Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 18 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.7703438 false false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 18 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.0643542

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
amazing features in small package cheap and best perfect in focusing and perfectly comfortable. December 30, 2012
love it... from my first dslr which is d3000 i was torn between d3200 and this d5100. after researching i found out that i should go for this one. the 24 mp d3200 is very tempting but if your on a tight budget like me ill definitely wont hesitate to go with this. very good with low light situation even if your ISO is set to 100. nuff said... reasonable price for a great dslr. December 16, 2012
Good Camera My eyeglasses are progressive lenses so I really like that I can use the live view monitor at night to focus. It works really well. During the day I do just fine with the camera's auto focus. I would recommend this camera as it has nice features and is easy to use. December 8, 2012
Worth every penny I spent I went from a simple point and shoot Canon PowerShot A470 to the Nikon D5100. I was contemplating on getting one of the Canon Rebels but saw this lovely camera here and bought it instantly. The special effects features are right up my alley since I myself am a photographer, I like to spice up my photos every know and again. I have taken the Nikon D5100 out for a few photo shoots and have gotten nothing but praise. The photos come out exactly how i wanted them too, clear, crisp, and clean! I highly recommend the Nikon D5100 to anyone. December 8, 2012
Fantastic Upgrade from D3100 I have had the camera for a week now, and the features and quality are incredible. I loved my D3100, but this is a major upgrade. The camera sensor is fantastic, high ISO, quick focus, and excellent continuous shooting speed. I purchased the AFNikkor 18-105 G ED to go with it, and it is a perfect fit. I have only scratched the options and in camera effects, but the potential of this camera is unlimited The movie mode is much better than my older model. I am extremely pleased with the D5100. December 6, 2012
Excellent beautiful camera, beautiful photos. no complaints, long battery life. December 5, 2012
My favorite Nikon so far! This is my fourth Nikon and I am pleasantly surprised with its capabilities. Extremely user friendly and I love the movie mode. I can carry one camera now on my vacations, as opposed to carrying my SLR and my video camera as before. Havent found anything I don't like about it so far! Great camera for a beginning photographer. December 4, 2012
Superior quality at great value Love my D5100 I also got it with the 18-55 and 55-300 lenses. Great kit from Costco. Looking forward to take a ton of great pictures November 27, 2012
awesome . . . . . . i have this cammera .is awesome . is warm color .i love this cammera November 25, 2012
Perfect for new users From the very first day and I could start using camera features easily, I would recommend this product for any one thinking of buying a DSLR Camera. November 24, 2012
My favorite camera yet. I bought the D5100 in July 2011 and have taken over 10,000 images with it. I was told that it is a good low light camera. It has proved to be that and more. I've yet to be disappointed in it's capabilities. I take photos of trains and city scenes at night. Using the Scene settings makes it easy to get awesome results. When I take daytime photos, even into bright sunlight, I can still get a great result. I'm glad I bought it and brag it up, every chance I get. November 12, 2012
Fantastic pictures in a cute light package. Got this camera after upgrading from D3100 which is a great little camera,But am glad i did as the superior 16.2 megapixel cmos sensor(same as the D7000) and the tilt 921000 dot screen make it feel great to use in any given situation.Am already taking more manual pics although as a point & shoot its great an using the effects mode which adds creative fun to your cropped photos.Although kit lens is good i have a 35mm 1.8g as my prime lens which is fab an a 55/300mm as my wildlife an landscape lens.Have a few very experienced friends who recommend this camera if starting an then getting better lenses if on a budget.Glad i did. October 25, 2012
D5100 makes a great travel DSLR I was looking for a compact DSLR to take with me on a cruise vacation. I own a D3S, which would have been too heavy to carry around all day. For me, the D5100 seemed just the right size. I've paired it with a set of Nikon 18-200 VR and Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 zoom lenses. It gives me just the right amount of manual controls for creativity. Overall, I'm very impressed with the camera and glad that I bought it. October 25, 2012
Fantastic camera for under the tropical canopy I bought the Nikon D5100 after my Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ30 bridge camera had its motherboard destroyed, presumably from too much moisture in moist tropical forests; a colleague's Canon Rebel did not function properly after the same series of trips to the field. Within weeks of purchasing the D5100, it survived the moisture that accompanies torrential tropical downpours; even though, it is not weather sealed. The sensor is fantastic in low light conditions that are found under the multiple layers of canopy found in the tropics; it even performed better than a D300 when using the same lens (AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED). Enough cannot be said about the picture quality that the sensor can produce, with pictures that are usually sharp at 100% resolution at maximum Large/Fine settings. The D5100 is lightweight and with the new Nikkor DX specific lightweight lenses, they do not become a burden to carry when conducting field work for extended time and distances. After a year and more than 2000 pictures, including many published photographs and a couple cover photographs, it is has proven to be an outstanding camera for the money. My only criticism is that it is not weather sealed, which causes me to be overly cautious and concerned during wet weather conditions; however, information about its lack of weather sealing is available through Nikon. October 22, 2012
Great cam for professionals and beginners being an enthusiastic amateur photographer-not a professional one :) As I am learning photography, it is easy to use, thanks to decent "Auto" settings. i can click amazing pictures in low light as well. am also proud owner of D5100. October 21, 2012
great little camrea this camera is a small compact digital photo work machine. October 15, 2012
Value for the Price! I recently got the d5100; Pretty impressed with the feature set it provides for the price; It works awesome with the 55-300 NIKKOR lens; Love this cam! September 26, 2012
D5100 ! For my first DSLR, I was undecided between this and the Canon t3i. My friend ended up getting the t3i so i got this and I am pretty happy with my choice. The pictures are incredible and the simplicity is mind-blowing. The only thing I am unhappy about is the 30 frames per second movie recording. I shoot a lot of action sports and there is always a little bit of blur that the t3i doesn't have since it can shoot at 60 fps. But all in all this is an amazing camera. Definitely worth the money. Not to mention it looks really cool. Regrettably, I am still shooting with a kit lens but I'm looking to upgrade that soon. September 23, 2012
Lovely camera When I handled a DSLR cam for the first time, I knew that I wanted one. I generally like to take good photographs and since then, my interest in photography propelled and soon I got my very own DSLR cam after extensive amount of study and research - the Nikon D5100. And my, I simply love this camera. The cam is very intelligent on its own as proved by the quality of photos in the Auto mode. And the number of options it allows the photographer to manipulate is simply overwhelming. It allows me to record a much wider range of visual treats and life events and makes "expression through photography" a lot easier. Pros: 1) Very good quality photos 2) Not very heavy or big and hence easy to carry around 3) Very quick start-up and first-shot. Cons: 1) High-Dynamic Range has to be improved. September 22, 2012
Added features New photographers would find it easy.. though it has got many added features.. u need to learn though... there a lot to explore September 8, 2012
Amazing Photos! This camera does so much more than I could have hoped for. I wanted a DSRL that would take great photos; but, this one does better than that. The depth and clarity of the pictures is just amazing! I mean, how many cameras take photos so good that you can see the feathers on a hummingbird? If you're looking for a DSLR, look no further...put your trust in Nikon and the D5100. September 5, 2012
What a fun and easy camera I've been wanting a Digital SLR for years and finally have it. I kick myself for waiting so long. I did a lot of research and and found the D5100 to meet my needs and wallet very well. I have been taking pictures with it non stop and have renewed my love for photography again. The pictures are great and the camera is easy to use right out of the box. The extra features are phenomenal and exciting to use. Just love this camera. Even though right now it is in the repair shop after only a month owning it for an Auto-Exposure error I would recommend this camera to anyone. The only upsetting thing is that I missed being able to take pictures of my Sons first day in kindergarten. Had to use the old digital for that and of course the pictures just weren't the same. The attached pictures were taken by my five year old son that is how easy this camera is to use. Of course he has had a lot of practice taking pictures already but these were great. The pictures of my wife, daughter and I he took looked like professional shots and all he had to do was point and shoot. Love it. August 31, 2012
Best camera in the market Compare the cannon t4i and the D5100 they are similar, but for me the picture quality and future of the D5100 are much better. and i bought the nikon August 30, 2012
Great camera So far this camera has done a great job and the pictures look amazing. August 23, 2012
Best camera I've ever owned. Hopefully it will last forever. Love this camera. The images are so clear. Easy to review pictures and zoom in/out. Love the large screen for viewing and quick picture taking. August 21, 2012
Love it! So I absolutely love my d5100. Its such a great camera, with wonderful features. Easy to use and produces great shots. My only compliant is that the kit lens works great outside but isnt too great of a low light lens. But I would certainly recommend it! August 21, 2012
The best Camera I've used in years! I have bought many compact cameras in the past years. I have never had a camera that works so well. All my pictures come out, no fuzzy, out of focus, with the VR lenses. Very easy to use and get quality results. This camera can take pictures that equal a much more expensive camera. I would recomend this camera to anyone. It doesn't need an expert to take great pictures. August 20, 2012
Wouldnt live without my Nikon I have thorougly enjoyed my Nikon 5100. The many options, good quality pictures and ease of use have made it my favorite camera. The improvements over the Nikon 5000 helped considerably, autofocus video, and moving the screen sideways. Good job. August 20, 2012
Exactly What I Expected Purchased the D5100 and 55-200 mm lens package at a local big box retailer in early August. I'm 49 years old and learned photography using fully manual cameras and developing my own films. This camera made me feel right at home, albeit a much better home! Just finished my first trip with it and couldn't be happier. Excellent ergonomics, easy to use settings and the screen works well in the dark - I didn't have to resort to reading glasses to find the setting I wanted. I highly recommend reading the user manual. Too many features to figure out by trial and error. The included software is decent, not great. Battery charge is fast at just 90 minutes, battery life is decent at around 300 pictures minimum, about half with flash. With a bit of effort I can see at least doubling the battery life. Excellent camera. Great feature set and few if any gimmicks. Feels and sounds solid. August 20, 2012
Perfect basic camera! I love this camera. The best purchase of the decade!! August 20, 2012
Page: 2 3 4 5 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
38 Questions | 43 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
38 Questions | 43 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
7 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

Which is better camera D5100 or D3200?

Nov 6, 2014 by
by
Larry
Eaton, OH 45320, USA
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I can buy display model of D5100 for $125 less than new d3200. I think both with same lens.
2 weeks ago
by
Larry
Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Location : 
Eaton, OH 45320, USA
Age: Over 65
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Sorry, typed the answer in the wrong box.
If I was choosing, my choice would be the D5100. Although it has less megapixels, it has more features.
Nov 6, 2014 by
by
JoeR

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, the D5200 has a built in intervalometer.
Nov 6, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers