Loading

Ultra-fast f/1.4 prime lens for exquisite sharpness and bokeh

With outstanding NIKKOR optics and an ultra-fast f/1.4 maximum aperture, the AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4D delivers superb resolution and color reproduction and a classic 50mm angle of view. Its manual aperture control ring enables smooth adjustments during Live View shooting. Fast enough for shooting in just about any light, it’s an ideal walk-around (multi-purpose) lens for photography and HD video recording.
Super Integrated Coating

Beautiful background blur

Achieve more natural depth of field

Nothing quite isolates and captures the subject of a portrait like a lens that is capable of achieving spectacular background blur (bokeh). When you need to isolate your subject from its background—whether shooting stills or HD videos—the AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4D renders a beautiful, natural background blur at its wider aperture settings. Manual control of that aperture means you can make smooth adjustments, even during Live View shooting.

The beauty is in the details

Fast enough for shooting in any light

Shooting with only available light can prove challenging, but the AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4D is fast enough for nearly any type of light. Its f/1.4 maximum aperture and outstanding NIKKOR optics broaden your range of shooting opportunities. Create images you never thought possible.
Super Integrated Coating
Super Integrated Coating
Nikon Super Integrated Coating is Nikon's term for its multilayer coating of the optical elements in NIKKOR lenses.
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D 4.7 5 52 52
Great Lens I was torn between this lens and the 50mm f/1.8d. I'm glad I went with this lens. It's built well, extremely sharp, beautiful bokeh, nice small size. I only wish that it was a little bit wider when used on my D80 (turns into a 75mm lens due to crop factor), but it rocks for portraits. It also works well on my F80 (35mm SLR). I have no regrets purchasing this lens. July 30, 2010
Great little lense Love this lense, compact, lightweight and relatively fast. Use it frequently. July 30, 2010
Must Have! I purchased this lens about 6 months ago and as an amatuer photographer and hobbyist it is amazing for portraits! It gives such a sharp image with great DOF and beautiful bokeh. It is definitely worth the cost, and I probably would have paid more for it. Overall, I would recommend that anyone that would like to have good quality portraits/family shots get this little beauty! July 30, 2010
There's no downside to this lens I've had this lens for about three months and it spends more time on my camera than any other. It's fast and light and takes very sharp pictures. August 2, 2013
A fast 50mm lens with good performance I bought this 50mm lens with my D700, to replace my old 50/1.4 AI lens for an autofocus version. This 50/1.4 AF-D lens performs nicely, with surprisingly fast and accurate focus tracking. The only real gripe I have is that it does not come with a lens hood - this is one reason I gave it a 4 star rating!!! There are plenty of situations where the lens hood helps to improve contrast. It took me some time to discover it. My old 50/1.4 AI does have a metal hood which is VERY useful. This metal lens hood also fits the newer 50/1.4 AF-D. Sharpness and contrast suffer a little when shooting wide open (f1.4), but nothing to complain. Bokeh is very nice and smooth. Like others commented, it can produce heptagonal shapes which I like. Colors are very nice and saturated, with good contrast (see above about hood). Last not least, the AF-D version feels solid, but doesn't have the robust and precision engineered built of the manual focus AI (or AI-S). The inner lens barrel (the one that extends/retracts when focusing) somewhat wiggles a little, manual focusing is far less smooth. This is another reason I gave it "only" 4 stars. When I don't need autofocus, I use my old 50/1.4 AI. There is something about that old lens that is hard to describe, but it does show in the pictures (micro-contrast, perhaps better sharpness). For those who don't care about manual focus lenses or must have autofocus, the 50/1.4 AF-D is an excellent and affordable choice. I also recommend getting a lens hood - preferably the metal type as it's rock solid and provides added protection to the lens, aside from improving the picture quality. May 16, 2011
solid performer A small, sharp lens. I use it on FX and am generally pleased. It is sharp and small. I am generally very happy with the images I get, but there are a few niggles: It vignettes a bit wide open and loses some contrast there, but improves when stopped down just a bit. It also is subject to flare, so I suggest getting and using the HR-2 hood. I must also note the cheap end cap - a white plastic "thing" that presses on. My other Nikkors have a real screw-on end cap end cap - why does Nikon allow this? Overall, it is a very decent lens. I selected the 1.4D over the AFS 1.4G because of the aperture ring, which makes it useful on older cameras. April 15, 2011
Can't Complain This was my first nice piece of glass. The AF with my D7000 is super fast. I also played with an AF-G but this noticeably faster. The camera and lens don't feel like they're constantly hunting for focus. It's plenty light, but feels solid. I'd have preferred a 35mm but that lens is crazy expensive. This 50 1.4 is a great, entry-level "wide open" lens. April 14, 2011
Great Glass. Extreme Sharpness when stopped down I owned this lens for a couple years before upgrading to the 50 1.4 G. The optics are excellent and do not let down. Shot wide open leaves a little to be desired, especially in challenging lighting conditions compared to full pro level primes. I upgraded to the new one because of the common focusing issues with this model. The new one isn't significantly better optically and will give the same images in a controlled environment. I'm finding that the better autofocus with the new lens and its ability to deal with lighting issues has been an asset to me. This lens looks better that the new one and has an aperture ring. Wish that they would have kept aperture rings on their new lenses. March 2, 2011
Good Lens This is a great lens for any low light situation. My only complaint is that it is not sharp until f2.2. I prefer the new G series lens over this one. July 31, 2010
beutiful lens for limited depth of field photos This lens have to be used with knowing what you are doing, taking just photos at f/1.4 using a DX camera , more likely you going to be disappointed, with great care photographing f/1.4 using a DX camera works beautifully under stable controlled shooting, Shooting at F/2.8 is safe. Using film Shooting at F1.4 is safe and same with FX format July 30, 2010
Rock Solid I've used this lens at work for shooting product shots, and portraits, and I also have one for my personal D300s, and I love the lens. At work I've had it for a couple of years, and it's rock solid. I like that it opens so wide, and use it to get some great DOF effects, but haven't had the chance to shoot it in low light yet. Because I've got a DX camera, it doesn't always give me the frame size I want, and I can't always "foot zoom" enough to frame my subject, so I would consider a 35mm for the same job, but only if it's built as solidly as this one. July 30, 2010
Low light short focus Love this lens. I find that I use it more than expected. I shoot commercially and clients love the short focus look on their products. I can also shoot in about any low light situation and get the shot. Two years of use without a problem. July 30, 2010
50mm 1.4D Very good lens, for the money, better than the G model. Small, sharp, opens waaay up (1.4). Had both the D, G models, kept the D. Put on a metal lens hood, still small, handy. Crisp, edge to edge. July 30, 2010
Fun Lens Sharp portrait photos. Excellent standard lens. Reliable construction. July 30, 2010
Solid prime that could be better Versatile normal prime when traveling light. Decent at f1.4 but sharpens up nicely at f2. July 30, 2010
You get what you pay for I use this on a D3. Comparing this to my other Nikkor fixed-focal length, the 85mm f/1.4D, the 50mm f/1.4D has lower contrast (especially wider open), is softer, and focuses a bit faster. The 85mm has a nearly indescribable pop and look to its images that the 50mm lacks. But it's also three times more expensive, too. It is an excellent focal length for an all-around portable lens. Bokeh is good, but shows heptagonal bokeh from its 7 diaphragm blades. I quite like the heptagonal effect, though. July 30, 2010
autu focus went bad on me after 6 month good lens but short lived AF. It died on me when taking portaits. July 14, 2010
Page: 2 3
<<prev
39 Questions | 56 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
39 Questions | 56 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
4 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the l810?

Jan 28, 2013 by
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Carly
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No the lens cannot be changed on the L810
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, L810 is a fixed lens camera.
Jan 29, 2013 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No L810 has a fixed lens that cannot be changed.
Jan 28, 2013 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No.Coolpix L810 is a point and shoot camera. The lens on the L810 cannot be remove. This lens is for Nikon DSLR cameras.
Jan 28, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
3 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D80? And will the autofocus work with it?

Mar 14, 2012 by
by
Bob
Florida
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Bob
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it is fully compatible including autofocus of course which works fine
Mar 14, 2012 by
by
Nabfro
Egypt
Location : 
Egypt
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. This lens is completely compatible with the D80. Autofocus and exposure both work very well. Unlike the AFS version, you must flip a switch to go into manual focus with this lens. On the other hand, (at least on a D3S) I found this lens to focus faster than the AFS version. I have used this lens on a D80 and it is great.
Mar 14, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes. The D80 has a built in focusing motor.
Mar 14, 2012 by
by
CuritibaBrasil
Curitiba, Brazil.
Location : 
Curitiba, Brazil.
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Rayan
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No. The 50 f1.8D is just as sharp and the slight difference in aperture is not even noticeable.

I initially purchased a 50 f1.4D and then tried a friend's f1.8. I ran back to the store and exchanged my 50 f1.4D for the 50 f1.8D. They're almost the same lens!
Aug 18, 2013 by
by
MichaelAH
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 25-34
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
stick to the 50mm 1.8D.
May 1, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The 50mm 1.8 was just released that lens in my opinion is terrible.
Apr 30, 2011 by
by
DinoS
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the D3000?

Mar 3, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Will this lens work with the D3000? WIll it auto-focus?

Thank you.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Ex
FL
Location : 
FL
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
On D3000 you can use this lens only in manual focus mode,
but AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G will support your D3000 in auto focus, because it have internal Silent Wave Motor (SWM).
Auto focus on D3000 works with all Nikkor lenses, which started from "AF-S NIKKOR ... or
"AF-I NIKKOR

Goodluck
Mar 11, 2011 by
by
Yevgen
Watertown, MA, 02472
Location : 
Watertown, MA, 02472
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
If you want to use this lens on a D3000 you will have to achieve focus manually since the camera body doesn’t have the internal motor for AF.
Mar 9, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

Is this lens compatible with d40?

Mar 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can use this lens but it will not have the AF for the D40 or D40x. In order to get the AF, you will need to get lens with (G).
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon offers two types of autofocus digital camera bodies: those with a built-in focus drive motor and those which require a lens to have a motor. Cameras such as the D40 do not have a focus motor in it so they require the lens to have the focusing motor – an “AF-S” lens. While these bodies can use a lens with no focus motor (an “AF” lens) you would have to manually turn the focus ring to bring the subject in to sharp focus.

You may want to try the AF-S version of this lens.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Mar 23, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

True focal length

Mar 30, 2011 by
by
Alexia
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
What's the actual (what I see) focal length of this lens on a DX body and FX body? Also is the 50mm 1.4G the same focal lengths?

Thank you
3 years ago
by
Alexia
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the crop factor on the DX camera, you will most likely be approximately 75mm but it is 50mm on FX. This lens is and FX and I'm not sure if I'm right or not.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
AaronB

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
The focal length in FX and DX is 50mm.
Mar 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

With this lens i will have to stand away how many feet from the subject to take a protrait photograph?

Apr 29, 2011 by
by
Rayan
Bangladesh
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Rayan
Bangladesh
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends on whether you want full body, head and shoulders or body parts, its up to you how close you want to get so nobody can really give you a definative answer.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Minimum Focus Distance is 1.5ft.
Apr 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

Compatible with D5100?

Jan 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Because the D5100 lacks an AF motor? Instead, should I look at the AF-S 50mm f/1.4G?
Jan 6, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Will not auto focus
Jan 5, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

Will this lens be perfect for the D7000 blured background?

Apr 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Texas, USA
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Anonymous
Texas, USA
Location : 
Texas, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
It is a good lens and as Joe says creates nice bokeh. You have to be very careful though when using a lens like this with a low aperture, as it is easy to not get the focus not quite correct when focusing (for portrait mostly focus on the eyes) and this can ruin a photo.
Apr 5, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, when used correctly it produces a very nice bokeh.
Apr 2, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D
 
2 Answers

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D60?

Jan 2, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, but if you need AutoFocus you'll need to get the 50 f1.4G.

It won't autofocus on your body.
Aug 18, 2013 by
by
MichaelAH
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 25-34
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It will work but manual focus only, neither the camera or lens have built in focus motors.
Jan 2, 2013 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers