Loading

High-performance, ultra-wide-angle fixed-aperture zoom

Ideal for shooting large building exteriors, narrow interiors and vast natural landscapes, this f/4 fixed-aperture zoom lens delivers consistent exposure, tack-sharp images and vibrant colors. Optimized for DX-format cameras, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 12–24mm f/4G IF-ED is a popular choice for travel, architecture and landscape photography; and establishing shots when recording HD video.
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
AS
M/A
IF Lens

Incredible wide-angle views

Dramatic stills and HD videos

Whether shooting stunning natural landscapes, dynamic interior spaces or expansive building exteriors, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 12–24mm f/4G IF-ED delivers a dramatic wide-angle perspective and tack-sharp, color-rich images. Rugged, lightweight and versatile, the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 12–24mm f/4G IF-ED is a fantastic travel and adventure companion.

Superior performance

Advanced Nikon lens technologies

The AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 12–24mm f/4G IF-ED combines a wider angle-of-view with optical characteristics that are optimized for advanced DX-format Nikon D-SLR camera sensors. The lens produces a smaller image circle (the size of the image projected onto the sensor), enabling a smaller lens diameter and optimal image quality from center to edge to corner. Its rounded diaphragm makes out of focus elements appear more natural, and its Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass ensures superior sharpness and color performance.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM), which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology. SWM uses ultrasonic vibrations—rather than a gear system—to focus the lens, providing incredibly smooth, silent and precise autofocus operation.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
AS
AS
AS stands for Aspherical lens elements. This type of lens utilizes non-spherical surfaces on either one or both sides of the glass in order to eliminate certain types of lens aberration.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens. This makes it possible to seamlessly switch to fine manual focusing while looking through the viewfinder.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. Thus, IF NIKKORS do not change in size during AF operation, allowing for compact, lightweight lenses capable of closer focusing distances. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED 4.4 5 28 28
Fine Architectural lens I use this lens all the time for basic interior and exterior architectural shots. Minimal barrel distortion and chromatic aberration, not a tilt shift, but next best thing for DX sensor. April 14, 2011
Special use lens I like the lens - it serves me well, but it isn't the "best" Nikon lens I have. I use this one for interior shots of hotels, homes, etc. Prior to getting a full frame camera I used the 12-24 (equal to 18-36mm), I believe that lens focal length was more useful. If I were to buy a new lens today I think I would go for the 16-35mm f.4 - for my style of photography (architecture and event) this lens would be better. One fault of the 14-24 - too much distortion at 14mm - fine at 18 through 24. April 14, 2011
Superb DX Wide-Angle This is a superb wide-angle lens for use on DX cameras, in my case a D50 and D80. I have captured stellar images in the Alps, Sierra Nevadas, Tetons, Grand Canyon, and numerous other wilderness areas with this lens. A slim circular polarizer lives on it and together they produce sharp, high quality images. The 12-24 provides me with a lot of freedom to capture large landscapes. I've used this lens in adverse conditions (rain, snow, sleet, hail, sand, dirty fingers, ...) for over 4 years and it's performed flawlessly. Inevitably, after each trip, I have a few photos that I elect to print as 20x30s and frame. The people at the photo store and the frame place are always blown away by the images. December 7, 2010
Great lens for landscape I have had this lens for 6 months and really love it.I can take pictures of large buildings and get the whole building and landscaping in the picture.With this lens and my 16-85 and 70-300 lens everything is covered,Thanks Nikon. November 18, 2010
Best Super Wide I've Ever Used! This lens always nails the focus even to the sharpness in the corners. For landscapes or scenic views this lens is the ticket! September 24, 2010
18-24 very useful is a good lens but overpriced in a lot of place (900-1000) i got mine for only 650 if u love landscape or creative picture you going to love this lens It's very sharp at the 18-24mm, be careful when u using the 12-15mm and don't set the aperture go lower than f10 August 27, 2010
Great range for DX cameras but doesn't hold up When I first got this lens a few years ago, it worked great and produced excellent images out of my D2X. As it got older (and subjected to more of the knocks that come with pro use in the field), image quality gradually degraded. Have had it back to Nikon in CA twice to get it serviced. This has helped restore some of the image quality, but after five weeks it looks like quality is slipping once again. Will have to sell this for a substantial loss. August 11, 2010
This product really works well as a wide angle. I have over 15 Nikon lenses. When I hike, I found that the 18-200 f 3.5 - 5.6 was not wide enough. I have used the 12 - 24 at Yosemite, Bernie Falls, and at other locations. It is sharp for people and landscapes and with just 2 lenses and my D 300, I have a wide range that does not weigh me down too much. I have been very pleased with the addition of the wider focal ranges, sharpness,and the construction of the lenses. I can recommend it as a lens that is sharp and works when you feel cramped by 18 mm on a DX camera. The extra range really helps to set pictures apart. After much research, I settle on this lens and I am glad that I did. August 9, 2010
Absolute Best Wide-Angle Zoom I am a landscape photographer, and landscapes are my passion. From Virginia to Alaska, I shoot landscapes of all types. I have 4 main lenses that I use for most of my work, but until recently, for really wide angles I owned the Sigma 10-20, which I thought would be the best lens for me, after doing a LOT of researching. I was so WRONG!! I owned the Sigma for 2+ years, and it was an ok lens, but there were many things wrong with it: rectilinear aberration at focal lengths shorter than 13 mm, even after running the picture through programs like DxO Pro Optics. Noticeably warmer pictures than with my Nikkor lenses, although same WB. And noticeable softness, especially compared to all the other much better "gold-ring" Nikkor lenses, even to the point that my non-photographer wife could spot which lens I used by just glancing at the picture. So I finally broke down and bought the 12-24 f4G, and never looked back. And I didn't trade in the Sigma, just put it back in its box, with some vague ideas of selling it or whatnot, but I'm just having too good a time with my 12-24 Nikkor f/4. Everything that was wrong with the Sigma is RIGHT with the 12-24 Nikkor. All the trees are straight even at 12mm. The pictures are tack-sharp at almost every focal length. No WB change. Focusing is instaneous. I don't miss the extra 2mm compared to the 10mm Sigma, because in fact I ended up gaining 1mm, as I had to always step down the Sigma to 13mm to get acceptable pictures. The 12-24 Nikkor lens is a pleasure to use, super-bright, and exceedingly well made. The lens performed flawlessly in -20 degrees in February north of Fairbanks, or on the sands of Olympic National Park, on the Pacific this past August. It's exactly what I have come to expect for a "gold-ring" Nikkor, and it officially ends my forays into third-party lenses. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is into landscapes, as I am. I also think it is a professional lens, which it shows clearly, and therefore I would strongly urge anyone who thinks that it would be better to get the 10-24 "consumer" version to instead consider the 12-24. I have played with the 10-24, and you can definitely tell which lens is meant for the pro vs which one is meant for the amateur. If you want to save money, then of course go for the cheaper lens (which happens to be wider), but if you want demonstrated optical quality and mechanical reliability, and a lens that you will keep for a lifetime, do not hesitate to sacrifice the 2mm, and choose the 12-24 lens. I have absolutely no regrets from this purchase, the only regret is the once-in-a-lifetime places that I was not able to capture with this lens because of my previous purchase of the Sigma, and because I put stock in the opinions of people on the web that I thought knew what they were talking about, instead of just going with Nikkor professional lenses, such as this one. August 2, 2010
Favorite wide angle zoom Solid construction, quick, silent focus. wonderful focal length range. great optic performance. Not exactly light weight wise. Be sure to get thin filters or they will vignette the image. Would like to see the wide angles cover down to the 8 to 10mm range similar to the Sigma products. I particularly like the super wide image look and feel.. August 2, 2010
Great coverage with good quality. This lens was purchased with my real estate clients in mind. It's proven to be a worthy investment for that purpose. I get great coverage for the shots with good sharpness. Other's comments about sharpness at 12mm have been consistent with my lens. In my experience, 12mm sharpness does suffer, nothing too much that cannot be corrected in post-production. Autofocus speed is not bad, but I don't think it's meant for sports or children. Highly recommended for the right need. August 1, 2010
Super great lens. I use this lens more than any other. I mostly shoot landscape and architecture for travel. This lens is sharp, colorful, and makes fantastic pictures on my D300. July 30, 2010
Diverse Lens This lens is a got to have if you shoot landscapes! It's diversity gives great perspectives at all focal lengths. I researched a lot of lenses, then decided on this one. It's been a great performer in the field. The clarity of the lens compaired to the standard one I recieved with the camera is amazing. It's been a great addition to my equipment!! July 30, 2010
Just love the extreme wide angle. The lower end, 12mm, is wonderful that wide photo. I have 65super angulon for my 4x5 view camera and this 12-24mm makes up for "not" carrying the view camera around. A great all around lense. Super for those wide grain field or curved escalator's in Las Vegas. Does wonders to caputre the great Hoover Dam and surrounding areas. Wonderful zoom wide variations for my Florida photography. Very sharp. My D200 just loves this lens. The other brand recommended by many photographers on web site forums, always their's is almost as good as the nikon. Reason I bought this wide angle zoom, because it is the best combination for my present camera system. July 30, 2010
nikon 12-24 wide angle I have been using this lens for about 4-5 years. It is used with my D70 body. There seems to be minimal to no distortion even at the maximum zoom. My main use is I take pictures of houses and apartments. July 30, 2010
My best lens This is a lens that once you start use in it you never go back to another lens. Sharp clear images make it a good choice for everyday photos, landscape and interior. July 30, 2010
Reasonable wide-angle lens I purchased mine 2nd hand, and it proved to be a reasonable (very) wide angle lens for DX cameras. I did use post shot lens correction. July 30, 2010
My favorite wide-angle lens Overall, I am quite pleased with this lens for most of my wide-angle shooting. Its range is almost perfect for close-quarters and the slight advantage of F4 aperture puts it right in there with available lighting. July 30, 2010
Great lens!!! I used this lens to shoot a hot air baloon race in Montreal. What a great lens! It allowed me to get very close and personal with the people and their equiptment. July 30, 2010
Super wide versatility I don't shoot a wide-angle a lot but when you really want to create a sense of relationship or emphasize relationships an ultra-wide-angle is often what you need and having the flexibility of being a zoom and being able to manage the relationships by varying focal length is highly beneficial. I would consider this a lens for more visually advanced photographers. When it is the "right' lens, it has big payoffs! Sharp and not too bulky with the lens hood, I recommend it! July 30, 2010
Amazing lens Although expensive, I find this lens worth every cent. The sharpness at all focal lengths, feel and operation of this lens make it a valuable and dependable lens to use. Reviews of it's technical nature and abilities are correct. If you are hesitant about paying this much, save more, wait longer and then buy it July 30, 2010
Great lens Great range for the price. Also works on full frame, though they don't advertise it. Every once in a while it's not completely sharp, but mostly top notch. July 30, 2010
great at 24mm, poor performance at 12mm This lens is exceptional from 14 to 24mm. At 12mm, I often observe a significant decrease in quality on one side of images, particularly in the corners, from wide-open to f16. Nikon's repair center examined the lens and (surprisingly) considered its performance acceptable. My overall recommendation of 3 stars is the average of 5 (at 24mm) and 1 (at 12mm). I can't recommend this lens to anyone who wants to use it at the wide end of its range. July 30, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
5 Questions | 6 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
5 Questions | 6 Answers
All Questions
1 of 1
Sort by:
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Keith is correct, its a 12-24, and focal length does not change based on format. It will however give you the same angle-of-view as an 18-36mm lens on a full-frame would.
Feb 9, 2012 by
by
MichaelL

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its a 12-24, focal length doesnt change.
Feb 9, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens with my Nikon D40x

May 26, 2013 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
10 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
May 29, 2013 by
by
NikonStaff2
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
 
1 answer

12-24mm f/4 fully compatible with D5100?

Jun 13, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
10 months ago
by
tnm
Charlotte, NC
Location : 
Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes it is fully compatible. It has a built on focus motor (-S designation) Effective field of view with DX crop will be 18-36mm.
Jun 13, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
 
1 answer

can i use this in my nikon d800?

Aug 17, 2013 by
by
Voigie Tolentino
Switzerland
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
8 months ago
by
Voigie Tolentino
Switzerland
Location : 
Switzerland
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can but you won't be taking full advantage of the sensor. Camera will crop to DX mode and resulting megapixels will be reduced to approximately 16.
Aug 17, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 12-24mm f/4G IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this lens with my Nikon D40?

Aug 26, 2013 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Aug 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
1 of 1
1 of 1

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers