Loading

Nikon-original FX-format CMOS Sensor
Newly engineered for striking image fidelity and low-noise, optimizing pixel size and count in a 12.1-megapixel sensor to produce extraordinarily rich files.

Continuous Shooting Up to 9 FPS
Secure exacting moments in time with an expanded buffer, allowing continuous capture of up to 82 JPEG (fine) or 36 14-bit NEF (RAW) images.

One-button Live View with Two Shooting Modes
Two modes for studio or remote shooting—Tripod Mode offers 27x magnification for precise focus confirmation.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System
Ultrasonic process combats the accumulation of dust on the optical low-pass filter, safeguarding image quality.

Fast, Accurate 51-Point AF System
4 Dynamic modes and 15 cross-type sensors deliver AF precision and razor sharpness.

Scene Recognition System
Referencing an onboard image database, teamed with RGB metering, SRS enhances exposure and white balance evaluation and improves AF speed and accuracy.

Nikon Picture Control
Four preset options and 9 customizable settings provide personalized style control.

Dual CF Card Slots with Overflow, Backup and Copy Options

Approx. 4,200 Images per Battery Charge

Low Noise ISO Sensitivity from 200 to 12,800
Renowned low-noise performance at 12,800, plus expanded settings to an astounding ISO 102,400 (equivalent) and ISO 100 (equivalent).

HD Video Capture
Record smooth 24 fps HD video, leveraging low-noise D3S image quality along with high fidelity stereo sound capability.

3-Inch Super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD Monitor
D3S monitors are individually calibrated during assembly to assure accuracy.

Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
Drives breathtakingly rich image fidelity, low-noise and fast image processing.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II
Nikon-pioneered RGB metering includes color information to intelligently determine more accurate exposures.

Rugged and Precise Magnesium Alloy Construction
Effectively protected from invasive dust, moisture and electromagnetic interference with a self-diagnostic shutter mechanism tested to exceed 300,000 cycles.

100% Viewfinder Coverage

Virtual Horizon Graphic Indicator

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D3S 4.9 5 182 183
excellent this is my second D3s and its amazing tool for photography , where all performance can be showed. Nikon again show quality for the price but whats its missing its to get a new firmware for some changes . September 29, 2011
Wish I had three of these Have been a user of Nikon back to the F3HP days. Own a D3X and two D3s's. I wish I had three of these. Fast while still shooting RAW + JPEG mode. Typically shoot around 8K images per wedding between all three camera's. Never had an issue with any of them. True workhorse!!! Amazing under low lighting situations. Nothing compares. September 26, 2011
Loving the D3s! Nikon knocked it out of the park with this amazing digital creation! I've owned the D3 and this camera trounces everything about the previous version. The camera is at least a full stop better than the D3 when it comes to ISO performance. The HD video is also a nice touch, though I probably won't use it. Highly recommend if you can afford it. September 20, 2011
Love it The best camera i ever had, thinks i wish to have in the next version. More resolution with the incredible noise of my D3s. Intergrated wlan, and an automatic trigger to shoot with live-view on moving objects. August 25, 2011
Best yet In short: D3s is the best yet, far better than the D2x, which should never have been put on the market. Also better than D3, which was good, but not even in the same league as the D3s. The D3s almost sees in the dark. Noisier than claimed by the Nikon perennial cheer leaders, but so low in noise at high ISOs in dark conditions, that it still surprises me sometimes. Heavy, but that is expected (so far) in pro camera bodies, especially with the D3s's weather resistance. Overall, more satisfied with the D3s than all other Nikon bodies I have had. August 15, 2011
I have owned several Nikon digital SLR bodies, starting with a D70S. My D3S is a recent upgrade from a D3 due to my new interest in video. This is a true professional work horse with every control where it should be and every function as it should work. The customization options are virtually endless, it is as fast and precise as a professional body should be and the image quality is superb, both in still photography and video. This is by far the best DSLR body I've ever used. August 9, 2011
All around - an awesome camera! I came over from the "C" company after 25 years when the D# was introduced and have never looked back. Many significant improvements over the D3 the D3s stands alone in all respects over the competition form all other companies. The low light capabilities and overall image quality set it apart. It's only rival is the D3x. I have exposed more than 250,000 images with a 97% approval rate and I'm a tougher judge, of my own work, than anyone. The only drawback is carrying 2- D3 type bodies for 10-12 hours during a wedding shoot. If you're a professional and want to stay out in front of the competition, then the D3s is the way to go. August 6, 2011
Can't get batter! First class in every sense of the word. Not sure what the 2 star rating with all the problems was about, either a bad camera or a troll. This camera has a very high reputation for good reason, it's simply the best camera out there - for now at least...! There really isn't much more that can be said about this camera that hasn't been said already. Incredible. July 24, 2011
Its have super macro compatibility… You can see More......... Don't limit My imagination..! ! June 18, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I have been using this camera to shoot high school football games in ambient light. It has proven to be superb, freezing action and yielding absolutely stunning images. The ISO range is almost unbelieveable. April 22, 2011
The best camera on the market right now I have got my D3s camera more than 6 months ago, and since then I have been completely amazed with its performance in various environments. Now I should mention that I do some work in a photo studio, and out of curiosity, I wanted to compare the images from my D3s with those of my colleague who uses a 5Dmark II. We decided to do a photo shoot together, imputing similar settings on our cameras (same ISO, same white balance, shutter speed, aperture). It was kind of fun to see how both cameras behaved in similar conditions. After the photo shoot we looked at the images on the computer screen and the image quality from both cameras was amazing (although my colleague's camera had almost double megapixels, the images that D3s produced were very smooth in tones and crisp, with very good detail in shadows and highlights). What was nice was that during the photo shoot, my D3s focused much faster and performed faster overall. I also tested my camera in low light, photographing a few shows without flash, just using the stage lighting. Needless to say, it behaved absolutely amazing; it was fast and when I looked at the images that I shot at ISOs 3200 and 6400 they had almost no noise. I would get the same amount of noise at ISO 6400 with D3s as I used to get at ISO 400 with my previous D300s. A few days ago I photographed again in low light and I set my ISO at 12800. With a little reduction in noise done in Photoshop CS5 Camera Raw my images look perfect (almost no visible noise). By the way, a couple of weeks ago, my colleague from the studio had to go to photograph a social event, and asked me if I could lend him my D3s... April 17, 2011
Great features, image quality and ergonomics. Phenomenal camera. Even better than my D3. Color depth is amazing. Sharpness is natural sharpness usually needs minimal refinement, if any at all. April 15, 2011
Great lightmeter My D3s with 80-200f/2.8D is extremely sharp, it lets me do things I've never been able to do and makes it fast and easy. April 14, 2011
the best ever i have had a d100 , d200 , and a d300 and my d3s does it all from sports to landscape to low light. if you want the best , and i do , nikon products is the only way to go April 14, 2011
Image Making Excellence! Excellent camera for any image making situation, but really excels in low light/available light shooting. Built with the pro shooter in mind but will not intimidate serious amateurs. April 9, 2011
Wonderful Tool! I picked up my D3s in December 2009, the day they were released in Australia. The camera was put to work straight away (after running through the menus, very simular to previous Nikon Pro bodies). All I can say is I wasn't dissappointed with my purchase. As a Nature photographer the extra low noise sensitivity is a welcome addition in marginal light. April 6, 2011
For a 12 million pixel camera, it is hard to see how the Nikon D3S could deliver better image quality at its optimal output settings - i.e. from carefully processed 14-bit uncompressed NEFs. Nikon's JPEG output is generally rather soft across its entire range of CMOS-equipped DSLRs, and at a pixel level (100% on screen) JPEG images from the D3S lack a certain 'bite'. This is easily fixed (to a superficial extent) by turning the in-camera sharpening up a notch or two, although we wouldn't recommend going much higher. Default sharpening coupled with a careful post-capture application of Unsharp Mask delivers perfectly good results in JPEG mode, and we prefer slight under sharpening to over sharpening, which once applied, is impossible to 'correct'. February 22, 2011
Superb! Simply Stunning! Standout Camera!!!! I **was** a Canon shooter for over 35 years and have in past 6 weeks converted to Nikon. - I have never previously owned a Nikon, nor did I ever intend to convert to Nikon, but here I am. - Under no circumstances do I ever endorse products on a whim, nor do I buy them on a "that looks good, I'll buy it" mentality. - I first came in contact with the first D3 in August 2008 at a seminar away from home, when a couple of friends of mine had purchased the D3's and prior to that they were previously Canon shooters. - After picking up my jaw from the floor [they were rabid diehard Canon users] I had to ask the obvious question, why? - Simply put, both of them in unison said: "Because it just works." They offered me a test shoot. The moment I put it in my hands, it 'felt right'. I fired off a few frames with the AF-C and in 3D Tracking on, man I was impressed, did not believe the number of sharp images. - After a couple of hours playing, I thought although it's verrry nice and fast, accurate, I did not have enough grounds to justify a full conversion, expense, familarity, etc. so decided to stay with Canon. [1D Mk IIIs and Canon 5D; and 5D Mk II's] - Fast forward to September of 2010. Still using Canon but had seen the new D3s reviews, etc. downloaded sample images shot at high ISOs. Impressive. - Now, between the first contact in 2008 and 2010, I had also noticed a lot of little annoying things with my gear, the main workhorse of any wedding photographer is the 24-70mm f2.8 lens and simply put, the Canon did not have overall good sharpness, being soft at edges, not good with family wedding groups, and I also had gone through 3 copies of that lens, yes, each time fully calibrated. PLUS the number of Invoices I had for sending my gear back for 'tuneups/repairs' etc. was a contributing factor in switching. - So, after spending months of procrastinating, I finally bit the bullet and purchased 2 D3s's, 24-70 f2.8 and 70-200 f2.8 VR II lenses, and 2 SB900 flashes. - What a huge improvement I noted almost from the first pick up to the few hundred 'tests' I have subsequentially made. - Facts I was impressed with: - 1] Verrry fast to focus, and even in some dark corners of my home at night with just one tiny dimmed light on, I could lock and shoot much faster than my other gear. - 2] Stays locked on and gets the shot in focus in AF-C 3D mode brilliantly. - 3] Brilliant control adjustments [although I do miss the 'big wheel' of the Canon at back, plus also I switched modes of the wheels so shutter/aperture controls are reversed, after years of using them like that in Canon] - 3] Colours are perfect. - 4] I have 99.5% of the time in the past, used my gear in full Manual Mode, even flash, but when I first tried the "dummy modes" I was amazed at the accuracy, love the D-Lighting. - 5] SB900 **has** to be the best darn on camera flash I ever used, [and I have used the Quantum TD5-R hotshoe mount] and although I have to yet use all the gear on an actual wedding [still practising] I can safely say I will be using the TTL-BL modes a lot, it's just that accurate, especially with subject separated from background, it does not get fooled with dark background easily. - 6] Love the high ISO, suitably impressed to say the least. - My last wedding was in a dark church, fully wooden pannelled walls, ceiling and it was heavily overcast and raining outside. Thought, OK, thank goodness I have a high ISO camera [Canon 5D Mk II] plus some fill flash, but then, to cap it all off, 10 mins prior to ceremony, and only then, I was told I could not use flash at all, so shot it all on around 3200 ISO f3.2 60th, man, the background where it was darker was riddled with noise, movement was noticealbe if I did not absolutely rock steady hold the camera, [no stabilising with 24-70] luckily the images were only required in a smaller format. - 7] The viewfinder view, phew!! what a glorious discovery that was to look through the viewfinder [wearing glasses, and that's another plus, so easily to change diopter without removing eyecup] and acutally "see" clearly all the info at the bottom and the exposure meter on right. On my 1D Mk IIIs and the 5D Mk II, I physically had to move the camera slightly on my eye to see it all, and then it nowhere near as clear and crisp. - 8] Having the WB so easily at hand without delving into menus/sub-menus is very handy, and I was also pretty darn impressed with Auto WB, I think I shall look at that a bit more once I get used to camera. I normally take around 3-4 weeks of constant practice before I "commission" any new camera in the field, don't want to be stumbling through on a fast-paced wedding. - 9] Cannot believe how great the LCD is at viewing, and with some adjustments in menus, having the centre button on back wheel set to magnify immediately when viewing to check image is great, plus I LOVE how to simply turn off the highlight warnings when in future I want to show clients a shot I just made without having to resort to menus, simply toggle up/down on the back selects between the RGB/Histograms/Highlight/Brightness modes soooo easily. - 10] Well, I have not fully delved into it enough to give a number 10 accolade just yet, cannot think, so many, but you get the picture [the D3s does]. - If you are thinking of getting one of these puppies, JUST DO IT, c'mon, you know you want one, after all you are reading this. - I most certainly recommend one to at the very least try one, and once you do you will be hooked. - Nikon 24-70 and 70-200 lenses combined with the D3s will blow ya socks off. - Love this camera [AND lenses] December 15, 2010
Does It All I am no professional by any stretch of the imagination. But, this camera makes my photographs look better than I am. The low light capabilities are excellent. I am able to shot indoor venus without a flash most of the time. Even when I have to use flash I can control the light to enhance an image not over power it. I use a tripod almost all of the time and the balance of this camera (especially with longer lenses) is great. I can control the angles I need to shoot with no problem at all. Many of the ads for this camera say it is a sports or action type camera. But, it can be used for any type of event. Portraits, landscapes, wildlife etc. are all enhanced by this camera. Whether a professional or not, I highly recommend this camera. It is a lot of fun to use. September 27, 2010
The best pro camera in space, (Yes NASA use it ) This camera dont need a review, beleave me. If you have a money, just buy it. Without thinking. I miss only full HD support for movies. My rating: 9,5/10 (just beceause there is no full HD). Number 1 camera on the market. September 18, 2010
Fast and crisp The response and color capture of the D3s is fantastic. September 2, 2010
This camera exceeds all expectations I had when I ordered it.The quality of the images are hard to believe and not to mention the low-light abilities.To be a Pro model it is VERY user friendly. I have been totally blown away and HIGHLY recommend this camera,you will not be disappointed! August 29, 2010
The Best for Wedding Photography Great image, perfect in low light, vivid colors and very nice video ( I am still waiting for Full HD ). A must have camera if you are a Pro Wedding Photographer and want the best camera in market... August 24, 2010
Awesome Camera I've been shooting with the D3S since December 2009 and absolutely love the camera. Although on the heavier side, it feels great in my hands and I've been able to effectively capture the shots that I've wanted. The higher ISO settings are super and with a fast lense, there are no issues shooting indoors and without a flash. The burst mode (11fps) is amazing, as long as you have a fast enough CF card to keep up. August 22, 2010
Get the D3s, not D3x...my expensive misconceptions OK, a little public service for the other working pros out there...I own a D3 and a D3x, and just got my D3s. I shoot live theatre for promotions, programs, playbills, billboards, etc. Probably 80% is shot in available theater light, sometimes I stage the setup, sometimes not. The other 20% of work is studio strobes and/or a bunch of speedlights, under my control. First, I bought the D3 at release for its low light capability...excellent, very satisfied. When Nikon announced the D3s, I could not see how much better the D3s could be, so I did not acquire one right away....stupid of me, I should have tried one...but instead, I bought a D3x, convinced it was going to do great things for my work.. At first I used the D3x a lot, but found it to be lacking in comparative low light capability, and only useful when shooting with strobes or static subjects on a tripod and needing to print big, like banners or billboards. Shooting the D3x handheld simply results in bigger files over the D3, and little gain in actual quality. You really have to treat it like a medium format camera technique-wise to see its advantages. Plus the files are huge, everything in post is slower, and less than pristine technique stand out like a sore thumb. If I am doing a banner or billboard, fine...I expect the process to be slower, heck for years I was shooting it in 8x10 for those jobs. Bottom line the D3x is very nice for what it is, just not as useful a tool as I had hoped it would be....and needless to say, not cheap, especially if it is not making money for me. Starting about a month ago, I had to send in the D3 for cleaning & maintenance, and I rented a D3s for a program shoot. A program shoot is typically done at a dress rehearsal, in a basically empty theater. Most of the performance shots were made with the 200mm f/2 VR operating 5 to 15 rows back on a Sidekick, using Auto ISO as usual, spot metering faces under changing theater lights. This was in a venue I knew very well, and had shot the D3 many times. The evening of my first day shooting viewing my work on my laptop in my hotel, I could not believe the difference between the D3 and the D3s. The quality of color saturation and lack of offensive noise was unbelievable. I kept checking the ISOs on the shots and anything under 3200, I did not bother to process for noise. I pulled up some unprocessed NEF D3 shots from the same venue 2 months before, and the same ISOs looked vastly different....WOW...the next morning I was calling around to find my own D3s...sadly nothing in stock anywhere. Anyway, I ended up renting it 4 times before my copy arrived yesterday. Sadly, during that whole period I did not have the D3x out of the bag. I will be replacing my D3 with a second D3s, and selling the D3x...I will rent that when the need arises...but there is a very good reason why nobody can keep the D3s in stock...it rocks. If you own a D3, the difference is absolutely worth the money. obvious and demonstrable. The images from the new sensor also have a smoother quality, color and luminance transitions are much more film-like than the D3 or D700. Studio strobe shots with the D3s and ISO 200, especially skin textures, are obviously better...it is worth the money in spades, and....unless you have very specific large print needs...IMHO the D3x is a beautiful and expensive one trick pony...in my case I will rent as needed. August 16, 2010
The D3s' ability to capture images in extremely low light conditions is absolutely incredible! August 13, 2010
Best Pro Body Currently Available I am a pro shooting mostly architecture and commercial real estate. I have 5 full frame digital bodies (two Canons and 3 Nikons - and yes, I kept my D3 when I bought the D3s). If I had to sell all my bodies except one I would keep the D3s. I would miss the D3X for its effortless rendition of breathtaking images with incredible resolution. Yet, the D3s will do so many things that the D3X cannot (related to low noise - high ISO) that I would never be without the D3s. The D3s also has an ergo fix that the other pro bodies are missing. The live view function can be activated by a button on the rear of the body instead on the upper left control wheel. Nikon has not yet fixed the ergo problem where mirror-up and timer are on the same control wheel (at least live view is now off) and cannot be used simultaneously - which we all need to do at some time or another. The only fix is to keep a remote release in your bag at all times. Despite the ergo carping, the D3s is without equivocation the greatest 35mm sized body that exists in photography today. If I could keep only one lens it would be the Nikon 24-70mm f2.8. August 9, 2010
The best photographic machine in 40 years My summary above is just that. This D3s solves nearly all of the problems I usually face in capturing images, whether sports, wildlife, landscapes, HD video, events such as jazz concerts, or studio/location portraiture. FAST, fast, fast... intuitive, durable, a great pleasure to use even in very difficult conditions, extremely versatile. Unless you absolute must have more than 12 MP, I believe that this camera is all that almost anyone could ever need -or want. The best investment I have ever made in a camera body, and that is saying a lot because I also have a D3 and a D300s. August 7, 2010
A great camera! This was upgrade from my D200 and worthy of the investment. Since purchase, I have travelled extensively throughout the National Parks and have had the opportunity to test the camera in the deserts, the mountains and underground in the caverns in most weather conditions. The camera consistently performed. The only suggestion is to scrap the strap. I purchased a UPstrap which provided additional support and flexibility as I switched from hand-held to the tripod. July 30, 2010
Page:2 3 4 5 ... 7
<<prev | next>>
15 Questions | 19 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
15 Questions | 19 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2
next>>
Sort by:
Has staff answer
D3S
 
2 Answers

can this camera take photos while recording video

May 15, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
nyatl
 on D3S
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
nyatl
Location : 
nyatl
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No - You can shoot one or the other, or switch, but cannot take a still while videoing. and when shooting video it does not allow changing the zoom on a lens
Jun 23, 2011 by
by
former nikon advocate
Pittsburgh. PA
Location : 
Pittsburgh. PA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera doesn't have the feature to take photos while recording videos.
May 17, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3S
 
2 Answers

Is Nikon D3s water resistant?

Jul 17, 2011 by
by
Abhi
Houston, TX
 on D3S
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I want to know if D3s or any other Nikon SLR is resistant to water.
 
Products related to my question
 
 
D3
4.8 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Abhi
Houston, TX
Location : 
Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
From my reading of reviews and my use of my own D3s in rainy conditions, it is at least water-resistant. Whether it is water "proof", I don' t know. So, I don't hesitate to take images on short notice for limited periods of time in light to medium rain, but I don't think I would dunk it in water or just keep it completely exposed in heavy rain.
Aug 15, 2011 by
by
vms

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It, along with the other pro spec bodies, are dust and moisture resistant, not totally water resistant, it will hold off a light rain shower for example but would not survive a dunking, say, in a swimming pool.
Jul 17, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
2 Answers

What is the best use of this camera?

Oct 5, 2011 by
by
DaBoy2Raw
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I like taking nature shots but I am occasionally ask to take pictures for parties and such is it good for all of that or just one purpose
3 years, 1 month ago
by
DaBoy2Raw
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is a serious camera for professional photographers, unless you are running a business or have money to spend this camera will probably be too much for you. There is no specific area of photography this camera can't do, it is full frame so if all you have is DX format lens's you are wasting the cameras potential, it also workes better with newer lens's made with high performance glass and engineering. This is a go big or go home camera, no sense spending $6000 on the camera and buying older cheaper lens's.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Nov 13, 2011 by
by
Snapshot
Carmel, IN
Location : 
Carmel, IN
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
That will depend on the type of lens you're using. Please click on the link below for the lens simulator; it will help you to make the decision on what lens you need.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Oct 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3S
 
2 Answers

SU-800 with D3s

Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
 on D3S
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I guess I was unclear with my original question. Is the SU-800 controllable through the camera menus or only on the control panel on the SU-800?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
Location : 
Harrisburg PA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
No, you have to use the SU-800 to control the flashes as there is not in built commander in the D3s.
Oct 22, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I think it's just on the flash? Not sure though, sorry.
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Conelight
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
or after the initial recording is your storage space full?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Customer
U.S.
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Individual movie files can be up to 2 GB in size. The maximum lenght is 5 movies for each one.
Oct 5, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
1 answer

when will the d700 replacement be out?

Oct 10, 2011 by
by
jswan
evergreen co
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
3 years, 1 month ago
by
jswan
evergreen co
Location : 
evergreen co
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Thanks for your question about Nikon products. Unfortunately we cannot speculate about future products until official information is announced on our web site: www.nikonusa.com.
Oct 11, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
1 answer

D3s and SU-800

Oct 21, 2011 by
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Can you control off camera flash with the D3s from the camera menu (commander mode) and the SU-800 as you can with the D700?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Deb F
Harrisburg PA
Location : 
Harrisburg PA
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The D3s doesn't have a built-in flash to use as a commander like the D700. You will need the SU-800 commander to control other Speedlights.
 
Products related to my answer
 
Oct 21, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3S
 
1 answer

dx mode using lx lens?

Jan 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3S
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 10 months ago by
by
Anonymous
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for information:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
Jan 2, 2012 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3S
 
1 answer

is it good for bird photo

Apr 8, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3S
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 7 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
With the correct lens.
Apr 8, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
2 years, 6 months ago by
by
CT
Baltimore, MD
Location : 
Baltimore, MD
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Travel
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Professional photographer
1 answer

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
San Disk Extreme is on Nikon's approved list, 60mbps.
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16686/~/approved-memory-cards---d3s
May 3, 2012 by
by
JoeR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2
next>>
Page: 2
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers