Loading

Fast f/2.8 ultra-wide-angle prime lens with manual aperture control.

With a dynamic wide-angle perspective and great depth of field, the AF NIKKOR 20mm f/2.8D gives you edge-to-edge sharpness with minimal distortion. Its superb optics and compact, lightweight design make it a versatile travel lens, well suited for shooting interiors, landscapes, events and more. Plus, Nikon’s Close Range Correction system (CRC) provides high performance at both near and far focusing distances.
CRC (Close Range Correction) System
Super Integrated Coating

Shed light on new opportunities

Excellent performance in any light

With its fast f/2.8 aperture, the AF NIKKOR 20mm f/2.8D excels in low-light situations. Confidently shoot gorgeous sunsets and dimly lit interiors. Its manual aperture control ring lets you make smooth adjustments during Live View shooting. And since the AF NIKKOR 20mm f/2.8 is compact and lightweight, it makes a great travel partner.

An eye for the dramatic

Ultra-wide-angle perspective

With a 94° picture angle (70° when used with a DX-format camera), the ultra-wide-angle AF NIKKOR 20mm offers a dramatic angle of view. Find exciting new viewpoints and perspecitves within ordinary settings.
CRC (Close Range Correction) System
CRC (Close Range Correction) System
The Close-Range Correction (CRC) system is one of Nikon's most important focusing innovations, for it provides superior picture quality at close focusing distances and increases the focusing range.
Super Integrated Coating
Super Integrated Coating
Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D 4.3 5 19 19
Tiny But Amazing I always stopped at 24mm when assembling a SLR kit. Anything wider was too specialized for regular use and good glass gets pricey wider than 24mm. Except for this lens. Amazing color, contrast and sharpness. Barrel distortion is expected, corrected with DxO software or Photoshop. For ease of use and a great price, this lens can't be beat. I'm a happy customer! March 28, 2014
Covers Huge Area. I Bought this lens quite a while ago, but i got to test this piece of glass with my Nikon D800 a week ago in snow, and wide angle beautiful Valleys of Pakistan like Kalam and Matiltan in December. Its a PRO. Its a MASTERPIECE, Ideal for TIME-LAPSES. Precise Detail with ignorable Distortion. You gotta have it. One who doesn't own it, is not a Nature Photographer. January 1, 2013
Perfect for indoor family candids on DX 35mm is probably the most popular all around lens, but from my experience the 52mm equivalent on DX makes it a tad too long for indoor. On Full frame it's probably just right. I was hesitant to go this wide and was contemplating the Nikon 24mm f/2.8D AF (35mm equivalent), but it didn't quite get the same positive reviews as the 20mm. While the 35mm f/1.8G AF-S has received outstanding reviews, i just didn't want to settle on that focal length. So i took the plunge with the 20. Great decision! Most would probably use this lens for landscape, but i find it just right for indoor candids of the family. I never worry about shooting space and never find it too wide. The lens itself feels solid, it's small and all around great performer. December 10, 2011
Excellent lens for getting the big picture Terrific for urban landscapes and interiors with large groups. Tack sharp from corner to corner. Quickly became a favourite lens. April 17, 2011
A Remarkable Lens! After reading some reviews of this lens, I began to have doubts about its quality. After buying one, and using it for just a few days, all doubts have vanished. This is a great lens! It is as sharp as the best of Nikon's lenses in the center, with only a slight loss of sharpness in the corners. It is almost as sharp at f/2.8 as at other apertures. It does have some coma in the corners, noticeable when photographing stars, but not too bad. Thee is some distortion, but not too bad. There is vignetting at maximum aperture on my Nikon D700, uncorrected, but with the D700 vignetting control feature, that eliminates the problem. There is very little ghosting or flare. The color rendition is excellent and the contrast is superb. AF is not lightening fast, but acceptable. All it lacks is AF-S. On a scale of 1-10, with 1 being a Coke bottle bottom and 10 being a perfect lens, I give this lens an 8. February 9, 2011
Page: 2
next>>
16 Questions | 19 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
16 Questions | 19 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
2 Answers

Is the 20mm f/2.8D fully compatible with the D7000, including AF and metering?

May 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I'm using 24mm f/2.8 on D7000. Its same lens as 20mm. So you can use it also.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 19, 2014 by
by
Hemant
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Location : 
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful1
Answer: 
This lens works flawlessly on my D80, so it should also work with the D7000
May 14, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
2 Answers

How do I set the lens to auto focus?

Dec 24, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
With d5200 camera
Jan 15, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
What camera?
Dec 24, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
2 Answers

Nikkor 20mm F/2.8D and Nikon D600

May 17, 2013 by
by
Kenny S.
California
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Recently I purchased a Nikkor 20MM F/2.8D anticipating that I would be able to use the aperture ring on the lens. However the only configuration the camera will allow me to shoot in is while the lens is locked at F22. I wanted to use this lens to manually control the aperture rings for more consistent daylight time-lapse.

I have tried using all manual modes, manual focus, etc. with no luck. Anytime move the aperture ring the camera reports an "fEE" error. Am I misunderstanding how the aperture ring is supposed to work?

The lens works great outside of that. Just wish I could figure our the aperture ring.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Kenny S.
California
Location : 
California
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
To use the aperture ring on the lens, access the D600 custom setting menu 'f5' and change 'Aperture setting' to Aperture ring.

(1)Press the menu button.
(2) Scroll down and highlight the pencil (custom setting menu) and press OK.
(3) Scroll down and select "f " Controls.
(4) Scroll down and select "f5" Customize command dials.
(5) Scroll down and select "Aperture Setting" then select "Aperture Ring"
May 23, 2013 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You cannot use the aperture ring on the lens. It must be left at minimum aperture and you control aperture with camera. It is that way with all Nikon DSLR's.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

Is this Nikon 20mm AF f2.8 d lens compatible with Nikon D200?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes.
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

Is the AF NIKKOR 20mm f/2.8D compatible with the Nikon D60?

May 27, 2011 by
by
Joanna
Houston
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I have a Nikon D60 at work and I need a wide angle lense to take interior home photos and I want to make sure this lens is compatible. If it isn't, any suggestions as to what lens I should buy? I don't want anything that is fisheyed. Thanks!!!!!!
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Joanna
Houston
Location : 
Houston
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon offers two types of autofocus digital camera bodies: those with a built-in focus drive motor and those which require a lens to have a motor. Cameras such as the D60 do not have a focus motor in it so they require the lens to have the focusing motor – an “AF-S” lens. While these bodies can use a lens with no focus motor (an “AF” lens) you would have to manually turn the focus ring to bring the subject in to sharp focus.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

Is this lens compatible with the D300s?

Jul 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sure it is
Jul 12, 2011 by
by
JohnL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

Is this lens compatible with D5000?

Nov 11, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes but will be manual focus only.
Nov 11, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

is this lense compatible with a Nikon D90?

Dec 13, 2011 by
by
Donna
Oregon
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Donna
Oregon
Location : 
Oregon
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Dec 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

Is this lense compatable with the D40x

Dec 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is compatible but doesn't have an focus motor so will not autofocus with the D40x
Dec 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 20mm f/2.8D
 
1 answer

Does the autofocus work with the D3000? If so, how do I turn it on?

Dec 20, 2011 by
by
mag
Boston, MA, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
mag
Boston, MA, USA
Location : 
Boston, MA, USA
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No there is no AF with this lens, its manual focus only on the D3000
Dec 20, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers