Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
Two Amazing Features Make this a Winner! Two features distinguish this camera, for me. The FX combined with the ability to shoot 3200 or 6400 ASA speeds mean I can shoot most any indoor or evening shot WITHOUT flash. This puts the camera in stealth mode, except for the shutter noise. Add a 2.8 zoom telephoto and the shots at a wedding, cocktail party, or low-light sports event (ice hockey) are amazing. The other feature is the custom White Balance. Take a white balance setting from a piece of white cloth or paper and the resulting shots are more life-like and natural than any flash could create. Thanks, Nikon! March 14, 2012
Fantastic Camera` Simply fantastic camera. The ONLY thing that would be nice would be around 16mp. The vast majority of time 12mp is fine but every once in a while. Oh yeah, having a 2 or 3 stop bracketing option would be great. March 14, 2012
Nikon's Sweet Spot I cannot find fault with this camera. Amazing ISO performance. Easy to handle. Logical. Great menu system. Built in flash yet a pro camera in every sense of the word. March 14, 2012
D700 My best purchase from Nikon in the past 42 years. I haved been purchasing Nikon camera equipment for quite sometime; begining with the Nikon F, for the last 42 years.. I still have my 24mm, 50mm, 85mm and 300mm manual focus lenes that still function like the day they were purchased. I have had a number of Nikon cameras since, with the last one being the D700. My interests are Landscape and Wildlife photography. The things that I can do with th\s camera were feats that I could never have done with a film camera or previous D-SLRS. I have two important technical functions that I have the camea proform for me, which lets we just think about the composition without the hassel of worrying about shutter speed, ISO and Aperture. The first feature that I enjoy imensely, about the D700, is the use of the Acitve D function. I enjoy the fact that I can capture more detail in the hightlights and showdow areas of my iamages. I do not want any lose of detail in the shadows, nor do I want to lose detail in my hightlihgts; I want it all. The second feature that affords me a lot of freedom without the hassel of the technical side of photography is by letting the camera do my thinking. Sounds silly but this is what I do. I use arpeture priority all the time, and I set my normal ISO to 200. Then depending what I want to photorgraph , I set a minimum shutter speed and a maximun ISO speed. This will very day to day depending on what I am shooting. If I am out looking for Bald Eagles on the Connecticut River (close to home) , I might set my minimum shutter speed at 1/500 and my ISO at 3200 and pick a larger f-stop to limit depth of field. Then I just keep shooting and don't worry about anything else. I let the camera do the driving, so to speak. . I do the same if I am photographing landscapes. I always want the forground and background to be in focus so I will chose a samll arpeture, and a shutter speed depending on whether of not I am using a tripod or not. I set a max ISO that will not give me a low noise floor in the sky area. Then I just keep shooting and let the caamera make the choices of best shutter speed and ISO settings. I have been very satisfied with my results. I am not a professional, but a very serious hobbyiest. March 14, 2012
OUTDATED PRODUCT BY TODAY'S STANDARDS, THE D700 IS OUTDATED, WITH IT'S VERY LIMITED RESOLUTION. WITH THE ADDED GRIP AND EN-EL4A BATTERIES, IT PERFORMED ADEQUATE FPS. METERING WAS SUBPAR AND REQUIRED CONSTANT TWEAKING TO GENERATE PROPER EXPOSURES. AFTER ONE GETS USED TO IT, OVERALL PERFORMANCE WAS VERY AVERAGE, AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS BODY AT ITS CURRENT PRICE AND NUMEROUS DATED DRAWBACKS! March 14, 2012
This Camera has it All The best part of this camera is the full frame sensor. This sensor allows me to take photos without noise and with perfect clarity, even in dim light. I can boost the ISO up to 800 without too much loss of quality. For very dim lighting I can boost the ISO to 6400 and still get a decent photo. The net raw photos at 14 bit have a great deal of information and are a delight to work with. The second sterling quality of the D700 is the controls. They are easy to use and allow me all kinds of manual and automatic control of the photo. Compared to past cameras I have owned the Nikon D 700 with 4 frames a second is a speed demon. Everything about this camera is quality and precision. I thought that I would never order another camera but I have preordered the D 800. The D 700 takes truly beautiful photos. I hope that the D 800 affords me the same photographic experience as the D 700. March 14, 2012
MY favorite DSLR I own three Nikon D700 camera bodies, each with a permanently mounted Nikkor lens. This model has the best ergonomics and fast operation; image quality has very low noise levels, great shadow detail. March 14, 2012
program and A Mode with flash camera is all over the place I am very dissapointed with this camera and I purchased two of them. March 14, 2012
All The Camera You'll Ever Need Well, ok. It's not the D3 or D4 series. It's not supposed to be. I use it as a backup to my D3 when shooting weddings and events where I have to be nimble on my feet. The images I get from this camera body are as good as from my D3 (I shoot RAW only). So if you were wondering whether to save up and get the D800, I say grab this while you can. March 14, 2012
One of Nikon's finest!!! I make my living with D700 bodies coupled with Nikkor lenses. I shoot for fortune 500 companies and deliver images that I would only trust to Nikon equipment. The D700 is an awesome tool that is as capable in the studio as it is in the field. The controls are easy to navigate and very intuitive. I can easily engage auto bracketing and capture unmatched HDR photography. The colors it produces are fantastic and the realiabiltiy is impressive. If you are a serious photographer and like the versatility of a compact body get this camera! March 14, 2012
Great Camera I love this camera. It was so nice to get back to a full frame. I learned on a 35mm and was thrilled to have not only the feel but also the images I was used to. March 14, 2012
Incredible device Once you get this camera set up the way you want it, you will be amazed at how easy it is to use. I have all over the US and traveled to several foreign countries using this camera under all kinds of conditions. Uniformly I get wonderful pictures that often don't require much editing in my computer. March 14, 2012
Great Low Light Camera The main reason I purchased this camera was for the FX sensor at "only" 12.1 megapixels. The pixels are larger than just about every other DSLR out there except the D3's with the same sensor. It has fabulous low light with low noise capability. Using ISO1600 is routine. I don't worry about having to dial to ISO3200 and have gotten exceptional results, all things considered, at ISO6400. My first DSLR was a D80. In my opinion, the noise of the D700 at ISO6400 is far lower than the D80 at ISO800. The D700 seems to be the best compromise of ruggedness, performance, and affordablity compared to the D3 and D4 series cameras. I am not a professional, but rather an advanced amateur who sells a photo or two along the way. The D700 fits exactly with my use habits (10,000 - 15,000 exposures per year) and while a bit of a stretch on the camera budget, gave me everything I need at a good price. I didn't want video on this camera, so it doesn't bother me that I can't shoot video. I make a living as a television engineer and shoot still photos for my hobby. Every time I pick up this camera, I have a greater appreciation for how great a picture taking machine this is! March 14, 2012
Outstanding Camera I can't say anything bad about this camera. What a difference a full frame sensor makes. This is my first one and the colors are beautiful, the images are sharp, it is built like a tank. A true professional camera. Pair it with a 24-70mm f/2.8 Nikon lens and you will be amazed at what you can do. March 14, 2012
Awesome Full Frame DSLR My first and only DSLR (Full Frame or Crop). This is an awesome camera with fast response, good high ISO performance, enough pixel resolution which doesn't suck up all of the memory card when shooting raw. I have been using it for the past 2.5 years and it has served me well. Highly recommended. March 14, 2012
Incredible Camera - Still after 3yrs of use! I've owned and used the D700 for almost four years now and I still get excited every time I pick it up to photograph my subjects. It has an incredible build qualities and pro features. When used with Nikon's prime Glass; this combination is very hard to beat. The D700 image quality is unsurpassed by equally rated cameras; it's a true Pro-Consumer camera with more "still imagery" Pro features than any in it's class. I would highly recommend owning one regardless of the newly released D800. Buy both, for speed and agility, the D700 is still "king" and for resolution and huge prints and video you can't go wrong with the D800 (got mine on order but also keeping the D700) March 14, 2012
Great Working Photographer Camera This is a great camera at about half the price of a D3s or D4. Great sensor, same as D3 and with MB-D10 it's 8 frames per second. Only one shy of D3 on FX. Built in flash is a great asset for quick shots or triggering slaves. I have the D700 and D3s and use them daily. I'd recommend it for anyone to use use to about 25000 iso. The images are quite saturated and if you don't nee the battery pack it's a small form factor. If it's good enough for Steve McCurry.. Look him up, I understand the D700 is what he is using these days. March 14, 2012
My go to rig! This bad boy has served me so well over the past couple of years. I have progressed through the nikon dslr range and always pined for something better but once I received my D700 I knew that I had come to a camera I would shoot into the ground. I treat the camera with respect but am hard on my gear for sure and this camera has always taken it well. I shoot everyday professionally and casually and can't imagine life with out this camera. March 14, 2012
Wonderful camera! No matter what I tried, this camera never failed me. It fits my hand, i.e. all the controls are easily accessible. The menu structure is very intuitive. The built-in flash opens the door to using the creative lighting system, which is the best flash system I have ever used. Picture quality is great. March 14, 2012
Longer term performance means everything We purchased a D700 for our company three years ago. We use it with a collection of lenses from our original F4 based system and with some newer AF-S Nikkor lenses; fixed focal length macro, several zoom telephoto lenses. Primarily the set up is used with synchronized studio strobes, manual exposure setting, utilizing the camera's auto focus system. We take approximately fifty to sixty shots per day, every day. The camera is easy to master and it has plenty of finesse adjustments for a much more refined product. We use the images for our digital publication and for work we do for print publications. We went from passable photography to being known for the quality of our photography. The camera was sent in one time for cleaning. Other than that, the camera has operated without a hitch, consistently and reliably. March 14, 2012
Best all around camera I have ever owned. Best low light capability. This is a fabulous camera. I have owned many Nikon cameras from the early Nikon S rangefinder to the latest DSLRs. I use it in the field as well as in the studio on a weekly basis. The only thing that I miss is a real live view with exposure capability. I would also like it to be lighter. Hopefully the D800 will fill this need. March 14, 2012
As perfect as I have ever had! I have two of these and they are the best Nikons I ever owned - although i still love my old film F4- and can't imagine not using these daily. I have two older D1X models (one is I.R. converted), a D2X that is used only occasionally, and a D300s that travels in the trunk of my car for spontaneous picture opportunities.\; but my D700 are my bread-and-butter money makers for portrait work. I keep one optimized for my indoor studio work, and one for location work. The 12 megapixel sensor hasn't limited me whatsoever. The only improvements I might see are possibly getting a 100% viewfinder. More megapixels would be okay but I don't see the need in huge increases there. Greater low-light capabilities might be useful sometimes, but all-in-all I consider this to be a near-perfect camera. I've been a Nikon shooter since 1974 and have had just about every professional body they've made. This is the best over all that I've owned!! March 14, 2012
Example: Great features in a small package! the most outstanding camera we have ever used .. it can take heat and cold and keep on going .. its durable and reliable ... March 14, 2012
The most best camera in the best form factor period. All the image quality of the D3 in a smaller, lighter size. The D700 is the best digital SLR available for everyday shooting. It is not the best sports camera, not the best available darkness camera (although still the D700 offers amazing low light image quality) and it is not a video camera. It is a camera that meets the needs of many with sufficient image quality to be a primary camera for years to come and likely won't ever be obsolete. March 14, 2012
Take the Journey . . . Yes , I'm delighted that I choose the Nikon D700 for my shooting adventures. I have been on a great ride with this camera for quiet some time shooting portraits , group shots , landscapes , flowers , etc. It has rendered me some great lifetime memories with great color , sharpness , etc. I highly recommend this product. March 14, 2012
Great design and reasonable price Super camera for events and weddings. However, the D700 is only great when match with quality lenses and a good photographer. Ir responds well under any difficult circumstances. March 14, 2012
balanced opinion quite satisfied but it is log from wygwys you have to think that you get more n your photo than what you see in the visor the gummi cover for the usb plugs and others does not fit after one or two years the rounded button at the right of the screen is not accurate when you push it to get the next image on the screen you get the RGB diiagram ! March 14, 2012
This Camera Sees in the Dark My D700 has changed my photography habits. Flash is almost never necessary, giving indoor photography a wonderful new natural look. Just crank us the ISO to get a shutter speed you can handle and you're set. As usual with Nikon, colors are natural and strong. Plus it handles so well. March 14, 2012
Incredible Camera The Nikon D700 is one of the best cameras I have ever used. It is incredible. It's low light capability has helped me achieve photographs that where impossible before I got the D700. I also love all the features the camera has. You can really tell that the engineering that went into this camera is second to none. If you plan on using long heavy lenses such as the Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 get the additional grip. It helps balance the D700. I highly highly absolutely recommend this camera to everyone. March 14, 2012
My D700 loves the Antarctic I recently returned from Antarctica and used my D700 for shooting mainly nature shots. I bracketed my shots and a little additional Photoshop work, as necessary. Fortunately, the days were bright and my stuff really has some bounce. I use my camera for vacation shots only. I find it is easy to use and and was a natural progression from earlier Nikon DSLR cameras. I travel with confidence that my material would be what I observed on the trip. The "full frame" pick-up device makes my prints of very good quality. March 14, 2012
Page: 7 8 9 10 11 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
54 Questions | 94 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
54 Questions | 94 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 4 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 9 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers