Loading
4000 dpi true optical resolution.
New scanner Nikkor Extra-low Dispersion (ED) glass lens.
Fast 38-second scanning.
Direct film loading.
Quick AF and Quick Preview.
High-speed USB 2.0 interface.
14-bit A/D converter.
Proprietary LED illumination technology.
High-quality CCD sensor.
New advanced image processing algorithm for color negative film.
All new scan image enhancerAll new scan image enhancer
Digital ICE4 Advanced TM(Digital ICE Quad Advanced).
COOLSCAN V ED 4.7 5 7 7
Great product, but new software would help I have had the scanner for about 4 years now, and really appreciate it. I have thousands of slides and a lot of negatives, and the scanner has allowed me to create very high quality digital images that I can share on the internet, etc. It's not fast, and does not handle multiple slides, but it was affordable compared to the other Coolscans which are designed for professionals. My only complaint is that when I switched to a new computer operating system last year, I ended up having to purchase third party software. I wish that Nikon would update Nikon Scan software for the newer operating systems. Fortunately the software that I got is very good, and I have been able to continue using the scanner and getting good results. In fact, in some ways it's better than the Nikon Scan software, in that it gives you a bigger preview pane. However, I did like the ease of use of Nikon Scan. I would recommend this product if you can find one, but be prepared to buy third party software to run it. April 14, 2011
Nearly perfect A fantastic scanner for slides; with a bit of tweaking of the Nikon Scan software makes slides look great. Negatives are another matter - makes everything look like it was scanned at a lousy one-hour shop. April 14, 2011
Page:2
<<prev
27 Questions | 36 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
27 Questions | 36 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
+8points
11out of 14found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful3
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
5 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Interesting and circuitous solution (very "Windows"-like), but I'll add a couple of notes.

1. There is no firewire port on this scanner. It is USB (2.0) only.

2. Seems like you've confused "drivers" with scanner software. My experience with Windows 8.0 and 8.1 is that this scanner is recognized immediately when plugged in, with no driver installation needed. However it cannot actually be used until some scanner interface software is installed. Since the fairly awful NikonScan software is not supported beyond Win XP, third-party software can be used.

3. I purchased VueScan software ($40 or $80), and it immediately finds whatever scanner you have plugged in and turned on, and provides a much improved (over NikonScan) interface, tools, and features for scanning. I used NikonScan for years under Win XP, and it was always a struggle.
Oct 29, 2013 by
by
MrNews
Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Location : 
Tampa Bay, Florida, USA
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A million thanks, Great Dane Design, for your most helpful answer.

I started despairing after having tried several other "solutions" I had found on the web that proved unsucessful... and after having read Nikon's reply that no driver exists for my Coolscan V ED scanner under Windows 7. I decided trying one more solution (yours) before giving up and buying Viewscan... and it worked!

So, to anyone who reads this thread, follow Great Dane Design's instructions to the letter and you will be rewarded with the immense relief of seeing your Coolscan V scanner work perfectly fine under Windows 7.
Aug 31, 2013 by
by
Anonymous

+7points
11out of 15found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful11unhelpful4
Answer: 
The information on the Nikon website that "Nikon Scan 4.0.3 for Windows Vista" is "for use on Windows Vista only" is incorrect—in fact, it works just fine. However, there is no 64-bit driver for the scanner itself, but what Nikon's extremely well-paid software engineers have failed to develop, others have figured out of the goodness of their heats. This is what to do:

1) Download Nikon Scan 4.03 for Windows Vista ("ns403en_vista.exe") from the Nikon website.

2) Run the "ns403en_vista.exe" installation file (ignoring all warnings on the Nikon website that this version is intended for Windows Vista only). Leave all drivers selected (LS-4000 / 8000 / 9000 and LS-40 / 50 / 5000) during the installation. Restart the computer when the installation is completed.

3) Create a text file with the content below and name it "NikonScan64USB.inf" or similar with same extension.

[Version]
Signature="$CHICAGO$"
Class=Image
ClassGUID={6bdd1fc6-810f-11d0-bec7-08002be2092f}
Provider=%NikonStr%
DriverVer=08/22/2009,1.0.0.0

[Manufacturer]
%NikonStr%=DeviceModels,ntamd64

[DeviceModels.ntamd64]
%DeviceDescLS0040%=USBScanner,USB\VID_04B0&PID_4000
%DeviceDescLS0050%=USBScanner,USB\VID_04B0&PID_4001
%DeviceDescLS5000%=USBScanner,USB\VID_04B0&PID_4002

[USBScanner.ntamd64]
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection
SubClass=StillImage
DeviceType=1
DeviceSubType=0x4000
Capabilities=0
AddReg=NKUSBSCN.AddReg
CopyFiles=NKUSBSCN.CopyUSDFiles

[USBScanner.ntamd64.Services]
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection.Services

[NKUSBSCN.AddReg]
HKR,,HardwareConfig,1,4
HKR,,DevLoader,,*NTKERN
HKR,,NTMPDriver,,usbscan.sys
HKR,DeviceData,ICMProfile,1,0,0
HKR,,USDClass,,"{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E}"
HKCR,CLSID\{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E},,,"Nikon STI USD"
HKCR,CLSID\{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E}\InProcServer32,,,%11%\NKSCNUSD.dll
HKCR,CLSID\{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E}\InProcServer32,ThreadingModel,,"Both"

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DiskName%,,

[SourceDisksFiles]
NKSCNUSD.dll=1

[DestinationDirs]
NKUSBSCN.CopyUSDFiles=11

[NKUSBSCN.CopyUSDFiles]
NKSCNUSD.dll,,,32

[Strings]
NikonStr="Nikon Corporation"
DiskName="Nikon Scan 4 CD-ROM"
DeviceDescLS0040="Nikon COOLSCAN IV ED"
DeviceDescLS0050="Nikon COOLSCAN V ED"
DeviceDescLS5000="Nikon SUPER COOLSCAN 5000 ED"

4) Locate the "NKScnUSD.dll" in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nikon\Driver\ScanUSB" directory.

5) Copy the "NKScnUSD.dll" file to the same location as where the "NikonScan64USB.inf" is saved.

6) Plug in the scanner and turn it on. Wait for the "Device Driver software was not successfully installed" message.

7) Right-click on Computer (from Start Menu or Desktop) and select "Properties > Device Manager". In the Device Manager, right-click on the scanner (listed under "Other devices") and select "Update Driver Software... "

8) Select "Browse my computer for driver software" and navigate to the location of the "NKScnUSD.dll" and "NikonUSBScanner.inf" files.

9) Ignore the Windows Security warning and select "Install this driver software anyway".

If using Adobe Photoshop CS4, the scanner will not show up in the 64-bit version. However, the scanner works just as well as it does under Widows XP/Vista.
Mar 6, 2012 by
by
GREAT DANE design
Vancouver, BC, Canada

+1point
4out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
Answer: 
While I haven't got the firewire transfer cable
i need....i have Nikon Scan installed using
windows 7 64 bit professional...which allows you
to use program compatibility....this means while using Win 7 64 pro....nikon scan is running
on XP service pack 2
hope this helps....will add info when I get firewire cable that will plug into my HP DV7 i7 computer
Aug 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-17points
7out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful24
Answer: 
The use of Nikon Scan software with Windows 7 (any version) (including 64-bit, 32-bit or Compatibility mode) is not supported.
We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
Jul 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLSCAN V ED
 
2 Answers

is there a win 7- 64 bit version of nikon scan for coolscan 5 ed.

May 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
canada cental
Has staff answer
+5points
12out of 19found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful12unhelpful7
Any forums on using the scanner for tips and advice.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Anonymous
canada cental
Location : 
canada cental
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

-2points
3out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
Answer: 
While I haven't got the firewire transfer cable
i need....i have Nikon Scan installed using
windows 7 64 bit professional...which allows you
to use program compatibility....this means while using Win 7 64 pro....nikon scan is running
on XP service pack 2
hope this helps....will add info when I get firewire cable that will plug into my HP DV7 i7 computer
Aug 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-9points
10out of 29found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful19
Answer: 
The use of Nikon Scan software with Windows 7 (any version), or any 64- bit operating system (including 64-bit, 32-bit or Compatibility mode) is not supported. We suggest trying a third party software option such as Vuescan from Hamrick.com or Silverfast software.
May 12, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLSCAN V ED
 
2 Answers

Hardware error and unsatisfactory color

Nov 20, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Neptune City, New Jersey
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
Hadn't used the scanner for a while and when I did I received the following error message, " The scanner has reported a hardware error. Please reset the scanner by switching on and off. If this doesn't work, please contact your local Nikon Service or Support office."
The output displays blue instead of white with the MA-21 and no output with the SA-21. I have the same problem on two computers.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Neptune City, New Jersey
Location : 
Neptune City, New Jersey
Age: Over 65
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I get that error message every time I start the software regardless of time between uses. I just dismiss the notification and carry on. Scanner works fine.
Feb 15, 2013 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 45-54

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLSCAN V ED
 
2 Answers

How do I run my Coolscan V ED scanner on my Windows Vista 64 bit OS? Help w/software or drivers.

Nov 21, 2011 by
by
Gene
WA state
Has staff answer
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
Gene
WA state
Location : 
WA state
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
The information on the Nikon website that "Nikon Scan 4.0.3 for Windows Vista" is "for use on Windows Vista only" is incorrect—in fact, it works just fine. However, there is no 64-bit driver for the scanner itself, but what Nikon's extremely well-paid software engineers have failed to develop, others have figured out of the goodness of their heats. This is what to do:

1) Download Nikon Scan 4.03 for Windows Vista ("ns403en_vista.exe") from the Nikon website.

2) Run the "ns403en_vista.exe" installation file (ignoring all warnings on the Nikon website that this version is intended for Windows Vista only). Leave all drivers selected (LS-4000 / 8000 / 9000 and LS-40 / 50 / 5000) during the installation. Restart the computer when the installation is completed.

3) Create a text file with the content below and name it "NikonScan64USB.inf" or similar with same extension.

[Version]
Signature="$CHICAGO$"
Class=Image
ClassGUID={6bdd1fc6-810f-11d0-bec7-08002be2092f}
Provider=%NikonStr%
DriverVer=08/22/2009,1.0.0.0

[Manufacturer]
%NikonStr%=DeviceModels,ntamd64

[DeviceModels.ntamd64]
%DeviceDescLS0040%=USBScanner,USB\VID_04B0&PID_4000
%DeviceDescLS0050%=USBScanner,USB\VID_04B0&PID_4001
%DeviceDescLS5000%=USBScanner,USB\VID_04B0&PID_4002

[USBScanner.ntamd64]
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection
SubClass=StillImage
DeviceType=1
DeviceSubType=0x4000
Capabilities=0
AddReg=NKUSBSCN.AddReg
CopyFiles=NKUSBSCN.CopyUSDFiles

[USBScanner.ntamd64.Services]
Include=sti.inf
Needs=STI.USBSection.Services

[NKUSBSCN.AddReg]
HKR,,HardwareConfig,1,4
HKR,,DevLoader,,*NTKERN
HKR,,NTMPDriver,,usbscan.sys
HKR,DeviceData,ICMProfile,1,0,0
HKR,,USDClass,,"{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E}"
HKCR,CLSID\{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E},,,"Nikon STI USD"
HKCR,CLSID\{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E}\InProcServer32,,,%11%\NKSCNUSD.dll
HKCR,CLSID\{07C71AC0-FA90-11d3-B409-00C04F87578E}\InProcServer32,ThreadingModel,,"Both"

[SourceDisksNames]
1=%DiskName%,,

[SourceDisksFiles]
NKSCNUSD.dll=1

[DestinationDirs]
NKUSBSCN.CopyUSDFiles=11

[NKUSBSCN.CopyUSDFiles]
NKSCNUSD.dll,,,32

[Strings]
NikonStr="Nikon Corporation"
DiskName="Nikon Scan 4 CD-ROM"
DeviceDescLS0040="Nikon COOLSCAN IV ED"
DeviceDescLS0050="Nikon COOLSCAN V ED"
DeviceDescLS5000="Nikon SUPER COOLSCAN 5000 ED"

4) Locate the "NKScnUSD.dll" in the "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Nikon\Driver\ScanUSB" directory.

5) Copy the "NKScnUSD.dll" file to the same location as where the "NikonScan64USB.inf" is saved.

6) Plug in the scanner and turn it on. Wait for the "Device Driver software was not successfully installed" message.

7) Right-click on Computer (from Start Menu or Desktop) and select "Properties > Device Manager". In the Device Manager, right-click on the scanner (listed under "Other devices") and select "Update Driver Software... "

8) Select "Browse my computer for driver software" and navigate to the location of the "NKScnUSD.dll" and "NikonUSBScanner.inf" files.

9) Ignore the Windows Security warning and select "Install this driver software anyway".

If using Adobe Photoshop CS4, the scanner will not show up in the 64-bit version. However, the scanner works just as well as it does under Widows XP/Vista.
Mar 6, 2012 by
by
GREAT DANE design
Vancouver, Canada

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
In order to better assist you, please click on the link below:
Answer Title: How to ask or update a Technical Support question
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Nov 22, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLSCAN V ED
 
2 Answers

What are the differences between Nikon 5000 ED and Nikon V ED scanners

Apr 1, 2012 by
by
Pops
Huddleston, Lakes, VA 24104, USA
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
2 years, 2 months ago by
by
Pops
Huddleston, Lakes, VA 24104, USA
Location : 
Huddleston, Lakes, VA 24104, USA
Age: Over 65
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The V ED is roughly half the scanning speed of the 5000.

And the V ED can, in fact, process APS film using an IA-20(S) adapter.
Dec 27, 2012 by
by
Anonymous

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
The main difference is the ability to use accessory film holders such as the SF-210 Bulk loader and the IA-21 APS film holder, and the SA-30, 40 frame roll film adapter. The Coolscan V is limited to the MA-21 Single slide adapter and SA-21 6 frame maximum strip film holder. Other than that, they can both scan at 4000ppi, the LS-5000 also scans at 16-bit. 14-bit for the Coolscan V.
Apr 13, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
COOLSCAN V ED
 
2 Answers

MAC Maverick does not recognize Coolscan V ED

Jan 29, 2014 by
by
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
I have been using Coolscan with Windows 7 for many years. I have now a MacBook Air, OS Maverick, with an external disk WD 2TB.
I have connected the Scan through the USB 3.0 but there is no actvity at all.
What should I do to use Coolscan with Mac?
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Anonymous
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I was using my Coolscan 5000 ED with my Mac for years, first with Nikon Scan, and then with Vuescan.

Now it doesn't work at all.

I even have a Bootcamp with Windows 7 and it still doesn't work.

I think there may have been some recent firmware updates, or something, that has rendered this scanner unworkable.
Feb 16, 2014 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Nikon no longer supports Coolscan software, Hamrick makes Vuescan software compatible with Mac.
Jan 29, 2014 by
by
JoeR
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
+11points
16out of 21found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful16unhelpful5
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
TeacherMan
MI
1 answer

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
Accordingly to Nikon it Nikon View was not supported for W7, they recommend using VueScan, I used it and it worked very well, it has two raw formats, DNG and TIFF, but be careful with them, I had some inconveniences, not for opening, but for saving with others programs. The only inconvenience is that you must buy a copy, in order to try you can download a trial version that overwrites your scan with a watermark.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
nesaco
buenos aires
Location : 
buenos aires
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
0points
4out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful4
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-19points
6out of 31found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful25
Answer: 
Mac OS 10.6.x is not supported and not guaranteed to operate properly with Nikon Scan software. We suggest the use of third party software such as Vuescan or Silverfast with either of these operating systems.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
4 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLSCAN V ED
 
1 answer

why don't you support the products you sell?

Jun 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
-2points
3out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful5
No software for W7 and the coolscan V? What?
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-37points
0out of 37found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful37
Answer: 
Windows 7 (32-and 64-bit) is not supported with Nikon Scan software. We suggest the use of third party software such as Vuescan or Silverfast.
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
COOLSCAN V ED
 
1 answer

Where can I get Coolscan V ED drivers and software for my MacBook Pro?

Jun 29, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Has staff answer
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

-5points
0out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful5
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Jul 7, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>