Loading

Key Features

Close-Range Correction (CRC) system.

Compact, lightweight wide-angle lens.

74-degree picture angle for superlative flexibility.

Note: Available through special order only against confirmed and non-cancelable orders. Allow 60 to 120 days for delivery. Subject to limited availability.

NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8 5 5 15 15
The Almost Perfect Wide Angle Prime My requirement for a wide angle lens is a bit strict: It should have close up capability for exaggerated perspective distortion, while it should have minimum linear distortion. Nikon AI-s 28mm f/2.8 is just right what I need. From Minolta, Canon and Nikon's other 20-35mm lenses I cannot find a better one. July 7, 2011
Very functional lens. The auto zoom feature is the greatest ever I owned! May 16, 2011
My favorite lens of all time. I bought mine in 1983. I was on the high school yearbook and newspaper. I then used it in college when I was yearbook and was a photo major. I used it all the time until I bought my F100 in 2000 and bought a 28 mm 2.8 AF. Three years ago I pulled out my FE and 28 and shot infrared film. I just converted my D70 to IR and use my 28 2.8 instead of any AF lens. It is still tack sharp and the oldest 35mm lens I still use. April 15, 2011
Great little wide-angle for full frame camera I purchased this 28mm Nikkor manual focus as a light-weight (and smaller) alternative to my 24-70 zoom. I got it used (It's difficult to find) and shoot it with a D700. It's kind of nostalgic using a non-AF lens and with such a generally large DOF, it doesn't require too much focus tweaking anyway. I just set the aperture and let the auto-exposure (aperture priority) do the rest. The resolution is tack sharp and the small degree of lens correction needed is easily handled in Photoshop. This is one fantastic little lens and a real pleasure to carry around all day with no neck strain. April 14, 2011
I recently picked it up for our stop motion animation, and was a little doubtful about its performance in comparison with my lens that I have been using for about a year. I was concerned about the short distance but man was I wrong. I have sharp clear images with such a nice fstop range, I am a believer that the lens makes the difference. I also picked it up for our family camera and it has produced some amazing photos my kit lens could not. April 1, 2011
Still wonderful after all these years! One of THE classic Nikon lenses of all time. A tremendously useful focal length (full frame) coupled with optical excellence and small size. One lens I didn't need to choose f-stop to get resolution. It just always seems sharp. Almost a reason to shoot FX. March 1, 2011
Probably the best 28mm for an SLR The 28mm AIS is one of the best 28mm lens for an SLR. Small, 52mm filter size (filter compatible), very easy for carrying and very good image quality. Add to this the close-range capablity. The small hood. It's one of my favorite Nikkors and probably the best lens if you take into account the image quality vs the small price of this lens. September 12, 2010
Finest Nikon Lens Ever Made! Nikon needs to advertise this lens! Moose Peterson gives this lens his highest rating and I must agree with him. I use this lens reverse mounted with extensions for macro photography. Stunning quality photos that exceed professional standards. It is the finest portrait lens for group photos without any distortion. On my D200 I looked at 80+ wedding photos using the top of the line software available and did not need to edit any of them. I magnified the macro photos I took yesterday and none of them were edited either and that is unheard of, trust me. August 1, 2010
A terrific little lens. I recently acquired one of these lenses used and love it. I had a cheap third party 28mm lens which was horrible, even stopped down to f/11 where any lens should look alright. This lens lives up to its amazing reputation. The lens is sharp at all apertures, compact, and built to last. My favorite thing about this lens however, is its minimal focus distance is less that .7 feet / .2 meters. It is practically a macro lens. I love it because I don't like using wide angles just to capture more in the frame, but to exaggerate perspective. I use this lens mostly on my FM manual focus film body, but it also works as a great normal lens on DX bodies if you are willing to focus manually, and set exposure manually on some bodies. I wish Nikon would come out with a modern version of this lens (the 28mm f/2.8D AF lens does not have the same optics or close focus abilities). July 31, 2010
my FAVORITE lens - PERIOD. I read some online reviews of this lens that mentioned this lenses' great close-focus ability, fantastic distortion control and nice rendition of out-of-focus areas (bokeh). Usually I dismiss such information as being irrelevent to me since I don't NEED to focus on objects that almost touch the lens and the differences in bokeh in daylight shots isn't of primary importance to me. I bought this lens mostly because I'm ultra-picky about distortion and this lens was supposedly the BEST Nikon wide angle lens in this regard. Of couse it's built to amazing Nikon MF standards too. Well - this lens has lived up to EVERY promise. My shots are free distortion (nearly as good as a macro or tele prime). It has expanded my photographic creativity with it's close focus capabilities. The close focus ability, coupled with nice and soft bokeh has allowed me to compose some fascinating shots with beautiful, near-macro close-up detail AND include a wide angle background scene with either sharp of soft detail. This lens is a true Nikon classic! It's my main lens for my FM3A and also gets plenty of use on my D700 and D200 cameras. I actually own two of them :) I pray that Nikon doesn't stop making this legendary classic. July 30, 2010
Page:2
<<prev
9 Questions | 12 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
9 Questions | 12 Answers
All Questions
1 of 1
Sort by:
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
3 Answers

Can this NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8 lens be used in a D60?

Dec 14, 2011 by
by
Amateur photographer
San Antonio, TX, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
According to compatible lenses information for the D60, I cannot see if this lens work or not? Would I need an adapter ring?
 
Products related to my question
D60
4.5 out of 5(58)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Amateur photographer
San Antonio, TX, USA
Location : 
San Antonio, TX, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You do NOT need any type of adaptor ring for this lens. Remember that this is a manual focus lens so it will not autofocus with any Nikon camera body, even the pro FX bodies can not focus this lens. Also, with a D60 body, your camera's metering system will not automagically meter your exposures for you. Which means all scene modes, aperature priority, and shutter priority will not work. You should, however, be able to use this lens in Manual Mode. Setting the D60 to manual mode should allow you to adjust the shutter speed. You would then, of course, choose the ISO speed you want to use in the camera. But you will not be able to select an aperture setting in the camera. You must use the aperture ring that's built into the lens to select your aperture - just like the good ole days. Just remember that if you're not familiar with manual exposure, prepare for a lot of trial and error shots. I use this lens with my D90 (which also doesn't meter AIS lenses) in the way I just described. It can be frustrating at first but I'm actually getting pretty good at getting the exposures right the first time. Also, EV bracketing is a great way to start out. Not to mention my little iPhone light meter app which can provide a decent starting point to work with. I'm not sure about the D60, but my D90 has an infrared focus meter which turns red in the viewfinder when the selected focus point is in focus. Also keep in mind that no EXIF data is written to your picture files, which is a bummer when you're trying to learn full manual exposure through trial and error by looking at photos you just imported into Lightroom. Having said all that, I have absolutely no regrets about buying this incredible lens. The image and build quality is second to none. I hope this helps.
Jul 31, 2013 by
by
Semi-Professional Photog / Nikon Enthusiast Extraordinaire
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Location : 
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It won't work on your d60 because it will not meter.
Jan 1, 2012 by
by
Photo bug
Chicago, IL, USA
Location : 
Chicago, IL, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It can be used but because the camera doesn't have an internal focus motor, it won't auto focus.
Dec 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
2 Answers

Why is this manual focus lens more expensive than the auto focus?

May 27, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
does the phrase "economies of scale" ring a bell for you? nikon doesn't make as many of the older AIS lenses as it does modern models, hence they're more costly. have you ever used a manual focus lens? if so, you know how well-built and solid they are. the optical formula is often the same as the AF equivalents, so they sport superior optics. remember, too, how some of the german brand lenses are also manual focus, and sport price tags in the stratosphere. manual focus is not synonymous with "cheap".
May 28, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA
Location : 
Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The manual focus lens is more expensive to build. It has 8 elements in 8 groups as compared to 6 element in 6 groups for the autofocus variey. The manual focus lens also has a coupling prong for older metering systems and also has a more robust build. There are also those who prefer its optics as well.
May 27, 2012 by
by
PhotoGeek
Napa, CA
Location : 
Napa, CA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

can nikon lenses be used on canon dslr and slr cameras, if so what mount designator should I look for

Aug 16, 2011 by
by
Chris
Peoria AZ
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Canon Elan iiE SLR and Canon t2iDSLR
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Chris
Peoria AZ
Location : 
Peoria AZ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon lenses can only be use with Nikon D-SLRs.
Aug 16, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

Is the red dot below the DOF red-brown mark an IR focusing indicator?

Feb 28, 2012 by
by
Salva
Mexico
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Salva
Mexico
Location : 
Mexico
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes
Feb 28, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

Can this be used with the D3000?

May 15, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon offers two types of autofocus digital camera bodies: those with a built-in focus drive motor and those which require a lens to have a motor. Cameras such as the D3000 do not have a focus motor in it so they require the lens to have the focusing motor – an “AF-S” lens. While these bodies can use a lens with no focus motor (an “AF” lens) you would have to manually turn the focus ring to bring the subject in to sharp focus.
May 15, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

Are there any MTF curves available for this lens? Thanks

Nov 19, 2012 by
by
NikonAmateur
Cupertino, CA, USA
Has staff answer
Has expert answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years ago
by
NikonAmateur
Cupertino, CA, USA
Location : 
Cupertino, CA, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Unfortunately Nikon does not currently have an MTF chart available for this lens.
Nov 23, 2012 by
by
NikonCatherine
New York
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

what is the official name for this lens

Feb 3, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
which one is this lens when someone address it as
Nikkor Ai-s 28mm f2.8 or Nikon Nikkor 28 mm F/2.8 AIS (BEFORE AI)
9 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikkor 28mm f/2.8 AI-S
Feb 4, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

Will this lens (NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8) work on a D7100?

May 19, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, it will, with an effective field of view of 42mm.
May 19, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8
 
1 answer

Can the NIKKOR 28mm f/2.8 lens be used on the Nikon D7100?

May 19, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
6 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
May 20, 2014 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
1 of 1
1 of 1

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers