Loading

Key Features

Superb Telephoto-zoom lens for sports and nature photography.

Maintains fast f/2.8 aperture throughout zoom range.

3 Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for high resolution and high contrast even at maximum apertures.

AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED 4.8 5 58 58
Great Lens I have used this lens a few times under different solutions & have found it to be very reliable, incredibly sharp easy to use in close to distant shots in an instant. I only have it 3 months this winter season & can't wait to use it a great deal more the rest of the year when the weather is agreeable. So far I have only hand held this lens with excellent results but this lens is best used on a tripod where its full potential can be explored.I attached 4 of the most recent hand held shots in sequence of the gull flying/landing & the dog came out of nowhere & I adjusted & got him too.! All in one motion & zooming in/out thats how easily this heavy duty lens reacted. The heavy weight is offset by the excellent results achieved. March 23, 2013
No Faults I have used this lens for 5 years for thousands of shots, primarily at soccer games. It is built like a tank, optically excellent and great value. For sports VR doesn't help so for me the choice was easy beween the newer 70-200 VR and the 80-200. I have used this lens on a D200 and now on a D7000 and in both cases focus is fast and precise despite the 'old' screw drive focus. There really isn't any more to say, I just wish all the newer lenses were as solid as this one. March 5, 2013
Superb optic quality, sturdy and solid and yes, FAST AF I've had my copy for about 4 years and there are a lot to say about it, i'll start with the: PROS Incredible image quality continuously from f2.8 to f11 where diffraction kicks but still usable results. Sharp CORNER TO CORNER also from 2.8. The Bokeh is just beautiful wide open (slight loss in roundness at the corners) and acceptable up to 5.6, if the subject to background distance is enough the blur is super creamy and ethereal. But this tank is not all this girly stuff... It is extremely well build, solid and sturdy, absolutely not a delicate lens, it can take well use and abuse, all internal focusing is welcome and front element slightly inside the outer rim making it safer. The limiting device works just fine but you might never use it if you leave it in full because this lens ALMOST NEVER HUNTS OR LOOSES C-AF, which is actually very very fast. I do a lot of Collage Basketball and Volleyball, and its AF speed is enough, only I have tried the 70-200 AF-S vr II and yes, it focuses a slight almost unnoticeable faster the new one. (Is it worth the 2x Price?...) Overall it is a fantastic lens that i have to say to all the people that say it is heavy, well... are'n all the good lenses a bit heavy? It is certainly not that heavy, not for the quality of this gem. The tripod collar has a perfect quality in the movements, yo can leave it slightly loose and then rotate orientation vertical to horizontal as many times your framing dictates and it won't loose further or get tighter at all, the best I've tried in that matter. All japanese quality, here is far superior to the new 70-200 VR II. Some may encounter the fall-off from 135 to 200 a little bit too much (only at 2.8, by 4.0 it is unnoticeable) I don't, in fact is pleasant for me, if you don't like it Lightroom has the lens profile and wipes the fall-off very fast and also DXO does a great job automatically. (I prefer the results from lightroom). CONTRA (yes... singular, not plural) The ring that selects manual or AF it is terrible, it is flimsy as its placement is awkward, exactly where the lens rests when handheld, you keep pushing the button all the time, and eventually, due to the poor quality of the plasticky ring you end up breaking it. I've break it 3 times, last time I didn't send it repaired and glued the stuff in place, surprisingly Its holding on better than new. Summarizing, if you want to shoot gym or sidecourt sports you wont use the VR of the new lens anyway, (it will slow your AF therefore FPS if you use release+focus or focus release priority, so BETTER GET OR KEEP THIS ONE. If you don't shoot sports and you use this one for portraits, GET OR KEEP THIS ONE. Only for quicker situations (male basketball for instance) might be BETTER THE AF-S of the new 70-200, and the difference is a slight one. For the weddings i find the AF-S of the new one QUIETER and more suitable than this 80-200 because of the 70 length instead of the 80 and the slight better close focus capacity of the AF-S VR II... That is why I'll get the new one and only for that. I hope this was useful for your decision. January 18, 2013
Very strong lens....... What a strong lens,........I have several Nikon lenses,all very fine. But this baby is perfect for my D700.I feel it has substance,some may call it heavy..I do not. It is wel balanced,focuses faster than all my lenses...and is razor sharp...Do not hesitate to purchase this lens.... December 2, 2012
Amazing 80-200mm 2.8D lens! I have had this lens for almost two months now as a replacement to another zoom model (non Nikon) and it is amazing. The price is right, it is very sharp and is average in weight for this focal range. The build quality is phenomenal and makes me proud to walk around with a pro-lens. Great job Nikon! February 28, 2012
What a great 2.8f Zoom for a great price If you are starting out as a pro or a serious photographer, and looking for a 2.8f pro zoom, this is the lens to get. Period! The results on a D300s is almost the same as the newer much more expensive 70-200mm and you will hardly miss the extra f-stop. I Love This lens, Bokeh is beautiful! Daytime or low light... With the Crop factor of 1.5 on the D300s, I actually have a 102-300mm. It fits nicely in smaller camera bags. Looks really good on the camera. Performs every time. Pin sharp pictures, you can really crop. Weddings, Wildlife, Watch out.. I'm coming for you. September 14, 2011
MOST VERSATILE This is my most used lens. It is versatile, easy to hold, has great glass, and has not failed me in any weahter condition anywhere in the world July 31, 2011
Lens I have wanted for years This lens I have had my eye on for years. Back in the day with family, it was not in the budget. This is a fantastic lens, affordable, with quality glass. It works great on the D7000, and my old N8008. The quality of the pictures is amazing. For the price, this is a bargain. The VR on the newer 70-200 is not all the impressive, for an extra $1000 plus dollars. This is a great lens, and should not be overlooked. July 7, 2011
A great quality lens very sharp and fast This is a great lens I shoot sports. I have found this lens to focus super fast with wonderful sharpness. I would highly recomend it. April 18, 2011
Best zoom telephoto I have ever owned This zoom is the best I have ever owned. Its sharp and focus is fast. As for speed this lens combined with my D-700 is exceptional. I've owned Nikon since 1968 and I think they have out done themselfs this time. April 14, 2011
The best all around zoom The 80-200 D f2.8 two ring lense has always been a favorite. The amazing quality throughout the full range of zoom and apeture is spectacular. I also like the boca the lens creates. There are few lenses that really help create great images this is one of them. This is the second time owning this lens. I will kepp it until I accidentally drop it of a cliff or loose it in the ocean. April 14, 2011
Great lens, a work horse. I'm a freelance sport photographer for an online newspaper. Since buying this lens all of my sport photography has been shot with this lens. It has fast focus and very nice bokeh. It's built like a tank and I feel like it will be around for a long time to come. April 14, 2011
Superior performance, built like a tank I have owned and shot with this lens for about four years now. it is the most reliable and durable lens I can imagine. The images are tack sharp. I have compared it to the latest stabilized Nikon lens with no discernible difference in image qualities.While shooting high school sports this lens was slammed, dropped, and generally torture tested but never failed to perform even when the auto focus switch was broken, I held it in place and shot the second half.of the game. As a matter of fact I shot four more months before I had the lens repaired. April 14, 2011
Great lens but a bit heavy I have had this lens for about two years and find that the lens takes high quality photos. The lens is quite heavy but this is expected as the lens is quite large. I have carried this lens on many trips and excursions around the world and canoing and camping in areas close to my home. I am certainly pleased with the lens. If I had the available cash I might even consider purchasing a 400mm lens as I enjoy taking photos of birds and animals and sometimes it is hard to get close enough with the 200mm lens. I don't have any difficulty using the lens even when I have had to hold my camers above crowds of people. I would definitely recommned this lens. I shied away from the VR lens as I have had some issues with VR with another camera where the VR setting made focusing a bit of an issue!! And VR is supposed to make focusing easier!! Go figure. April 14, 2011
An underrated lens I've had this lens for some time now, and have used it with film and digital, and to this day, marvel at its performance. I do not shoot sports or anything requiring speed and such. But for a constant f/2.8 lens this is a wonderful addition to anyone's bag. And it's affordable. April 14, 2011
Top notch lens for a great price. For the price this lens is top notch. Really sharp and fast focus. Some people thumb their noses at it because it doesn't have VR in it. In my opinion you should know how to use a proper pro lens without VR, then use VR only in those instances where it is absolutely needed. The only con to this lens is it doesn't come with a hood, nor is there a petal hood available for it (which I feel is better). I have used this lens on Micro 4/3rds camera and it is STELLAR, better than the lenses available from those companies. April 14, 2011
Sweet Lens & a Steal of a Deal This was the first "good" telephoto lens I bought. What a difference! Over the years, this lens has been around the country with me a few times now. It is not as fast focusing as the new AS-F lenses but the image quality is such that I will have a hard time ever switching to the 70-200 versions. I use my 80-200 for both landscape photography and as a part of my portrait photography business. It is hard for me to find anything bad to say about this lens. Despite all the new product offerings, if I had to replace this lens, it would likely be with another 80-200! March 25, 2011
This lens is a beast... If you are shooting sports, indoor events, portraits, close up wildlife...ok anything at all where a lens with a focal length between 80mm and 200mm is needed, this lens will not disappoint! if you buy it, you will love it! image quality is as good as it gets. it is f/2.8 fast-built to be abused and just wont let you down! it is heavy but lots of glass always is! Wouldnt be caught without it! January 23, 2011
The End Results are incredible When I need a little reach I tuck this baby in my belt holster when out shooting. Although it does not have the fancy VR feature, I still get great shots because it is a great lens. If you can not afford the exotic prices of the other lens in this range - this is one fine hunk of glass. It is easy to work with and feels just about right with a D700 attached for balance. The lens renders excellent color rich sharp photos and pulls the details out of your subjects. From my experience pin sharp around 185mm at F11. Does well with oncoming light with incredible photos with light coming from your back. October 30, 2010
Top-Notch Lens In 1991 I bought my first 80-200 2.8 lens, the non-D push-pull version. I liked it so well that I now have the latest incarnation (and still have the old one). This lens performs extremely well. The AF is fast enough for everything except the fastest sports, and even then it is capable. It is certainly a cheaper alternative than the newest 70-200, and the image quality is nearly identical (great!) October 14, 2010
My favorite lens This is my absolute favorite portrait lens. The short DOF at 2.8 combined with the compression at 200mm make for amazing shots. This lens is built like a TANK too, with the weight to prove it. AF is nice and fast on my D300s, a bit slower on the D100. One of Nikon's best lenses ever, there's a reason it's still around, even after the 70-200 series. September 28, 2010
A must have When it comes to the 80-200 mm range NIKON has given me a solid reason to work without prime lenses in this area. This lens is the one I use to compare sharpness on all my other lenses and cameras, both 35 & 2 1/4 format. September 18, 2010
Outstanding I have been shooting for a few years and just over year ago I started shooting for a major NHL team. When I started I used a borrowed 70-200 VR1, After season was over friend sold it so another let me try his 80-200. I have just bought my own I was so impressed. I loved that it was lighter than the 70-200 and was smaller (easier to stick through ports in glass at arena) and most of all it allowed me to fund an SB900 with the difference. Every shot is tack sharp, very manageable when following action while handholding. A superstar in my book!!! September 2, 2010
Great Lens Worth Owning I bought this lens 8 years ago and have never regreated that decision. I have used it with both film and digital SLRS and found it to be suitable for all types of picture taking. I do not need the latest or most expensive to make great pictures. This is my favorite 'warhorse' among my nikon lenses. It is a great lens and well worth owning. August 15, 2010
Reliable and high quality I'm very impressed by this lens. I use this with a D3 and the focusing is very quick and accurate. The lens is very sharp. It is a lot lighter than the VR equivalents. Only complaint is that a lens hood is not included. It was fairly affordable to add though. August 13, 2010
excellent for the serious photographer in the fiel This lens is very light weight and gives you the edge you need in most shooting situations without having to toe along a heavvy camera bag full of other accesories you seldom u,se for the right application. I am very happy with this lens and would recommend it to all those who like long lenses for short prices and light weight August 11, 2010
Solid lens Great image performance, medium focus, lens shade awkwardly sized. No problems with this lens over the years. August 2, 2010
This is my new workhorse lens I've only had the lens for a week and have shot in several different venues and locations, as an advanced beginner, I am very impressed and have now planned a few trips so that I can see how versatile it is. I am planning to purchase a few more lenses to complete my arsenal. August 1, 2010
Great for Sports and Action I photograph a lot of triathlons, marathons, and racing. This lens has never failed through cold, hot, and rain. The speed is what I need in low light conditions, and it's able to focus and be tack sharp on my image. The colors that are reproduced are amazing. I couldn't even image photographing all the different events I do without this lens! August 1, 2010
exceptional run, don't walk to get this lens. it is amazingly sharp, fast and built like a tank. it costs half the price of the 70-200 VRII with the same glass and optics, minus VR. can you live without the VR and use a lightweight tripod? even getting a carbon fiber tripod is still less. i shoot glamour, fashion and portraits, couldn't justify the VR. bought an 85 1.8 and accessories with the cost savings. the lens is phenomenal! August 1, 2010
Page:2 3
<<prev | next>>
70 Questions | 93 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
70 Questions | 93 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
3 Answers

Will the AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED lens work on the D50

Jan 29, 2012 by
by
frank
Tracy, CA, USA
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
frank
Tracy, CA, USA
Location : 
Tracy, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use that same combination and it works great. The D50 has a focusing motor built into the body, so it will drive this lens for AF. I have read some reviews saying that the D50 is not as snappy with AF on this lens as with other bodies, but I it seems plenty quick to me for shooting ballet and soccer.
Jul 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Kent, WA
Location : 
Kent, WA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your D50 has a focusing motor and will drive the AF 80-200. It's confusing because Nikon took the focusing motors out of some of the lower cost cameras after the D50 was introduced (D3000/5000 and others). See page 106 of the D50 owners manual.
Feb 9, 2012 by
by
Mike
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
It will work but will not autofocus
Jan 29, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
3 Answers

Hello. Which teleconverter can mount on the lens (the body is a d7000) for keep autofocus?

Apr 22, 2012 by
by
Giuseppe
Italia
+5points
6out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful1
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Giuseppe
Italia
Location : 
Italia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Didn't read your lens correctlt, sorry didn't realize you had the older AF lens. Nikon does not make a teleconverter for AF lenses.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The chart posted is for AF-S lens. This lens is AF not AF-S.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Giuseppe
Italia
Location : 
Italia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
All Nikon teleconverters will autofocus with that lens.
Here is the compatability chart

http://www.nikonusa.com/en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Images/Teleconverter-Compatibility/en_US_Comp_chart.html
Apr 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

Do you need a "working" limit/full switch in order to autofocus? I have seen a lens where this switch is missing.

Mar 31, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
dasman
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will still focus, but it depends upon which position the switch was in when it broke off. If it's on the "Limit" setting, it's going to be quite limited in the range that it will work within. You will notice that it will stop at a certain point and won't focus past that spot (either near or far, depending). If it's focusing throughout the entire range, then it broke off in the "Full" setting, which is good because you can at least still use the lens. You (or the current owner) should consider getting that replaced/repaired unless you/they really don't use/care about that particular function.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens is AF that is way doesn’t have the switch for A or M (like AF-S models). It doesn’t have the Silent Wave Motor built-in in order to work with cameras bodies that don’t have built-in focus drive motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will still focus, but it depends upon which position the switch was in when it broke off. If it's on the "Limit" setting, it's going to be quite limited in the range that it will work within. You will notice that it stops at a certain point and won't focus past that spot (either near or far, depending). If it's focusing throughout the entire range, then it broke off in the "Full" setting, which is good for you because you can at least still use the lens. Since you didn't specify what is happening with your particular lens, I can only speculate that it's broken off at the "Full" setting. You should consider getting that replaced/repaired unless you really don't use/care about that particular function.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
We cannot guarantee the operation of this lens with the switch broken.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

