Loading
;
Multiple film formats (120/220, 35mm, etc.).
16-bit A/D converter.
Improved rod dispersion LED illumination technology.
Newly-developed, high-quality 3-line CCD sensor.
Multi-sample scanning.
All NEW! Scan image enhancer.
Digital ICE4 AdvancedTM (Digital ICE Quad Advanced) with Digital ICE ProfessionalTM - more compatible with Kodachrome film.
4000 dpi-true optical resolution.
Large diameter scanner Nikkor Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass lens.
High-speed scanning (35mm slide film - 40 seconds, 6 x 9 - 185 seconds).
New, advanced image processing algorithm for color negative film.
Quick AF and Quick Preview.
High-speed IEEE 1394 interface.
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED 3 5 15 15
works perfectly with mac os 10.6.5 on a mac book pro. Produces excellents scans with nikonscan or vuescan. A must for analog photographers. Nikon should upgrade capture nx to integrate nikonscan. November 15, 2010
Was a great product...but I also own this scanner and found it to be an excellent product. As others have noted in their reviews, I was dismayed to find out when I upgraded to Mac OSX Mavericks (10.5) that the product was not supported on that O/S. Furthermore, while I also have a Toshiba laptop I found that I cannot scan to that PC because it does not have a port for the Firewire cable that comes with the scanner. Sooo. right now I am looking at a $4000 paperweight! May 1, 2014
Less Than Expected After my Konica Minolta Dimage 5400 Elite II finally died I took a leap of faith and purchased the Nikon Coolscan 9000 ED. I have found this scanner a little disappointing with my previous scanner sometimes outperforming my current one. My biggest disappointment is the flimsy 35mm strip film carrier: difficult to use and has already been replaced once under warranty. Some of my children's toys are better thought our and constructed. April 15, 2011
What's with the banding problem? It seems to be a great scanner when it works properly. Unfortunately there is a banding issue on medium format negatives and there's no rhyme or reason why... January 22, 2011
Without updated Mac software its a boat anchor I've been happily using my Coolscan 4000 until I upgraded to the latest Mac OS. Scanner software is now non-functional. Forked out over $300. for 3rd party software - works fine now, but why is this necessary??? October 28, 2010
not supported, unusable The Nikon made excellent scans, usable for making excellent enlargement of medium format negatives. But I have chosen to work with the best professional operating systems, purchasing a powerful PC with Windows 7 after using it with mediocre equipment at the photographic school where I teach. Fixes for the problem require extra expenses and considerable time to recover some of the capabilities of Nikon Scan 4. A scanner promoted as professional is not functional for professional work. October 28, 2010
Good hardware but software for MacOS stinks The hardware is well designed and provides very good quality scans. I have used it with both Windows XP and MacOS 10.5 (Leopard). This product requires a fairly powerful processor to work well. WIndows XP is not good for memory intensive tasks such as scanning. MacOS is much better for image editing and manipulation in general. The problem is that Nikon has been very slow to release updated versions of the Nikon Scan software for the MacOS 10.5 and 10.6. The product description in the sales materials say that it is compatible with Mac OS 10.5 and 10.6. However, if you look at the technical support site, it is listed as incompatible with MacOS 10.5 and 10.6. I have called Nikon a number of times and been unable to get an estimated release date for updated Nikon Scan software. If Nikon were to release updated software for MacOS 10.6 I would probably give this product either 4 or 5 stars (assuming it worked). So my overall recommendation is to wait until Nikon releases updated software for MacOS 10.6 before purchasing this scanner. August 3, 2010
Rarely works While the product does good scanning, I've spent countless hours trying to get it to work. The Nikon Scan 4 software rarely recoginizes the device, and so it can't be used. I've been through nearly every trouble-shooting suggestion and nothing sticks. A very expensive piece of credenza-ware. May 28, 2012
Windows 7 I have been using Nikon products for 30 years, and I love my coolscan 9000, but I cannot believe that Nikon has not updated the drivers for such an expensive scanner. Why would I want to keep buying new scanner just because they outlast my computer, thats a good thing. I am also having the same trouible trouible with my Canon flatbed scanner. If Windows is changing, these organizations need to also keep up. Epson was the only one that had updated drivers for my printers to work with Windows 7, may just have to look to them for my future scanners. March 19, 2012
Windows 7 Too bad Nikon did not keep up with the professional photography industry and create a driver for Windows 7 both 32 & 64-bit. Very expensive film scanner and not being able to use it with Windows 7, which is the current MS OS installed on new PCs. For this reason I would not recommend this film scanner nor will I ever purchase another Nikon product as Nikon can not be trusted to keep up with industry changes. July 22, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
22 Questions | 28 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
22 Questions | 28 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
4 Answers

driver for macOs 10.7

Sep 7, 2011 by
by
Paweł
Poland
Has staff answer
+4points
5out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful1
How can I get version of driver to nikon coolscan 9000 ed for apple MacOS 10.7
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Paweł
Poland
4 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
As the others here have said, you can't. It's unfortunate but you can't really blame Nikon, as Apple seems to love breaking its device driver API with every new OS release. The Silverfast software is better than the Vuescan for this product, but I still prefer the Nikonscan software. The Silverfast is way, way too expensive, and its user interface is very very awkward. My solution was to buy a second-hand iMac and run Tiger on it (MacOS 10.4), which as I understand it was the last officially supported version of MacOS by Nikon. The iMac cost me 90 bucks as opposed to the $500 plus for Silverfast, connects just fine to the household network and all it has to do is run the scanner, which frees the MacPro for other things.
Jan 26, 2013 by
by
Bruce
Baltimore, MD, USA
Location : 
Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+2points
7out of 12found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful5
Answer: 
The use of Nikon Scan software with Mac OS 10.5.x or later, is not supported. We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
Sep 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, you need third party software.
Sep 7, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
From Nikon's Service & Support page: "The use of Nikon Scan software with Mac OS 10.5.x or later is not supported. We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software."
Sep 7, 2011 by
by
MichaelL
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
2 Answers

port for nikon 9000

May 25, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
can i use a the newer imac's thunderbolt port or the firewire 800 port with my nikon 9000? thank you, David in Seattle
3 years ago
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
You can use a FireWire 400 - 800 cable. It has 400 connector on one side and 800 on the other. Its what I use with silverfast and its working great.
Nov 11, 2011 by
by
Will
ny
Location : 
ny
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: Can I connect a Firewire 400 cable to a Firewire 800 socket?
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
2 Answers

Does coolscan ed 9000 is compatible with adobe photoshop c5.5 version and is it wia compatible because this scanner is not recognized by adobe softwar

Sep 27, 2011 by
by
Ali
Baltimore, Maryland
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Ali
Baltimore, Maryland
Location : 
Baltimore, Maryland
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
2 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
You need to run a scanning software like Hamrick VueScan or SilverFast AI. The HVS is way cheaper, but has an austere, brutalistic interface. The SilverFast AI will cost 10x as much, and is not much easier. Do more research, and good luck.
Oct 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
2 Answers

nikon coolscan LS 9000ED

Aug 24, 2011 by
by
emvogia
greece, corfu
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I need the drivers and software (probably the nikon scan 4 if the latest) to go with my coolscan 9000 ED.
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
emvogia
greece, corfu
Location : 
greece, corfu
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
If you are running with a Mac OS 10.5 or later, you are out of luck. For some reason, Nikon has opted out of the driver upgrades for their most expensive ($2,000+) 9000ED scanner. Perhaps they are going to kill the product and introduce something else down the line.
Be sure to check the specifications chart to make sure your operating system is usable, whether it is a PC or a Mac. For this kind of money, you need to make sure of the compatibility.
Oct 18, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
The use of Nikon Scan software with Windows 7 (any version), or Mac OS 10.5.x or later, or any 64- bit operating system (including 64-bit, 32-bit or Compatibility mode) is not supported.
We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
Aug 24, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
1 answer

Windows 7 computability?

May 26, 2011 by
by
Don
Fairfax county Virginia, USA
Has staff answer
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Can't load software for my nikon super cool scan 9000
3 years ago
by
Don
Fairfax county Virginia, USA
Location : 
Fairfax county Virginia, USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 10 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-22points
1out of 24found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful23
Answer: 
The use of Nikon Scan software with Windows 7 (any version), or any 64- bit operating system (including 64-bit, 32-bit or Compatibility mode) is not supported.
We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
May 26, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
1 answer

Is there any way to scan bigger old negatives (6x12cm) with Nikon coolscan 8000?

Jul 18, 2011 by
by
Gert
Sweden
Has staff answer
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Gert
Sweden
Location : 
Sweden
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful3
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
1 answer

I need software to go with my Nikon Cooolscan 4000 to use with my iMac running 10.6.7

Jul 19, 2011 by
by
Tobé
Pinehurst, NC
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I also have a Power PC G5 running 10.5.8
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Tobé
Pinehurst, NC
Location : 
Pinehurst, NC
Age: Over 65
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The use of Nikon Scan software with Mac OS 10.5.x or later, is not supported. We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
Jul 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
1 answer

I have bought MAC with Mac OS X Lion but Nikon Coolscan is not supported by this OS

Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-6points
2out of 10found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful8
Answer: 
Mac OS 10.5.x, 10.6.x and 10.7.x are not supported and not guaranteed to operate properly with Nikon Scan software. We suggest the use of third party software such as Vuescan or Silverfast with either of these operating systems.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
3 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
1 answer

When will you release Lion compatible Nikon Scan

Jul 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
I have a LS9000 - it can still be bought new. I expect a professional scanner is supported in new OS's. Vuescan and Silverfast are not the answer. Please indicate when the driver will be updated.
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-6points
0out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful6
Answer: 
Mac OS 10.5.x, 10.6.x and 10.7.x are not supported and not guaranteed to operate properly with Nikon Scan software. We suggest the use of third party software such as Vuescan or Silverfast with either of these operating systems.
Jul 25, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
Super COOLSCAN 9000 ED
 
1 answer

When I turn on my Nikon Super Coolscan 8000 I get a notice saying that "Nikon Scan could not find any scanners attached.

Aug 20, 2011 by
by
Bill
Pittsburgh, PA
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I am using it with Mac 10.6.8 and have restarted the computer and checked the connections. Please help. Thanks, Bill
2 years, 9 months ago by
by
Bill
Pittsburgh, PA
Location : 
Pittsburgh, PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
1 answer

Answers

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Aug 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>