highly recommend it. Now get off that fence and go freakin buy it! February 15, 2011
Page:2 3 4
<<prev | next>>
15 Questions | 21 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
15 Questions | 21 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with an fx model camera...d700 and d3s

Jul 14, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, but it is designed to work in "crop mode" only. This means less megapixels will be used and there will be an effective focal length multiplier of 1.5x. If you wish to use the full-frame on these cameras, then you must override the auto-DX cropping in the menu. After you do you will see vignetting on the images at wide angles (below ~24mm) because this lens is designed for an DX body.

Instead, Nikon would recommend you purchase the 24-70mm f/2.8G for this sort of camera. I believe it is only MSRP a couple of hundred dollars more, so, for the price of this lens, is a reasonable upgrade with some bulk.

If you are searching for a wide angle lens for an FX body, the recommended lenses are the 16-35mm f/4G, 17-35mm f/2.8D, and the 14-24mm f/2.8G.
Jan 8, 2012 by
by
tychay
San Francisco, CA, USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can, however, it will cause vignetting in FX but you can switch to DX mode, at reduced mp, and use it.
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

would this be an appropriate lens for a Nikon d5000?

Jan 7, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Short answer: Yes.

Long Answer: Nikon DX lenses are optimized for use for APS-C digital Nikon bodies (Nikons except for the D3, D3S, D3X, D4, and D700). In particular, this lens is equivalent to the 24-70mm f/2.8G on the FX bodies. This means that this lens is probably best used on a Nikon D5000(series) or D7000(series) in documentary style wedding photography, personal on-site news photography, etc. The large aperture and normal range is good for anything from group shots (wide angle) to portraiture.
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
tychay
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can you use a teleconverter with the 17-55mm f/2.8 lens

Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Mike
West Seneca, NY
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Mike
West Seneca, NY
Location : 
West Seneca, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, teleconvertoers cannot be used with this lens, they will not fit and most likely cause damage if you do try and fit one on.
Feb 3, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, but it has to be the AF-S series. They are the TC-20E II, the TC-17E II and the TC-14E II. They are expensive, but the only ones that will work.
Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Upchucked
Bluffton, SC, USA
Location : 
Bluffton, SC, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can i use this lens with D60 camera?

Oct 18, 2012 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Sunny
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully functional on the D60.

For more information on lenses compatible with the D60 please see http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans....
Oct 18, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, full function.
Oct 18, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

I own D60 with AF-DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 G VR . Can I get better picture quality if I upgrade to 17-55 mm lens?

Nov 1, 2012 by
by
Flying bird
Orange County, ca
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Flying bird
Orange County, ca
Location : 
Orange County, ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Firstly the 17-55 is not a prime lens, lenses like the 50, 85 and 105mm are prime lenses.
Now whether you are going round get better images with the 17-55 is subjective as there are a lot of other things to consider, beings as it is a constant 2.8 aperture lens it will always have an advantage over the 18-55 as you can drop the f stop down and so achieve faster shutter speeds thus you will then get less blur in your images so in that sense it will be better.
If you are thinking of buying one I would suggest renting one for a week so you can compare results yourself.
Nov 2, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hello Flying bird - Pictures with 17-55mm f/2.8 will definitely be better compared to 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 BUT keep in mind, the picture quality also depends on the Camera's Dynamic Range. Though 17-55mm f/2.8 is a prime lens, it is for DX format cameras. If you upgrade your body to FX, you may notice vignetting at the edges. 17-55mm f/2.8 definitely is a good lens if you are doing landscape photography. The other lens to consider is 24-70mm f/2.8, which is a prime FX lens & works on DX format too! This way you don't have to worry if you upgrade your body to FX! Hope this helps.
Nov 1, 2012 by
by
AnilU
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

diference between 17~35 and 17~55 f 2,8

May 9, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I'm a serious passion, hobbyist and I'd like to buy one new lens, but could you explain the main difference between the 17~35 f2,8 and 17~55 f2,8?
which one is the better for my use, I've a D7000 and D90, and I like to photograph inside events, portraits and landscape.
I appreciate if you can answer it for me, thank you too much
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Marcelo
Brazil
Location : 
Brazil
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 17-55 G lens is designed exclusively for DX format cameras like your D7000 and D90. If you plan to move up to FX Full Frame like the D3 and above and expect to use this lens, your going to lose sensor compatibility. However, this lens is going to give you the maximum compatibility with your cameras now because it's designed for the DX sensor in your cameras. It's also slightly better glass than the 17-35 D and in my professional opinion, handles metering and exposure better communicating with the cameras systems.

The 17-35 D lens is also excellent glass, has an aperture ring on the lens and can be used for DX and FX cameras. On DX cameras, your image will be cropped, meaning what you see in the viewfinder will be cropped so your final photo will slightly be trimmed down from the corners.

If your not going to move to a $2500+ camera, go with the 17-55 G as its made specifically for the cameras you have. If you are moving in the near future, go with the 17-35mm D, Although I would advise you to consider other FX full frame G lenses because they do such a better job interacting with the cameras software producing cleaner images that require less post-shooting processing.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
17-55 has a longer focal length range, that is, from a wide lens to a moderate middle-range lens. the difference is that the 17-55 is a DX lens which means it won't work on full-frame bodies (d700 and up), but they will work just fine on DX bodies (d7000 and d90 are DX, so it's good for them). however, for portrait and event work you'll still need a longer focal length lens, something above 90mm.
May 9, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

can i use with d700

Dec 15, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the lens can be used on the D700 but I probably wouldn't bother to use it. The D700 has a DX mode but images go do down to 5.1mp because not all the sensor is being used.
Dec 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens for D3000?

Sep 20, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it has a built in focus motor.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens to D300s?

Nov 22, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the D300s is a DX format camera.
Nov 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Does a crop factor apply to the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens?

Dec 27, 2012 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
After reading Nikon's description of the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens, i concluded that a crop factor would not apply to this lens. Designed, as stated, exclusively for Nikon's DX format, one of the features Nikon added to the lens was the capability to project a smaller image circle, which, I reasoned, would be of a size appropriate to the smaller image sensors of DX bodies and the image then would not be cropped--or otherwise why do it? --Hang on, I'm almost there-- Therefore a crop factor/multiplier of 1.5 to determine the effective zoom range when the lens is mounted on a DX body is not necessary, e.g., on a DX body, the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8, designed with the DX sensor as its target hardware, does, in fact, have a zoom range, as stated on its barrel, of 17-55mm.

Then, as I read some of the comments at the Reviews tab, I saw people referring to the zoom range of this lens on a DX body as 25.5-82.5mm. And I was looking at that old crop factor again.

Are some reviewers experiencing crop factor confusion or are those reviewers right to apply a 1.5 crop factor to the zoom range? Or, am I correct in thinking that no crop factor is necessary for the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens--that what you see on the barrel of this lens is what you get?

Thank you.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
wild man
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Crop factor still applies.
Dec 27, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers