Loading

Powerful telephoto macro lens for maximum working distance.

The extra-long 200mm focal length of the AF Micro-NIKKOR 200mm f/4D IF-ED provides maximum working distance between you and your subject, ideal for shooting flowers, insects and other tiny wildlife at a distance that won’t disturb them. Internal Focusing (IF) allows the lens to focus without changing size, another major plus for close-up shooting. Create stunning 1:1 reproduction ratio images with ease.

ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
A-M
IF Lens
CRC (Close Range Correction) System

Details from a distance

Telephoto reach for greater versatility

With a 1.6 ft. (0.5 m) working distance, the AF Micro NIKKOR 200mm f/4D IF-ED lets you create remarkable life-size (1:1 reproduction ratio) images of insects, flowers and other wildlife without disturbing them. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass ensures high contrast and tack-sharp images.

Superior Micro NIKKOR optics

Truly outstanding close-up performance

Legendary in the world of close-up photography, Micro NIKKOR lenses deliver superior life-size images of striking clarity without additional accessories. The AF Micro NIKKOR 200mm f/4D IF-ED is no exception. It combines that rich legacy of NIKKOR optics with advanced Nikon lens technologies to empower your D-SLR to peak performance in close-up applications.

ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
A-M
A-M
A-M stands for Auto-Manual Mode. Thanks to a mechanism incorporated in the lens barrel, smooth focusing operation in Manual focus mode is realized in the same way as users have become accustomed to with conventional manual-focus lenses by adding an appropriate torque to the focus ring.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
CRC (Close Range Correction) System
CRC (Close Range Correction) System
The Close-Range Correction (CRC) system is one of Nikon's most important focusing innovations, for it provides superior picture quality at close focusing distances and increases the focusing range.
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED 4.9 5 18 18
extremely sharp This lens is perhaps my sharpest lens. I really love to use it even though it is not versatile. It does the job for which it was intended and one could not find a better quality lens anywhere July 31, 2011
My favorite Nikon lens! I have been shooting with Nikon for about two and a half years. My favorite type of photography is macro. I love to shoot flowers of all kinds. This lens is superb! It is solidly built and takes tack sharp photos. It is a heavy lens, so a good tripod is a must. I have taken some shots with success without a tripod, but they were not macro shots. I still prefer to use a tripod simply because of the weight on my D300 camera. A local camera shop told me that the 200mm is a fantastic landscape lens as well. I'm so glad I was given this advice! I was strictly using it for macro photography and was very surprised at the results after trying it on wildlife and landscapes! I finally got a great photo of Mt. Rainier, here in Washington, with this lens! A very elusive subject due to the weather. Of all of the lenses I own, this is by far my "baby" lens. My other favorite lens is the 60 mm macro, which I had for about a year prior to getting the 200mm. July 22, 2011
Great Macro lens I've only begun playing with this lens to get to it's full potential. Very nice glass-sharp as can be ! Biggest macro I've ever used and that takes a little getting used to, but I'm impressed so far with the results. April 18, 2011
Real nice piece of equipment This is easy to use. Just a little bit heavy. It takes some really nice pictures. I need a better monopod to help hold it in place. Used to take sport photos of my son. April 18, 2011
One great throwback When my new 200mm Micro was delivered, I was surprised how heavy the box was. Reason? Old fashioned heavy-duty lens construction, and a "leather" case (no wimpy pouch). I thought it was 1972 again! Downside...no lens hood. At this price, it should be included. The lens itself is terrific. Shot about 40 flower photos with Velvia 50 and 100 film, and they are amazing. It's a little strong for portraits, but will work fine for most. April 17, 2011
An outstanding macro lens! In my opinion this is the best possible macro lens because, with its long focal length, it blurs more of the background at a particular aperture and has a narrow field of view. Also, it has a tripod mount on the lens itself, which allows me to freely rotate my camera body for creative compositions. And, like all Nikon lenses, it is very sharp. It's only negative--if you will--is that it is heavier and larger than the 105 mm macro. April 14, 2011
Pricey but worth it (if you like macro) As is generally agreed, the 200MM Micro-Nikkor is an outstanding close-up lens with a good working distance and excellent image quality. There is no downside; if you can afford it and enjoy close-up shooting this is the ne plus ultra of lenses. April 14, 2011
Micro Working Distance ++ Awesome My first review was kicked back by Nikon - I water marked the images with my copyright. So here is a revised edition; The 200mm F4 Micro is legacy Nikon, built to go anywhere. The only plastic on this lens that I know of is the aperture ring and it is protected by being so closely mounted to the camera body no worries to break it. I own a couple of other Nikon Micro/Macro lenses. It has taken me 2 weeks to get accustomed to using this "longer" lens. The Nikon 200mm F4 is one mighty fine example of a micro lens. Beautiful depth of field control all the way up to F40 at 1:1. When used with a Nikon Creative Lighting System the results are amazing. The lens performs exceptional , but for those who are use to a 105mm Micro lens the extra length = the need for an extra stable mount. Call me crazy but I carry a tripod still!!, If you use a flash you can get away without the tripod. When used correctly the lens is an exceptional micro lens - I look forward to using it this year. When mounted, you know you have it on.. It is SOLID. Best used with a flash or in sunlight..I only manual focus with this lens, so the focus speed is not an issue. However, automatic focus is touch and go depending on available light. My favorite Micro lenses are the older 105mm and this awesome 200mm F4. The pictures I attached were taken with a Nikon Flash and under Natural sunlight, the spider is a new born almost invisible to the eye, you can see his legs are translucent., a VERY tiny spider. The cat was shot under setting sun wide open. This is one fine lens.. March 19, 2011
the best micro Nikkor ever produced I have had this lens since it was first released by Nikon. It is my primary macro for flowers and butterflies which are two of my favorite subjects. This lens is tack sharp and built to withstand any field conditions. It is so well used that is shows brassing and it has been back to Nikon twice for repairs (not as a fault of the lens but the owner) and it comes back just like new. It can be difficult to find one, but if you do get one, never let it out of your possession. August 3, 2010
Mmmmm Good After getting my D90 I got a 60 macro, then a 105 VR macro for more working distance and foreshortened perspective and want MORE. So I bit the financial bullet and got this 200. It is a tank. I'd been put off by the bulk of my 105, but that now feel small. But when you look through the viewfinder it's all worth it, then you see the images and you can't help but be moved. Exceptional performance - every f-stop - 1:1, wow. If you think you need this, you do. (You know who you are!) July 22, 2010
Jewel Its true as some say (heavy, slow etc) but on the end of all there is nothing better for Macro photography ! I got one 6 months ago and I handling it as jewel because it is ! July 15, 2010
Good Optics I recently asquired this lens to augment my 60 mm and my 105 mm macro lenses as well as my bellows and extension tubes. My primary goal was a better working distance than I can get with my 105 mm macro. The lens delivers well, I'm still getting used to being further from my subject a real treat when doing insects. The lack of an image stabilizer is a mixed blessing. I spent thirty five years without one but I have to admit to having been spoiled by the 105 mm macro in this regard. Still though, it's simply a matter of getting used to it again and also using higher shutter speeds something that's a lot simpler in the digital world since ISO adjustment is built into the cameras. Missing too is the AM switch, with this lens you have the choice of auto or manual focus but not both as with the 105. This too takes some getting used to. My solution tends to be to use manual most of the time which makes it easier to find the subject anyway and I achieve fine focus by moving the camera and the lens forward and back. The weight of the lens is a bit much and the autofocus is really slow but again it's just a matter of getting used to it and adjusting accordingly. Thirrty five years ago I had to adjust aperture and focus and shutter speed and get the picture all in a matter of seconds and I managed to learn how to do that. I have to do less with this lens so it's easier to learn again. Finally, the lens has a screw in lens hood. That's super if you're using close up lenses or filters. But it's a problem if you're trying to use a polarizer of course. A more aggravating problem is that flipping the hood over prevents you from attaching the lens cap. There is no way to keep the hood with the lens, you have to carry two pieces with this lens which seems a rather inept design. My reward for adjusting to the lens is the images I'm getting are amazing, crisp, excellent hues and colours and excellent contrast. I am also treated to what seems to be an enormous working distance compared to my other two lenses. The lens reallly is a dream. I expect I'll be used to it quickly enough and I will then get consistently excellent images. June 3, 2013
Can't get a truly sharp image No matter what I try, I can't get a truly sharp image out of this lens. I actually got sharper images with my all-in-one Canon G11. I'm not sure if there is a defect with this lens or if this is just the way it is. I look around on the internet for bug photos and I find many that are much sharper than the ones I've taken with this lens, with every possible detail standing out. Meanwhile, my best images have colors blending into one another in ways that look fuzzy and washed out. I've taken thousands of photos with this lens already, adjusting settings and lighting in every possible way, but there is never a truly crisp photo. You would think that even if I were an absolute novice that by the time I'd taken 4 or 5 thousand photos, at least one of them would be really crisp if the lens was actually capable of accomplishing this feat. But thus far nothing. This isn't to say that my clearest shots aren't very nice looking. They are. But they're not as nice as the sharpest photos I see on the web. I got this lens because all reviews praise it up and down as creating the sharpest images--but I just can't see it. Maybe my standards are too high? September 14, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
11 Questions | 17 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
11 Questions | 17 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
3 Answers

Can this lens be used with a tele converter (TC)?

Aug 27, 2011 by
by
Mike
Memphis, tn
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Mike
Memphis, tn
Location : 
Memphis, tn
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
However old TC-200 and TC-201 will fit AF 200 f/4D Macro.
Aug 28, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Don't use teleconverter or tube in a field because it have a light-loss and with 200mm lens you need more than 100mm tube to get Macro range. (10:1~1:1) Try close-up filter 4T, 6T will fit but Nikon was discontinued it.
Aug 28, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. Having said that extension tubes do work to get you in that bit closer, I have a set of Kenco's I use on mine and they work well.
Aug 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
3 Answers

Will this lens work with a D5000

Jun 20, 2012 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I have been using my D5000 for years and am hoping to get this lens but need to know if it works with what I have.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Britt
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It'll work but in manual mode only and not AF mode because it hasn't a built in motor
Jun 21, 2012 by
by
Nabfro
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but it will not autofocus but that is not a problem with this lens as nearly all the time you will manual focus with it, af is slow anyway and not really of much use when getting in close, if you have the chance to buy one do so it is probably, if not the, best micro lens ever made, sharp corner to corner, i could go on, and yes I do own one.
Jun 20, 2012 by
by
KeithD

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon offers two types of autofocus digital camera bodies: those with a built-in focus drive motor and those which require a lens to have a motor. Cameras such as the D5000 do not have a focus motor in it so they require the lens to have the focusing motor – an “AF-S” lens. While these bodies can use a lens with no focus motor (an “AF” lens) you would have to manually turn the focus ring to bring the subject in to sharp focus.
Jun 20, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Is "AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED" compatible for my nikon d5200 camera?

Sep 5, 2014 by
by
Bappaditya
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Bappaditya
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Location : 
Kolkata, West Bengal, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will be manual focus on the D5200 but with this lens that is not an issue as you will be using manual focus most of the time anyway, the AF is really not that fast and the accuracy is not that great at close focal distances.
Sep 5, 2014 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is compatible but manual focus only. Neither the lens or the camera have built in focus motor.
You need AF-S or the older AF-I designation, these lenses have built in focus motors.
Sep 5, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
2 Answers

What do all of the letters and numbers mean?

Jun 10, 2014 by
by
Mr. W
Whittier, CA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Nikon 200mm f/4.0D ED-IF AF

For instance;; the OD, I see this in some descriptions and not others.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Mr. W
Whittier, CA
Location : 
Whittier, CA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Actually, the "D" means the lens reports the distance it is focused at to the camera.
Nov 8, 2014 by
by
SteveS
Maryland, USA
Location : 
Maryland, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF means auto focus, but without a built in focus motor. F
f/4.0 is the maximum aperture, ED is special glass the lens is made of. IF means internal focus. D means the lens has an aperture ring.Here is an article in the Nikon learning library :http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Article/gg1e57vo/how-to-read-your-nikkor-lens-barrel.html
Jun 10, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

is this lens the imported 200mm mircro lens

Jul 25, 2011 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Jerry
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Depends wher you are for it to be imported. It is the only 200mm Nikon make so no matter where you are it will ahve been imported in some way.
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will not autofocus on the d3100 you will have to manually focus.
Aug 1, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is the current 200mm upgraded in any way from a model purchased 5 years ago?

Mar 25, 2013 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, there is only one AF-D 200mm
Mar 26, 2013 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Does autofocus work with this lens on the FX DSLR bodies? And when can we expect a G version of this lens?

Mar 20, 2014 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED will autofocus with the FX and DX body that has the auto focus motor built into the body. If the camera is not equipt with this motor, the lens will not autofocus. Nikon cannot speculate about future products or product updates until official information is announced on our web site: www.nikonusa.com
Mar 20, 2014 by
by
Nikon_Chelsea
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Will this lens work with a D800?

May 11, 2014 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
6 months ago
by
LIndalee
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, D800 has a screw drive to auto focus the lens.
May 11, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Micro-Nikkor 200mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

will this micro 200mm lens work with my D7000?

Jun 25, 2012 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
If it does work with a DX, what effect will I notice when using this lens withmy D7000
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Alan
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work, effective 300mm focal length.
Jun 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers