Loading
;

Key Features

Nikon D-type design provides precise distance information for flash and ambient light exposure processes.

2 aspherical lens elements for low distortion.

Internal Focus (IF) design for smoother focusing and great body balance.

Exclusive Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-high-speed auto focusing with exceptional accuracy and powerful super-quiet operation.

First Nikon wide-angle zoom lens with Vibration Reduction (VR).

G-type NIKKOR is designed exclusively for use with Nikon SLR models where aperture is controlled from the camera body.

2 Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for minimized chromatic aberration.

Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) Image Stabilization
Vibration Reduction, engineered specifically for each VR NIKKOR lens, enables handheld shooting at up to 3 shutter speeds slower than would otherwise be possible, assuring dramatically sharper still images and video capture.

Rounded diaphragm to make out-of-focus elements appear more natural.

Compact and lightweight.

AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED 3.5 5 30 30
Truly a wonderful lens I use this lens on a D3 and the photographs that I take with it are crisp, clear and exceed my expectations. I use it for 80 percent of my photographs and I am always impressed. It is light and comfortable, and well balanced on my camera. I find the focal length range perfect for everything from events to industrial work. The lens focuses very fast, the zoom is well damped, and I have no lens creep, The shade works very well, and provides a little extra protection for he front lens element. The VR mode is the best part of this lens and really pays off in low light settings. This lens is everything Nikon is known for in its optics line. I have yet to find any faults. July 30, 2010
Best all around lens I have been using this lens for over 5 years as my principal all around lens with excellent results. I've used it with a D70, D200 and D300 body. July 30, 2010
Most versatile lens Inspite of so many negative review I love this lens. It worls as designed. I'm an advanced non-pro. Lens is great for travel; the only one I used on a recent trip to Hawaii. July 30, 2010
my everyday lens . I am on my 2nd Nikon 24-120mm VR lens. the first was damaged in a fall. The insurance company sent me a check and I could have gotten any lens with the money but I had to get another 24-120mm because I just love the lens. I keep it on one of my camera bodies at all time. it is super sharp and crisp. On my digital camera bodies (DX bodies D300 and D200) the lens is fast to focus and well balanced. On my F100 film camera the lens is a true charmer. 24mm is very wide and the range is all I need from most of my photography jobs. The VR really helps after a full day of shooting when my arms and hands start to shake more. Just remember the lens will not last long if you drop it down 24 stone steps like I did .. but it was worth getting another one the very next day.... July 15, 2010
The handiest lens There is nothing I have to say in my opinion that is bad about this lens. I deliver 24x36 prints from jpg with no problems. I will say I get tired of people saying this lens is bad and not sharp, I have even heard it was one on Nikon's worst lenses. If this is the worst (and it is not,) the case is simple. Then Nikon does not make a bad lens. July 13, 2010
Good general purpose lens I owned this lens for quite some time and never really found it to be as poor as some have claimed. Than again, I am not a professional and I did not demand things from the lends that I knew it would not produce, given the price point of it. I recently sold it, only to upgrade to the new Nikon 28-300 mm lens, which allows me to leave my 70-300 mm lens home in a lot of situations. Overall, I must say that I was very satisfied with my 24-120 mm f 3.5 lens while I had it and put it to a lot of good use. December 27, 2010
Great Wedding lens I owned the original 24-120 'D' model, the one with the aperture ring, so I was intrigued when Nikon developed and sold and newer model. This is a great wedding lens. It isn't that sharp, but that works in your favor since Brides really don't want images that are that sharp, particularly if they reveal flaws. It's just sharp enough to get the job done. December 8, 2010
Great All-around lens There is no such thing as a perfect lense, but as far as multi-purpuse goes this 24-120 mm is a must. It is true that a 70-200 mm gives you sharper images, but its unfair to compare them, given the huge price difference. Then again depends on what are you going to use it for. If I am outdoors and there is plenty of light, I would probably have this one on, just because of the weight. Would be a 5 star if it was a f/2.8 August 2, 2010
Convenient range, heavy, OK for sharpness Purchased the lens as part of the package with the Nikon D700. The lens is heavy, and when added to the D700 it makes a substantial load. The lens is not as sharp as my other Nikon lenses, but satisfactory for what I do. Although it supplies a convenient range, it is not quite wide enough nor long enough. A range of 18-200 would fit my needs much better. Finishing and mechanisms are smooth as silk. July 31, 2010
This is a decent lens. Not great. Not bad. A 24-120VR on an FX camera is NOT as useful as an 18-200VR on a DX camera. It comes up short of being equal to the wide angle and telephoto equivalents of the 18-200. My 24-120 is not sharp wide open at the edges. Not even close. Stop down a bit and it is a good general purpose lens. Fine with SB CLS flash. The Nikon shooters need a better FX version of a wide to tele zoom. I suggest a 24-240VR, a 25-250VR or a 28-280VR for the FX line-up. July 30, 2010
Great all purpose lens but rather slow. I've had a 24-120mm AFD lens for several years. I hesitated to buy a second lens with the same focal length and aperture range but I'm glad I did. The auto-focus is much faster than the old lens and the VR is a nice feature. It is easier to use with polarizers since the front element doesn't rotate. I wish it was wasn't a "G" lens, however. With my F5 it is a dream, but with the N90 it can only be used in program or shutter priority mode. The N90 also doesn't support VR, although it does support the AF-S function. It's a great all purpose lens, but not a replacement for ultra wides, telephotos, or close-up lenses. It's also good to have some fast lenses such as the 50mm F1.4 and the 180mm F2.8 for low light conditions. July 30, 2010
Good overall, BUT.... This is a good lens and works nicely. It isn't quite as wide angle as the 18-105, but it seems to be built sturdier and has less vignetting from what I've noticed. The big caveat is the BOKEH!!! Severe onioning and halos when shooting shallow depth of field and having something that will provide round blur in the background. If this weren't an issue I'd easily give it 4 1/2 stars. October 20, 2011
nice Range This lense does not focus fast. The 24-120 f4g is much faster. On the nikon site it does not allow one to register the lense because there is no place to input the serial number. I have been told that Nikon no longer keeps track of products registered with them. Is this true or not. I have been a regular customer of Nikon since 1972 and find the service to be quite lacking at the present time. April 15, 2011
Not bad but Ok. I initially enjoyed this lens when I purchased my D700 but the thing that i dont understand is why Nikon doesnt provide higher end kit lenses for their higher FX cameras. like a 24-120 f/4, or make the 18-35 f/4 a kit lens for the new ones. All together i wish this lens was better just add 400 more and make it better. August 12, 2010
Wait for the upgrade Rumor is a new version of this lens is coming out shortly. I will be the first in line if its what is being reported. A 24-120 F4 VR. The old version has lots of detractors carping about its sharpness. I have 2 of these lenses and sharpness has not been an issue. On a FX body this focal is a good one lens only walk about option , August 1, 2010
Convenient A nice walk around lens, but with the full framers, it is time to have a F4 and a bit sharper replacement. July 30, 2010
Satisfactory If you have a full frame camera (like D700 or D3 etc.) this would be an ideal carry-around lens to have on your camera for all the time. For a full frame camera this is wide enough for most occasions and at 120mm on the other end it has enough zoom for most urban situations. If you are walking around a city as a tourist taking pictures of buildings, people, landscapes this would be an ideal lens. In a compact package and light weight, it is a very convenient lens to carry around. To add to all that convenience you also get the VR feature which helps in shadows and low lights to get a sharper picture. However, this lens is not as sharp as I would have liked. I have used Nikon's legendary 18-200 DX lens (which only works on smaller frame DX cameras), and it is extremely sharp. No matter how hard I tried I could not get as sharp pictures as 18-200mm with my 24-120mm lens. It is soft. For the price, you may still get satisfactory performance out of this lens with all the convenience of weight, size and VR. July 30, 2010
Dissatisfaction I dreamed of owning a Nikon SLR since the very first F-models came out but it did not become reality until I retired in 2005. I was able to purchase a new D70 body and a new SWM VR ED IF 24-120 zoom lens to go with it. I soon found out that there is NO sharp point of focus. The infamous yardstick test shows that there is an area that is less unsharp than the surrounding area but nothing that can be called a sharp point of focus. 2 years later I bought a D90 body and it shows the same lack of performance with 4 different lenses one of which is not a Nikon brand. Do I expect too much from digital cameras and lenses? I sent the D70 and lens back to Nikon for repair with a letter of explanation but the camera returned no better than it had been and I was $300 poorer. May 10, 2011
Photos are soft. I have owned this lens for several years. Eventually, I stopped using it very often, because of my disappointment with how soft my images were. I use a tripod and cable release for much of my nature photography, but the images tend to not be sufficiently sharp. I have an older NIikon 28-105 lens that is sharper. I went back to it. I also have a Nikon 14-24 F2.8 lens that is fantastic. April 14, 2011
Not for Pros I've had a love/hate/hate relationship with this lens. It covers a wide range of focal lengths, and occasionally I can get a tack sharp image. But as someone else indicated, the AF is buggy and gets way confused. Worse, this is an early VR lens, and the mechanism constantly shifts. The net result are images that are very soft, and unacceptable at the pro level. I used it only because it is compact & there was nothing else available without continually changing lenses. Nikon should've updated this lens a long time ago. Now I see they finally have. Time to get out the credit card. October 13, 2010
One of my least favorite lenses. The kit lens that came with my wife's D60 is faster focusing and has batter sharpness. This lens is just too soft on my D3 and D700 and is constantly hunting focus. August 21, 2010
Below Average for a Nikon lens I have owned 3 of these lenses. 2 I had to send back to Nikon for repair, because they lost focus point over time and produced unsharp images. Another thing that I do not like is the wide range opening aperture from 3.5 to 5.6. It makes it impossible to get correct exposures in a studio location. The only nice part is the wide zoom range and small size. This is the only "dud" in my wide arsenal of Nikon lenses. July 30, 2010
Nice but..... The 24-120 is a good walk-a-bout lens, but falls short on maximum f stop, making it less useful for low light situations. I would gladly pay more for this zoom range with a max F 2.8. July 30, 2010
avoid this one Ken Rockwell got this one right in his review as one of Nikon's ten worst lens ever made. it is horribly soft focusing at any F stop below F8. and a ton of Barrel distortion at its wide 24mm. If I were Nikon I would have scrubbed this one from the line up as it does nothing to further Nikon or Nikkor's great reputation for superior products and quality. July 20, 2011
Disappointing lens One of the worst lenses I have ever owned. Soft focus for family groups is unacceptable. April 12, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
6 Questions | 8 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
6 Questions | 8 Answers
All Questions
1 of 1
Sort by:
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Nikon 24 to 120 F3.5 VR zoom

May 14, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
lens Nikon 24 to 120 F3.5 VR zoom Is this the most out of focus lens out in the market or is there something wrong with my brand new lens?? THIS REALLY HURTS BECAUSE EVERYTHING PROFESSIONAL THAT I HAVE SHOT SINCE I
'VE OWNED THIS BAD LENS HAS BEEN OUT OF FOCUS SLIGHT ENOUGH TO RUIN THE SHOTS AND THESE ARE SHOT AT F/22
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
GARY
sANTA fE nm
Location : 
sANTA fE nm
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
i agree with keith, f/22 is not really good due to diffraction. however, it's perfectly possible you've got a back/front focus lens. what camera are you using it with?
May 15, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Shooting at F22 is never going to get the best out of the lens, usable, but not the best. Is there any reason for shooting at such apertures ?, try it at say f8 - f11 and see if that makes any difference.
May 14, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Is this lens compatible with a Nikon D80?

Jan 29, 2013 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Bellybuttonlindt
CA
Location : 
CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is, full function
Jan 30, 2013 by
by
JoeR

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is this lens compatible with the new Nikon D90?

Mar 19, 2012 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Nikkor 24-120/3.5-5.6 is completely compatible with the Nikon D90 DSLR, and all functions are supported. Some people find 24mm on the wide end is not wide enough on DX-format cameras -- preferring 18mm or wider -- but if that might not be a problem for you. The reach on the long end, on the other hand, makes this lens good for many uses. There's a generous zoom range here that eliminates the need for frequent lens changes.
Mar 20, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA, USA
Location : 
Richmond, VA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is this compatible with the new D3200?

May 22, 2012 by
by
JustAnAmatuer
Annapolis, MD, USA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
This is my normal lense on the D70, and I am looking for a new camera.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
JustAnAmatuer
Annapolis, MD, USA
Location : 
Annapolis, MD, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work because it has a built in focus motor. The d3200 unlike your D70 does not have a lens motor.
May 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Will this lens work on an older Nikon f3?

Jan 8, 2013 by
by
Phil
San Francisco, CA, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Phil
San Francisco, CA, USA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, the lens does not have an aperture ring.
Jan 9, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
 
1 answer

'ERR' message when using with D3s...Why???

Jun 30, 2014 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Everytime I use this lens with or without a flash or in P,A,S,M, I still get the 'ERR' message on the top LCD screen and I need to know why and how to fix it.

Please help me as I am going on vacation and this is my widest lens I have to shoot cityscapes.

Many, many thanks.

The lens is the 24-120 ED f/3.5 - 5.6 G.
3 weeks ago
by
Melissa
Virginia
Location : 
Virginia
Age: 45-54
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try cleaning the electronic contacts on the lens and the camera body. If that doesn't work call Nikon service and support. In the US it is 800-NIKONUS.
Jul 1, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
1 of 1
1 of 1

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers