Loading

Key Features

Superb Telephoto-zoom lens for sports and nature photography.

Maintains fast f/2.8 aperture throughout zoom range.

3 Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass elements for high resolution and high contrast even at maximum apertures.

AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED 4.8 5 57 57
Nikon's Legendary f2.8 Tele-Zoom I have used this lens on assignments around the world. It's been dropped, splashed with salt water, left in hot vehicles for hours on end, caked in sand, and no matter what I do with it, it continues to make extraordinary pictures every time out. It focuses nearly as fast as the 70-200 AFS, yet it is noticeably smaller and lighter, and best of all it costs one-third less! Yet its optical performance is absolutely unreal. Sharpness, contrast and colour fidelity are spectacular. Distortion is minimal, ghosts and flare are unheard-of. It's built like a tank. Several people have asked me why I don't upgrade to the 70-200 AFS with VR, but in all honesty I just don't see what I would gain. This lens does everything I ask of it and more. Wonderful lens that every photographer should have in their bag. August 6, 2010
Great alternative to 70-200 This lens has been fantastic for shooting horse shows, and for everything else as well. It's a little long for close up work but if you've got room to back up does fine for portraits. Always sharp, and very fast, it is a fine sub for the twice as expensive 70-200. It's heavy though, be sure and get a more elastic foam type strap for long outings to avoid neck chaff. Good for indoors especially w today's awesome high ISO sensors. Most indoor arenas can be shot at ISO 3200 or less at 2.8 without flash. July 30, 2010
The best mid range zoom lens from Nikon I’ve been with Nikon gear since 1993 and my “mayor” fist buy was the older version of this lens (the push-pull barrel with no tripod mount). I start with this comment because this version corrects almost all the disadvantages of its predecessor. The “slow” barrel motion to get the correct focal distance and the BIG issue that you need to buy a “cradle” to hold the lens to a camera in order to put both together mounted in a tripod. In terms of price you’ll find it in about $1,200 and it worth every dollar invested. The “new” version moves smooth and fast depending on which camera you put on. The new versions like the D600 are quite faster than the older ones but the fact that still uses the motor in the body makes it a little slower vs. the 70-200mm version. The optics are exceptional and with poor light conditions or indoors you can get razor blade sharp photos at f/2.8. This lens is also great for portrait because you can move form 85mm to 135mm with a little twist of hand. Allowing you to be more still or to keep a good distance vs. your subject. The other advantage is its shallow depth of field that allows you to have really blurred backgrounds. Since I can remember all the Nikon (ED rated) are simple the best in class. The colors are true and the definition and sharpness always at the top. They worth the extra bucks! Another advantage is the filter size (77mm) if you are considering to move to top of the line gear you can invest in Nikon Filters such as the New soft focus or the circular polarizer and use between them. There are now plenty of other top lens with such filter size. This is important when you buy a Polarizer of +$125 USD. I tested the 80-200mm VR and the outcomes in terms of quality are almost the same, the difference is if you take photos without tripod at focal lengths higher than 105mm. As a thumb rule you need a speed that doubles the focal length in order to avoid camera movement. In this case to obtain a 1/250 sec. in low light or indoors is not that easy. Nevertheless now we can “compensate” using a higher ISO number. In the old days the use of an ISO 400 film was considered fast. Now with the newer Nikon DSLR you can set the ISO at 800 or 1600 and still get outstanding results. Some consider this lens “old fashion” because don’t come with the VR features but this depends on you. I still like to “think” when you are taking portraits and compensate the camera movement and lighting conditions, making photography both, challenging and rewarding. January 1, 2014
True work horse! I've bought this lens at least 12-13 years ago and have taken 1,000's, and I mean 1,000's, of first quality pics (35mm and digital) with it. It's truly a beast and it has been trucked all over the world and has never failed me! My photo buddy has the 80-200 VR II and we can't tell the difference, except that he's not very happy about spending a grand for VR that he doesn't ever use! We're both shooting D800's and as with every Nikkor 2.8 lens, the images are spectacular. But that's what I expect or I wouldn't have switched from Canon 14-15 years ago!! August 3, 2013
Great Lens I have used this lens a few times under different solutions & have found it to be very reliable, incredibly sharp easy to use in close to distant shots in an instant. I only have it 3 months this winter season & can't wait to use it a great deal more the rest of the year when the weather is agreeable. So far I have only hand held this lens with excellent results but this lens is best used on a tripod where its full potential can be explored.I attached 4 of the most recent hand held shots in sequence of the gull flying/landing & the dog came out of nowhere & I adjusted & got him too.! All in one motion & zooming in/out thats how easily this heavy duty lens reacted. The heavy weight is offset by the excellent results achieved. March 23, 2013
Page: 2 3
next>>
66 Questions | 87 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
66 Questions | 87 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
3 Answers

Will the AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED lens work on the D50

Jan 29, 2012 by
by
frank
Tracy, CA, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
frank
Tracy, CA, USA
Location : 
Tracy, CA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I use that same combination and it works great. The D50 has a focusing motor built into the body, so it will drive this lens for AF. I have read some reviews saying that the D50 is not as snappy with AF on this lens as with other bodies, but I it seems plenty quick to me for shooting ballet and soccer.
Jul 9, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Kent, WA
Location : 
Kent, WA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Your D50 has a focusing motor and will drive the AF 80-200. It's confusing because Nikon took the focusing motors out of some of the lower cost cameras after the D50 was introduced (D3000/5000 and others). See page 106 of the D50 owners manual.
Feb 9, 2012 by
by
Mike
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
It will work but will not autofocus
Jan 29, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
3 Answers

Hello. Which teleconverter can mount on the lens (the body is a d7000) for keep autofocus?

Apr 22, 2012 by
by
Giuseppe
Italia
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
2 years ago
by
Giuseppe
Italia
Location : 
Italia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Didn't read your lens correctlt, sorry didn't realize you had the older AF lens. Nikon does not make a teleconverter for AF lenses.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The chart posted is for AF-S lens. This lens is AF not AF-S.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
Giuseppe
Italia
Location : 
Italia
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
All Nikon teleconverters will autofocus with that lens.
Here is the compatability chart

http://www.nikonusa.com/en_INC/IMG/Assets/Common-Assets/Images/Teleconverter-Compatibility/en_US_Comp_chart.html
Apr 22, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

is there a update to this lens such as Nikon prod # 1997

Mar 22, 2011 by
by
BOB
SHIRLEY NEW YORK
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
i was told that this lens was updated from 1986 to 1997 is that true?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
BOB
SHIRLEY NEW YORK
Location : 
SHIRLEY NEW YORK
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it was updated from the push-pull type of mechanism to a two-ring function (one for the focal length, the other for focusing). This may seem rather unusual or perhaps even counter-intuitive, but it does work well. It's still a very good and sharp lens to have and use. I use mine (it's the second version that has the limiting switch, not a ring to limit the focusing range) and it's been a solid lens.
Jun 25, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Product # 1997 is a TC-20E Teleconverter, and no this lens has not been updated to a newer AF-S/ AI-S type. That is a popular request and it has been passed on to our product development group in the past.
Mar 24, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

Do you need a "working" limit/full switch in order to autofocus? I have seen a lens where this switch is missing.

Mar 31, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
dasman
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will still focus, but it depends upon which position the switch was in when it broke off. If it's on the "Limit" setting, it's going to be quite limited in the range that it will work within. You will notice that it will stop at a certain point and won't focus past that spot (either near or far, depending). If it's focusing throughout the entire range, then it broke off in the "Full" setting, which is good because you can at least still use the lens. You (or the current owner) should consider getting that replaced/repaired unless you/they really don't use/care about that particular function.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This lens is AF that is way doesn’t have the switch for A or M (like AF-S models). It doesn’t have the Silent Wave Motor built-in in order to work with cameras bodies that don’t have built-in focus drive motor.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will still focus, but it depends upon which position the switch was in when it broke off. If it's on the "Limit" setting, it's going to be quite limited in the range that it will work within. You will notice that it stops at a certain point and won't focus past that spot (either near or far, depending). If it's focusing throughout the entire range, then it broke off in the "Full" setting, which is good for you because you can at least still use the lens. Since you didn't specify what is happening with your particular lens, I can only speculate that it's broken off at the "Full" setting. You should consider getting that replaced/repaired unless you really don't use/care about that particular function.
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
We cannot guarantee the operation of this lens with the switch broken.
Apr 1, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

where is the serial number located on the 80-200 f2.8?

May 8, 2011 by
by
dcv99
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
dcv99
Colorado Springs
Location : 
Colorado Springs
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
The six-digit serial number can be found on the "bottom side" of the aperture ring. It is engraved on the surface and can be seen from an angle. If you are the original owner, you should immediately record the serial number from the registration card that came in the box. This will help you when you need to provide it to Nikon Professional
Services (NPS) or if you have to make an insurance claim (theft, damage, etc.).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Its on the end etched onto the aperture ring.
May 8, 2011 by
by
KeithD
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

will this work with my D3000?

May 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Florida
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The answer is yes and no. Yes, in that all supported functions on the D3000 will work; and, no because the autofocus function won't work with the AF Zoom Nikkor 80-200mm in place. This is because there is no motor to drive the autofocus mechanism in the lens barrel like there was with the earlier crop of autofocus cameras. The current DSLRs all use the SWM to drive the lens. I found this out when I tried it on my D3100 and nothing happened. After some research and inspection of the mounting ring on the body, I realized that there was no pinout that drove the zoom lens like there is on the F-series of bodies (from the F4 on up, and the N-series of autofocus cameras).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but it will be manual focus only.
May 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

will this work with my d60

Jun 12, 2011 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The answer is yes and no. Yes, in that all supported functions on the D60 will work; and, no because the autofocus function won't work with the AF Zoom Nikkor 80-200mm in place. This is because there is no motor to drive the autofocus mechanism in the lens barrel like there was with the earlier crop of autofocus cameras. The current DSLRs all use the SWM to drive the lens. I found this out when I tried it on my D3100 and nothing happened. After some research and inspection of the mounting ring on the body, I realized that there was no pinout that drove the zoom lens like there is on the F-series of bodies (from the F4 on up, and the N-series of autofocus cameras).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will work but will be manual focus.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

since it is a full frame lens is a crop factor the only issue with DX format camers?

Jun 17, 2011 by
by
Victor
Reading, PA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Victor
Reading, PA
Location : 
Reading, PA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, due to the fact that DSLRs with the DX sensor use only a small portion of the overall area. This means that the 80-200mm lens will be a little bit "longer" in focal length due to the crop factor. This means that you will effectively have an 136-340mm lens (due to a factor of approx. 1.7x).
Jun 24, 2011 by
by
NikonEd
San Francisco, CA
Location : 
San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Explaining DX and FX formats
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Zoom-NIKKOR 80-200mm f/2.8D ED
 
2 Answers

Why does your site not list a manual for the AF Zoom-Nikkor 80-200mm f/2.8D ED? How can I get one?

Jun 27, 2011 by
by
Fred
Lancaster, PA
Has staff answer
+1point
3out of 5found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful2
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Fred
Lancaster, PA
Location : 
Lancaster, PA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful6
Answer: 
because it's no longer officially produced. (my guess.) but what do you need the manual for? it works pretty self-evidently, and if you want to find technical data and measurements, you can find plenty on the web.
Jun 28, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jun 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers