Loading

Practical, compact f/4 super-telephoto prime lens

Offering an excellent balance between size, speed and image quality, the fast AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/4D IF-ED produces great sharpness, making it an ideal super-telephoto lens for sports, wildlife or travel applications. If greater reach is needed, it’s fully compatible with all Nikon teleconverters. It even handles close-up shooting suprisingly well.
Silent Wave Motor
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
M/A
IF Lens

Capture distant action

Super-telephoto reach and pristine clarity

The AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/4D IF-ED delivers exceptionally clear images from remarkeable distances. It’s fixed 300mm focal length lets you get closer to the excitement of a sporting event, the natural splendor of wildlife and the breathtaking details of a landscape. And because of its compact size and lightweight construction, it’s perfect for carrying around during a full day of shooting. Combine it with a Nikon teleconverter, and you can achieve up to an astounding 600mm of reach!

Superb image quality

Superior NIKKOR optical design

The AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/4D IF-ED delivers the exceptional image quality and performance that has made NIKKOR lenses famous. Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor (SWM) enables ultra-fast, ultra-quiet autofocusing with seamless manual override. Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass produces superior sharpness, contrast and color, even in challenging lighting situations. And the Internal Focusing (IF) design keeps the lens compact and lightweight.
Silent Wave Motor
Silent Wave Motor
AF-S NIKKOR lenses feature Nikon’s Silent Wave Motor, which represents a significant advance in AF lens technology.
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
ED (Extra-Low Dispersion) Glass
An optical glass developed by Nikon that is used with normal optical glass in telephoto lenses to obtain optimum correction of chromatic aberrations.
M/A
M/A
Select NIKKOR lenses have a focusing mode which allows switching from automatic to manual focusing with virtually no lag time by simply turning the focusing ring on the lens.
IF Lens
IF Lens
A NIKKOR lens in which only the internal lens group shifts during focusing. These lenses will be designated with the abbreviation IF on the lens barrel.
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED 4.5 5 36 36
Great Lens I own the 18-300 Nikon lens, which is a great all-purpose carry-around lens, but wanted something sharper at the longer focal length. I recently bought this lens, and I am amazed at its sharpness. I prefer to shoot wildlife and birds, and this lens takes awesome sharp images. The autofocus is quick and accurate, and the bokeh is very nice. I attach it to a monopod that I use to handle the lens/camera combination. It gives me stability in lower light situations and supports the lens. I highly recommend this lens. My next purchase will be a Nikon 1.4 teleconverter to extend the lens even further, and I plan to use this lens as the go-to lens for wildlife photos January 4, 2014
Incredibly Sharp Lens! I am currently using this lens with a Nikon D800. I read a lot of online reviews before making the purchase. And I'm glad I didn't wait any longer to purchase this lens. I have captured some incredible wildlife shots of deer with this lens! I always keep a Nikon TC 1.4x attached. The rear lens element is "exposed," even when mounted to the camera. And it seems likely dirt/dust could enter into the rear element. In addition, I don't feel that sharpness, autofocus or Depth of Field suffers with the Teleconverter attached. And 120mm extra reach certainly helps on an FX body (focal length = 420mm). I am personally blown away by the depth of field on this lens. I shot 3 deer standing in a row from about 50-60ft away, and one head was in clear focus, while the other two were gradually blurred [settings = 420mm , f/5.6]. I was shocked to realize I needed to step down in order to bring all deer into focus. This can really enhance wildlife/nature shots with regards to how you want to portray the background behind the animals! This lens is not "lightweight" as the product description states. It is definitely lighter than the 300mm f/2.8 (which I personally have not used). But it will take some practice to hand hold and capture steady shots. I have not shot below 1/400sec yet to put my technique to the test. But why would you when shooting wildlife?! I bought the Kirk collar to replace the Nikon collar (again, a recommendation from online research). In addition, this lens can comfortably be used in extreme temperatures. My first "shoot" was a hike looking for deer in -12C (around 10F) temperatures. And there were no issues with lens fogging (I keep a 77mm B+W clear MRC filter attached at all times). I have not tried the lens in rain. I have shot several times since in below freezing temperatures without any issues. Again, great for nature photography! In conclusion, I am personally blown away by the sharpness of this lens. It can be hand held for an "extended" shoot, but will require some patience and practice in hand holding technique. The autofocus is very quick in my opinion. And I've shot on gloomy winter days in the woods while the sun is setting. I experience minimal hunting with wide open aperature (f/5.6 - because of TeleConverter), but this could be attributed to animals walking behind trees/shrubs). A little extra ISO in gloomy conditions delivers stunning colours! If you are looking for a telephoto lens: Don't look much further unless you have a spare $6,000 for the f/2.8. I have not shot with the 300mm f/2.8 so I can not give a valid comparison, but this lens blows me away! I don't think someone could persuade me a lens of the same focal length could be worth 4x as much! February 12, 2013
spectacular lens not light, but lighter than comparable products, allowed me to hike w lens and tripod to observation point. achieved photo of crusader fort/monastery in Israel in deep canyon i had not previously been able to get with other lenses. January 23, 2013
FIVE STARS IN ITS' OWN RIGHT -- TRUST ME I owned an earlier version of the venerable Nikon 300mm f2.8 and I am here to tell you that as poets strive to define 'love' -- and in all fairness to the enormity of their task, if this lens isn't mentioned, then simply put; they've will have failed in their attempt. Yet as beautiful as it is, the 300 2.8 is also -- very HEAVY. And I am here to tell you that while Love 'may be' blind, heavy can definitely become painful. Enter the acclaimed Nikon 300mm f4d af s. Same reach, BEAUTIFUL bokeh, sharp images, a macro capability that will wow you and half the weight at a fraction of the cost. Granted, it's slower than the 2.8 and it can't compete with the 'big dog' in low light. But in unchallenging light conditions, this lens ROCKS! And, should you catch a cramp or need some water, you've got money left over to handle that. :) February 24, 2012
Versatile In the early 90's I considered the prior version of this lens for film. For what-ever reason it was never purchased. I found this fall that my 80-200 2.8 was insufficient for football games on Friday night. Although I considered the 70-210 & 1.4tc-e, I opted for this lens instead. It is very sharp and has the reach I need to isolate subjects on the football field w/o the price of the faster 300 2.8. With the 1.4 mounted I can see no difference optical clarity. The combination is quite useful for other images, as well. Attached is a photo made from my back window. The buck and doe were 200+/- yards away. The image was made with the 300 f4 and 1.4 tc, and has not be retouched. December 13, 2011
Page: 2 3
next>>
21 Questions | 22 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
21 Questions | 22 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
2 Answers

Landscape Lens for Nikon D5100

Mar 26, 2013 by
by
Sree
Chicago
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
I have a Nikon D5100 and I have taken some pictures with 18-55 and 55-300 lenses and eventhough I use aperture mode settings, I am not getting sharp pictures. What do you recommend for a good Lense for Landscape pictures.
1 year ago
by
Sree
Chicago
Location : 
Chicago
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
With long lenses, sharpness may be impacted by camera shake / motion. Use of a tripod may reduce that motion for you. It can be a pain to carry the "sticks" around, but the results can make it all worthwhile.
Jan 17, 2014 by
by
Guido Bee
Wa State
Location : 
Wa State
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S NIKKOR
16-35mm f/4G ED VR

AF-S DX NIKKOR
10-24mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Mar 27, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this with a D5000?

Feb 2, 2012 by
by
Dizzy
Greece
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Will this work with a D5000 and if so will it autofocus?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Dizzy
Greece
Location : 
Greece
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes and yes.
Feb 2, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can i us this in a D3100?

Feb 15, 2012 by
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
can it autofocus with the d3100?
does it have limitations on it?
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
arvi124
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can.
Feb 15, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Can I use this on a D60?

Mar 19, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Mar 19, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

I have a TOKINA doubler for NA/AI lenses. Will it work for this lense?

Apr 19, 2012 by
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

-2points
1out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful3
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third party equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Apr 20, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

can i use witha d70?

Jul 12, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes
Jul 13, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Is this a fixed focal lenght? Can you zoom in and out?

Jul 14, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Its fixed hence why its a 300mm.
Jul 14, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

Will it autofocus with a nikon D3000?

Jul 28, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
if yes does it have any limitations?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, lens has built in focus motor.
Jul 28, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

can i use it with nikon d3100 ? Will it autofocus with a nikon D3100?

Aug 25, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Aug 25, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED
 
1 answer

how to know the Latest Product Number of AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED?

Nov 28, 2012 by
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I want to buy AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED Lens but how to know the latest Product number( to get latest product)?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Our product numbers are usually listed right below the price. The product number for the AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED is 1909.
Nov 29, 2012 by
by
NikonLaurence
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers