Loading

Nikon's original 12.1-megapixel FX-format (23.9 x 36mm) CMOS sensor: Teamed with Nikon's exclusive EXPEED digital image processing, the D700 delivers breathtakingly rich image quality.

Continuous shooting up to 5 frames per second: Shoot at up to 8 frames per second with the optional MB-D10 Multi-power Battery Pack.

Two Live View shooting modes: Choose from hand-held or tripod modes to suit shooting requirements.

Fast, accurate 51-point AF with 3D Focus Tracking: Exacting autofocus precision, plus three Dynamic AF modes.

1,005-Pixel 3D Color Matrix Metering II: Legendary Nikon exposure accuracy aided by an onboard database of over 30,000 images.

Nikon Picture Control settings: Advanced color control with 9 customizable settings and 4 preset options allow fine tuning of image appearance preferences.

Broad ISO sensitivity up to 6400 and incredibly low noise: Super low-noise performance from 200-6400 ISO, with the added versatility of Lo-1 (100 ISO) Hi-1 (12,800 ISO) and Hi-2 (25,600 ISO).

Three-Inch, super-density 921,000-dot VGA color monitor: High resolution with
170-degree wide-angle viewing, calibrated color and tempered-glass protection assure confident image review.

Rugged magnesium-alloy construction: Along with extensive dust and moisture protection and a durable shutter mechanism tested to 150,000 cycles, the D700 merges pro D-SLR performance with expanded agility.

Dynamic Integrated Dust Reduction System: Effective quad-frequency, ultrasonic sensor cleaning minimizes image degrading dust particles.

Nikon's exclusive Scene Recognition System: SRS further extends auto-exposure intelligence while also advancing white-balance detection and autofocus performance.

Active D-Lighting with NEW Auto mode: Unique three-phase dynamic control to capture previously lost details in shadows and highlights while maintaining normalized contrast.

Speedlights/Flashes
Speedlights/Flashes
Stereo Microphone
Stereo Microphone
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
Eyepieces and Viewfinders
NIKKOR Lenses
NIKKOR Lenses
Optimized for FX Format but compatible with extensive range of NIKKOR lenses.
D700 4.8 5 1884 1887
A GREAT CAMERA The Nikon D700 is all I could ask for in a full frame digital camera. It performs very well in minimum lighting conditions without flash. By using a 1.4 teleconverter it is almost equal to my D300 plus performs better in low lighting. I don't see how I could ask for any more in a camera. It has certainly exceeded my requirements in all aspects. My first SLR camera was a D! I purchased as a service member while serving in Vietnam. I went through the F series to the F5 which I traded in when I went digital in late 2004 when I purchased the D2X. I later purhased the D300 and then the D700, both of which i still use today. I use the D700 most of the time whike using the D300 when I use a long telephoto lens. I have used both cameras in pretty adverse weather and they have taken a licking but kept on ticking. I am not sure ahat my next camera(s) will be but it will definitely be Nikon. March 14, 2012
Excellent Pro-Grade camers for ANYONE, even beginners! The D700 is a marvelous professional grade camera, and from the past couple of years of harsh use in all kinds of weather, I would say nearly indestructable- at least I have not managd to damage it yet... and sometimed it seems like I try real hard! Excellent low light capability allows me to take great detailed photographs in very low light conditions, such as the midnight to 4:00 a.m. range, often hendheld when carrying a tripod is impossible and a monopod is difficult to maneuver with. A high capture rate allows me to grab consecutive shots that would not be possible with many other cameras. Easy to use with older manual focus lenses, such as my 16mm Fisheye, a 35mm/1.4, and a 28mm shift lens, make it a most versatile camera. She has never let me down, and I have well over 10,000 captures on her. I cannot tell you how pleased I have been with my D700, and my backup D300, too! I will admit that I DO miss film! March 14, 2012
Great camera Best camera I've ever owned. Easy to used and great results. March 14, 2012
Wonderful Camera! We have had this camera for years and love it. The D700 has the same sensor and ISO performance as our Nikon D3. The focusing isn't quite as fast as the D3 but it is still very good. We highly recommend this camera after using it for weddings and family portraits for almost 4 years. March 14, 2012
Excellent Camera Excellent Camera, sharp picture, i have this camera for almost 2 years, and i still taking grat pictures, with it. I recomend it a lot. March 14, 2012
Love the FX format! Been a photog since the '70's and I've had the D700 since it first came out. My favorite feature is that it works with all of my classic lenses (from the '70s and 80's) giving me the full frame image I am used to from my old 35mm bodies. A close second is the high ISO capability. The quality in low light and high ISO is astounding. I am so happy that Nikon ignored the megapixel race and kept this camera to 12.1. It is the reason the image quality is so high. I routinely enlarge my raw image files to 30x40 inches with no loss of quality. If you want full FX capability on a budget, then this is the camera for you. March 14, 2012
Another great Nikon I have owned Nikons since the 70's and this is by far and a way the very best. Shooting nearly everything but studio, this is an extremely reliable and predictable camera. The quality of the images are great. The D700 like the F-1 is tough. This camera was dropped 4' to the concrete floor breaking the lens but the camera came out unscathed. I had the camera checked, finding no damage. I wish I could say the same for the lens. I carry this camera everywhere I go, it is always within reach on a pillow between the seats. March 14, 2012
Top of the line equipment! Everytime I upgrade from one camera body to the next in the Nikon community I am amazed at how I like the newer body better than the older one. I was delighted with the D300 and wondered what I would move to from that body. Since much of my business is involved in scenic images I elected to purchase the D700. I have been overjoyed with the quality of the images. I will find it difficult to believe the D800 will surpass the photos I get with the D700. Time will tell and with the recent track record Nikon has it will certainly surpass the camera I am so taken with, the D700. March 14, 2012
Affordable Low-light Performance The D700 allows me to shoot in conditions that I would have bypassed prior to owning this camera. The ability to capture fully usable images at ISO 6400 has opened up possibilities that were impractical before. Shooting a handheld long lens in marginal light almost guaranteed unacceptable blur, but now I can crank up the ISO and shoot at 1/500 or faster. If I need depth of field, I can close down the aperture and still shoot tripod-free. And my night sky shots are just incredible, noise-free and shot fast enough to avoid star streaks. Combined with the f/2.8 pro Nikkor glass, the D700 gets exposures that rival the quality of most pro-level rigs that cost twice as much. But most importantly, this camera allows you to add remarkable compositions to your portfolio that were simply impossible to expose prior to the full-frame (FX) sensor at the core of this groundbreaking camera. March 14, 2012
Meets It's Mark The Nikon D700 is a great camera for any hi end enthusiast or a great second camera for pros. It has all the pro features, but could do better with low light. I think the D800 will answer that necessity. Also flash card cover should be opened similar with the D300 or the D3 where it activated by a lever or button. (minor) I used this camera extremely hard for two years taking almost 100,000 images per year and it held up great! I can only imagine how great the D800 is!! March 14, 2012
The Best of the Best I thought that my old Nikon F100 (film) body embodied the very best of all worlds - near-professional build quality, less weight than the bigger F4 or F5, an autofocus system as accurate as the big pro bodies, and all the features and great metering a traveling amateur photographer could wish for. I never thought I'd see such an ideal combination of pro features and consumer-friendly features in one camera body again. After several years of Nikon digital SLR bodies though, the company released the D700. I was in line for a pre-order the day after Nikon announced the thing. When it arrived, I never looked back because Nikon had done it again. Pro build quality, just enough weight to help stabilize my handheld shooting for sharp photos even without VR lenses, a superbly accurate autofocus system, compatibility with all my Nikkor AF lenses (and the few AI-S manual focus Nikkors I've still got), a dreamy sensor with an enormous dynamic range, and all the manual control I could wish for. Despite the release of the D3s, recently the D4 and even more recently the D800, my D700 will remain my primary camera for a long time to come. March 14, 2012
Nikon D700 I love this camera. Image quality and ease of use were one of my main reasons for purchasing. We are wedding photographers and in our line of work, we need a camera that is rugged and can perform in all types of situations. This camera has withstood the test of time and we look forward to keeping it for a few more years. We are now in the process of upgrading to the D800, but will keep this one as a backup. March 14, 2012
The best camera for the price. This is just an amazing camera. It it great in low light and I could not image using a camera that did not reach the same capabilities this one has. March 14, 2012
My tired D700 I've had this camera for 4 years now. My first Nikon was a 2200, then a F3, F5, D1x too many hand-helds to count. My D700 been through a lot, with an estimated 300,000 plus images captured. It has seen a myriad of shooting situations of all kinds, from low light, speed, modeling, sports, tragedies, births, and yes, even politicians. It has probably seen more lighting situations than most. Now if only it can tell all those stories too. It's been dropped, rained on, sweat on, spilled on, grabbed by other individuals, but never spit on, and some of the rubber seals are missing. I opted for the D700 over the D3 because of weight. When people ask me how I like my D700 I tell them "I love it, it does everything I tell it to do". I wish it had the speed of the D3, but this one is sufficient for my needs. I love that I can have full control over all the custom features, that it works well with my SB-800 flash, and that all my Nikor lenses are compatible. The reality is, I have overused this camera, beyond it's limits, and it still works, with some minor function flaws. It needs a serious nap, maybe some TLC, but that will have to wait till my new D800 comes in which is on order. I opted for the D800 instead of the D4, once again for the weight of the camera. I think where my D700 lacks, the D800 will make up for. Would I recommend this camera, you bet. March 14, 2012
D700 I have two D700. It's amazing camera. Very sharp images, high ISO, cool settings. March 14, 2012
Great camera I upgraded my D70 to D700 in 2008 and have been very happy with it since the day it arrives. Yes, my previous camera was a D70 which I love as well. However, it has its limitation especially when shooting indoors and night street photography. I love shooting a variety of photography. But recently, I love street documentary so it is to my benefit that this camera has the ability to shoot photos quickly and in any kind of lighting. I used to be quite skeptical about going to high ISO, worrying about the picture quality but then the more photos I took, I was pleasantly surprise and delighted that even go up to as high as 6400, the picture quality is quite good. I also love to put the 50mm 1.8D in front of my camera because of the light weight setting when I walk around Boston. I have uploaded a few of the photos I took to show how versatile this camera has been for me. March 14, 2012
D700 review from a Real Estate photographer Generally I am really happy with the D700. The only things I'd like to see improved is more dynamic range (Currently I HDR all my images for work), an even better sensor cleaning system or an element in front of the sensor that is easily removable, so it can be cleaned with greater ease (shooting at F11 and then HDRing the images shows every spec of dust). March 14, 2012
The last camera I'll ever want or need The D700 is the one camera that does everything that I want/need a DSLR to do. It deserves even more than 5 stars in my opinion. I'm no longer doing photogrraphy professionally but have been using Nikon cameras since 1979 and would never think of using anything else in this format. March 14, 2012
I love my New Body with my Old Pro Lenses I was an F5 user for a long time and when the D700 came on the market, I decided to jump and started shooting with my 20-35 2.8 as well as my 80-200 2.8 and my 60 micro 2.8. I have enjoyed these 3 lenses with the D700 until I went to my camera store and tried a new 16-35 4.0 as well as the 28-300. Needless to say they got me. The great thing about my D700 with the battery grip and one of these lens mounted is Balance and the Controls, it feels like my F5 all over again. All I do is enjoy the moments I capture. I see this camera with me for a long time. I love my D700. March 14, 2012
My wishes came true My first DSLR was the D100, and it was a faithful companion for several years, always giving me what I expected plus a little more. And when the D200 became available I waited awhile before taking advantage of it's new features, especially the improved sensor and larger view screen. Unfortunately, I waited just a little too long because only a few months after I purchased the D200, the D300 was introduced with even a better sensor; something I needed since I take many images in reduced lighting and/or use bounced flash. Upon the arrival of the D700, my wishes came true: having a camera capable of taking pictures in low light while maintaining very low noise. Fortunately I had purchased full frame lenses for the D100 and D200, so I was able to immediately enjoy not only the great sensor in the D700, but also enjoy all of the advantages of a full frame camera. Using an ISO of 1600 and having acceptable images was truly a wish coming true not to mention that they were as sharp as a tack. Yes, the D800 has arrived, however I am so satisfied with the D700, that it may be a long time before changing camera. March 14, 2012
Full Frame Sensor At A Reasonable Price The D700 was a gem to discover. I wanted a full frame sensor camera but could not part with the money needed to purchase one of the top of the line models. The camera certainly weighs more than the cropped image sensor models but the more durable construction and improved image quality from the larger sensor make the weight an easy thing to get used to. I was also impressed by the cameras image quality at any of the higher ISO settings. I have no qualms increasing the ISO when needed. My only wish is that the camera included the ability to lower the ISO to 100. The lowest ISO setting available is ISO 200. March 14, 2012
Excellent I think this is an excellent camera and have enjoyed using it for the past two years. I especially enjoy the low lighting capablity. I would highly recommend it to fellow photographers. March 14, 2012
Awesome Camera Great camera. Best one I ever had and will last me a lifetime to master and have fun with. Low light capabilities are just amazing. March 14, 2012
I love this camera, I think! I have been a photography nut since I was 20 years old. Forty-five years later - in February 2010 - I bought a Nikon D700 to replace my Pentax and Olympus film cameras. I also needed new lenses, and purchased an AF-S Nikkor 24-70 1:2.8G ED, an AF-S Nikkor 70-200 mm 1:2.8 G II ED, and the AF-S Nikkor 50mm 1:1.4 G lens. During the two years since my shopping spree, I have taken close to 5,000 shots with the D700 -- 2,000 of which were in South Africa in the Fall of 2011. I must admit that I did not believe the D700 - or any other digital camera - would produce quality results in the shadows and highlights, given the straight-line response of digital sensors versus the S-shaped response of film. But it was becoming more difficult to get film, transport it through security, get it processed, and scan it into Photoshop. So I took the D700 on a trip to Rocky Mountain National Park in June 2010, shooting along with the F6. I shoot a lot of panoramas and HDR photography, but I must say that what worked best at RMNP was telephoto shots of the local elk and moose. I would call the D700 and the F6 a "tie" on that trip (with the D700 being a lot easier to use, though). My ability to handle all the bells and whistles on the D700 was pretty limited at the time. (I had never seen a 444-page camera manual before either.) My next comparison of the F6 and D700 was at the Grand Canyon in November 2010. I took identical shots with the F6 and the D700 for a week at the canyon. There were pros and cons with each camera, but being able to review the D700 shots after each morning and evening session gave the D700 an edge over the F6. By then, I was beginning to get hooked. Since the Grand Canyon shoot, I have taken the D700 and F6 to Aspen, Colorado and the Maroon Bells (August 2011), with some success, though the jury is still out on the HDRs and panoramas. They have been to Northern California twice (December 2010 and 2011), where my biggest challenge, the Golden Gate Bridge, keeps giving me fits (smog fits, not camera fits). But the biggest success I have had so far with the D700 was our September-October 2011 trip to Mala Mala, a private game preserve west of Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park itself, and Simon's Town, south of Cape Town, where we shot hundreds of digital photos of penguins. As I mentioned before, I shot 2,000 photos with the D700 -- but my wife, who had just purchased a D7000, shot 2,500 photos with her new brand-camera. Here's my take on the D700. (1) While the sensor is FX-sized, it has fewer pixels than my wife's DX-sized D7000. While I wish I had more pixels, my printed results are superb, even though I have to use NIK's Perfect Resize to interpolate more pixels. (2) By using one set of lenses on both the F6 and the D700, I have to admit that the D700 photographs are smoother (less "grain") than film. On the other hand, as I have many thousands of film images, I can reach essentially the same level of smoothness in an image -- but it might take a day sitting at my computer to do that. (3) The D700 is a very complicated piece of electronics, and I am sure that I am not using it to its full advantage. But, the D700 images are a LOT easier to deal with than film. I am somewhat concerned with the flat colors of the D700 raw images, because I have to tweak them in Camera Raw to get the colors and contrast looking decent. I don't shoot jpg or tiff, only raw -- why would anyone throw away information! (4) I did consider a higher-priced Nikon, but with my concerns about film vs digital, I wanted to get in with a lower investment in case the F6 did not come out ahead of the D700. I don't regret that decision at this time. I am, after all, a rank amateur where digital photography is concerned. March 14, 2012
Nikon D700 Body is a great work horse and build for travel. Nikon D700 Body is a great work horse and build for travel. I own and use the D700 body for the past few years and the D700 body has never failed once on assignment. Nikon has done a remarkable job balancing pixel size to high ISO performance with professional image quality. I seldom quiver using the D700 body under demanding low light with dynamic range conditions. Comparing features of the Nikon D700 body to cost, D700 stands alone. I highly recommend the Nikon D700 body to any non-professional or professional photographer as a main camera body or a back-up camera. March 14, 2012
Perfect camera I have had my D700 for a while now and it is a work horse. I love the ease of use and the full frame sensor. I was not interested in video when I bought it and I am now thinking about adding a D800E when I can afford it. great job Nikon! March 14, 2012
Outstanding Camera I am a long time Nikon user who purchased the D700 two years ago. I couldn't be more pleased with the purchase. The camera never fails to impress me with its features and professional image qualities. I consider myself a serious amature about my photography and have been very happy with my move up to the D700. March 14, 2012
Workhorse with Artistic Style I have had my D700 since it first came out. It has very good lowlight capabilities, good focus system, excellent color sensitivity, intuative button positioning, and is built rugged and weather resistant. I have had no issues with the camera. I now use it almost exclusively making it my primary workhorse. It gets dragged through mud, through heavy brush in wet weather (I live in a temperate rainforest in Southeast Alaska). I have taken the camera out for a week at a time in a kayak tracking animals and taking shots of scenary all without fail of either the camera or a Nikon lens. The FX sensor and good ISO capabilities are a must up here along the coast of Alaska. With a lot of overcast days, lowlight capability and a good color sensor are a must if you are going to get out and be out enough to find the good wildlife shots and spectacular weather and scenary photos. I plan on purchasing either a D4 or a D800 when they are available. I will keep the D700 and use it for more risky sitautions, but I have no plans on selling the camera. I use Nikon equipment exclusively now. I appreciate the craftsmanship and reliability of each of the 4 semi-pro and pro level Nikon dSLR's I have had. March 14, 2012
Great workhorse of a camera I've used the D700 for several years now, in demanding conditions. It is rugged, handles rain well on my wilderness expeditions in Alaska and can deal just as well with fishing bears in moody weather, weddings in low light and dark walls, or spotlit concerts. The excellent ISO capability has "saved" me many times. If I had to buy it over, I would do so enthusiastically. I'm hanging on to mine, however. March 14, 2012
The D700 Camera The D700 that I own is the finest camera, and the most versatile camera, that I have ever owned. I have been interested in photography since the middle 1960s and in about 1965Ipurchased my first Nikon. I have used them ever since, and I have never regretted it. There has been NO breakdowns with these cameras. I have allways liked to work with available light. This camera makes that unbelievably easy. Night shots at Christmas Lights are so simple. And low level interior lighting is a snap. (Pun intended) This full frame camera also allows me to grt the full use of the older lenses that I have had and used with myolder film cameras. March 14, 2012
Page: 6 7 8 9 10 ... 64
<<prev | next>>
53 Questions | 93 Answers

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Clear Search
 
 
53 Questions | 93 Answers
All Questions
Page: 2 3
next>>
Sort by:
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful0
3 years, 3 months ago by
by
ugo
nigeria
Location : 
nigeria
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
6 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it will. I have the original push pull 80-200mm f2.8 I bought for my F4 way back when.
It's still a very sharp and well built lens. In fact all the older AF Nikon lenses will work very well.

took the photo below just after dark tonight lit only by my 40 watt porch light .
D700 80-200mm f2.8
ISO 25,600 1/13s f2.8
Sample Photos & Videos
User submitted photo
Jan 27, 2014 by
by
KeithM
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Location : 
Gettysburg, PA 17325, USA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than 20 years
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have the 80-200 f2.8 two ring and it works beautifully. Hand held right it can give some amazingly good images. On the tripod even better, but I rarely use it on the tripod.
Feb 1, 2012 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes you can as long as it is not designated with DX (crop sensor only). One of the reasons why I have been a Nikon owner since the early 1990s is that compatibility is not an issue with lenses I bought back when I had my Nikon N90 film camera. I still use my N90. I have even tried my old AIS prime lens with my D700 and it works perfectly.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
It should work well if it is an auto focus lens. A big advantage of the D700 is its ability to use the older FX lenses. I own and have purchased some great Nikon lenses on Ebay from former users of Nikon film cameras. The digital age is here and users are unloading older film camera lens that work amazingly well on the D700 or other FX capable Nikons.
Aug 2, 2011 by
by
Al K
Easton PA
Location : 
Easton PA
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Absolutely! I have a good friend who owns the 80-200, two-ring design, and it works amazing on his D700, far better than it did on his D200 or D300. Mostly due to the FX sensor and getting true 200mm, instead of 300mm which is harder to hand hold.
Aug 1, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes it can.
Jul 31, 2011 by
by
KeithD
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
6 Answers

learning completely nikon d700

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
SunilS
 on D700
Has staff answer
+6points
7out of 8found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful7unhelpful1
I recently purchased my New Nikon D700. Its really great and i want to learn it completly inch to inch functions.Could you suggest how to learn officially from nikon apart from the user's manual?
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
SunilS
6 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
there is a great training video on youtube called d 700 training, and its free.

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
I agree that Magic Lantern series is the best. It is probably the most comprehensive guide that i have seen so far.
Jan 27, 2012 by
by
AlbertW
SF Bay Area
Location : 
SF Bay Area
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Try the Magic Lantern book on Nikon D700.
Sep 28, 2011 by
by
NikonDude
Plano, Texas
Location : 
Plano, Texas
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: 1-3 months
Role: Professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just watched my Magic Lantern DVD for the Nikon D300/D700 again and it has helped me so much. It takes you step by step through each of the features and most of the menu items, explaining and demonstrating in a straight forward approach. I am a hands on learner, so this is a good way for me (and I can pause and rewind when I need to).
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thom Hogan provides some very good third party manual for most of Nikon's digital bodies. I'd go to his website and order one for the D700.
Sep 13, 2011 by
by
Wildlife Shooter
Missoula, Montana
Location : 
Missoula, Montana
Age: 35-44
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please visit our Learn and Explore website for Photography Techniques and Digitutor website for the D700:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Learn-And-E...
http://www.nikondigitutor.com/index...
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
3 years, 6 months ago by
by
LBush
USA
5 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I have a D700 with an SB-800. You can sync the SB-800 at 1/8000 shutter speed. Here are the steps:

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash Sync Speed:
Set 'Internal flash sync speed' to '1/320s (Auto FP)'

In Menu >> Custom Settings Menu >> E - Bracketing/Flash >> Flash cntrl for built-in flash:
Set to 'Commander Mode' with settings:
Built in flash and Group B - Off ( mode: -- comp: --)
Group A :
Set 'Mode' to 'M' and 'Comp' to 1/1 (for full power flash.) You can also use the other modes: Automatic or iTTL - but, you will have to update the setting on the SB-800.

Click OK - not the 'back / left' button - it doesn't save!

On the SB-800:
Turn it on
Hold down 'MODE' and 'ON/OFF' to reset to default settings
Hold down 'SEL' button
Go to top right square
Set to 'REMOTE'
Hold down 'SEL'

On D700:
Pop-up the internal flash
Make sure the red panel on the SB-800 is within sight of the D700 internal flash
Crank up the aperture and shoot up to 1/8000 shutter speed!

Have fun!
 
Products related to my answer
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
Aug 6, 2011 by
by
Dave
Boulder, CO
Location : 
Boulder, CO
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: 6-12 months
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
If you shoot with radio controllers like the Radio poppers and pocket wizards can you shoot at higher sync speeds. Check the radio controller's website for which models do allow high speed sync. You do lose some power in your flash and have to move them in closer to the subject. You can make the sun a fill light and your flash the sun with radio controllers, such as the PX line of Radio Poppers.
Cannot afford radio controllers I got a fix for that.
You can turn you camera body upside down to shoot at a higher sync speed. What happens is the shutter will cut off the bottom of the frame due to the sync. Many wedding photographers learned this trick during the film days. Just keep your subject in the bottom half of the frame ( everything being upside down and backwards on a slr body bottom is the cameras top). It's then a simple matter of rotating the frame in post production and no one is the wiser. You might gain a stop over the max sync speed for your model camera.
Jul 22, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
I am pretty sure that this camera only has a sync speed up to 1/250th
May 25, 2011 by
by
BrrDawg
American Fork, UT
Location : 
American Fork, UT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Professional photographer

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, it'll shoot highr than 320 but it will dramatically cut the distance covered by the flash.
May 23, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful1
Answer: 
Yes, you can go up to 1/4000th.
Regards.
Apr 26, 2011 by
by
JuanR
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
4 Answers

Where can I get My camera firmware

Apr 14, 2011 by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
Need web page for download my D700 firmware, can not find it?
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
ottod
Miami, FL
Location : 
Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
4 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16657/kw/d700%20firmware/session/L3RpbWUvMTMwMzk4ODkxNC9zaWQvazF5SmJDc2s%3D
Apr 28, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Look for nikonusa.com > Support and Services > Get the most recent Nikon firmware versions, scroll down to D700. Version 1.02 is the latest one released by Nikon (at least that I know about).
Apr 24, 2011 by
by
neocliff
Anthem, AZ
Location : 
Anthem, AZ
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Here is a link to the firmware page: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13783/~/current-firmware-downloads-available-for-nikon-products
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:
Answer Title: D700 firmware: A/B 1.02
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
3 Answers

D700

May 26, 2011 by
by
Anonymous
 on D700
Has staff answer
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful0
can you tell me if the d700 is in stock? I don't want to submit an or on your site and find out that I have to wait weeks or months to receive it. I have check all camera retailers and they are telling me due to the earth quake in Japan the high end Nikon cameras are on back order.
3 years, 5 months ago by
by
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 0-1 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Just getting started with photography
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
I just found and ordered one from Amazon. It is new and not a gray market camera...I just returned from PSW and every vendor there said it wasn't the water damage after the quake, but radiation that caused the factory to close. There is a new factory up and running, and the vendors expect the products to be available in the near future.
Sep 22, 2011 by
by
tcampy65
San Ramon, CA
Location : 
San Ramon, CA
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 6-10 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Oder from the Nikon Store I just bought a refurbished D700 and it's great. the price is right.
Jun 1, 2011 by
by
cpp-ed
Scotch Plains NJ
Location : 
Scotch Plains NJ
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Thanks for your interest in the D700. We have shipped many thousands of these cameras to our customers. Interest for this camera has been very high. If you have an urgent need I'd strongly suggest ordering one now from an authorized dealer so that you will be on their list as they receive shipments from us.
May 27, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
3 Answers

Is it weather proof ????

Aug 30, 2011 by
by
sayan
India
 on D700
0points
2out of 4found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful2
 
Products related to my question
 
 
 
3 years, 2 months ago by
by
sayan
India
Location : 
India
Age: 18-24
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
3 Answers

Answers

+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful2unhelpful0
Answer: 
Proof? No. Resistant, yes.

As stated elsewhere, even if your camera can survive being outside while it is sprinkling or in a nice dust storm,, your lens may not. You will have to verify both pieces are weather resistant.
Jan 22, 2012 by
by
jwjusaf
Washington, DC, USA
Location : 
Washington, DC, USA
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Hi Sayan,

The D700 is sealed against moisture and dust. YES, It's tough but treat it like it's worth what you paid. it is water and dust resistant. Your lens may or may not be. Dry it or at least wipe it if it get's soaked. It is electronic and water is it's natural enemy. Best way I know to tell you is treat it like a baby and it will last a very long time.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
Arthur
NY
Location : 
NY
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
Yes, you can use it in the hot or cold place that human still surviving. And it can resist some of rain drop or water splash. But Nikon not provide an IP Explanation and Ratings.
Aug 31, 2011 by
by
HotDuckZ
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I set my D700 to bulb mode for very long exposures

Mar 3, 2011 by
by
Bob
 on D700
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Bob
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
The way I do it on my D3s is to set the camera to M mode and turn the Shutter speed down until you see bulb. You will need to hold the shutter button for the duration of the exposure. I would recommend getting the MC-36 Remote which has a shutter lock function and/or a timer setting.
 
Products related to my answer
MC-36 Multi-Function Remote Cord
2.6 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
MDCSF
San Francisco
Location : 
San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
You need to enter manual mode by holding mode and rotating your rear selector to "M" (you'll see it on the screen) when your in manual exposure mode keep turning your rear selector to the left and you'll get longer and longer exposure times and you'll hit "bulb". hope that helped you.
Mar 8, 2011 by
by
DC
Prospect, CT
Location : 
Prospect, CT
Age: 25-34
Favorite Subject: Family & Friends
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Semi-professional photographer
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there going to be an D800 in the near future?

Mar 13, 2011 by
by
Tom
New Jersey
 on D700
Has staff answer
-4points
1out of 6found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful5
I currently own a D300, and want to purchase the D700 as most of my lens are FX. Before I do that I would like to know if in the near future, (within 6 months), will Nikon offer a D800? And if so what would be the major changes?

Tom
3 years, 8 months ago by
by
Tom
New Jersey
Location : 
New Jersey
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful4unhelpful2
Answer: 
Tough question.

I went from a D200 to a D700 just 4 months ago, and I never regret it. If I where to bet, don't expect the D800 to come out before August, then allow 8 months before they come into the stores. There are D700 bargains out there, where they are going for just under $2000

A D800 will most likely be more mPix (how many?), but the build will be the same. However, plan on a $3000 price tag at first.

Your lenses dictate everything anyway. I have seen many folks throw a cheap lens on a D700.

No point! Buy the great lenses and a cheap body. I bet you could get a used D700 for a $1000 in a couple on months.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven
Age: 45-54
Favorite Subject: Portrait
Nikon Family: 21+ years
Experience: 3-6 months
Role: Semi-professional photographer

-34points
3out of 40found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful3unhelpful37
Answer: 
Nikon is continually improving and expanding our product line. Please keep visiting our website to find out about new products release.
Mar 14, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
2 people are following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

How do I shoot night sky photos which require extended exposure time?

Mar 29, 2011 by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
 on D700
Has staff answer
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Have D700 camera and want to shoot Milky Way sky photos; but, how do I take long duration exposures? one hour plus?
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Bob
Tampa, FL
Location : 
Tampa, FL
Age: Over 65
Favorite Subject: Landscape
Nikon Family: 2-5 years
Experience: Less than a month
Role: Semi-professional photographer
2 Answers

Answers

0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
Answer: 
You will need to get a tripod with a tracking head. Since the stars move, you need to move your camera with them or you will get streaks across the sky. Look for something called an astronomic mount. They can get expensive so research is required.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
Anonymous

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
Please click on the link below for more information:

Answer Title: Astronomical photography issues with D-SLR cameras
Answer Link: http://support.nikonusa.com/app/ans...
Mar 30, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Has staff answer
D700
 
2 Answers

Is there an adapter to use the Nikon DR-6 on the Nikon D-700?

Apr 2, 2011 by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 on D700
Has staff answer
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful0unhelpful0
I already have two of the Nikon 90º viewers. I hope I could use one of them, preferably the DR-6 with my D-700.
3 years, 7 months ago by
by
Eduardo
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Location : 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age: 55-65
Favorite Subject: Nature
Nikon Family: 11-20 years
Experience: More than a year
Role: Serious passion, hobbyist
2 Answers

Answers

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
There is a 90 degree adapter for the D700. The new one is a DR-5 for round eyepiece cameras (D3 series & D700). The DR-6 is for rectangular eyepiece

Your best bet is to get a used DR-3 and a DK-7 adapter (for round eyepiece) it is a better build than the DR-5 or 6. There is also a square adapter for used with the rectangular eyepieces as well.
Apr 14, 2011 by
by
sixbyseven

+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this helpful?helpful1unhelpful0
Answer: 
This camera is not compatible with the DR-6. The correct one is the DR-5.
 
Products related to my answer
DR-5 Screw-in Right Angle Viewfinder
4.3 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Apr 4, 2011 by
by
NikonStaff
1 person is following this questionFollow This Question
Page: 2 3
next>>
Page: 2 3
next>>

Product Registration

Registering your Nikon product allows us to send you (with your permission) important updates, service information and helpful hints, and it makes it easier should you ever need to call in for help.
Register your product online now.

Nikon Answers Site

We store all resolved problems in our solution database. If you can’t find a relevant answer, feel free to submit a question to our technical support team.
View Questions & Answers