Loading

Creativity from any point of view

Stimulate your creativity. The NIKON D5100 offers a host of new photographic and video tools that deliver superior performance and exceptional image quality with surprising versatility. With 16.2 megapixels, a swivel Vari-Angle LCD monitor, full HD movie capabilities, new EFFECTS Mode and new HDR setting, you hold the power and performance to capture beautiful moments and the freedom to get creative.
Compose great overhead shots with the Nikon D5100's Vari-angle display.>

Vari-angle LCD Monitor

Creativity from any point of view

Take pictures or record movies from a unique viewpoint, the D5100's 3.0 inch, super sharp, 921,000-dot Vari-angle LCD monitor allows for versatile high quality viewing and playback. Explore every angle, with overhead shots, waist level candids, ground level and fun self portraits; you will never miss a shot. This Vari-angle monitor allows you to be creative from any point of view.

Effects mode

More fun and artistic pictures and movies

The D5100 incorporates an amazing array of special effects for use when taking still pictures or recording D-Movie Full HD movies. Selective Color isolates any color within the scene; capture details in places too dark for your own eyes using Night Vision; create bright, glowing images filled with atmosphere with High Key; emphasize the mood of a scene using Low Key; Miniature Effect makes a scene look like a miniature scale model; and Color Sketch creates color outlines of the subject that are played back as a series of stills in a slide show.
Isolate the vibrant shades of blue in your subject's dress with the D5100's Selective Color effect.

Tell better stories

Full HD 1080p D-Movie with Sound

The D5100 delivers exceptionally high-quality movie performance due to its full HD capability while the latest in Full-time autofocus takes the guess work out of tracking your subjects while in motion. Effortless moviemaking is at your fingertip thanks to D5100's ergonomically placed Live View and Movie start button. Your D-Movies will come to life thanks to D5100's sound recording capability - get stereo sound with Nikon's optional ME-1 Stereo Microphone.
Create stunning multi-exposure images with the D5100's built-in HDR (High Dynamic Range) capability.

HDR (High Dynamic Range)

Exquisite detail in highlight and shadow

In scenes with extreme contrasts, such as bright, sunlit clouds and a foreground deep in shadow, it was once quite difficult to render the textures of both equally. Not any more. D5100 combines two exposures to create an image revealing an extremely wide dynamic range, but with less noise and richer color gradation than ever before.
Capture every detail with remarkable clarity—the D5100 brings image quality in a class of its own.

Stunning image quality

Image quality in a class of its own

Incorporating the latest Nikon D-SLR technologies such as the 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor and EXPEED 2 image processing engine, the D5100 delivers outstanding image quality. Its CMOS sensor offers a remarkably wide ISO range (ISO 100 to 6400) with reduced noise which enables you to shoot at faster shutter speeds and capture scenes and subjects with less blur. Handheld shooting and full HD movies come out looking great even in low light.
The D5100's 16.2MP DX-format CMOS sensor
Nikon's EXPEED 2 image processing engine
You won't miss a moment of action thanks to the D5100's high-speed continuous shooting.
Speed and performance that delivers

With high-speed continuous shooting at approx. 4 frames per second, you'll never miss a moment and with D5100's large optical viewfinder providing accurate and realistic composition, you'll get a precise view and focus in every situation.

The D5100's 11-point AF system works together with the Scene Recognition System to keep your subject in focus where it's located in the frame.
Capture your subjects precisely

D5100's 11-point AF system provides flexibility to compose the shot you want ensuring your subject is captured sharply wherever it's located in the frame. Working together with the Scene Recognition System, the camera can keep your main subject in focus even if the composition changes using Nikon's exclusive 3D-tracking.

Create better portraits—even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight—with the D5100's built-in pop-up flash.
Brilliance whenever needed

Vital for dark or backlit subjects, the D5100's built-in pop-up flash automatically brightens your subject even when shooting outdoors in bright sunlight. Expect natural looking results thanks to intelligent flash control.

Expand your picture taking capabilities with Nikon's comprehensive lineup of NIKKOR lenses.
NIKKOR lenses expand your vision

From wide angle to telephoto, from prime to Micro, the NIKKOR interchangeable lens lineup offers more choices to see and capture still images and D-Movies of the world from your perspective.

1Special effects video examples were produced using a pre-production D5100 D-SLR.

false false false product 25476-en_US 25476 25476 DIGSLR $599.95 false $599.95 NONE false false false 2011-09-05T16:00:00Z /dslr-cameras/25476/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25476 en_US D5100/en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25476_D5100.png true /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/D5100_tag.png The Nikon D5100 and its included AF-S 18-55mm VR lens offer a host of new photographic and video tools including a 16.2 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, 4 fps continuous shooting and breathtaking Full 1080p HD Movies with full time autofocus. Creativity from any point of view. <br />Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire. /en_INC/o/MNdksz-T9ytPxFvt-LeJL-DNg90/Misc/global_D5100_tag.png <p><strong><span style="font-size: small;">Creativity from any point of view. Pictures that amaze. Movies that inspire.</span></strong></p> true 4.4 18 true FLSHAPT STERMIC CABLCOMP IMGSOFT RMTTRANS PWRPAC CAPCOV RMTCORD EXTSER EYEPIE CABLAV CAMCASE MISC VIEWFNDR FLSH PWRAPT BATTERY STRAPS PWRCHG GPS IMG-APPAREL FLSHCOUPL 25476 25478 2 false true false 25476 false Product /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25476 2.9117336 false false false product 25478-en_US 25478 25478 DIGSLR $699.95 false $699.95 NONE false false false /dslr-cameras/25478/D5100.html /dslr-cameras/D5100.html 25478 25478 en_US 18-55mm VR Lens Kit /en_US/o/fMZVV67lYK5ioJrwanFGgpduihI/Views/25478_D5100.png false Versatile AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR lens for wide-angle to medium telephoto shooting—a perfect first lens to start your D-SLR system. 18-55mm VR Lens Kit true 4.4 18 false 0 false true false 25478 AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR 2176 D5100 25476 Product D5100 25476 false false false KitProduct /WhereToBuy.page?pnbr=25478 3.167846

D5100 Body Only

Price $599.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: Product, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25476, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: Product, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

18-55mm VR Lens Kit

D5100 Camera Body AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Price $699.95
product.buttons.addtocart not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, backorder: false commerce_type: KitProduct, has_configuration: false, in_stock: false, default_code: 25478, preorderable: false product.buttons.wishlist not rendered archived: false, available_for_sale: true, commerce_type: KitProduct, refurbished:
Add to Wish List

Please sign in to add items to your Wish List.

D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit 4.6 5 738 738
Fantastic Camera!!!!! Fantastic Camera!!! Easy to use, right out of the box; in automatic modes. But, also has many advanced features that would make any advanced photographer happy! I especially love the variable position monitor: it makes it extremely easy to shoot pictures at floor level, or to shoot down on a subject! The virtually unlimited number of lenses available for this camera, is also a wonderful feature. I just purchased a speedlight; which will greatly increase the flash distance I can achieve. I would recommend this camera, and all Nikon products to anyone looking for extreme quality at an affordable price!!!!!! December 6, 2013
Great Camera for the price This is my first DSLR and, since almost a year, I've been learning photography with it. The only flaw is that it doesn't have a built in focus motor but I assume is due the price range. It came with the 18-55 lens which is really good and versatile. Using it at 35mm and f8 gives very sharp pictures, I'll try to add a sample here. The ViewNX software included is good enough for simple developing in case you use RAW, my own developing seems to be better than the JPG's generated by the camera. October 17, 2013
Nikon D5100 The best camera i have owned Love the image quality and the feeling holding it is amazing lightweight I use it for Special Events Daily photography and Travel. September 30, 2013
it's great camera for beginners. it's great camera for beginners. but little complicated menu September 13, 2013
The more I learn about it, the more I like it. I have been shooting Nikon for, believe it or not, more than 60 years. I bought my first Nikon F through the Navy Exchange at Sasebo, Japan because I just had to have a camera that allowed the shooter to view through the lens ... amazing. I still thoroughly enjoy my N80, but it was time to upgrade. I seriously studied all the competition, other Nikons included, but all the reviews pointed to the D5100. I've had it for well over a year and I have not been disappointed in any respect. August 14, 2013
great starter camera I've taken tough angle pictures thanks to the swivel screen. The camera's resolution is just right for my needs. ISO range is very wide. So far I'm satisfied with this product. August 11, 2013
Great DSLR starter I purchased the D5100 with 18-55mm kit. It performed well and decided to upgrade with a Sigma 18-250mm and it performs well with the D5100 body. (See sample images) Experimenting and reading a lot to master this versatile camera. July 1, 2013
Lots of feature, easy to use I've had this camera for almost 2 years and it is awesome. I've taken pictures of concerts, animals, family, self portrait, motocross and other motorcycle events. The pictures taken are phenomenal. I'm always getting compliments on the pictures I take. June 4, 2013
great device at reasonable price The camera works great and it is surprisingly superb May 31, 2013
Great camera and not hard to use if you put alittle time in. Ive always wanted to get into photography but never put any serious thought into it until my girlfriend bought this camera. When she lost interest I started to play with it and the menus and settings came very easy if you just read the manual and work with it. May 24, 2013
Stupendous, Accesible DSLR I recently received this camera as a present and it is my first DSLR. Once I had done some research on basic functions (adjusting aperture, etc.) this camera worked miracles as a beginner DSLR. Highly recommended for beginner/intermediate DSLR, but it's a bit tricky at first just give it some time. May 24, 2013
Perfect in every way I got this camera for my 16th birthday and it is perfect in every way. I've been interested in photography my whole life and hope to do something with it in the future. I decided to get the camera after I got photoshop a few months before. When I was looking into which camera I wanted to buy, I compared the Nikon D3100 and the Canon EOS Rebel T3i. I chose the D5100 over the D3100 because the screen was moveable and that was a necessity for someone who takes videos/pictures of herself and her friends. I then chose the D5100 over the Canon EOS Rebel T3i because the D5100 had autofocus when shooting video, whereas the Canon did not. So far, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. Overall, this is a great camera for a reasonable price. The image quality and video quality are phenomenal. The interface is extremely simple to use, the settings are flexible, and it has many features like Selective Color which are fun to use. only complaint I have is that the audio is pretty fuzzy, but that's what external microphones are for. Also, the autofocus is great but doesn't work so well in low light. Other than that, it's a perfect camera for people who are getting started with photography. May 11, 2013
Excellent DSLR Camera I have been using the camera and learning about all of the features over the last few months, even though I purchased this last August 2012. My college degree and full-time job gave me little time to learn about it and use this amazing camera. I finished that second degree last February and I'm really enjoying this camera. This is a big upgrade from two digital cameras I have from another company. Even though this is considered an entry level DSLR, it is a professional grade DSLR to me. It still amazes me with all of the built in features it has. I would recommend this camera and brand to anyone looking to purchase one. April 16, 2013
Great product I upgraded from my Nikon D60 to this D5100 and I love it. It takes wonderful pictures and it's not to difficult to use. March 23, 2013
Bro !! I recently bought this camera , and I am so stoked , think I am going to go buy another one just so i can use one in each hand at the same time ... kinda like Josey Wales did with his six-shooters !! this camera is awsome !! if you are looking to buy a camera ... look no further !!! thank you Nikon !! March 18, 2013
Excellent camera, especially considering the pricetag I had very hard time finding a decent DSLR at a price I wouldn't mind spending - but, with D5100, I believe I've found that camera. This is my first DSLR after many point-and-shoots, and I'm amazed with all the features and possibilities it offers. And even basic camera features are outstanding on this one - for example, autofocus is quicker and sharper than on any camera I used before, by a huge margin. March 17, 2013
Great alternative to the D5200 I have been using a P510 and this was my first DSLR. I learned a lot on the P510 including shooting in Shutter and Aperture priority but found that cameras limitations and decided it was time. I was going to get a D5200 and skip the 3100 and 3200 altogether. After some research I realized that the differences between the two with the most important being the additional autofocus points on the 5200 (11 vs 39) and the megapixel difference (16 vs 24) were not significant enough to spend the extra money on my first DSLR. This camera so far has been great, the picture quality is fantastic and the menus are easy to use although slightly different than I had with my previous Nikon so there is a bit or a learning curve. I love the control I know have over the picture settings and the creativity it allows me. I would highly recommend this camera to anyone looking at the 3100, 3200 or 5200. March 16, 2013
What a Powerful Camera for a cheap Price The Camera is just Impressive, moving from a Pro consumer camera to this one is a huge leap for me......... My expectations are over exceeded ! Thank you Nikon for building such a great camera ! March 8, 2013
Amazing Camera - Amazing Sharpness The camera is amazing, the colors, the sharpness ! Just amazing March 3, 2013
Very Nice I had Canons for some time but as life moves on I needed a new camera...I shopped MANY, I even bought the New Sony and took it back in 24 hours and purchased the D5100...Let's just say I never regretted it...It's an awesome camera, ton of features and the ease of use is wonderful. You wont be disappointed!!! February 21, 2013
I am completely in love! I recently bought this camera, I wanted a small upgrade over my very trusty Nikon D3000 because I do not need a high end professional DSLR for my photography technique (HDR), all I need is a high quality censor and great ISO capacities, well I was already very impressed by my trusty Nikon D3000 but this D5100 is of course much better, I really recommend it! February 8, 2013
Best consumer grade DSLR on the market when it came out. Best consumer grade DSLR on the market when it came out. Although it looks like the younger brother, D5200 has come on to the scene. There really isn't that much difference between the D5100 and the D5200...Better processor, more megapixels, higher d-movie frame rate (up to 1080p 60i). The bodies look IDENTICAL lol. Takes pro photos!!! The video is awesome too!!!! I have no complaints about this awesome camera. Great job Nikon!!! I took the photograph of the CD with water droplets with the D5100!!!! You sure can do some pro and creative stuff with D5100. February 2, 2013
Wonderful camera with such great features!! Love this camera. It is so easy to take beautiful pictures with such detail. I've always had smaller camera's and was a little nervous about this camera with all the bells and whisles. Love, love, love it!! Easy to use!! February 1, 2013
Great Camera, Great Features. Very Easy to use, Good picture quality I'm shooting with 18-55mm VR. I really like this camera strongly recommend to buy this product. January 31, 2013
simply amazing I got it as a gift. I had used D70 before But this camera is an entirely diffrent thing. It has a ton of cool feature like the lcd varo-angle and the effects are simply amazing. Then it is the HD video. The only problem is with the lens system. The picture quality and speed simply blew me away. The price was about PKR 71,000 when it arrived but now there is no problem with the price as it has decreased. The battery life is STUNNING. There is no problem except with the lens format otherwise this is a good camera for begginers with some new and amazing features. January 24, 2013
D5100 Love this camera. I had a Nikon d50. This camera completely blows that camera away. The response is much faster with the d5100. I love the new display. The ability to move the LCD display makes it easier to take picture at weird angles. I have nothing bad to say about this camera. January 12, 2013
Great camera for pictures and videos Absolutely amazing camera. I have had mine since summer 2011 and I love it. Fist of all I have a little side job and I take pictures for people and it takes outstanding portraits and I have not had any problems with it. I also take video footage of my boyfriend doing all his crazy sports including BMX biking and skiing and no matter how fast or what the lighting is like, it takes great videos. I would definitely recommend this camera! January 9, 2013
Great value for the price! Great little camera, very easy to use once you learn the functions. Great photo quality. all the presets come in handy when you are too lazy to do test shots. and the flip out lcd is a back pain saver!!!! and if you use full frame lens on it, the photos come out as sharp as they would on a full frame camera. January 5, 2013
Really Great DSLR I have used 35mm SLR camera's for a long time and wanted to move up to a DSLR. I looked at the Canon and the Nikon line of DSLR camera's. The choice was simple the D5100 is not the cheapest and not by far the most expensive, it is the best for the money giving you ease of use I mean point and shoot or as you feel more comfortable you take full control and get perfessional grade photo's from start to finish. I enjoy this camera it is my favorite and the paise I have gotten from everyone really means so much more. January 1, 2013
Great upgrade from a D70s or instead of the D3200... Traded up from a D70s body to the D5100, fantastic dal since Nikon dropped the D5100 body pricing to promote the D3200. In comparison to the D3200 I feel the D5100 has better manual focus, a warmer and more accurate screen image, wider selection of shutter speeds. Mega pixels in the current arena means nothing when you break the 12-14 range. For the money, its clearly a better body. January 1, 2013
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 26
<<prev | next>>
35 Questions | 39 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
35 Questions | 39 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
D5100
 
2 Answers

Bower battery grip

Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Paul
Florida
 on D5100
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Will the Bower battery grip (Mfr# XBGN5100) work on the D5100?
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Paul
Florida
Location : 
Florida
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Can anyone attest to the quality of the Bower products (grips or otherwise). I guess being compatible is one thing, but quality is another. If it fits but doesn't work well it's not going to be useful.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Possibly, it is not a genuine Nikon grip so you would have to get in contact with the manufacturer with regards to compatability.
Dec 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

D5100 - best macro lens with internal motor?

Jan 24, 2012 by
by
JP
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
The macro lenses I have been using with my D200 do not AF. Would like to add a new lens to the mix. Suggestions for macro photography of floral/insects/etc.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
JP
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED is a great lens costs just under $1,000

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the list below for a list of close-up lenses:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Jan 24, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
2 Answers

How many years warranty given in this camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?

Apr 20, 2012 by
by
Patrick
India
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
How many years warranty given in new camera?And is the warranty valid worldwide?And if am buying it in refurbished will the warranty be available worldwide?Am living in India whereas am buying the camera from states..
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Patrick
India
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The warranty is not international. It’s only valid in the region that was purchased. All camera models are warranted by Nikon, Inc. to be free from defects in material and workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase. Just need the copy of the receipt of purchased. The warranties for refurbished equipments is 90 days (3 months).
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Usually one years warranty. There is no worldwide warranty, it is valid for country of purchase only, so if something goes wrong you would have to send it back to the US for any warranty claim.
Apr 23, 2012 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D5100
 
2 Answers

should D5100 autofocus works with AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens?

Mar 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
 on D5100
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
My D5100 is not autofocusing with my AF VR-Nikkor 80-400mm lens. Should it be? Do I need to adjust some menu setting? Does autofocus not work with this lens because the lens is not an AF-S Nikkor or an AF-I Nikkor? (This lens's autofocus capability works with my D50.)
6 months ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
For it to autofocus you need AF-s lenses, the lens you have is not AF-S therefore will only be manual focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
KeithD

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, it will not auto focus, unlike your D50, the D5100 does not have a built in screw drive. You are correct, you need AF-S or the older AF-I lenses to get auto focus on the D5100
Mar 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
Have a read of your manual, it will tell you how to do it in there.
Oct 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I have a Sigma AF-MF 70-300mm lense that I bought for my film SLR. Will it work on this camera body?

Dec 4, 2011 by
by
TIK
Hawaii
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
TIK
Hawaii
Location : 
Hawaii
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get in contact with the manufacture of the third equipment for compatibility information with our products.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

wireless multi-flash capability using main and two slave flash units

Mar 4, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Which flash units can I use on the D5100 to fire wirless multi-flash units together like in weddings and other low light, flash critical controlled scenarios? Can I use one SB400 flash to trigger two SB800 flash units or do I need to use three SB800 flash units to fire & trigger each other wireless? Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
The SB-400 doesn't have a remote feature in order to trigger the SB-800s. In case that you want to use that setup you will need to set both SB-800s as SU-4 that will convert them into slaves and will trigger with any flash perceived (including the one from the camera). Also, you will need to set manually for the exposure.
Mar 8, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

Which Nikon Flash Units can I use for multi-flash settings on Nikon D5100?

Mar 10, 2012 by
by
Sammy
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
I have a D5100 and need to use multi-flash units to fire instantly and wireless in auto mode using one commander (camara's hot shoe) and two slaves, mounted on tripods? Which combination of Nikon flash units can I use for this mission critical purpose ie: inside parties, weddings, all under subdued lighting? Will one SB700, mounted on hot shoe and two SB700 mounted on tripods work or all three SB910 units work best? Please keep it simple, Thank You.
 
Products related to my question
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Sammy
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D51000 doesn't have a commander mode while using the built-in flash. You can use the SU-800 wireless commander for the SB-R200, SB-900, SB-800, SB-700 and SB-600 Speedlight units. Controls an unlimited number of Speedlights for up to three groups. Provides wireless control up to 66 feet. Offers 4 independent channels for competitive shooting environments.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

"Body only" product comes with

Mar 25, 2012 by
by
Dave
MA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Does this product (d5100 body only) include everything (battery, charger, strap, software, etc) that would normally come with the kit but minus the 18-55mm lens?
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Dave
MA
1 answer

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Supplied Accessories:
EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-24 Quick Charger
DK-20 Rubber Eyecup
UC-E6 USB Cable
EG-CP14 Audio Video Cable
AN-DC3 Camera Strap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
BF-1B Body Cap
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cover
Nikon ViewNX 2 CD-ROM
Mar 26, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D5100
 
1 answer

I want to buy Nikon D5100 .Please suggest suitable model with main accessories.

May 9, 2012 by
by
Prashant
USA
 on D5100
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Need to know about D5100: which features/accessories should I keep in mind while purchasing camera.Shall I go for 18-55 mm lens or 18-200 lens or both. Kindly suggest.
2 years, 5 months ago by
by
Prashant
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The right selection for a lens will depend a lot on the type of photography that you are interesting. Some photographers look for faster lenses (large aperture ex. f/2.8), wide angle, Telephoto, Macro or zoom lenses.
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...?
Also, for information regarding the D5100, please click on the link below:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
May 10, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers