Loading

Fast, f/2.8 DX-format zoom lens delivering superb image quality.

This is the lens for both stunning sharpness and beautiful background blur (bokeh) with DX-format cameras. Its fine resolution and fast f/2.8 fixed aperture deliver exceptional photos and HD video—from close subjects all the way to infinity—to satisfy professionals on assignment as well as aspiring high-end photographers who value image quality. Its versatile standard zoom range of 17–55mm make it an ideal walk-around lens—you’ll keep it on your camera all the time.
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

All-in-one versatility

Ideal wide-angle to standard zoom range

Optimized for DX-format Nikon D-SLRs, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17–55mm f/2.8G IF-ED delivers exceptional performance across its versatile wide-angle to standard zoom range. At 17mm, the lens covers a wide angle of 79°, ideal for architecture, landscapes, cityscapes, travel and group shots; at 55mm, it offers an angle of view similar to our eyes, ideal for portrait work and everyday photography.

Stunning results in any light

Nikon’s first f/2.8 fixed aperture, 3.2x zoom

The AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 17–55mm f/2.8D IF-ED’s ultra-fast, f/2.8 fixed aperture ensures stunning clarity, beautiful background blur (bokeh) and consistent exposure across its entire zoom range and opens the possiblity of shooting in a wider variety of lighting scenarios—without a flash. Its DX-optimized design makes for a smaller, lighter lens that achieves optimal quality from center-to edge-to-corner of the image. And advanced Nikon lens technologies help draw the full potential from any Nikon D-SLR camera.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED 4.6 5 80 80
Fantastic DX Lens MUST HAVE It's distorted at 17, but above that, this is the best lens, hands down for a DX shooter. It's does me no good with FX. I guess I could unload it on ebay, yet I still have it. Maybe when an affordable 24mp body arrives that also rivals the pixel and ISO quality of the D700, I'll start using it again. July 30, 2010
Super Lens, light gathering wonder. Lens has my vote for best landscape lens. I use it for senior portraits, landscapes, and cave photography. In caves where everything is covered with fine dust it has never failed. It excels at night scenes. July 30, 2010
Great overall lens!! I use this lens all the time, especially in a wedding. The only time that I am not using this lens in a wedding is when I am doing head shots, other than that, this is the lens of my choice for group shots, candid thru out the wedding and reception! Fast lens so I can shoot in low light situations, best investment!! July 30, 2010
A Perfect Portrait Lens I bought this lens about a year ago for doing portrait shoots. It is a fantastic lens, clear, and detailed for up-close portrait shooting, plus low light capable with it's 2.8 fixed aperture. It's a beefy lens, but not hard to hold for long shoots. This lens does not have vibration reduction, but I have not found that to be an issue. It also has internal focusing which is a plus. I am very satisfied with this lens. July 30, 2010
Excellent lens I have this on one of my D300s and the 70-200 on the other D300s and I don't miss a shot. For sports I can catch great action at either end of the floor. The auto focus is quick and accurate. For portraiture work I use the 17mm end for wide angle shots and to the 55mm end for more close up. If I really want a strong bokeh I have to switch to my 70-200 and increase the distance from my subject and background but the sharpness and reliability of the 17-55 is excellent. It is a great walk around lens for travel but understand that it is a heavy pro level type lens so not as easy to lug around as a slower lens. Great lens! July 30, 2010
Never off my D200 I started with the 18-200VR five years ago planning to replace it ASAP. It was so good, it stayed on for four years. Then I tried the 17-55, now it lives on my camera. I was a bit worried because I the bulk of my 18-200 shots were in the 70-80 mm range. I found I didn't miss that on the 17-55. This lens is tack sharp. It focuses quickly and accurately on my D200. It is big and heavy but all f2.8's are. It's a great lens, I love it more than my 70-200 VR1 that I considered my pride and joy till now. Bruce July 30, 2010
Solid performer I have been using Nikon cameras for 30 years, and their digital SLR's for the past 8 years or so... and they just keep getting better. The old axiom "you get what you pay for" could not be truer when it comes to quality photgraphy. For a lens that's likely to be sitting on my camera most of the time, I wanted performance. The more light that gets to the AF sensors, the better, and that's one of the reasons why I opted for the f/2.8 over the f/3.5-4.5 I mostly shoot weddings and this lens focuses fast under low light conditions. The image quality is way above the curve but I've noticed the images are little soft when compared to my Nikkor 70-200 VR which is razer sharp. The lens also has a very nice bokeh This lens is on the heavy side so be prepared to carry the weight however it is also very comfortable to use and the smooth zoom ring is in the perfect position to make zooming effortless no matter what angle you have the camera in. If you can afford this lens then buy it. You will not be dissapointed. July 30, 2010
Fantastic lens This is one of my favorite Nikon lenses. Images are sharp at all apertures from 17-55mm. It is built like a tank and great for both landscapes and portraits. July 30, 2010
Good lens with a couple of issues I am a pro photog and have been using Nikon glass for life and in general very satisfied. I bought this lens for it focal range and bright aperture. The issues I have are: The zoom ring is tight and begins to be a challenge to move over the course of a long wedding day. Also the zoom grip has come loose and falls off. This may be the result of the zoom being tight. However I also own the 28-70 2.8 and have had the same issue with the zoom grip coming of and it is not a tight zoom collar. I have seen other photogs with the same zoom grip issue. July 30, 2010
17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED I may as well super glue this lens to my D300. It's on my camera almost all the time as my walking around lens. The lens is tack sharp at all focal lengths. It is durable and can withstand the bumps and oops it gets. I compared the 17-55 to third party brands and there was no comparison. The Nikkor's build quality and IQ is worth the additional $ you pay to get that level of craftsmanship and performance. July 30, 2010
Workhorse When I first bought my camera, I researched a lot of lenses. I chose this one for it's flexibility and image quality. I am glad I did. I use this lens more than any other. For 80-90% of my shooting, this lens is all I need. July 30, 2010
Falls off the camera It's a nice lens. I had been using it a lot, but in the past year the lens body has fallen off the lens mounting plate twice, out of the US both times. In each case I was holding the camera steady, no swings or sudden accelerations. 2 months ago it happened in Britain, and Nikon UK told me the screws are too short for the weight of the lens. They put in longer screws, but now I don't trust it. July 30, 2010
This is the best all around Nikkor Lens Available I've been shooting Nikon since the days of the Nikon F and still have plenty of Nikon glass. This is by far the most versatile, useful, and functional lens in my inventory. I have it matched with a D300. The speed of this lens coupled with the higher ISO settings on the camera make it great for no flash interiors (churches, cathedrals) night scenes, and early morning or late evening landscapes. July 30, 2010
Wonderful sharp lens for my D300 I wish I could use this lens on my D700. Unfortunately it's a DX only so I use it on my D300 body. It is incredibly sharp and contrasty. A tad soft wide open at F2.8 but stop down one stop and watch out. Great for weddings (indoor use) with a flash if necessary. Extremely sharp. One of the very, very best lenses in my opinion. July 30, 2010
let's face it, "This is a professional lens", it has some weight to it, its fairly good size, but believe me, you won't be disappointed. I use this lens to photograph sports, family, & landscaping. It also works great with an extension tube for Macro photography too. This lens is a work horse, out of the bag its hungry to get the job done. There is no "VR" feature, however you will learn your way around it quickly. My ultimate goal is to have this lens on one camera and a zoom on another. That's what I call "Heaven". July 15, 2010
Page: 2 3 4
<<prev
17 Questions | 22 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
17 Questions | 22 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

diference between 17~35 and 17~55 f 2,8

May 9, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I'm a serious passion, hobbyist and I'd like to buy one new lens, but could you explain the main difference between the 17~35 f2,8 and 17~55 f2,8?
which one is the better for my use, I've a D7000 and D90, and I like to photograph inside events, portraits and landscape.
I appreciate if you can answer it for me, thank you too much
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Marcelo
Brazil
Location : 
Brazil
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 17-55 G lens is designed exclusively for DX format cameras like your D7000 and D90. If you plan to move up to FX Full Frame like the D3 and above and expect to use this lens, your going to lose sensor compatibility. However, this lens is going to give you the maximum compatibility with your cameras now because it's designed for the DX sensor in your cameras. It's also slightly better glass than the 17-35 D and in my professional opinion, handles metering and exposure better communicating with the cameras systems.

The 17-35 D lens is also excellent glass, has an aperture ring on the lens and can be used for DX and FX cameras. On DX cameras, your image will be cropped, meaning what you see in the viewfinder will be cropped so your final photo will slightly be trimmed down from the corners.

If your not going to move to a $2500+ camera, go with the 17-55 G as its made specifically for the cameras you have. If you are moving in the near future, go with the 17-35mm D, Although I would advise you to consider other FX full frame G lenses because they do such a better job interacting with the cameras software producing cleaner images that require less post-shooting processing.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
Nicky Nikon
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
17-55 has a longer focal length range, that is, from a wide lens to a moderate middle-range lens. the difference is that the 17-55 is a DX lens which means it won't work on full-frame bodies (d700 and up), but they will work just fine on DX bodies (d7000 and d90 are DX, so it's good for them). however, for portrait and event work you'll still need a longer focal length lens, something above 90mm.
May 9, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can i use this lens with an fx model camera...d700 and d3s

Jul 14, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, but it is designed to work in "crop mode" only. This means less megapixels will be used and there will be an effective focal length multiplier of 1.5x. If you wish to use the full-frame on these cameras, then you must override the auto-DX cropping in the menu. After you do you will see vignetting on the images at wide angles (below ~24mm) because this lens is designed for an DX body.

Instead, Nikon would recommend you purchase the 24-70mm f/2.8G for this sort of camera. I believe it is only MSRP a couple of hundred dollars more, so, for the price of this lens, is a reasonable upgrade with some bulk.

If you are searching for a wide angle lens for an FX body, the recommended lenses are the 16-35mm f/4G, 17-35mm f/2.8D, and the 14-24mm f/2.8G.
Jan 8, 2012 by
by
tychay
San Francisco, CA, USA

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can, however, it will cause vignetting in FX but you can switch to DX mode, at reduced mp, and use it.
Jul 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

would this be an appropriate lens for a Nikon d5000?

Jan 7, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Short answer: Yes.

Long Answer: Nikon DX lenses are optimized for use for APS-C digital Nikon bodies (Nikons except for the D3, D3S, D3X, D4, and D700). In particular, this lens is equivalent to the 24-70mm f/2.8G on the FX bodies. This means that this lens is probably best used on a Nikon D5000(series) or D7000(series) in documentary style wedding photography, personal on-site news photography, etc. The large aperture and normal range is good for anything from group shots (wide angle) to portraiture.
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
tychay
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jan 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

can you use a teleconverter with the 17-55mm f/2.8 lens

Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Mike
West Seneca, NY
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Mike
West Seneca, NY
Location : 
West Seneca, NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
Answer: 
No, teleconvertoers cannot be used with this lens, they will not fit and most likely cause damage if you do try and fit one on.
Feb 3, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, but it has to be the AF-S series. They are the TC-20E II, the TC-17E II and the TC-14E II. They are expensive, but the only ones that will work.
Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Upchucked
Bluffton, SC, USA
Location : 
Bluffton, SC, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Can i use this lens with D60 camera?

Oct 18, 2012 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Sunny
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, this lens is fully functional on the D60.

For more information on lenses compatible with the D60 please see http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans....
Oct 18, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, full function.
Oct 18, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

I own D60 with AF-DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 G VR . Can I get better picture quality if I upgrade to 17-55 mm lens?

Nov 1, 2012 by
by
Flying bird
Orange County, ca
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Flying bird
Orange County, ca
Location : 
Orange County, ca
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Firstly the 17-55 is not a prime lens, lenses like the 50, 85 and 105mm are prime lenses.
Now whether you are going round get better images with the 17-55 is subjective as there are a lot of other things to consider, beings as it is a constant 2.8 aperture lens it will always have an advantage over the 18-55 as you can drop the f stop down and so achieve faster shutter speeds thus you will then get less blur in your images so in that sense it will be better.
If you are thinking of buying one I would suggest renting one for a week so you can compare results yourself.
Nov 2, 2012 by
by
KeithD

0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
Answer: 
Hello Flying bird - Pictures with 17-55mm f/2.8 will definitely be better compared to 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 BUT keep in mind, the picture quality also depends on the Camera's Dynamic Range. Though 17-55mm f/2.8 is a prime lens, it is for DX format cameras. If you upgrade your body to FX, you may notice vignetting at the edges. 17-55mm f/2.8 definitely is a good lens if you are doing landscape photography. The other lens to consider is 24-70mm f/2.8, which is a prime FX lens & works on DX format too! This way you don't have to worry if you upgrade your body to FX! Hope this helps.
Nov 1, 2012 by
by
AnilU
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

can i use with d700

Dec 15, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the lens can be used on the D700 but I probably wouldn't bother to use it. The D700 has a DX mode but images go do down to 5.1mp because not all the sensor is being used.
Dec 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens for D3000?

Sep 20, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it has a built in focus motor.
Sep 20, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens to D300s?

Nov 22, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes the D300s is a DX format camera.
Nov 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 17-55mm f/2.8G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Does a crop factor apply to the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens?

Dec 27, 2012 by
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
After reading Nikon's description of the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens, i concluded that a crop factor would not apply to this lens. Designed, as stated, exclusively for Nikon's DX format, one of the features Nikon added to the lens was the capability to project a smaller image circle, which, I reasoned, would be of a size appropriate to the smaller image sensors of DX bodies and the image then would not be cropped--or otherwise why do it? --Hang on, I'm almost there-- Therefore a crop factor/multiplier of 1.5 to determine the effective zoom range when the lens is mounted on a DX body is not necessary, e.g., on a DX body, the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8, designed with the DX sensor as its target hardware, does, in fact, have a zoom range, as stated on its barrel, of 17-55mm.

Then, as I read some of the comments at the Reviews tab, I saw people referring to the zoom range of this lens on a DX body as 25.5-82.5mm. And I was looking at that old crop factor again.

Are some reviewers experiencing crop factor confusion or are those reviewers right to apply a 1.5 crop factor to the zoom range? Or, am I correct in thinking that no crop factor is necessary for the NIKKOR 17-55mm f/2.8 lens--that what you see on the barrel of this lens is what you get?

Thank you.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
wild man
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Crop factor still applies.
Dec 27, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers