Loading

10.2-Megapixel DX-format Imaging Sensor
Delivers extraordinary image quality for breathtaking prints up to 20 x 30 inches.

Compact Design
Beautifully styled—Ready to go where life takes you.

Split-second Shutter Response
Eliminates the frustration of shutter delay, capturing moments that other cameras miss.

6 Automatic Exposure Scene Modes
Just set the Mode dial to Portrait, Landscape, Child, Sports, Close-up or Night Portrait for stunning results in otherwise challenging conditions.

In-camera Image Editing
The Retouch Menu provides creative freedom, without the need for a computer, offering 13 easy editing functions, including Trim, Red-eye Correction and Soft Filter.

Automatic Image Sensor Cleaning
Ultrasonic process and exclusive Airflow Control combats the accumulation of dust in front of the image sensor, safeguarding image quality shot after shot.

6 Personal Picture Control Settings
Choose from Standard, Neutral, Vivid, Monochrome, Portrait, or Landscape to apply a personal look and feel to your pictures.

ISO sensitivity from 100 – 1600
Exceptional results, even in challenging low-light situations.

Includes 3x 18-55mm Zoom-NIKKOR VR Image Stabilization Lens
Legendary NIKKOR optical quality and fast, accurate autofocus means vivid color, striking contrast and crisp detail, while VR image stabilization assures your sharpest pictures ever.

Easy-To-Use—Featuring Nikon Guide Mode
Intuitive controls and the on-board Guide Mode assist you every step of the way.

Continuous Shooting up to 3 Frames-Per-Second
Capture fast action, precious moments and fleeting expressions confidently.

3-inch Color LCD Monitor
Bright, high-resolution, 170-degree wide-angle viewing for easy picture review and sharing.

Nikon EXPEED Image Processing
Assures breathtakingly rich image quality, managing color, contrast, exposure, noise and speed.

11-point Autofocus
Fast and accurate autofocus delivers razor-sharp pictures.

Active D-Lighting
Restores picture-enhancing detail in shadows and highlights.

Price: ESP $599.95* D3000 Digital SLR Camera Kit includes AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 VR lens (Product Number 25462). Other outfits available.

D3000 4.7 5 222 222
LOVE this camera!! Incredibly easy and incredibly satisfied. Exceeded my expectations. I have always been a point n shoot user and this is my first DSLR. Because I love my SLR so much, I am going to major in Photography when I transfer in the fall :) March 31, 2011
Perfect what I wanted..... I've been wanting a decent camera for years and my husband got me this one and I am in love. There is hardly a place I go and it's not with me. I was already very much in to photography but now it's at a whole other level. It was simple and easy right out of the box. I love the way it's simple but can do what you need. I can change the lenses out with ease and move on the what I have to do. Now my next thing is getting more lenses! :-) March 24, 2011
Great things come in small packages When I purchased the d3000 I wanted two things: light weight and sharp images. I got so much more. I can easily carry the camera all day due to its light weight and the images are razor sharp. I primarily use the d3000 in Program and Manual modes. My favorite feature of the camera is ISO sensitivity. With this feature you set the maximum ISO (which I set to 800) and the minimum shutter speed (which I set to 1/125) and forget it. As I take photos the camera automatically adjust the ISO to keep my shutter speed at 1/125 or above. The pop-up flash is great too. It automatically produces the right amount of fill flash out to about 10 feet without me having to make manual adjustments. The camera is great and would I would recommend it to everyone! March 21, 2011
Great Pictures This is my first SLR camera, D3000 is worth every penny. For an entry level camera, the results are enormous. March 17, 2011
Amazing deal For the price that I bought this camera I have been super satisfied, It takes incredible pictures and never fails to know what I am trying to focus on. It is also very easy to use being a person coming from a point and shoot to a dslr this was a big deal for me and it again exceeded my expectations March 17, 2011
Great Entry-Level DSLR Although it isn't a high end camera, and doesn't offer the best low light quality, it is indeed a sharp camera. The auto-focus is fast and accurate, and it works when it is supposed to. GREAT for entry-level beginners, very basic, and offers an awesome guide to make things as easy as possible. I would recommend to a hobbyist or beginner, not a professional. I have added some pictures I took with this camera to show off it's capabilities. March 17, 2011
OK My attempt to get a Flash when I want has been futile. I will try to get more info. from the internet and the instruction manual. This info. should be readily available for someone who has used a less sophisticated camera in the past. I'm hoping that this isn't a defect in my new camera. I do get a flash in auto-mode, but other settings only offer photos that are too dark. March 15, 2011
I am very pleased with this camera. I have shot with an old film slr for years and it can be very unforgiving, but then decided to change up to digital. Have to say this camera is and will continue to be a great investment. March 5, 2011
Takes amazing pictures I love this camera so much. This is my first Digital SLR and really love it. Takes really sharp pictures, and its so easy to use! February 27, 2011
love it, buy it! this camera is amazing. it takes the best flash photography photos and the macro puts together beautiful pictures! February 27, 2011
Excellent DSLR I love my D3000! I take it everywhere and it never fails to give me priceless candids of my events. It also gives me excellent results in my photography. It's not difficult to use at all. My only complaint is that the FPS is a little slow for my taste and sometimes it stutters if the subject moves closer or farther away from the original point of focus. The pictures I included in the review look really noisy due to quality loss during uploading, but the originals don't look or print out like that. February 21, 2011
amazing I have used the nikon D3000 for almost 3 months and its just amazing i have used other cameras and overall i love the D3000 the most February 16, 2011
Great Starter SLR If you want a full featured SLR and dont want to dish out a couple grand this is the one for you. Very easy to use. Learning curve is small, yet has all the advanced features incase someone wants to dive in into non auto fully programmable photography. The lens is a starter lens that would get you by... however it is plenty fast when doing its auto focusing. You may want to purhase a longer lens with more zoom, but the nice thing is you can always do it later. I purhcased this camera for the teachers at my school, so far no complaints or fustrations. February 7, 2011
Awesome Camera I am new to photography and bought this camera last year. It is very easy to use and understand. I wasnt familliar with all the terminology but this camera is super easy. I love the editing features it offers within the camera! LOVE LOVE LOVE February 7, 2011
Love This is my first digital SLR camera and I'm literally in love with it. For a beginner and hobbyist it has been very easy to pick up and take beautiful pictures with. As I learn the more intricate workings I'm sure I'll just love it more, and I hope to make this the first step, and camera, in a lifetime of photography. February 2, 2011
Good I got this camera for my birthday and was very happy with it. Easy to use. Takes great pictures. A great beginner camera the only negative is i wish it could take video, other than that it's very good. February 1, 2011
I like the simplicity of the D3000 I really believe this to be the best camera for a beginner in the DSLR camera's. I did find it easy to use, very nice assistant screens built right into the camera. I would recommend this to any one who is not familier with DSLR camera's. I am now looking to upgrade. I have had this for a year and half and plan on keeping it as my secondary camera while I am out shooting. That way I do not have to change lenses while out in the field. Thanks for a great product. January 27, 2011
This camera is amazing I absolutely love this camera! I am on the yearbook committee for my high school and this camera is great for candid shots because of it fast shutter speed. Although the flash sensor is very sensitive, it is still wonderful! January 26, 2011
Fantastic Camera... Absolutely adore this camera! Wonderful! Great picture quality, makes the colors POP! I use this almost everyday! Only complaint is that if you are interested in Macro Photography, you will have to purchase a separate lens, as the one that comes with it, is...basically awful at Macro. I was a little disappointed by that, but that is my only complaint! I love it! The battery life is long, and the Image Sensor Cleaner is fantastic! Wonderful! I would recommend also buying a tripod for this camera and definitely a Macro Lens if you are interested! (The picture to the right looks like it is awful quality, but it really isn't! It got more pixelated after uploading it) January 24, 2011
Defective Strap Very good camera other then my strap came un done and the batter cap broke in two. Nikon is going to take of it but i would recommend securing the straps so the do not come un done. I had been using the strap for months and was properly done up. January 22, 2011
Impressive!!! I got this as a gift from my wife, I had always wanted a starter DSLR to take to football game to get some good quality shots. The colors the camera picks up are incredible vivid and sharp. But most of all is it's ease of use, for someone not familiar to shooting an SLR I was able to jump right in without any problems. This camera has everthing you need to get on the ground running. The pictures I'm sharing are taken with the nikon 55-200mm f/5.6-6.3 lens that came with the camera in the lens set on a overcast winter day under stadium lights. (The smudge marks are deliberate to not show copyrighted logos.) January 19, 2011
Great camera! I'm shooting a lot of indoor basketball pictures right now and the fast auto-focus, along with the Nikon 50mm fixed lens, is taking great photos in a relatively dark environment. January 16, 2011
Amazing product. My first Digital SLR camera; and so glad it was. I got it as a gift, asking for it for the Holidays-- it was the only thing I'd asked for. My dad knew how much I wanted a "big, bulky, professional camera". And boy, I got exactly what I wanted. Instead of getting a ton of lame gifts, I sacrificed it all to spend a nice amount of dough on my new Nikon. Coming with a nice starter lens that makes it easy to take close ups, and is very uh, "starter" friendly. I'm not very good at understanding what all the buttons mean, but it's made as such a simple yet complex camera all at once. Takes marvelous photos; getting the "professional" look I'd wanted for a long time. I got myself a tripod and also another lens that make zooming into far away scenes much easier. This is by far the best camera I've ever had, and I won't be upgrading it for a very long time. No more small, cheap, digital cameras. This is the best present I've ever gotten. January 12, 2011
Wonderful Camera Great for a starter camera... I would recommend this camera if your new to DSLRs January 11, 2011
Glad to have another Wow, I had a Nikon in High school till my Dad took it back LOL, And Now my 2 daughters have them and today I recieved my D3000. I love it. I have been tinkering with it since last night. Can't wait for better weather to get out and about and start taking quality pictures. Thanks for yet another wonderful product January 4, 2011
A great beginner's DSLR After being out of film photography for decades, I finally took the plunge and got into digital photography with the D3000 kit, and 70-200mm DX add-on zoom lens, and was quite happy with them. With my new 28-300mm FX zoom lens (42-450mm on a DX body like the D3000), I'm more than thrilled with the shots I'm now able to take. . Controls on the D3000 are easy to reach and use. Menu organisation is logical, with options easy to find, albeit lacking descriptions/examples in the supplied manuals. Battery life is excellent, with probably 1200-1500 shots or more (no flash) on a single charge over 2-3 weeks. . As an aside, it would be really *really* nice if the manual would be substantially more fleshed out, and explain all the features and how to use them, especially if the D3000 is marketed as an entry-level DSLR. Even with my experience with film SLRs, I was quite lost with what this feature or that was supposed to do, what this button was for, etc. "3D tracking"? "Autofocus assist"? None of that was explained at all. . The supplied 18-55mm kit lens and 70-200 add-on lenses are phenomenal, the quality you'd expect from Nikon. I was amazed with details I was able to catch, even handheld, such as the pupil and iris of a heron's eye, clear across a pond at full 200mm zoom. . There are some drawbacks, however, which I need to be honest about. The D3000's sensor is not well-suited to low-light conditions, however, and I rarely (read, never) shoot above ISO-400, as at 800 and higher, too much noise and becomes apparent. Also, autofocus has less to grab on to in low-light conditions such as low-in-the-sky sun and "golden hour", when I do most of my waterfowl shooting. . If you don't shoot moving subjects such as birds in low-light conditions, this probably won't be an issue, but to me it was and is, which is why I got the 28-300mm lens to help collect more light, and am looking at a camera body (FX preferably) with a more sensitive / less-noisy sensor. . Chronic autoexposure is an issue as well, where it has a tendency to overexpose if not completely blow out brightly-lit areas, such as white petals on a flower, turning green grass yellow, or even blowing out a blue sky to solid white. I generally keep my D3000 comped down -1.0 to -1.3EV, and it now takes beautiful photographs. Everyone I know to whom I mentioned this little "trick" now does so as well. . One last complaint is write-speeds. I tend to stick with continuous shooting (3fps bursts) which is excellent for the first few shots, but then writing the images to memory bogs down everything as the internal buffer fills, slowing each subsequent shot to barely 1fps. I went from a class-2 8gig memory card to a class-4 card with no change, then to a class-10 card and still no increase in write-speed. All 8gig SDHC cards, SanDisk class-2 and -4, and PNY class-10, so apparently the camera itself is the bottleneck, I'm sorry to say. . I gave up on auto-mode and even preprogrammed modes (landscape, sports, etc.) after my very first shoot. For a true beginner, full-auto might be nice, to be able to treat the camera as a point'n'shoot, but if you want to make the most of the D3000 or *any* DSLR, stick with aperture-priority, or for finer control even full-manual. The results will be so much more rewarding. . The sensor may be the D3000's weakest link when trying to take those tough shots (eg, moving subjects in low-light conditions), but in brighter light, and with Nikon's truly world-class lenses, you can capture some amazing images. I doubt most people interested in the D3000 will be trying to capture a heron in-flight near sundown, and will more likely be shooting birthday parties, picnics, and little-league games, which won't stress the camera at all, even in full-auto mode, and for that, the D3000 will excel and deliver great photos. January 4, 2011
Excellent product Have not had it long, yet so easy to use it feels like forever January 3, 2011
Great Beginner Camera This was my first Digital SLR and it has been awesome. I use it for almost everything, but I'm definitely upgrading my lens to a higher zoom, probably the AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED. The Camera is great and very easy to use, it even has a button explaining all the features. I would recommend it as a great starter camera. January 2, 2011
D3000 This camera is AWESOME. I love how easy it is to use right out of the box. I just love everything about this camera. This is one of the shots I took ( the camera setting for this is appiture priority). I have had so many people want to make prints of this. The camera does most of the work, the hard part is to see something that just jumps out at you and says " Wow". January 2, 2011
Great pics but lacks features I like the picture quality but I am very disappointed with the lack of the live view function. January 2, 2011
Page: 4 5 6 7 8 9
<<prev | next>>
126 Questions | 215 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
126 Questions | 215 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Sort by:
D3000
 
6 Answers

how to avoid blur in night modes?

May 27, 2011 by
by
FerozM
 on D3000
+1point
4out of 7found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful3
when i capture a photo in night its gets blured...
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
FerozM
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have been searching for an answer to this. First you need a brighter flash, a lens that will let in more light. The D3000 is not a very good camera for shooting anything fast as in derby or rodeo. I have had mine for 5 years and nothing but problems. It still comes out blurry or alot of grain/noise. It just does not have the capabilities.I bought the 55-200 & 55-300. Without the tripod it wont be as good. But you cant shoot something fast on a tripod. I use 3 lights at roller derby. I plan on upgrading my camera to the d5000 or 7000. I have other photographers who had to do the same. I cant wait till I save up to get a better one.
Jul 6, 2014 by
by
TBaker
Missouri
Location : 
Missouri
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Tripod works well for me. Also, I have a 35mm lens that works better in lo light than zooms. You can rest the camera on a car roof or someplace else if no tripod.
Dec 19, 2011 by
by
PAJ880
MA
Location : 
MA
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Travel
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
A tripod is the best answer, or even a monopod.
What I do though is find one of those green Utility boxes and set the camera on top of that.
Dec 7, 2011 by
by
WatsonN
Arlington, TN
Location : 
Arlington, TN
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
i dont know but i would suggest using manual mode to get the picture that you want and on the d 3000 or any camera the settings are easy to use and learn
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
rwoods
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
...or use a flash. :)
May 29, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Start by using a tripod as with most night shots the shutter speed is too slow for hand held pictures.
May 27, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+10points
13out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful13unhelpful3
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
5 Answers

Answers

+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
Answer: 
How funny, That's the reason I decided to take digital photo instead of film. And it's a wonderful camera. You'll see that you have the sharpest, best photos in the class because most other students have cheaper regular digital cameras.
Dec 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
yes i am a junior in high school and i love this camera it is a great all around camera and is very easy to use even in manual mode. i would recommend it to anybody
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
rwoods
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
In my opinion, this is a great camera for a beginner or experienced photographer. I have been using the D3000 for over a year and I really like it.
May 30, 2011 by
by
king
Fresno, Ca
Location : 
Fresno, Ca
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
This is a great starter DLSR and would be perfect for a photography class in high school.
May 23, 2011 by
by
RyaninPTown
Palestine, TX
Location : 
Palestine, TX
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful4
Answer: 
i'd rather recommend a d3100. similar price (albeit a bit higher), much more modern and will serve the kid for a longer run than a d3000. but if price is the sensitive point, try to get hold of a used d40 with a comfortably low number of exposures (~10000).
May 18, 2011 by
by
AndrsK
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3000
 
5 Answers

Is there an adapter to install filters?

Jun 13, 2011 by
by
April
Jackson, MO
 on D3000
Has staff answer
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful1
I have a bunch of 58mm filters from my old camera and my new Nikon D3000 is a 55mm so I bought an adapter and it will not screw onto the lense. Does this camera not allow for filters or is there a special adapter that I need?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
April
Jackson, MO
Location : 
Jackson, MO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
5 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
also, be mindful that there is also a thread width, which is standard in most cases, but it might be you got an "exotic" adapter. well, if it's the kit lens, it's not 55mm but it has a filter diameter of 52mm (55mm is the *focal length* far end of the zoom lens, which is entirely different). so, what you have to buy is a 52mm->58mm step-up filter adapter ring.
Jun 14, 2011 by
by
AndrsK

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Most odd, could it be that the adaptor has something wrong with it ??. Just to make doubly sure look on the back of the lens cap and there will be a number on it, just check to see what that number is, make sure that it is 55mm that you need. What lens is it exactly ??
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The lense on my camera is a 55mm and I bought an adapter ring and none of the adapter rings that I have purchased will screw onto the lense. I didn't know if there was a special one that I needed. I had a Canon before this and the adapter ring just always screwed right to the end of the lense.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
April
Jackson, MO
Location : 
Jackson, MO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Which lens are you trying to fit them to as most lenses are, filter size, 52mm 58mm and above. What ever the size is, once you know for sure, you will need a step up or step down filter adaptor of the correct size.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
KeithD

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
In order to attach a filter it will have to be in regards of the lens not the camera. Some lenses take a 55mm, 52 or 72 filters. Depending on the size of the lens.
Jun 13, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
5 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3000
 
4 Answers

what type of memory card does this camera use?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3000
Has staff answer
+20points
22out of 24found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful22unhelpful2
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
4 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
SD/SDHC
Jul 13, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful1
Answer: 
SD or SDHC
Apr 9, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Approved SD cards for D3000
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
SD/SDHC
Apr 2, 2011 by
by
JonathanB
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D3000
 
3 Answers

How do you switch from taking a picture form the eyepeice to the screen?

Apr 6, 2011 by
by
Nellie
USA
 on D3000
+4points
10out of 16found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful6
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Nellie
USA
Location : 
USA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful5unhelpful0
Answer: 
That's called "Live View" and the D3000 does not support it - sorry.
May 30, 2011 by
by
King
Fresno, Ca
Location : 
Fresno, Ca
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Viewfinder required for this model.
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
JonathanB

+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera doesn't have a live view. You will need to use the viewfinder.
Apr 6, 2011 by
by
IvetteC
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3000
 
3 Answers

Are megapixels imprtant? What are they for, it says it has only 10.

Apr 8, 2011 by
by
Sarah
 on D3000
+4points
6out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful6unhelpful2
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Sarah
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Answer: 
To put it simply, consider a pixel as a "dot". So the more pixels, the more "dots" there are to make up a photograph. However, you also must consider viewing distance. As an example, you would not want to view a billboard from one foot away. The best viewing distance for a billboard is from 20-30 feet or more. For most photographers a 6MP camera is more than enough. The D3000 is a great camera for a beginner or advanced photographer. At 10MP, this camera will take excellent photographs. The attached photos where taken in RAW (Nikons Native format) with a D3000 and converted to low resolution jpg for uploading (Nikon has a file size limit). Original images are 10MB each, converted jpg's are 1.5MB.
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
May 30, 2011 by
by
King
Fresno, Ca
Location : 
Fresno, Ca
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
They are to a point. General rule the more megapixels the cleaner or more defined the image. DSLR's by nature are capable of taking a great picture (RAW) even if the megapixel count is lower. MY daughter has an 18 megapixel point and shoot and my D3000 takes much clearer and cleaner images.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Aedilwyn
Victorville
Location : 
Victorville
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful2
Answer: 
The megapexals is around 1,000,000,000 pixel dots per a space you can put on a head of a sewing needle. That just means a very high quality image per each picture taken with the right settings!!!!
Apr 13, 2011 by
by
Darkmjh1
Kingsport, Tennessee
Location : 
Kingsport, Tennessee
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3000
 
3 Answers

what are the lenses that are compatable with this? like can i shoot pro photos with this like sports? with upgrade lense?

Apr 16, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3000
Has staff answer
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The Camera will support many lenses, however it depends on what you are expecting. I use many of the old lenses from the dark ages but none of the features work such as AF, metering, etc... I have to use the D3000 in Manual mode, which is my preferred mode any way. As for taking "pro shoots", yes this camera is capable.
May 30, 2011 by
by
King
Fresno, Ca
Location : 
Fresno, Ca
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You sure can You have a Pro camera in your hands. Use any lens that nikon offeres!!

Recommended settings for sports

you will Need Capture NX2

Shoot Compressed RAW

any zoom lens with 2.8 example Nikkor 80-200 2.8

Shutter speed of 1/200sec or higher

Enjoy your pro photos.

Photo was taken with D200 aka D3000 with Nikkor 80-200 2.8 lense

Iso 1000 f2.8 shutter 1/150sec

Compressed RAW

Processed with Capture NX2

Camera Settings

Color mode I

Sharpen high

Saturation Moderate <--- (added saturation in NX2)
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Shutter guy
NYC
Location : 
NYC
Age: 25-34
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
Apr 18, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3000
 
3 Answers

can i manually focus with this camera?

Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3000
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful1
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
Anonymous
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It's not the camera that will allow manual focus on the D3000, it's the lens. If you have an older non-AF (auto focus) lens you can set the D3000 into M mode and you can control everything. If you have a newer AF lens, as long as the lens has a manual mode you will be able to manual focus it. Look on the side of the lens to be sure it has a switch to switch from Auto to Manual. The 18-55AF lens which usually comes with the D3000 has a A and M mode.
May 30, 2011 by
by
King
Fresno, Ca
Location : 
Fresno, Ca
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You manually focus with the "lens" by turning off the AF Motor on the lens, in the "A-M" switch, set it to "M".
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
ManuelC

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Autofocus is possible on this camera only with AF-S lenses (The "S" means it has a built in motor to drive the autofocus).
Apr 17, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D3000
 
3 Answers

What is a great, affordable lens for portraits and weddings?

Apr 19, 2011 by
by
JacobC
 on D3000
Has staff answer
+9points
10out of 11found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful10unhelpful1
I'm looking for something under $500.
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
JacobC
3 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
35 mm is of fixed focal length, sometime you will look helplessly while shooting those events, or you have to move in and out . 18-105 is best for portrait and wedding photography, while there will be some limitations than 35 mm in low light.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
SaikatC

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
35mm is pretty great - cant believe how cheap it is either
Apr 20, 2011 by
by
DarrenM

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our website and use the lens finder tool in order for you to make your selection base on your needs.
http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Produ...
 
Products related to my answer
 
Apr 19, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
D3000
 
3 Answers

what do you do when camera says memory full

Jun 12, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D3000
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Sports
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Occasional user, memory keeper
3 Answers

Answers

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
your memory card has been filled and you need to download the pictures or get another memory card. i suggest an 8 gb memory card
Jul 11, 2011 by
by
rwoods
Age: Under 18
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
you can either delete some of the photos you dont want to keep or buy a new memory card, and use that instead
Jul 4, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Time to get a new card, begin editing your shots down, or start storing them someplace else, like your hard-drive or a flash-drive. Maybe all three.
Jun 12, 2011 by
by
JavamanEffstop
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>
Page: 2 3 4 5
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers