Loading

Nikon-original FX-format CMOS Sensor
Newly engineered for striking image fidelity and low-noise, optimizing pixel size and count in a 12.1-megapixel sensor to produce extraordinarily rich files.

Continuous Shooting Up to 9 FPS
Secure exacting moments in time with an expanded buffer, allowing continuous capture of up to 82 JPEG (fine) or 36 14-bit NEF (RAW) images.

One-button Live View with Two Shooting Modes
Two modes for studio or remote shooting—Tripod Mode offers 27x magnification for precise focus confirmation.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System
Ultrasonic process combats the accumulation of dust on the optical low-pass filter, safeguarding image quality.

Fast, Accurate 51-Point AF System
4 Dynamic modes and 15 cross-type sensors deliver AF precision and razor sharpness.

Scene Recognition System
Referencing an onboard image database, teamed with RGB metering, SRS enhances exposure and white balance evaluation and improves AF speed and accuracy.

Nikon Picture Control
Four preset options and 9 customizable settings provide personalized style control.

Dual CF Card Slots with Overflow, Backup and Copy Options

Approx. 4,200 Images per Battery Charge

Low Noise ISO Sensitivity from 200 to 12,800
Renowned low-noise performance at 12,800, plus expanded settings to an astounding ISO 102,400 (equivalent) and ISO 100 (equivalent).

HD Video Capture
Record smooth 24 fps HD video, leveraging low-noise D3S image quality along with high fidelity stereo sound capability.

3-Inch Super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD Monitor
D3S monitors are individually calibrated during assembly to assure accuracy.

Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
Drives breathtakingly rich image fidelity, low-noise and fast image processing.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon-pioneered RGB metering includes color information to intelligently determine more accurate exposures.

Rugged and Precise Magnesium Alloy Construction
Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and electromagnetic interference with a self-diagnostic shutter mechanism tested to exceed 300,000 cycles.

100% Viewfinder Coverage

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D3S 4.9 5 182 183
I shoot a lot of onstage shows, dance recitals, runway shows, etc. The low-light capabilities of this camera make it the only choice for me. I have been an Nikon user/owner since 1964 and have never been without at least one. My D3S justifies all the confidence I have had in the Nikon product line. The new lenses 24-70, and 70-200 make prime lenses unnecessary with their sharpness and speed. Dependability, technology, and speed make the D3S the only choice for me. July 19, 2010
Nikon D3s x 2 Have a D3x and 2 x D3s's. Love the speed and the ability to shoot in low light conditions. With my 50mm 1.4 and 85mm 1.4 noise is never an issues no matter how dark it gets. July 19, 2010
Excellent & Superior to Anything Else Before purchasing the Nikon D3s I had never touched or used anything but a Canon camera. I was in the market for a professional camera that would meet my needs for college sports and challenging low-light events. With these being the two most important criteria for me I reviewed the Canon 1D Mark IV and the Nikon D3s. I read everything I could get my hands on, watch every review on YouTube, etc. Based on the technical specifications and reviews at dpreview.com I leaned towards the D3s. I was very lucky that I was able to find a camera in stock to review in person. The moment I put the D3s in my hands I knew instantly this was the camera I was going to buy. I had first purchased the 1D Mark IV and returned in within 3 days because I didn't see the value in this camera for the $5,000 price tag. I purchased the D3s on the spot and have loved every single moment of this professional camera. The controls and layout of the camera make the most sense to me because they are intuitive and logical. Anything that I need to do (e.g., bracketing, change EV levels, metering, focus patterns, etc) are all at the tip of my fingers. I get more shots today with this camera than ever before simply because of my ability to quickly adapt to the environment and make the necessary changes. As far as image quality I am extremely happy with the FX sensor and the images it produces. I also do some architecture work as well as nature and I have been very pleased as well. I also use the video function and I like the quality but I am very hopeful that many of the current limitations (e.g., 5 minute recording, Jpeg, 720p at 24fps, etc) will be improved in a future model making this the ultimate hybrid tool in the market for professionals. I still have to carry my Canon 5D Mark II for video at this point. I would love to sell it along with all my lenses to invest in more Nikon equipment if the video features are improved in the future. The biggest struggle for me has been being able to buy all the lenses I need for the D3s. Many of them are simply not available and this is a serious limitation for a professional photographer. I am sure it will be addressed over time, but I would like to see Nikon address this shortage of product sooner rather than later. July 19, 2010
Best camera ever I never cease to be amazed at how great this camera is in low light - my specialist area. The low-noise, great automatic white balance and superb autofocus accuracy are a dream. The speed of shooting and solid construction have also set new standards for me. I am selling my top of the range camera from the "other manufacturer". It just doesn´t stand up to the D3s. The only slight disappointments are the accidental shooting caused by pressing the vertical grip release button with the palm of my right hand (although this of course can be switched off) and the lack of extensive wide-aperture fixed focus lenses which other camera manufacturers do produce for their cameras. The D3s is my camera of choice which always use when I need to guarantee great photos in sometimes difficult situations, I have been using the camera almost daily since I got it just under a year ago. July 19, 2010
Best camera I've ever owned. This camera replaced my previous "best", a Nikon D3, and it quickly became my favorite camera, ever, for certain types of photography. I use my D3s for concerts, ballet, and other types of performances, sports photography, fashion and product photography where flash is not used, and most travel photography. I use the D3x instead for product photography, fashion, landscapes, various types of studio work, and some travel photography. I consider myself lucky to be able to choose the best Nikon tool for the job at hand. I sold my Nikon D700, which I relied on heavily for overseas travel shoots because it was so much lighter and compact, but soon found that I couldn't give up the features of the D3s even when I was traveling light. July 19, 2010
I love the D3s' ISO capabilities. True to form Nikon quality throughout. July 19, 2010
NO PROBLEMS NO COMPLAINTS.IT TAKES GREAT PICTURES AT HIGH ISO WITHOUT FLASH July 19, 2010
Professional Workhorse As a professional wedding photographer, I use my equipment in a lot of demanding and rigorous situations. The D3s has not only handled them all beautifully, but it has also revolutionized the way I shoot. I document over thirty weddings a year, and it's great knowing that I can trust this camera every single weekend. July 19, 2010
Love this camera. Moving from D700 which I love to D3 which I appreciate to D3s had left me with no words to describe the quality of this camera. The ability to shoot in almost any conditions, most area that I needed flash or any source of lighting become my second worry I just go out shoot and happy with the results over and over again. thats more then enough for me. July 19, 2010
Excellent camera. Nikon has done an exceptional job listening to it's customers and applying what professional photographers need and expect in a pro camera body. July 19, 2010
Outstanding Camera period This is a great camera all around great auto focus the best in low light well worth the money July 19, 2010
Positive Excellent Camera. It's the best version of the D models and shoots excellent photos. Only disappointment is lack of focus for motion picture feature. Works on a tripod, but focus is manual otherwise (like reality). Hope the next version has a solution. July 19, 2010
Simply Amazing... This camera is everything as advertised and much more. I am simply blown away with the image quality at ISO 6400 and above. I am a sports shooter and I can already tell that this camera will take my images to places that, until recently, I had only dreamed. I will never feel inadequate, in terms of equipment, now that I owe a D3s. This camera is the best. Period. July 15, 2010
The morst brilliant camera I've ever owned The D3s has exceeded my expectations. I now regularly shoot at ISO 6400 with amazing results. I also own (or have owned) the D300, D700, D3, and the D3x. I shoot more of my work in studio at ISO 100 with the D3x, so I'm accustomed to superior quality. I don't feel like I'm compromising quality to shoot with the D3s at high ISO. The D3s in the field offers me the most flexible camera I've ever used. I dislike the hassle of tripods but they are necessary for may types of shots. Again the D3s allows me to shoot many of those tripod shots without the tripod. July 11, 2010
Recently tried one, tremendous capability of taking excellent quality low noise pictures in high ISO, go get one for yourself. July 11, 2010
This is a good camera at a very high price. It's a good camera if you have the money. I think that it is very over priced. April 17, 2011
Good Camera. Overly complicated. sometimes we need to remember that a camera absorbs light to make an image. Anything else is more complication. Simplify and get back to basics. August 20, 2010
Great camera D3s has great ergonomic. It is easy to shoot in low light because the camera handles noise at high ISO very well. I wish it had 16 Mpx with the same low noise level. Unfortunately after 3000 shots the shooter control unit was broken (now it is repaired). Video in spot lights is over exposed. August 15, 2010
good camera, still to be explored very good camera, i need to explore it more, i hope it has more live colors as the canon D mark IV , never the less i took a very good photos with it up to now, even in very low lights, rigid camera, very varestail, fantstice results with SP 900 flash ( very smart combination ), also very good results with nikor linse 14-24 mm , overall i am happy with the camera. August 3, 2010
D3s The D3s is great for the most part but after six months the image on the LCD screen produces a a negative image with lines through it. When I take the images off the memory card and onto the computer they are fine. I would say there is a problem sending the image to the LCD screen. I have sent the camera off to Nikon for repair. July 21, 2010
solid dependable very good handling in every condition, very reliable, wish to see a more efficient self cleaning mechanism. solid camera in extreme weather. good handling, double CF card very useful. full system to go with, lenses & flash. July 20, 2010
This is a nice camera I like getting back to the full format without the D3, D3X cost. I like the two cards. I like the virtual horizon.. It's heavy and has a wimpy strap. The charger is too big. Too bad you couldn't use the D300 battery. Current version of Elements cannot read RAW files. It has lots of features I will never use. July 19, 2010
WIN! Awesome camera, love it more than my D3. Loving the noise at 6400. Not loving the fact that this 'beast' only records in 720p. July 19, 2010
Great camera with small problems First D3s I received had focusing problems and was returned. 2nd unit works extremely well but on occassion, using single frame shooting, will shoot multiple frames without warning. Other than that, I just love the camera and recommend it highly to any serious photographer. July 19, 2010
i switched from canon for this camera ;} I do really love this camera. I switched from the Canon 5D Mark II with all L series lenses. So far I am very happy. I do however wish the video capabilities met Canon's. They do have superior video capability, but when purchasing this camera it was not a huge issue for me as i am not using it as my video camera ya know. very well built awesome battery life, although the batteries and charger are huge in my opinion overall awesome July 19, 2010
Best feature is high ISO The D3S is amazing in the high ISO ranges. I recently shot an entire week-long convention under typical break-out room low light conditions and never used a flash or tripod, and the photographs are wonderfully fine grain with good, even lighting despite spotty lighting conditions. I shot the audience of a concert where it was too dark to see the individuals, but the resulting photographs, once color-corrected are gorgeous -- fine grain, sharp, brilliant color. The "quiet" shutter setting is bogus, and I will say that the camera seemed to arrive to me with dust on the sensor-- the skies were dust-speckled from the very first frame. I can deal with those issues though. After six months I am still amazed every time I have to shoot in low light. I am just starting to play with the video mode but so far the results are similarly incredible. July 19, 2010
D3s features After several months using the D3s I have to say that I am very impressed with the camera. It is a great camera to use and fits well in the hand and hand fatigue is low after long days of shooting. I have used this camera for events, portraits and event fashion shoots to weddings. The only thing that I find lacking is easy thumb adjustment of controlling your focus selector when shooting portrait mode. Due to the lack of a second thumb selector to adjust focus point I am not using the portrait side grip like it should be used. I find that on the D700 the bottom battery grip has this feature that I quite enjoy. and when shooting on the fly like weddings and creating different types of portraiture I use the thumb selector quite a bit. July 19, 2010
Nikon D3s is ok. Controls and such are ok. It functions ok except for the auto focus. Sometimes it "hunts" and takes "forever" to lock! Not a good thing! On a scale of 0 to 100 I'd give it 75 or so. July 19, 2010
Page: 3 4 5 6 7
<<prev
15 Questions | 19 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
15 Questions | 19 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D3S
 
2 Answers

can this camera take photos while recording video

May 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
nyatl
 on D3S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
nyatl
Location : 
nyatl
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No - You can shoot one or the other, or switch, but cannot take a still while videoing. and when shooting video it does not allow changing the zoom on a lens
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
former nikon advocate
Pittsburgh. PA
Location : 
Pittsburgh. PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera doesn't have the feature to take photos while recording videos.
May 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3S
 
2 Answers

Is Nikon D3s water resistant?

Jul 17, 2011 by
by
Abhi
Houston, TX
 on D3S
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I want to know if D3s or any other Nikon SLR is resistant to water.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
D3
4.8 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Abhi
Houston, TX
Location : 
Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
From my reading of reviews and my use of my own D3s in rainy conditions, it is at least water-resistant. Whether it is water "proof", I don' t know. So, I don't hesitate to take images on short notice for limited periods of time in light to medium rain, but I don't think I would dunk it in water or just keep it completely exposed in heavy rain.
Aug 15, 2011 by
by
vms

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It, along with the other pro spec bodies, are dust and moisture resistant, not totally water resistant, it will hold off a light rain shower for example but would not survive a dunking, say, in a swimming pool.
Jul 17, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
2 Answers

What is the best use of this camera?

Oct 5, 2011 by
by
DaBoy2Raw
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I like taking nature shots but I am occasionally ask to take pictures for parties and such is it good for all of that or just one purpose
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
DaBoy2Raw
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is a serious camera for professional photographers, unless you are running a business or have money to spend this camera will probably be too much for you. There is no specific area of photography this camera can't do, it is full frame so if all you have is DX format lens's you are wasting the cameras potential, it also workes better with newer lens's made with high performance glass and engineering. This is a go big or go home camera, no sense spending $6000 on the camera and buying older cheaper lens's.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Nov 13, 2011 by
by
Snapshot
Carmel, IN
Location : 
Carmel, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will depend on the type of lens you're using. Please click on the link below for the lens simulator; it will help you to make the decision on what lens you need.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Oct 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3S
 
2 Answers

SU-800 with D3s

Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
 on D3S
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I guess I was unclear with my original question. Is the SU-800 controllable through the camera menus or only on the control panel on the SU-800?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
Location : 
Harrisburg PA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, you have to use the SU-800 to control the flashes as there is not in built commander in the D3s.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think it's just on the flash? Not sure though, sorry.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Conelight
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or after the initial recording is your storage space full?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Customer
U.S.
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Individual movie files can be up to 2 GB in size. The maximum lenght is 5 movies for each one.
Oct 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
1 answer

when will the d700 replacement be out?

Oct 10, 2011 by
by
jswan
evergreen co
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
jswan
evergreen co
Location : 
evergreen co
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Thanks for your question about Nikon products. Unfortunately we cannot speculate about future products until official information is announced on our web site: www.nikonusa.com.
Oct 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
1 answer

D3s and SU-800

Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can you control off camera flash with the D3s from the camera menu (commander mode) and the SU-800 as you can with the D700?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
Location : 
Harrisburg PA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3s doesn't have a built-in flash to use as a commander like the D700. You will need the SU-800 commander to control other Speedlights.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
1 answer

dx mode using lx lens?

Jan 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 11 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Jan 2, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3S
 
1 answer

is it good for bird photo

Apr 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3S
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 8 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the correct lens.
Apr 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
CT
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
San Disk Extreme is on Nikon's approved list, 60mbps.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16686/~/approved-memory-cards---d3s
May 3, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers