Loading

Key Features

These rechargeable batteries provide extended life and consistent power, even in colder conditions.
The battery uses the MH-24 charger.
The EN-EL4a even gives notice when calibration is necessary.
The EN-EL14 is a rechargeable Li-ion battery that powers select Nikon D-SLR cameras, providing 7.4v and 1030 mAh of power.
Used together with your Nikon D-SLR, the camera's fuel gauge accurately displays the remaining charge and number of shots since the last charging.
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery 3.5 5 22 22
Loved it. I bought my D5100 with kit lens & purchased the AF-S NIKKOR 55-300mm DX VR lens also on 16 Mar 2012 and the last 2 times I've gone to charge my battery it's still "blinking/charging" after being plugged in for over 7 hours. Am I doing something wrong or is it time to replace it and it's NOT EVEN A YEAR OLD YET?!?!??? January 31, 2013
Great Battery I bought the d5100 and so far its been great. I have recently started doing night time, time lapses of the stars with about 400-500 photos of 10-15 second exposures, i was at first concerned since there are no battery pack options. But it turns out my d5100 usually has at least half of its battery left when finished. Great battery, highly recommended! June 27, 2012
good batery i took 410 shots with 377 in built in flash...... good battery.... October 11, 2011
Works Fine I think that the review by Eggroll, back in March, explains it all, and gets my applause. When I got my D5100 and started using it, I was taken back by how quickly the battery ran down - on the first charge of the battery. I was concerned about the use of Live View, the 800 gram internal focus 28-300 lens, and video photography. So I bought a backup battery and read up on two-battery grips for the camera. I use the camera during day long cruises (hikes) through the mountains. But everything seems to be working fine after the second charge and as-necessary use of Live View. I shot 200 pix per day for several days with no change in the camera's battery level indicator. September 8, 2011
Great battery life.. I have had the D3100 over a month now. Took several hundred photos in Thailand, Singapore and Phoenix AZ before returning home. Only had to charge it once. 3 week trip. I never used live view and only a few flash photos. After I returned I took about 50 shots at a B-Day party, indoor, all flash. Batter it still in it and shows about 25% left. June 1, 2011
Page: 2
next>>
45 Questions | 58 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
45 Questions | 58 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
4 Answers

I bought 2 third party EN-EL14 battery that don't start my P7000. Why?

Apr 18, 2012 by
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Is Nikon has put some proprietary chip in their battery to forbid using third party battery?

the battery is 7.4 v 1080 mAh 7.99Wh.
2 years ago
by
MiGa
4 Answers

Answers

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Nikon technical support repeats that they only recommanded their own expensive batteries.

I got no explanation about firmware v. 1.1 accepting the generic batteries and v 1.2 not accepting them. This look like a money grab to me. Their charger is so overprice too, while yo can get a generic for less than $10.
Apr 20, 2012 by
by
MiGa

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have resolved part of the mystery. I went to a store to try my third party batteries and they work in the store camera. The firmware was v. 1.1 while I have v. 1.2

That gave me a hint and I reinstalled v 1.1 in my camera to try. The batteries works when I used 1.1 but not when I use 1.2. I don't want to use 1.1 as 1.2 is supposed to have fixed many problems but have broken the ability of using other than Nikon batteries. This was not in the list of "improvement" for this version.

Where is version 1.3 to fix this?
Apr 19, 2012 by
by
MiGa
Nikon Family: 21+ years

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Real bummer, that Nikon restrict the P7000 to use only their battery, if true. I can use after market battery for my D80.
Apr 19, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
Nikon makes their batterys to comunicate with the camera they were designed for.
After market batteries do not,so they don't always work properly in your Nikon.
I know Nikon batterys are expensive but they work, I have ENEL & ENEL-3 batteries that are 10 years old
& recharged Many Many times & they have always held a charge & always work in the cameras they
were designed for. Always use Nikon original equipment batterys & your Nikon camera will work.
Apr 18, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
4 Answers

Are there any alternatives for EN EL14 with more mAh.

Aug 29, 2012 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
  Yes, there definitely are alternatives.

  Deciding that I ought to have at least one spare battery for my D3200, I went on Amazon, and ended up buying a set of two batteries for about $25.  They claim to have a capacity of 1800 mAH, compared to 1030 mAH for the genuine Nikon battery.

  I really cannot vouch for these batteries beyond the fact that they work.  It seems the the rate at which the camera consumes power is so widely variable that it would be very difficult to usefully measure whether it really gets any more life out of these than out of the stock Nikon battery.  But I can verify that they charge up in the MH-24 charger just as you expect them to, and they power the D3200 just as you expect them to.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 7, 2013 by
by
Bob
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Location : 
N38°29' W121°26' (Rounded to nearest minutes)
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just received one with my kit that has 2500mAh. It is made by a company called "Ultra Power (a precision company)". The only problem is that I can't seem to find any information about them. The camera dealership claims that it holds a 6-hour charge compared to only 30 minutes on the stock Nikon battery. The parent company seems to be Sakar
Nov 28, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
To my knowledge there is not an alternative ...
If you find one that is not made by Nikon, beware...
many problems can exist...after market batteries form other companies can result in damage to camera and its components...

" I tried the alternative battery for my D2X, and almost fried my camera, and battery was shot in two years, as my Nikon original is still going after 6 years and 70,000 shots..."
Sep 3, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
No, carry a spare battery.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
2 Answers

where can I get this battery En-El 14 Rechargerable Li-ion

Mar 13, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I need a battery for my Nikon D3100 . Do you have one
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon says that they have this battery to purchase from their store, BUT THEY DO NOT, they refer you to outside vendors.
May 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
You can find it at our online store.

http://shop.nikonusa.com
 
Products related to my answer
 
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
2 Answers

how to use in the first time?

Apr 9, 2011 by
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Drain its factory charge first then give it an initial charge of 3 hours.
Aug 17, 2012 by
by
Bryan The Strobist
Manila, Philippines
Location : 
Manila, Philippines
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Answer: 
Charge it up and put it in your camera.
Apr 10, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
2 Answers

blinking light when charging

Dec 22, 2011 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
hi, i just bought D5100. i was recommended to charge it overnight. however, when i started to charge my battery, the charger's light blink slowly. what does it indicate? faulty battery or charger?
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
jason
singapore
Location : 
singapore
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
You only need one hour and 30 minutes in order to have a fully charge battery, once this is completed the Charge lamp should stop blinking and stays a solid light.
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Light blinks while charging, turns solid yellow when fully charged.
Dec 22, 2011 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
It's different voltage and design.
Jan 19, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
en-el 14 is for d3100 and d5100. d7000 takes a en-el 15. is for the d7000, they are not interchangeable, different voltage.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
2 Answers

EN-EL15 won't work with my D5100

Apr 19, 2012 by
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I bought what seems to be an older model of the EN-EL14 battery that came with my camera as a backup. I went to put the battery I purchased and my camera tells me it is incompatible. Nikon brand, same model, same voltage. Did I get an extremely good knock off or what? Any suggestions on what to do?
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years ago
by
Grandpa Markley
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
contact "Service and Support" in above main menu...
Jul 3, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
EN-EL15 is not for the D5100, the EN-EL14 is correct. Sounds like a great knockoff or a bad battery. Send the battery back to Nikon and see what they have to say.
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
2 Answers

alternate batteries for d80

May 13, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
us virgin islands
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
us virgin islands
Location : 
us virgin islands
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Personally , I would use nothing but Nikon batteries...
after market, no name brands , have proven to leak, explode and fry cameras...

I have a D2X, when i first bought it i wanted another battery...I thought no way will i pay 150$ for one battery, so I bought a brand form camera store for I think 100$... the second time I charged battery, it became so hot that i took it outside thinking it was going to explode or catch fire...my D2X was worht $5,000 at the time, i tossed that battery so fast , and paid the 150$ for the Nikon batery and 6 years later, 65,000 pics, it still wotks perfect and my D2X is not been fried...
Only my opinion...
Jul 3, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Only one battery, EN-EL3e, unless you purchase a MB-D80 battery grip, it has the option of 6 AA batteries
May 13, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
1 year, 10 months ago
by
A104
Colorado, USA
Location : 
Colorado, USA
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
either the battery or the charger seem not to be performing up to spec. it would be worth your while to send them in to Nikon for inspection, after you've made doubly certain that the charger is plugged securely into a properly functioning wall outlet. these things don't usually fail, but it's not outside the realm of possibility that you have an issue.

p.s. it's not unheard of to have a spare battery on hand. you should consider purchasing one.
May 25, 2012 by
by
Hugo First
Richmond, VA, USA
Location : 
Richmond, VA, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sounds like you have a defective Batt or charger. If you know someone who has a D5100 borrow their Batt. & charger & se if you can figure out if it is the Battery or charger,otherwise cantact the dealer
you bought it from & if it is still under warranty they should replace it.
May 25, 2012 by
by
Buster
South Oregon coast
Location : 
South Oregon coast
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
 
2 Answers

Can you use an EN-EL3 battery instead of EN-EL14 in a NIKON D5100

May 9, 2012 by
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery

this is copied from tech specs for D5100
Jul 3, 2012 by
by
NikonD
Sedona, AZ, USA
Location : 
Sedona, AZ, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D5100 is only valid with the EN-EL14 rechargeable Li-ion Battery.
May 9, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>