Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 18 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.7936053 false false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 18 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0885801

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
Excellent Camera Picture quality is just as good as my D300. It is much lighter! August 19, 2012
The Best Quality Pictures!!! I am by no means a professional photographer, but this camera has the best quality pictures that I have ever seen hands down!! We bought this camera because we wanted to be able to take great pictures of our new daughter!! The best investment I have ever bought. The pictures come out stunning in AUTO mode and even if you’re brave enough to try doing some MANUAL (more professional) mode those come out great too, after some reading and playing around a bit. I bought this camera with the stock 18mm to 55mm lens and in addition bought a 55mm to 300mm lens. Both are great!! I will never buy another camera unless its Nikon. August 19, 2012
Excellent Performer This is both compact and easy to use with great picture results and flexibility. August 18, 2012
Great experience I bought this camera after a friend recommended it and I am very pleased. This is to replace a 2005 Olympus DSLR and the advancements in technologies are just great. Easy as point and shoot yet I can choose to control any part, or all parts myself. The camera has a very good feel and all controls are easy to reach and use. The live view mode is perfect for new perspectives. August 18, 2012
Me and Nikon I've had the D5100 for just over a year. In that time i've taken more than a thousand photos. As a hobby I photograph anythig that will stand still. I generally photograph people and small groups. In these photos, I like to leave a generous amount of space on all sides. I do this so than I have plenty of room to add, subtract persons and sometimes add new backgrounds. With the 16 megabyte sensor I have the needed resolution for cropping if I want to move in closer. I like to photograph construction sites. When ever I see a new building being planned. I try to get before pictures of the vacant lot and follow through to photographing the completed building. Some of the large shopping malls demand panoramas. By holding the camera in a vertical position I move from left to right and take as high as 12 overlapping images. I have made a number of panoramas that can print 13" by 60". The panoramas are remarkably sharp do to the hi-res sensor. When I merge in Photoshop this is like using a 45 magabyte photo. I recently found that my young niece was good at gymnastics. She ran across he front yard and I did a mid air back flip. With the camera set on "C" I got a continuous burst of shots. 20 sharp hi-res images. So far the camera has performed even better than I had expected. I just invested in a new Nikon 35 mm fixes focal length lens. With the large F-1.8 lens opening and the D5100's high ISO capability, I can get pictures of the proverbial: "black cat in a coal bin". August 17, 2012
awesome Camera I have enjoyed this camera so much, it takes fabulous pictures and makes me look like I know what I am doing. The features are amazing, I took it on a road trip and traveling the speed limit through mountain passes I took some incredible pictures from the car and all I had to do was turn a little button and then aim and shoot and the details are amazing. August 17, 2012
Excellent size and power Long lasting battery, even when using the lcd screen. Weather proofing would be a definite improvement, but other than that, great working camera. August 17, 2012
Highly Flexible DSLR! I have owned numerous Nikon SLRs, P&S, and the venerable D70 - but this is the best of all! When I saw the first review online and researched the features, I was excited to get my hands on one. I was NOT disappointed! The articulated LCD screen is an outstanding feature - especially for low-angle macro photos, which I now enjoy shooting later in life. I am reluctant to lie on the ground these days and the swivelling LCD allows ground level Live View shooting without getting wet/dirty. The post-shooting processing, while sort of gimmecky, is actually fun and easy to use. The battery life is fine and not an issue, although I always carry an extra one with me in case I end up shooting a lot of videos. BTW, the video is very good, but the built in mic picks up all autofocusing noises. My external ME-1 mic is a good solution to that issue. The constant autofocus is not as good as a dedicated HD video camera, but this is only a secondary use for me. Low light shooting is EXCELLENT, noise is not a problem until you reach very high ISO. Since this rarely happens for the type of shooting I do, I am more than happy with the performance. Camera is lightweight and responsive. I love the camera. Period. August 16, 2012
Just what I needed! I knew that I wanted a "good camera", and had been stuck with mediocre point and shoot cameras in the past. After doing some research, we ended up deciding on the Nikon D5100. The 5100 has a better sensor than the 3100, and yet it's still small, lightweight, and easy to use. I love the adjustable screen, the HD video capability, and the image quality. The included 18-55mm lens is OK, but surely there are better lenses out there depending on what you want to do. I also purchased a Nikon 55-300mm VR lens and have been happy with that as well. The combination of these two lenses will cover 80% of what the average person wants to do. My only gripes about this camera are few. 1) Wish they would have used gorilla glass on the screen instead of what appears to be Polycarbonate. 2) The flash seems to pop up at innapropriate times (but that is easily remedied by turning the mode wheel). We have a couple camera cases which is helpful- one for hiking and one for toting it around. We also got a high-speed 8GB memory card which seems to be a great size for normal use. We are very pleased with our new camera, and look forward to getting out and about for new and exciting photography adventures. This is a great way to get started in photography. August 16, 2012
It's amazing This is a really good camera for beginner, it works really good for me. August 14, 2012
A great step above my old D50. I've had my D5100 about a week and have explored some of the many new features. My favorite experiment so far is the "color sketch" mode. What a fun thing to play with. It is also much more responsive than my D50 (Though I'll have to keep my D50 going so I can use my other Nikkor lenses that won't autofocus in the D5100.) I still have to explore some of the other features that are present on the camera. It is much more versatile than any other camera that I have ever used. August 13, 2012
Great low-light capabilities The D5100 takes great photos. I had it only a month or so last year when I grabbed the enclosed photo of Garrison Keilor at a live show. I was about 80 feet away, using the Nikon 18-200 zoom. It was thrilling to be able to grab a shot like this without flash. Only gripe is that it is easy to accidentally shift the focus point with the four-way control on the back. I tend to keep the camera set up with Aperture-preferred mode and a single focus point. Most of the photos I take are of people or sometimes wildlife. Keeping this usual setting makes life simpler. But the range of possibilities on the D5100 is amazing. Very few photographers would run out of room to grow with this cam. August 12, 2012
Great Features and Easy to use The best camera that I've ever bought. It is easy to use and fool proof for the wife or casual users. August 12, 2012
This thing is amazing! I am newer to the photography world. I just had no idea where to begin on my quest for my perfect camera so I enlisted the help of a friend. My business partner is an enthusiast helped me select this camera. He has been into photography as a hobby for more than 10 years and his personal preference is cannon. Despite his personal choice he loves my camera and has nothing but the best comments to make as he concedes this camera is better. This camera can do everything I wanted to do and more. It is loaded with features and on screen guidance. If you are new or experienced I believe you will be happy with this camera. Nikon continues to live up to it's reputation! August 12, 2012
Versatile! Does a lot, and does it well. I'd been looking to upgrade to DSLR for a while. I'd really started to outgrow my point and shoot digital camera, and I wanted something that could open possibilities that I didn't have, yet still be able to be used simply by my wife and daughter. With the "auto" mode, my twelve year old can get great pictures without a ton of technical input. By moving to the various choices on the selector dial ( portrait, landscape, close up, etc) it becomes great at an intermediate level, customizing the settings for the type selected. And finally, I can go manual, and take over all of the control, if I wish. The ease of use of the manual focus is a feature that really appeals to me. There are times when auto focus will prevent you from getting the pictures you want, and the D5100 goes from auto to manual focus modes quickly, and then it's very quick to actually focus it manually. Speaking of auto focus, I'm very impressed by the speed of the auto focus. The effects mode allows for some interesting artistic possibilities. Things that once had to be done in post processing can now be done easily in the camera itself. But be warned- some of the effects can be addictive! The D5100 is not a professional level camera. It doesn't have a professional level price, either. But, with legendary Nikkor optics, great features, and ease of use, you'll be taking pictures that can easily be mistaken for pro level stuff. At the D5100's price point, you will not find a better camera. August 12, 2012
Love my camera! I bought the camera to support my new bird watching hobby. The transition from point-and-shoot to DSLR was so easy and the pictures produced were beautiful. With very little experience in photography I was able to take beautiful pictures of birds resting and in flight using a Nikkor 70-300 lens as well as beautiful pictures of landscapes, sunsets and portraits with the 18-55 lens that was included with the camera. The Nikon School DVDs also included with the camera purchase were most helpful in getting me started. August 11, 2012
Have only been shooting one month... a lot tho. It's FUN! Entering into Digital World with D5100 is the way to do it. Nikon Glass and Products proved themselves to me long ago in film world. All other Digital Rigs researched are all really good too... its just that, for price point vs. value, Nikon suites me to a "T". Wanting an array of lenses on a limited budget made the decision to choose D5100. I use the 18-55kit for Interiors, Gatherings, and some Nature. 105 f.8 is a dreamboat lens so far. There is an Artistic Opportunity with 105 Macro backgrounds. They are better than expected, like painted canvas. Nice portrait lens as well! Daily nature walk lens is the 55-300kit. It has captured all sorts of wonderful memories. Many "keepers" as well, both stills and motion, in all kinds of light. The 10-24 Wide Angle is ordered, in hopes of Scenes, Interiors, and Scape sure, but the Art Opportunity and Adventure of getting close will render good memories and great images. The camera allows me into this Digital World of Photography knowing little for a reasonable price considering Nikon Quality. As I work the camera it teaches and allows me to grow into the role I want... Artist. Capturing becomes more and more natural. Then Auto mode just makes you want to be responsible for those settings. A and S Priority modes facilitate an understanding of What and Why will get your vision of subject more yours... I shoot RAW+ Fine Jpeg because the picture is mine and the processing is Nikon's. Sometimes you thank Nikon for the lessons and pretty pictures. Sometimes you realize you've done it! Go Nikon! Go D5100! August 10, 2012
easy to use, great picture quality My wife and I were intimidated at first, but found it easy to use and lvoe the effects and scene feature for fast adjustments. Friends and family are amazed at details in the photos that are developed. August 10, 2012
Amazing little gem! I was a studio photographer for over 9 years. Having always used film. I was reluctant to cross-over to digital. This is my very first DSLR, and although I had my sights on the d70's model the truth of the matter is that I was not so inclined to spend that kind of $. I must say though that I am very impressed. The image quality is remarkable! I recomend this camera to any one. Even in low light this camera is great. To those of you just staring off save your$. On the higher end camera body and use it on some good glass. Then if you choose too you can advance to the higher end camera body. There is a very common misconception that you need to spend top $ to get the best "professional" results. And that is simply not true. I am not by any means tryng to convince you on not buying the higher end camera body. If you can afford the higher end camera body that is great too! I am simply stating that you will not be dissapointed. My only reason for switching to the higher end camera body, would be the ease of having the settings displayed on the top of the camera. NIKON is a great brand and I will be a loyal NIKON user for as long as I can hold a camera. August 10, 2012
WHAT AN INCREDIBLE CAMERA After careful review of all the infor I could find about DSLR cameras I decided to buy the D5100. My first SLR was over 30 years ago and it was a Canon.... and I was headed in that direction. My Daughter had bought a Nikon last year and was very happy with it..... the only thing anyone could really say was that Canon had richer, brighter colors. That is not an issue. Easy to use, easy to understand...... THANK YOU NIKON FOR A GREAT CONSUMER FREINDLY PRODUCT. August 9, 2012
Awesome features in a small package. This camera is great and has taken amazing pictures every time. I am a beginner, so I do not know how to use all of the features just yet, but for a beginner, it works great without having to make different settings. I upgraded my lens to the 55-200 and love it. I am still learning to use some of the features, but am very happy just using the basics for now. August 9, 2012
Couldn't be happier! LOVE this camera. Was very torn between several brands/models but could not be happier with my choice. I feel like I have a great camera that I can grow with as I increase my photography skills and not be left feeling like I have outdated equipment. On the contrary, I think that this camera will last a very long time. This came with a 18-55mm lens in the kit I purchased which was a great general lens for multi-purpose shooting. I have since added a couple other lenses for a well rounded package. Love some of the post shoot editing tools like selective color when you really want a subject to stand out. I did have a few problems with one particular SD card that was generating errors but I rectified this by purchasing one of the exact models listed in the user manual, and have not had any more problems. August 8, 2012
User friendly and all that I had hoped for. I barely qualify as an amateur photographer but knew I needed to upgrade from my iPhone camera. I went back and forth between the Nikon and the Canon and settled on the Nikon. Other reviews had said the Nikon had better battery life and was easier for a novice to pick up and use. Though I'm sure the Canon is a great camera, I have had zero issues with my Nikon. I have the standard lens as well as the ?-300 lens and think it's the perfect pair. I took shots of my AZ Cardinals from the bleachers and the photos look like I was up close. The zoom is great and I love the vibration reduction. I love all of the various settings that are built in. I don't know what most of the photography lingo even means, so I doubt I'll stray from the pre-programmed settings. If I want to take a picture of my son playing a sport, I will choose the sport setting. A portrait, and I will choose the portrait setting. The options are more abundant than my imagination, so they will certainly work for me. If you're a pro, do your homework and choose based on your needs. If you're like me and want a great camera for day to day stuff, this camera rocks. August 8, 2012
From novice to pro, it's a great camera Okay, I am that novice but a rabid learner. I try everything with this camera and it never fails me. It takes great shot after great shot. No matter what the conditions or challenges it has the settings and hardware to get it done. the only limitations is my learning curve. But I'm figuring that out. August 8, 2012
First use pf my D5100 This past weekend attended my granddaugther's soccer tournament and used my D5100 with the 55-300mm telephoto lens. I put the camera setting on the sports icon, and the action shots were totally awesome. I am very please with this camera. This is my third NIKON camera and have always been satisfied with the results I received from them. August 8, 2012
Excellent features in a budget package. Brilliant HD movies.Excellent pictures.Love this camera. August 6, 2012
Incredible Camera!! I absolutely love my D5100! My husband says I may love it more than him. ; ) All kidding aside, it really is an incredible camera. I have gotten the most amazing shots with it, and I am still learning how to use all its features. Previously I had a D3100, which was also a great camera. I also have a hand strap for mine, because I accidentally let my D3100 fall 30 feet when photographing on stadium stands...I cried. However, this resulted in me being able to get the D5100 to replace it. (My hubby thought that fall was rather convenient.) : ) I love that the D5100's video is at a higher speed rate than the D3100- it makes for much clearer and smoother video quality. I also like that the D5100 has the rotating screen, which does make taking those awkward shots much easier, however, I dislike the lag time in shots when the LiveView is on. This lag can interfere with getting high speed shots. The screen is nice and bright, easy to see even when in the sunlight. I suggest getting a hard plastic screen protector if you would rather not have to turn the screen around each time you are done shooting. The size of the body is perfect for my hands, it isn't too heavy for me to hold, and the weight is well managable with the neck strap. The features are numerous... so many that I haven't even had the chance to experiment with them all yet! Love the selective color effect- you can select up to three colors to have "pop" in your photo with the rest of the picture in black and white. This looks great in portraits. The clarity of the photographs is just amazing- even with the included 18-55 lens. I also have a 55-300 lens to go with it, with which I can get even more amazing shots with subjects that just pop out in your photos. There are plenty of in-camera editing features as well, which makes it easy to fix simple stuff like lighting and red eye. I also like the fact that you can zoom in on your photos in the review, which makes it easy to see if you need to retake a shot. The features and effects are both fun and functional. Play around with it and see what you like! I also like that you can customize your camera with plenty of accessories and additional parts. For example, I also have a slave flash attachment and a remote. Love that the D5100's remote is wireless... the D3100 had a wired remote, so it wasn't really useful for taking family shots where I wanted to be in the picture as well. This one has a wireless remote that works from about 5-20 feet away (that I've tried so far), so that the photographer can be in the picture as well. : ) The additional flash is helpful for filling in when the included one simply isn't strong enough. Although, this camera also takes pretty cool shots with the included "night vision" setting. There is so much more I could write about this camera and how much I love it! For an entry level DSLR camera, this one has tons of features and fun stuff to keep you busy and make your shots look professional. August 6, 2012
kool camera didn't think i wanted to spend what i did, on my first nikon. but am very happy that i bought it. takes sharp images an learning to use it was not as hard as i thought it would be August 6, 2012
Better than expexted This is my first DSLR, and I have been very pleased with the D5100. Simple enough to use that I was getting great photos right out of the box, but it has enough "professional quality" features that I don't see myself growing out of this camera. Great camera. August 6, 2012
I love my D5100 I have captured some of the best photos I have ever taken using my D5100. What I love, even at high ISO the distortion is low, this allowed me to capture photos of Little Brown Bats in Flight, you know they only come out at dusk. While touring Michigan Tech, I got my first photo using HDR easy and beautiful showing the study area in the Mechanical Engineering Building and the beautiful landscape out the windows. I also had great light on the Mackinaw Bridge, but to really set it off I needed to light an American Flag flying nearby, SB800 and slow sync to the rescue. The D5100 could be improved. The reletivly slow sync speed of 1/200 is much slower than my old D70 at 1/500. Also it would be nice if they 5100 could be a CLS commander. August 6, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
36 Questions | 40 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
36 Questions | 40 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers