Loading
;

Key Features

The EN-EL12 is a rechargeable Li-ion battery providing 3.7v and 1050 mAh of power to select Nikon COOLPIX digital cameras.

The battery is charged using the MH-65 charger.
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery 1.8 5 23 23
Marginal at best I recently bought the aw100 camera and I think that he battery like is much shorter that other cameras that I have used. I want to buy additional batteries but how come I can't purchase them from your site??? May 9, 2012
Short Battery Life and inconvenient recharging When using an S8000, carry several fully charged EN EL 12 batteries for a day's shooting. It seems as tho I was replacing depleted batteries every time a good photo opportunity presented itself while on vacation in Egypt. At night since the batteries are recharged inside the camera, and they take a long time to recharge, it was difficult to get both batteries fully charged for the next day. Needing to use the camera as a recharger, this cost me photo opportunities in the evenings while I was recharging. I had purchased the camera shortly befor the trip, and did not understand the recharging problems until I was in Egypt and it was too late to buy extra batteries and an external recharger (or two). November 22, 2010
Nikon has got it wrong with their battery strategy I use the EN-EL12 in a Coolpix S8200. I have to agree, the in camera charging is a bad idea. Even if you buy an extra battery, you have to leave your camera in your room to charge the extra battery, so unless you carry 2 cameras on vacation, you are going to miss photo ops. What is even worse, it that the indicator will show full for 75 pictures and 2 pictures later it will shutdown because the battery is dead. Another problem is that the camera doesn't recognize a usb charger other than its own. I have a Belkin usb charger and the camera ignores it and the charging light doesn't come on. All that being said, the S8200 takes amazing pictures so I am living with the power shortcomings.. April 25, 2012
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT !!!!! Coolpix 6100 I really wish that I would have read all of these reviews before I purchased this camera. I bought it for my wife for Christmas 2012. Used it a few times in 2013, June for my daughters graduation was the last time. Now its April 2013 and I leave for vacation to Mexico the day after tomorrow. I plug in the camera to get it ready, and nothing. No power, light won't come on, nothing happens. I have taken maybe 20 pics with this camera, now I have to pay $37.95 for a new battery. NIKON should refund peoples money or send a new battery! This is outrageous!! April 29, 2014
En-EL-12 Battery Cool Pix S8000 I don't know if its the camera or the battery, but one doen't work without the other. I have taken 192 pictures, and the battery won't take a charge through the USB power cord. I think $40.00 to replace the battery after so few pictures is ridiculous. I tried the update, but since I can't get power to the camera, I can't update the firmware either. Very dissatisfied! The worst part is I am visiting Hungary where I can't even find a battery, and would really like to take pictures. November 19, 2012
Bad Batteries I have gone through two of these batteries in less than a year. They are not too cheap either. So i recommend a different camera that uses a different battery. October 3, 2012
very bad battery Just bought the camera for 3 months. battery no power suddenly and needed to recharge for hours July 17, 2012
Great Camera horrible battery I just bought a 6200 coolpix and with a new and fully charged EN-EL12 battery and took it to my nieces graduation from college after 34 shots it was dead and I missed out on half a days shooting,shots I can never get again.I can't believe Nikon can expect customers to be satisfied with that kind of performance. I should have stayed with my old Minolta instead of "upgrading"for this event. May 16, 2012
Battery with camera charger = regrettable problem = poor design OK so I bought the S6100 in August prior to our son's wedding and with some level of effort (due to "touchy" LCD touch controls) got some nice pictures and video. The charging seemed a little weird out of the box, the first time seemed to provide limited capacity but the second time seemed fine. We used it intermittently after the wedding with a surge around the holidays and then didn't need it - so it sat in the house, waiting. I picked it back up two days ago and nothing. So I read. To charge the battery, plug in the USB charger and turn the camera on to start charging. Nothing. I check the voltage on the battery and its zero. So if you need to turn the camera on to start charging, but the battery is too low to turn the camera on, then you have lovely Lithium Ion paper weight and a camera that needs another $37.50 infusion to allow it to work. To the Nikon engineers - you get an absolutely pathetic score for designing in a problem of this magnitude. I'm sure marketing loves the idea of designed-in obsolescence and the recurring battery sales, but you have certainly lost all of my respect for quality design. May 6, 2012
Bad Battery I just bought the Nikon CoolPix S6200, and it came with this awful battery EN-EL12, that has 1050mAh and 3.7V and is a Lithium Ion Battery. I fully recharged the battery, and wanted to use it at Christmas to video the Christmas play. So set the camera to video, and guess what,............ the camera indicated - BATTERY DEPLETED - NOT ABLE TO VIDEO. A brand new camera and battery. I wish I had taken my other Kodak camera with me, then at least I would have been able to video the Christmas play. So I have nothing. Back home I turned the camera on again, and ........... found out that I could have taken photo´s, it was just the video that was not possible. So, battery is great for photo´s but useless for video´s. I agree with the other review, that I think this battery has a factory fault. I have found that there is another battery, that has 1400mAh, but it is not a original Nikon. February 20, 2012
battery only i love the camera, but battery is really bad. camera can't be left on at all. i was shocked at christmas when battery was "expired" after NO time. is there not a more powerful battery i can buy? January 15, 2012
Bad battery + a great camera = unusable camera: NO PICTURES My rating is ONLY for the battery. I rate the S8000 camera 5 stars. Nikon S8000 camera purchased September 2010. Bought extra generic battery with camera and got about 5,000 pictures and short videos. Charged batteries at night and I loved the camera. After 14 months the original battery is unusable - will not power on the camera long enough to take even one picture. Generic battery also fully depleted. Bought two new generics and they are dead after one month. The EN-EL12 battery must have a design flaw. There also needs to be a battery life indicator (either percent of estimated shots) in the camera. Also, a battery health indicator utility would be great. Estimated charge cycles remaining... That way we could replace the battery before we miss pictures on Christmas Day, etc. Great camera but a problem battery. I will try one more Genuine Nikon EN-EL12 and see if the great performance I initially experienced with the camera resumes. If not, then I will buy a different brand. I have a Nikon 35 MM EM model (circa 1980) and have shot five weddings for friends with a traditional 35MM SLR. Portable digital is nice and no developing costs, but without great batteries, you are not going to get the pictures you wanted. December 25, 2011
What good is the camera if battery doesn't last? I have had to charge a battery daily because it would drain after only one day and then I'd have to make sure my backup battery was also charged. So many times I've been frustrated because the Coolpix S6000 would not power on. I had to resort to buying another camera brand and have not had the same problem as with the Nikon. July 27, 2011
FIRE whoever developed the battery plan for S6000 The case for the S6000 holds the camera...what about an extra battery or the charger. Oh wait, the batter has to be charged in the camera so you cannot take pictures why charging the battery. So for another ~$100 I can get an external charger, an additional battery, a bigger case to hold all of this. Wow the price of the S6000 is not looking too good! Everyone knows the weakest link of a digital camera is the battery...not with Nikon...with Nikon it is the battery, the charger, the case and now the price! July 12, 2011
Battery is unpredictable and short lived I had my camera for 2 weeks and took it to my daughter's graduation and the battery died, I missed a once in a lifetime opportunity. I am stunned at the short life of the battery and no prewarning that it is about to die, now I am forced to buy a charger and extra battery.. I'm so disapointed in this aspect. May 31, 2011
Bad Battery I love the Cool Pix S8100 camera itself, but the battery compatible with it is horrible and makes the whole photography experience bad. Battery wont stay charged and after only 3 months after purchasing my camera with battery in it, I am forced to purchase a new battery so I can even close the lens on my camera. Battery life is worse than if using AAA. April 8, 2011
Often Dead Battery Used in Coolpix 6000. My EN-EL12 will not hold a charge and there's no battery low indicator to warn me. As a result I always loose power at the wrong time. Sometimes it dies after only 20 shots, shortly after fully charging. Furthermore, I can't recharge while using a spare because it has to be charged in the camera. I would love for the designers to tell me what they had in mind with this set-up. And why does the new battery fail to hold a charge? February 22, 2011
the battery is bad not even one year into it and the battery is completely dead; super short life and needs recharging after only a few pictures taken January 16, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
17 Questions | 17 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
17 Questions | 17 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
2 Answers

Just wondered if I could use my car charger for my phone to charge the battery?

Jun 8, 2012 by
by
Ginger 2004
Oklahoma
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years ago
by
Ginger 2004
Oklahoma
Location : 
Oklahoma
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For what its worth I would go look on nikon site and find the car charger for that battery, if the voltage and/or polarity is wrong it will short the battery out and become un-usable.
Jun 8, 2012 by
by
Oregon Nikon User
Eastern Oregon
Location : 
Eastern Oregon
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

Many retailers are currently (7/28/2011) out-of-stock of the EN_EL12 battery. Do you expect to be shipping these batteries soon to your dealers?

Jul 28, 2011 by
by
Steve
Mount Vernon, WA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Steve
Mount Vernon, WA
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
The En-EL12 Battery is available at our Nikon Store:
http://shop.nikonusa.com/store/niko...
Jul 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Steve
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Please verify with these dealers when is going to be availability for Nikon accessories.
Jul 29, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

Can I use a replacement battery rated @ 3.7volts 1400mAH in my new AW-100 Camera?

Dec 9, 2011 by
by
Gil
Michigan
Has staff answer
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful2
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Gil
Michigan
Location : 
Michigan
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
1 answer

Answers

-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
Answer: 
For battery replacement or back-up we only recommend using the Nikon EN-EL12 battery.
Dec 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Whats the difference and are they all safe to use in this camera? They are all labeled EN-EL 12
2 years, 4 months ago by
by
Jim
Florence, Az.
Location : 
Florence, Az.
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Are they Nikon batteries or off brand? Many off brand/3rd party batt. will not work with Nikon cameras. If it is Nikon brand, it should be OK. If it is 3rd party and it fits and charges up and is recognized by the camera, then it should be OK as long as voltage rating is same. mAh ratings may vary. Many non OEM batteris carry rather optimistic mAh ratings than EOM batteries. Different manufacturers often use same shaped batteries with same voltage ratings; they just name them differently. Some Kodak P&S batteries will fit on certain Fuji cameras for example.
Feb 12, 2012 by
by
JuhanK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

How long are you supposed to charge it for the first time???

Feb 21, 2012 by
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
didn't come with instructions!
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Whit
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Answer: 
About 4 hours are required to charge a fully exhausted battery.
Feb 22, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

Is there a car charger available for EN-EL12 battery?

Feb 25, 2012 by
Has staff answer
-3points
0out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
I see there is one for the EN-EL1, but it does not state it is compatible with the EN-EL12 battery
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 35-44
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
We don't carry car chargers for the EN-EL12 battery.
Feb 29, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

The EN-EL12 battery has been out of stock everywhere I have checked, including the Nikon Store. When will it be available?

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Callie
Washington, DC, USA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 3 months ago by
by
Callie
Washington, DC, USA
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Currently we don’t have the EN-EL12 battery in stock at our Nikon Store but you can get it at any online dealer.
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

My Nikon battery no longer recharges, Can you help me?

Jul 7, 2012 by
-2points
2out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful4
My Nikon EN-EL12 appears to be dead. I have tried for days to recharge it, and the charger shows a green light, indicating it is charged. But my camera will not turn on, I am using a LENMAR SOLOXP-A16 recharger, and my camera is a Nikon Coolpix S630. The recharger has worked for the battery and camera in the past.
.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Lithium Ion batteries wear out from both use and lack of use. How old is the battery?
Jul 7, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
 
1 answer

Will the battery loose charge while stored or just when used in camera.

Sep 11, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO, USA
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
Need to know if back-up battery will still be charged when need it if I don't change for awhile.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
Kansas City, MO, USA
Location : 
Kansas City, MO, USA
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Depends how long you leave it for, all batteries will lose their charge over time.
Sep 11, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>