What is the Function or Use of (limit / full) switch placed on lense AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED

Apr 5, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+3points
4out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
MS
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
limit/full switch is used to stop the automatic focus from moving too far. Sometimes you will notice that the lens is moving in and out a long distance to get the focus. If you use the limit/full swith in the "limit" position then the lens will not use the full focus range and this will save battery life. I generally leave it on "limit"

Hope is helps!!
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
cellar1
Guelph, ON Canada

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
The full/limit switch speeds autofocus by limiting the camera to "looking" for a subject in either longer ranges or closer ranges (depending on where you are focused when you set the limit). In the "Full" position the lens will hunt through the entire range when it needs to focus and this can take a long time.

If you are only shooting close (or far) subjects, use the "Limit"
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

When will this Lense be avialble

Apr 25, 2011 by
by
Weedy
SW Florida
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I am waiting to get a AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED, however they (being dealers) are all showing backorder from the mfg. Is there any kind of expected ship date to dealers? Thank you for your help.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Weedy
SW Florida
Location : 
SW Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is no easy answer to this question. It's all a matter of supply and demand. Have you checked with other online retailers/mail order houses? If you don't mind getting used equipment, you may also consider checking online bulletin boards to see who is selling their equipment at steep discounts (based upon its condition and amount of use, of course). You can also check with your local professional processing labs to see the For Sale postings if you really need one now.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
other than being 3x expensive? :) nothing. but the 2.8ED AF-D is a beautiful lens, alas, i don't think nikon manufactures it anymore. what they are selling as new are probably leftover stock.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

where is the serial number located on the 80-200 f2.8?

May 8, 2011 by
by
dcv99
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
dcv99
Colorado Springs
Location : 
Colorado Springs
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
The six-digit serial number can be found on the "bottom side" of the aperture ring. It is engraved on the surface and can be seen from an angle. If you are the original owner, you should immediately record the serial number from the registration card that came in the box. This will help you when you need to provide it to Nikon Professional
Services (NPS) or if you have to make an insurance claim (theft, damage, etc.).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Its on the end etched onto the aperture ring.
May 8, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

will this work with my D3000?

May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Florida
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The answer is yes and no. Yes, in that all supported functions on the D3000 will work; and, no because the autofocus function won't work with the AF Zoom Nikkor 80-200mm in place. This is because there is no motor to drive the autofocus mechanism in the lens barrel like there was with the earlier crop of autofocus cameras. The current DSLRs all use the SWM to drive the lens. I found this out when I tried it on my D3100 and nothing happened. After some research and inspection of the mounting ring on the body, I realized that there was no pinout that drove the zoom lens like there is on the F-series of bodies (from the F4 on up, and the N-series of autofocus cameras).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but it will be manual focus only.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

will this work with my d60

Jun 12, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The answer is yes and no. Yes, in that all supported functions on the D60 will work; and, no because the autofocus function won't work with the AF Zoom Nikkor 80-200mm in place. This is because there is no motor to drive the autofocus mechanism in the lens barrel like there was with the earlier crop of autofocus cameras. The current DSLRs all use the SWM to drive the lens. I found this out when I tried it on my D3100 and nothing happened. After some research and inspection of the mounting ring on the body, I realized that there was no pinout that drove the zoom lens like there is on the F-series of bodies (from the F4 on up, and the N-series of autofocus cameras).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but will be manual focus.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

since it is a full frame lens is a crop factor the only issue with DX format camers?

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Victor
Reading, PA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Victor
Reading, PA
Location : 
Reading, PA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, due to the fact that DSLRs with the DX sensor use only a small portion of the overall area. This means that the 80-200mm lens will be a little bit "longer" in focal length due to the crop factor. This means that you will effectively have an 136-340mm lens (due to a factor of approx. 1.7x).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Explaining DX and FX formats
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers